CCCI - CCIC
ACCUEIL RECHERCHE PLAN DU SITE CONTACT ENGLISH

Members

CCIC members include approximately 70 Canadian non-profit organizations working, both in Canada and overseas, on the front lines of social justice, humanitarian aid, economic and democratic development.

About us What we do Working Groups Media RESSOURCES Members
Become a Member
Member Organizations
CCIC Member Profiles
Membership Renewal
Members' Space


IMPRIMER

Member Profile April 2015

Amnesty International Canada

 

BCCIC

CCA's FOSTERING project is establishing farmer-owned and managed credit unions and agricultural co-operative enterprises.

This month CCIC met with the new ED of the Canadian Cooperative Association, Michael Casey, to discuss the benefits of the cooperative model and some of CCA’s projects, among other things!

 

CCIC - This month you joined CCA as Executive Director. Welcome! How have your first few weeks been and what are you most looking forward to in your new role?

Michael Casey - As always at the start of a new job, the first couple of weeks have clearly been spent on a very steep learning curve, with significant doses of ‘information overload’ as one rushes to understand and process all the facets of a dynamic vibrant organization. I do have the benefit of having worked with CCA in Asia during the 1990s, so have some basic familiarity with the organization. Although, I must admit that the international development sector has changed significantly in the intervening years, and CCA has undergone major institutional and program changes and adaptations. What I am most looking forward to is being part of this hugely talented and energetic team of development professionals and working on the fascinating challenges and opportunities ahead.

 

CCIC - At the core of CCA's work is its cooperative model. Could you please briefly explain this approach to development and its value?

Michael Casey - A co-operative is a social enterprise business model founded on values and principles that respect the dignity and primacy of the human person and the community. These principles --  voluntary and open membership; democratic member control; member economic participation; autonomy and independence; education, training, and information; co-operation among co-operatives; and, concern for community -- provide a true and effective alternative framework for sustainable development in a world too often overly-focused on and dominated by capital and individualism. Co-ops are about equity and community – key elements in the ongoing work to eliminate global poverty and exclusion.

 

CCIC - Can you please highlight one current CCA project that your team is particularly proud of?

Michael Casey - Our FOSTERING project in eight districts of the Eastern Corridor of Northern Ghana is a large ($8 million) initiative that is establishing farmer-owned and managed credit unions and agricultural co-operative enterprises to support farmers with the skills and inputs to produce more and better crops, and the financial and marketing services to secure higher household income. We are reaching over 42,000 women and men small-holder farmers in 5,400 households in 130 communities. We are mid-way through the project now (2012-2018), and despite many challenges, our long-term presence and partnerships in Ghana have enabled us to significantly improve nutrition standards and food security in the communities.  

 

CCIC - The Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) are at the forefront of discussions within our sector. What impact do you expect they will have on your work?

Michael Casey - The SDGs are important macro benchmarks for the community of development practitioners and serve as a global high-level guidance for our work. While it is difficult to establish a direct correlation between the specific results of our projects and these indicators, they do provide a global ‘sense of direction’ and priority setting that assists us in our planning. We contribute to the CCIC-led discussions on these issues as part of the Canadian development community.

 

CCIC - CCA is a longstanding supporter of CCIC. Why is this important? What do you value most about membership?

Michael Casey - CCIC is the voice of our community of practice as international development organizations in Canada. CCIC brings us together for dialogue, sharing of experiences and lessons learned, and to articulate positions on government policy. The excellent quality of the research and sectorial analysis produced by CCIC has long been an important element for us. We have used CCIC materials to support policy-level discussions with other international agencies and partners in other countries, both northern and southern. CCIC also serves a very important role in supporting the public engagement and development education programs of its member organizations by providing think-pieces and op-eds that are used by us and others to educate and inform our general public in Canada.

 

 

TOP
 
  • FLASH
  • Employment
  • 10-point agenda
  • Istanbul Principles
  • Code of Ethics
  • Become a Member
  • MEMBERS SPACE
  • CCIC Publications
  • Employment

CCCI - CCIC
ACCUEIL RECHERCHE PLAN DU SITE CONTACT ENGLISH

Members

CCIC members include approximately 100 Canadian non-profit organizations working, both in Canada and overseas, on the front lines of social justice, humanitarian aid, economic and democratic development.

À PROPOS NOS INTÉRÊTS GROUPES DE TRAVAIL MÉDIAS RESSOURCES MEMBRES
Organisations membres du CCCI
Événements du CCCI à venir
Profils des membres
Un mot sur les membres


IMPRIMER

 

Profil d'un membre, avril 2015


ACC

 

Alex Neve

Le projet FOSTERING de l'ACC vise la création de coopératives de crédit appartenant aux agriculteurs et gérées par ces derniers, ainsi que de coopératives agricoles

Ce mois-ci le CCCI s'est entretenu avec le nouveau directeur de l'Association des coopératives du Canada, Michael Casey, pour discuter des avantages du modèle coopératif et de certains des projets de l'ACC, entre autres choses!

 

CCCI - Ce mois-ci, vous vous êtes joints à l'ACC en tant que directeur-général. Bienvenue ! Comment se sont passées vos premières semaines ? Et qu'est-ce qui vous excite le plus dans votre nouveau rôle ?

Michael Casey Comme toujours lorsqu'on commence un nouvel emploi, les premières semaines présentent leur lot de nouveaux apprentissages, avec des doses importantes de « surcharges d'information », alors qu'on s'emploie à comprendre toutes les facettes d'une organisation dynamique.  J'ai l'avantage d'avoir travaillé pour l'ACC en Asie dans les années 1990, donc j'étais déjà quelque peu familier avec l'organisation. Toutefois, je dois admettre que le secteur du développement international a beaucoup changé depuis ce temps et l'ACC a connu d'importants changements et adaptations tant sur le plan institutionnel que des programmes.  Ce qui m'excite le plus, c'est de faire partie de cette équipe extrêmement talentueuse et dynamique de professionnels du développement, et de travailler sur les occasions et les défis fascinants à venir. 

 

CCCI - Au cœur de l'ACC, on retrouve son modèle coopératif. Pouvez-vous nous expliquer rapidement en quoi consiste cette approche du développement et quelle est sa valeur ?

Michael Casey Une coopérative est un modèle de gestion axé sur l'entreprise sociale et fondé sur des valeurs et des principes qui respectent la dignité et la primauté de la personne humaine et de la communauté.  Ces principes - adhésion volontaire et ouverte; pouvoir démocratique exercé par les membres ; participation économique des membres ; autonomie et indépendance ; éducation, formation et information ; coopération entre les coopératives ;  et préoccupation envers la communauté  - offrent un cadre alternatif véritable et efficace pour le développement durable dans un monde trop souvent obsédé par le capital et l'individualisme. Les coopératives  mettent l'accent sur l'équité et la communauté - des éléments clés de notre travail pour éliminer la pauvreté et l'exclusion dans le monde.

 

CCCI - Pouvez-vous nous parler d'un projet actuel de l'ACC dont votre équipe est particulièrement fière ?

Michael Casey – Notre projet FOSTERING, qui se déploie dans huit districts du corridor est de la région nord du Ghana, est une initiative importante (8 million de dollars)  qui vise la création de coopératives de crédit appartenant aux agriculteurs et gérées par ces derniers, ainsi que de coopératives agricoles. Ce projet permet de soutenir les agriculteurs au moyen d'habiletés et de connaissances favorisant la production des récoltes meilleures et plus abondantes, et au moyen de services financiers et de marketing permettant d'assurer de plus hauts revenus aux ménages. Nous rejoignons ainsi plus de 42 000  petites agricultrices et petits agriculteurs répartis en 5400 ménages provenant de 130 communautés.  Nous en sommes à mi-chemin dans ce projet (2012-2018) et, malgré de nombreux défis, notre présence et nos partenariats à long terme au Ghana nous ont permis d'améliorer considérablement les normes nutritionnelles et la sécurité alimentaire dans ces communautés.

 

CCCI - Les objectifs de développement durables (ODD) sont au cœur des discussions au sein de notre secteur. Quel impact pensez-vous que ces objectifs auront sur votre travail ?

Michael Casey Les ODD sont d'importants macro-indicateurs pour la communauté des professionnels du développement et sont utiles en tant qu'orientations de haut niveau pour notre travail à l'international.   Bien qu'il soit difficile d'établir une corrélation directe entre les résultats de nos projets spécifiques et ces indicateurs, ils offrent une orientation générale et établissent des priorités qui nous aident dans notre planification. Nous contribuons aux discussions menées par le CCCI sur ces enjeux en tant que membres de la communauté canadienne du développement.

 

CCCI - L'ACC est un partisan de longue date du CCCI. Pourquoi est-ce important ? Qu'est-ce que vous valoriser le plus par rapport à votre affiliation au CCCI ?

Michael Casey Le CCCI est la voix de notre communauté de pratique en tant qu'organisations de développement international au Canada. Le CCCI nous rassemble pour dialoguer, partager des expériences et des leçons apprises, et pour articuler nos positions par rapport aux politiques du gouvernement. L'excellente qualité des recherches et des analyses sectorielles produites par le CCCI est depuis longtemps un élément important pour nous. Nous avons utilisé le matériel développé par le CCCI pour soutenir nos discussions au niveau des politiques avec des agences internationales et des partenaires dans d'autres pays, tant au Nord qu'au Sud. Le CCCI joue également un rôle important pour soutenir les activités d'engagement du public et les programmes d'éducation au développement de ses organisations membres en produisant des articles de réflexion et des lettres ouvertes qui sont utilisés, par nous et par d'autres, pour éduquer et informer le public canadien.

 

 


TOP
 
  • FLASH
  • Emploi
  • Programme en 10 points
  • Principes d'Istanbul
  • Code d'éthique
  • Devenez membre
  • COIN DES MEMBRES
  • Publications du CCCI
  • Emploi