CCCI - CCIC
ACCUEIL RECHERCHE PLAN DU SITE CONTACT ENGLISH

Members

CCIC members include approximately 100 Canadian non-profit organizations working, both in Canada and overseas, on the front lines of social justice, humanitarian aid, economic and democratic development.

About us What we do Working Groups Media RESSOURCES Members
Become a Member
Member Organizations
CCIC Member Profiles
Membership Renewal
Members' Space
Who's Who: Who does what where


IMPRIMER

Member Profile January 2014

AKFC

Aga Khan Foundation Canada

 

ACDP

Father and daughter wait for the newest member of their family to arrive at the maternity ward of the Faizabad Hospital in Badakhshan, Afghanistan.

This month, CCIC met with Khalil Shariff, Executive Director at Aga Khan Foundation Canada, for an interesting discussion on the organization’s approach to international development and poverty reduction, and it's involvement in the maternal, newborn and child health initiatives....among other things!

 

CCIC - Aga Khan Foundation Canada is part of the Aga Khan Development Network; can you tell us more about the scope, the role and the mandate of that network?

Khalil Shariff - The Aga Khan Development Network is a worldwide group of development agencies with individual mandates that range from the fields of health and education to architecture, rural development, and the promotion of private sector enterprise. Together, the AKDN's institutions and programs work towards a common goal: to build a civil society that responds to the challenges of social, economic and cultural change and to improve the quality of life of poor, marginalized populations. Aga Khan Foundation Canada (AKFC) is a registered Canadian charity, established in 1980 as an agency of the AKDN. We work in Asia and Africa to find sustainable solutions to the complex problems causing global poverty.

 

CCIC - His Highness the Aga Khan, the 49th Imam (spiritual leader) of the Ismaili Muslims, is the founder of the AKDN. Can you tell us about his role in the organization?

Khalil Shariff - His Highness the Aga Khan is the Chairman of the AKDN. In Islam’s ethical tradition, religious leaders not only interpret the faith but also have a responsibility to help improve the quality of life in their community and the societies in which they live. For the Aga Khan, this has meant a deep engagement with development for more than 50 years. Building on institutions started by his grandfather, the Aga Khan created the agencies of the AKDN to realise the social conscience of Islam through institutional action.

While the Aga Khan fulfills a central religious role for Ismaili Muslims worldwide, pluralism is a fundamental pillar of Islam’s ethical framework. The AKDN and its member agencies – including AKFC – are non-denominational. The AKDN aims to improve living conditions and opportunities for the poor regardless of their faith, origin or gender, and AKDN employees come from diverse origins, faiths and backgrounds.

 

CCIC - What is AKFC’s vision of international development and poverty reduction? How do your programs contribute to that?

Khalil Shariff - Sustainable development is possible only when poverty is tackled over the long-term, with communities in the lead. We operate on the principle that lasting change depends on partnerships with a wide range of stakeholders – from individuals and communities to local and international business, governments, and NGOs. We have been working in partnership with Canadians for more than 30 years, and many of our efforts are undertaken in cooperation with the Government of Canada through Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada, and other institutional donors.

Long-term, positive change is complex, and there is no silver bullet. AKFC – like the rest of the AKDN – takes a holistic approach to development, developing programming that responds to the many inter-related factors that undermine development within a given region. An important focus is building high quality permanent institutions across a range of levels – from strong village-level governance councils to world-class regional universities.

AKFC concentrates on specific challenges in key focus areas, which we see as fundamental building blocks for human development: health, education, rural development, and civil society. Situated within the broader work of the AKDN, this approach has proven that progress in one area will spur progress in others.

For example, in the coastal province of Cabo Delgado in Mozambique, AKFC is working with our partners on issues of food security and livelihoods – but the initiative goes beyond simply increasing agricultural productivity and access to markets. It also addresses underlying factors that are required to build a strong foundation for development in the region, such as literacy; health and nutrition; environmental sustainability; access to finance; and the ability of communities and local organizations to take action on their own behalf.

In Canada, AKFC raises funds, builds partnerships with Canadian institutions, and promotes discussion and learning on international development issues.

 

CCIC - Aga Khan Foundation Canada is very involved in maternal, newborn and child health initiatives in developing countries as well as exploring innovative financing for development; can you tell us more about these two areas and why they are important to you?

Khalil Shariff - Improving health – particularly for women and children – is a central pillar of the AKDN’s holistic approach to improving quality of life. According to United Nations’ estimates, in 2010, some 800 women died every day from complications of pregnancy or childbirth, 99 percent of them in developing countries.

AKFC collaborates on a number of projects that improve health for women and children, from increasing access to world-class medical services in Afghanistan, to helping families in Tanzania make better choices when it comes to nutrition, sanitation, and hygiene. The strategy is simple: healthy mothers give birth to healthy children – and healthy children grow up to become strong, productive members of their community. AKFC is able to work with the spectrum of capacities of the AKDN to increase the chances for sustainable impact, including leveraging the Aga Khan University’s capabilities in research, education of midwifes, nurses, and doctors, and tertiary care; the Aga Khan Health Services’ extensive clinical care, service provision, and facility management capabilities; and Aga Khan Foundation’s work in community health in remote rural areas.

In 2013, AKFC presented the results of some of our work as part of our annual cross-country University Seminar Series, this year in collaboration with Canada’s International Development Research Centre. A summary of that series is available here. AKFC is also a member of the Canadian Network for maternal, newborn and child health (MNCH), and recently completed the Seminars on Nurturing Maternal and Child Health – see summary here.

Like MNCH, innovative models for financing development – such as impact investing, community-based savings groups, and access to financial services by mobile phone – have been fundamental parts of the AKDN’s global footprint, long before the current mainstream interest in this approach. Our experience across Africa and Asia indicates that innovative financing approaches can have significant positive influence on poverty reduction and expanded social opportunity, especially for the very poor.

In 2013, AKFC convened the Seminars on Innovative Financing for Development, a series of events featuring different strategies for financing development that complement traditional donor-based initiatives. A summary of that series is available here.

 


CCIC - On the global scene and in the Canadian context, the private sector is increasingly perceived as a key player in international development. Based on AKFC’s experience, how and when can the private sector best contribute to poverty reduction?

Khalil Shariff - In any discussion about the private sector, we have to remember that the term represents a spectrum of diverse actors, who are all important players in the development process: from large, multi-national corporations to an enterprising rural farmer.

World Bank data shows us that there is a direct positive relationship between private investment in a country and rates of GDP growth. But not all growth necessarily directly translates into poverty reduction and development gains. We need to make sure that the poor participate in – and benefit from – this growth, by intentionally linking the poor to economic activity and access to services. The private sector must ensure that marginalized sectors of the population (often groups such as women, rural communities, or undereducated youth) are specifically targeted for productive engagement in the economic system, as workers, producers or entrepreneurs.

To align private sector’s commercial objectives with development goals, we need to look for multiplier effects: which economic activities can stimulate the growth of new economic activity? For example, the construction of the Bujagali Hydropower Project in Uganda – an initiative of the Aga Khan Fund for Economic Development – almost doubled the country’s effective power generation capacity. Before the construction of the dam, rolling blackouts accounted for a one to 1.5 percent loss to Uganda’s GDP, slowing the country’s economic and social development. The 250-megawatt hydropower facility reduces Ugandans’ reliance on expensive and polluting generators, which they previously used to power their businesses and homes.

 


CCIC - What is the value that AKFC sees in being a member of CCIC?

Khalil Shariff - AKFC shares CCIC’s overarching view that improving quality of life is both a moral imperative and a practical possibility. CCIC provides a connection to the broader development community in Canada, as a source of information on issues and trends. The diversity of approach, views, and experiences among Canadian development actors can be a source of strength and CCIC can provide a forum for mutual learning and constant improvement on the best ways to support the development efforts of poor communities.

 

 

TOP
 
  • FLASH
  • Employment
  • 10-point agenda
  • Istanbul Principles
  • Code of Ethics
  • Become a Member
  • Who's who
  • MEMBERS SPACE
  • CCIC Publications
  • Employment

CCCI - CCIC
ACCUEIL RECHERCHE PLAN DU SITE CONTACT ENGLISH

Members

CCIC members include approximately 100 Canadian non-profit organizations working, both in Canada and overseas, on the front lines of social justice, humanitarian aid, economic and democratic development.

À PROPOS NOS INTÉRÊTS GROUPES DE TRAVAIL MÉDIAS RESSOURCES MEMBRES
Organisations membres du CCCI
Événements du CCCI à venir
Profils des membres
Un mot sur les membres


IMPRIMER

 

Profil d'un membre, janvier 2014

Project Ploughshares

Fondation Aga Khan Canada

 

MFMC

Un père et sa fille attendent l’arrivée du plus récent membre de la famille, dans la cour de la maternité de l’hôpital Faizabad à Badakhshan, Afghanistan.

Ce mois-ci, le CCCI a rencontré Khalil Shariff, directeur exécutif de la Fondation Aga Khan Canada, pour une discussion fort intéressante sur l’approche de l’organisation face au développement international et la réduction de la pauvreté, ainsi que sur son implication dans les initiatives liées à la santé des mères, des nouveau-nés et des enfants… entre autres choses!

 

CCCI - La Fondation Aga Khan Canada fait partie du Réseau Aga Khan de développement; pouvez-vous nous en dire davantage sur la portée, le rôle et le mandat de ce réseau ?

Khalil Shariff Le Réseau Aga Khan de développement (AKDN) est un groupe international d’agences de développement avec des mandats individuels allant des secteurs de la santé et de l’éducation à l’architecture, le développement rural et la promotion des entreprises du secteur privé. Ensemble, les institutions et les programmes de l’AKDN visent un objectif commun : l’édification d’une société civile qui réponde aux défis liés aux changements sociaux, économiques et culturels; et l’amélioration de la qualité de vie des populations marginalisées et vivant en situation de pauvreté. La Fondation Aga Khan Canada (AKFC) est un organisme de bienfaisance canadien enregistré mis sur pied en 1980 et une agence de l’AKDN. Nous travaillons en Asie et en Afrique afin de trouver des solutions durables aux problèmes complexes de la pauvreté mondiale.

 

CCCI - Son Altesse l’Aga Khan 49e imam héréditaire (chef spirituel) des musulmans shiites ismailis, est le fondateur de l’AKDN. Pouvez-vous nous parler de son rôle au sein de l’organisation ?

Khalil Shariff – Son Altesse l’Aga Khan est le président de l’AKDN. Dans la tradition éthique de l’Islam, non seulement les leaders religieux doivent-ils se faire les interprètes de la foi, mais ils ont également la responsabilité de contribuer à l’amélioration de la qualité de vie au sein de la communauté et des sociétés dans lesquelles ils vivent. Pour l’Aga Khan, cela s’est traduit par un profond engagement envers le développement  depuis plus de 50 ans. S’appuyant sur des institutions mises sur pied par son grand-père, l’Aga Khan a créé les agences de l’AKDN pour réaliser la conscience sociale de l’Islam à travers l’action institutionnelle. Même si l’Aga Khan remplit un rôle religieux primordial pour les musulmans shiites ismailis à travers le monde, le pluralisme est un des piliers du cadre éthique de l’Islam. L’AKDN et ses agences membres – incluant l’AKFC – sont non-confessionnelles. L’AKDN vise à améliorer les conditions de vie et les opportunités des pauvres sans égards à leurs croyances, origines ou genre. D’ailleurs, les employés de l’AKDN sont issues d’horizons divers tant sur le plan des origines que des croyances.

CCCI - Quelle est la vision du développement international et de la réduction de la pauvreté promue par l’AKFC ? Comment vos programmes contribuent-ils à cette vision ?

Khalil Shariff – Le développement durable est possible seulement lorsqu’on s’attaque à la pauvreté dans une perspective à long-terme et que les communautés prennent elles-mêmes en charge le processus.  Nous travaillons sur la base du principe que le changement durable dépend de partenariats avec une grande variété d’acteurs concernés – des individus aux communautés en passant par les entreprises, les gouvernements et les ONG locales et internationales. Nous travaillons en partenariat avec les Canadiens depuis plus de 30 ans et beaucoup de nos efforts ont été entrepris en coopération avec le gouvernement du Canada via le ministère des Affaires étrangères, du Commerce et du Développement, ainsi qu’avec d’autres donateurs institutionnels.

Le changement positif à long-terme est complexe et il n’y a pas de solution miracle. L’AKFC – tout comme le reste de l’AKDN – utilise une approche holistique du développement, élaborant des programmes qui répondent aux multiples facteurs interdépendants qui minent le développement dans une région donnée. Un aspect important consiste à mettre en place des institutions permanentes de haute qualité à différents niveaux – des conseils de gouvernance forts au sein des villages jusqu’aux universités régionales  de calibre international.

L’AKFC se concentre sur des défis spécifiques autour d’enjeux prioritaires que nous voyons comme les pierres angulaires du développement humain : la santé, l’éducation, le développement rural et la société civile. Dans le contexte plus large du travail de l’AKDN, cette approche a démontré que des progrès réalisés sur un enjeu permettent d’accélérer les progrès sur d’autres enjeux.

Par exemple, dans la province côtière de Cabo Delgado au Mozambique, l’AKFC travaille avec ses partenaires sur les enjeux de la sécurité alimentaire et des moyens de subsistance – mais l’initiative va au-delà d’une simple augmentation de la productivité et de l’accès aux marchés. Elle cible aussi les facteurs sous-jacents qui sont nécessaires afin de construire de solides fondations pour le développement dans la région, comme l’alphabétisation, la santé et la nutrition, la viabilité environnementale, l’accès au financement et la capacité des communautés et des organisations locales à prendre leurs propres initiatives.

Au Canada, l’AKFC  recueille des fonds, bâtit des partenariats avec des institutions canadiennes et encourage les discussions et l’acquisition de connaissances autour d’enjeux liés au développement international.

CCCI - La Fondation Aga Khan Canada est très impliquée dans les initiatives liées à la santé des mères, des nouveau-nés et des enfants dans les pays en développement, ainsi que dans l’exploration de mécanismes novateurs de financement pour le développement. Pouvez-vous nous en dire davantage sur ces deux aspects de votre travail et nous dire pourquoi ils sont importants pour vous?

Khalil Shariff SL’amélioration de la santé – en particulier chez les femmes et les enfants – est un élément central de l’approche holistique de l’AKDN pour améliorer la qualité de vie. Selon les estimations des Nations Unies, en 2010, environ 800 femmes sont décédées chaque jour en raison de complications liées à la grossesse ou à l’accouchement - 99% d’entre elles vivaient dans des pays en développement.

L’AKFC collabore à de nombreux projets visant à améliorer la santé des femmes et des enfants, que ce soit en favorisant l’accès à des soins de santé de première qualité en Afghanistan ou encore en aidant les familles en Tanzanie à faire de meilleur choix sur les plans de la nutrition, des installations sanitaires et de l’hygiène. La stratégie est simple : des mères en santé donnent naissance à des enfants en santé – et les enfants en santé grandissent pour devenir des membres forts et productifs au sein de leur communauté. L’AKFC est en mesure de mettre à profit toute les ressources de l’AKDN pour augmenter les chances d’obtenir des impacts durables, incluant les ressources de l’Université Aga Khan dans les domaines de la recherche, de l’éducation des sages-femmes, des infirmières et des médecins, ainsi que des soins tertiaires, les soins cliniques complets, la prestation de services et les capacités de gestion des Services de santé Aga Khan, sans oublier le travail de la Fondation Aga Khan dans le domaine de la santé communautaire dans les régions rurales éloignées. 

En 2013, l’AKFC a présenté certains des résultats de notre travail dans le cadre de notre série annuelle de séminaires universitaires à travers le pays, en collaboration cette année avec le Centre de recherches pour le développement international.  Un résumé de cette série de séminaires est disponible ici. L’AKFC est aussi membre du Réseau canadien sur la santé des mères, des nouveau-nés et des enfants (SMNE), et elle a récemment complété une série de séminaires sur la santé maternelle et infantile dont vous trouverez un résumé ici.

Comme pour la SMNE, les modèles novateurs de financement – comme l’investissement à impact, les groupes d'épargne communautaires ou encore l’accès aux services financiers via le téléphone mobile -  ont été des éléments essentiels de l’empreinte globale de l’AKDN, bien avant l’intérêt actuel dominant pour cette approche. Notre expérience en Afrique et en Asie indique que les approches novatrices de financement peuvent avoir une influence positive significative sur la réduction de la pauvreté et l’augmentation des opportunités sociales, surtout pour les populations les plus pauvres.

En 2013, l’AKFC a organisé les séminaires sur le financement novateur pour le développement, une séried’événements présentant différentes stratégies pour financer le développement qui viennent compléter les initiatives traditionnelles des donateurs.  Un sommaire de cette série de séminaires est disponible ici.

CCCI - Sur la scène internationale et dans le contexte canadien, le secteur privé est de plus en plus perçu comme un acteur central du développement international. Sur la base de l’expérience de l’AKFC, comment et quand le secteur privé peut-il le mieux contribuer à la réduction de la pauvreté ?

Khalil Shariff – Lorsqu’on parle du secteur privé, il faut se rappeler que le terme désigne tout un éventail d’acteurs différents qui jouent chacun un rôle important dans le processus de développement : des grandes entreprises multinationales jusqu’à l’agriculteur-entrepreneur en milieu rural.

Les données de la Banque mondiale montrent qu’il y a une relation positive directe entre l’investissement privé dans un pays et le taux de croissance du PIB. Mais la croissance ne se traduit pas nécessairement par une réduction de la pauvreté et des progrès en matière de développement. Nous devons nous assurer que les pauvres participent à – et bénéficient de – cette croissance en reliant intentionnellement les pauvres à l’activité économique et à l’accès aux services. Le secteur privé doit s’assurer que les secteurs marginalisés (souvent des groupes comme les femmes, les communautés rurales ou encore les jeunes sous-scolarisés) soient ciblés de manière spécifique pour participer activement au système économique en tant que travailleurs, producteurs ou entrepreneurs.

Afin d’aligner les objectifs commerciaux du secteur privé avec les objectifs du développement, il faut rechercher des effets multiplicateurs : quelles activités économiques sont susceptibles de stimuler la croissance de nouvelles activités économiques? Par exemple, la construction de la centrale hydroélectrique de  Bujagali en Ouganda – une initiative du Fonds Aga Khan pour le développement économique -  a permis de doubler quasiment la capacité effective de production d’électricité du pays. Avant la construction du barrage, des pannes d’électricité régulières étaient responsables d’une perte de 1 % à 1,5 % du PIB de l’Ouganda, ralentissant le développement économique et social du pays. L’installation hydroélectrique de 250 mégawatts a permis de réduire la dépendance des Ougandais envers les génératrices polluantes qu’ils utilisaient auparavant pour alimenter leurs maisons et leurs entreprises.

CCI - Pour l’AKFC, quelle est la valeur associée au fait d’être membre du CCCI?

Khalil Shariff – L’AKFC partage la vision du CCCI selon laquelle l’amélioration de la qualité de vie est à la fois un impératif moral et une possibilité dans la pratique. Le CCCI assure une liaison avec la communauté de développement élargie au Canada, en tant que source d’information sur les enjeux et les tendances. La diversité des approches, des points de vue et des expériences parmi les acteurs canadiens du développement sont une source de vitalité et le CCCI offre un forum favorisant l’apprentissage mutuel et l’amélioration constante des meilleures pratiques afin  d’appuyer les efforts de développement des communautés vivant en situation de pauvreté.


TOP
 
  • FLASH
  • Emploi
  • Programme en 10 points
  • Principes d'Istanbul
  • Code d'éthique
  • Devenez membre
  • QUI FAIT QUOI
  • COIN DES MEMBRES
  • Publications du CCCI
  • Emploi