CCCI - CCIC
ACCUEIL RECHERCHE PLAN DU SITE CONTACT ENGLISH

Members

CCIC members include approximately 100 Canadian non-profit organizations working, both in Canada and overseas, on the front lines of social justice, humanitarian aid, economic and democratic development.

About us What we do Working Groups Media RESSOURCES Members
Become a Member
Member Organizations
CCIC Member Profiles
Membership Renewal
Members' Space
Who's Who: Who does what where


IMPRIMER

Project Ploughshares

 

Member Profile September 2013

ACDP

Canadian and international World Federalists meeting, July 2012, Winnipeg.

This month we had the pleasure to talk with Fergus Watt, Executive Director at World Federalists Movement Canada. We found out more about this small but dynamic organization, member of a global network, whose areas of focus include peacekeeping, the post-2015 discussions and the responsibility to protect, among others.

 

CCIC - World Federalists Movement-Canada is part of a broader global network; could you tell us a bit about the history of that network?

Fergus Watt - The World Federalist Movement – Canada (WFMC) is a not-for-profit research, education and advocacy organization. In Canada WFMC is closely affiliated with a sister organization, the World Federalist Foundation, also based at our Ottawa office. World federalists are dedicated to achieving more just and effective global governance through the application of the principles of democratic federalism to world affairs.

WFMC is the Canadian member organization of the international World Federalist Movement – Institute for Global Policy (WFM-IGP), co-located at The Hague and in New York, near the United Nations. The World Federalist Movement was founded as an international peace movement shortly after the creation of the United Nations, in the Swiss city of Montreux. Federalists recognized that the post-World War II institutional architecture would not be sufficient to achieve its purposes, i.e. a world that would act collectively against armed aggression, the denial of universal rights, and other global threats.


CCIC - What are the key areas of focus of World Federalists Movement-Canada?

Fergus Watt - Our areas of focus include a mixture of international and Canadian issues.

    1. Peacekeeping. We advocate greater participation by Canada in UN peacekeeping. At the same time, we call for the UN to have its own standing rapid reaction capacity, i.e.  the proposed UN Emergency Peace Service (UNEPS).
    2. Post-2015. We are monitoring the international discussions. The scope of the debate, over 100 national consultations, international CS, UN bodies, regional conferences, etc. etc. stands in marked contrast to the development of the MDGs (cooked up by a few officials in Kofi Annan’s office). It’s a real global conversation this time. Programmatically, WFM – Canada is supporting efforts to incorporate a rights-based Social Protection Floor (see also ILO’s Bachelet report) as a key post-2015 objective.
    3. Responsibility to Protect. We support the development of the Responsibility to Protect (R2P) normative framework. Although R2P is often misunderstood and misrepresented, and has not been utilized to protect citizens in Syria, it nevertheless holds significant potential for improving international responses to atrocity crimes such as genocide,  war crimes, crimes against humanity and ethnic cleansing.
    4. UN Parliamentary Assembly. The idea of a parliamentary assembly at the UN (like the PA for the Organization for Security and Cooperation in Europe, or the PA for the Council of Eurpe, to cite 2 examples), is a concrete example of how one could take practical steps to democratize global governance. We are active on the international UNPA campaign. 74 Canadian parliamentarians (from all parties) have signed the International Appeal calling for a parliamentary assembly at the UN.
    5. Some of our other programmatic work is focused on the International Criminal Court, Canadian legislation to implement the Convention on Cluster Munitions, and nuclear disarmament.

     

    CCIC - Who can get involved in WFMC, and how?

    Fergus Watt - We rely on individual Canadians for support. Individuals can join, donate, or sign up for our monthly E-News by visiting www.worldfederalistscanada.org.

     

    CCIC - Your organization is involved in actions aimed at reconnecting the UN with Canada; what are the main activities and what are you hoping to achieve?

    Fergus Watt - The project’s full title is “The United Nations and Canada: What Canada has done and should be doing at the UN.” Seventeen international specialists – former cabinet ministers, ambassadors, civil society representatives and a few academics -- have written on various aspects of the UN’s work and why Canada should be more engaged than it is at present. These experts recognize both the UN’s achievements and its failings. But, they also believe, as do a majority of Canadians, in the great need for effective international organizations to help the world make decisions regarding global problems. The project involves outreach to media ahead of the 2013 Canadian speech at the UN General Assembly, as well as publication of a book containing the articles.


    CCIC - WFMC is also much involved in the campaign “Together for Equality – Leave No One Behind”, a discussion on the post-2015 agenda. Can you explain what it is and how people and organizations can participate?

    Fergus Watt - The “Leave No One Behind” campaign is mobilizing public support for formulations of possible post-2015 goals that were particularly advanced by various civil society networks and the UN system task team. It’s a progressive agenda. Rather than a list of specific poverty reduction targets, like the MDGs, civil society networks emphasize the importance of a more universal post-2015 framework of “one world goals,” recognizing that poverty reduction is an agenda to be addressed in all countries. A rights-based approach to addressing poverty is emphasized (i.e. based on the Universal Declaration of Human Rights, and the International Covenant on Social, Economic, and Cultural Rights), rather than a list of limited poverty-reduction programs and targets. We want to support this more progressive agenda, in hopes that governments at the UN don’t water down many of the proposed goals in the months ahead.


    CCIC - Why is it important for WFMC to be part of the CCIC?

    Fergus Watt - We are a small organization. Strategically, WFMC is better off when we network, share our perspectives with others and collaborate to promote international cooperation.  CCIC provides an important vehicle for doing so. Additionally, CCIC is a key player on many of the front-burner Canadian foreign policy issues, such as the merger of CIDA into DFATD, and the evident re-conceptualizing of Canadian development policy and priorities.

     

     

TOP
 
  • FLASH
  • Employment
  • 10-point agenda
  • Istanbul Principles
  • Code of Ethics
  • Become a Member
  • Who's who
  • MEMBERS SPACE
  • CCIC Publications
  • Employment

CCCI - CCIC
ACCUEIL RECHERCHE PLAN DU SITE CONTACT ENGLISH

Members

CCIC members include approximately 100 Canadian non-profit organizations working, both in Canada and overseas, on the front lines of social justice, humanitarian aid, economic and democratic development.

À PROPOS NOS INTÉRÊTS GROUPES DE TRAVAIL MÉDIAS RESSOURCES MEMBRES
Organisations membres du CCCI
Événements du CCCI à venir
Profils des membres
Un mot sur les membres


IMPRIMER

Project Ploughshares

Profil d'un membre, septembre 2013

 

MFMC

Rencontre des membres canadiens et internationaux de World Federalists, juillet 2012, Winnipeg.

Ce mois-ci, nous avons eu le plaisir de discuter avec Fergus Watt, directeur exécutif du Mouvement fédéraliste mondial – Canada. Nous en avons appris davantage sur cet organisme petit mais dynamique, membre d’un réseau mondial qui se consacre notamment au maintien de la paix, aux discussions sur l’après 2015 et à la responsabilité de protéger.

 

CCCI - Le Mouvement fédéraliste mondial – Canada fait partie d’un réseau mondial. Pourriez-vous nous en dire plus sur son histoire?

Fergus Watt Le Mouvement fédéraliste mondial – Canada (MFMC) est un organisme à but non lucratif voué à la recherche, à l’éducation et à la défense des droits. Au Canada, il travaille en étroite collaboration avec une organisation sœur, la World Federalist Foundation, établie dans le même bureau à Ottawa. L’objectif des Fédéralistes mondiaux est la mise en place d’une politique de gestion plus juste et efficace grâce à l’application des principes du fédéralisme démocratique aux affaires internationales.

Le MFMC est la division canadienne d’un organisme international, le World Federalist Movement – Institute for Global Policy (WFM-IGP), situé à La Haye et à New York, près des bureaux de l’ONU. Le Mouvement fédéraliste mondial a été fondé en tant que mouvement international pour la paix, à Montreux, en Suisse, peu après la création de l’ONU. Selon les Fédéralistes, la structure institutionnelle découlant de la Seconde Guerre mondiale ne permettrait pas d’atteindre l’objectif : la création d’un monde qui réagirait collectivement aux attaques armées, au non-respect des droits universels et aux autres menaces internationales.

CCCI - Quels sont les principaux dossiers qui occupent le Mouvement fédéraliste mondial – Canada?

Fergus Watt – Nous nous consacrons à des enjeux internationaux et canadiens.

    1. Le maintien de la paix. Nous militons pour une participation plus importante du Canada aux efforts de maintien de la paix de l’ONU. De plus, nous demandons à l’ONU de développer sa propre capacité d’intervention rapide, d’où notre proposition d’un service pacifique d’urgence des Nations unies.
    2. L’après 2015. Nous surveillons les discussions internationales. L’ampleur du débat (dont découlent notamment plus de 100 consultations nationales et conférences régionales et auquel participent entre autres des acteurs de la société civile internationale et divers organes de l’ONU) est bien différente de celle du processus d’élaboration des objectifs du Millénaire pour le développement (OMD), conçus par une poignée de représentants dans le bureau de Kofi Annan. Cette fois-ci, il s’agit d’une véritable conversation mondiale. Pour sa part, le MFMC appuie les efforts visant l’ajout d’un niveau minimal de protection sociale fondée sur les droits aux objectifs clés de l’après 2015 (consultez aussi le rapport rédigé par Mme Bachelet pour l’OIT).
    3. La responsabilité de protéger. Nous soutenons le développement d’un cadre normatif pour la responsabilité de protéger. Bien que cette notion soit souvent mal comprise et interprétée – elle n’a d’ailleurs pas été invoquée pour protéger les citoyens syriens –, elle peut certainement contribuer à l’amélioration des interventions internationales en présence de situations atroces comme les génocides, les crimes de guerre, les crimes contre l’humanité et le nettoyage ethnique.
    4. L’Assemblée parlementaire de Nations Unies (APNU). La création d’une Assemblée parlementaire des Nations Unies (s’inspirant d’assemblées parlementaires comme celles de l’Organisation pour la sécurité et la coopération en Europe ou du Conseil de l’Europe) est un exemple de mesure concrète pouvant mener à une démocratisation de la politique de gestion internationale. Nous participons donc activement à la campagne internationale pour une APNU. De plus, 74 parlementaires canadiens (de tous les partis) ont signé l’appel international réclamant la création d’une telle entité.
    5. Nos autres actions visent notamment la Cour pénale internationale, l’intégration de la Convention sur les armes à sous-munitions à la législation canadienne, et le désarmement nucléaire.

    CCCI - Qui peut participer aux efforts du MFMC, et de quelle façon?

    Fergus Watt – Nous dépendons du soutien individuel des Canadiens. Ils peuvent rallier le mouvement, faire un don ou s’inscrire à notre cyberbulletin mensuel en visitant le www.worldfederalistscanada.org.

    CCCI - Votre organisme participe aux tentatives visant à rétablir le lien entre les Nations Unies et le Canada. Quelles sont les principales mesures prises, et dans quel but?

    Fergus Watt Le titre complet du projet est The United Nations and Canada: What Canada has done and should be doing at the United Nations (Les Nations Unies et le Canada : Ce que le Canada a apporté à l’ONU et ce qu’il devrait faire maintenant). Dix-sept spécialistes internationaux – d’anciens ministres, des ambassadeurs, des représentants de la société civile et quelques universitaires – ont rédigé des textes concernant divers aspects du travail de l’ONU et les raisons pour lesquelles le Canada devrait y participer plus activement. Ces experts, qui ont reconnu à la fois les bons coups et les échecs de l’ONU, croient comme la plupart des Canadiens à la nécessité d’organisations internationales efficaces, c’est‑à‑dire capables de contribuer à la prise de décisions concernant les problèmes d’envergure mondiale. Le projet comprend la diffusion d’information dans les médias avant le discours du Canada lors de l’Assemblée générale de l’ONU de 2013, ainsi que la publication d’un livre regroupant les articles écrits dans le cadre du projet.

    CCCI - Le MFMC prend aussi part à la campagne « Together for Equality – Leave No One Behind », un élément du programme pour l’après 2015. Pouvez-vous nous expliquer de quoi il s’agit et comment les gens et les organisations peuvent y participer?

    Fergus Watt – La campagne « Leave No One Behind » vise à sensibiliser la population à un ensemble potentiel d’objectifs pour l’après 2015, qui ont été mis de l’avant par diverses organisations de la société civile et par l’équipe de travail de l’ONU. Il s’agit d’un programme progressiste. Au lieu d’établir une liste d’objectifs fixes visant la réduction de la pauvreté, comme c’est le cas pour les OMD, le but est plutôt de mettre l’accent sur un cadre plus universel pour l’après 2015, comportant des objectifs pour tous et tenant compte du fait que la réduction de la pauvreté est l’affaire de tous les pays. On opte donc pour une approche fondée sur les droits (basée sur la Déclaration universelle des droits de l’homme et le Pacte international relatif aux droits économiques, sociaux et culturels) plutôt que pour une liste limitée d’objectifs et de programmes. Nous voulons appuyer cette approche novatrice, en espérant que les gouvernements siégeant à l’ONU n’élaguent pas les objectifs proposés au cours des prochains mois.

    CCCI - Pourquoi est-il important pour le MFMC d’être membre du CCCI?

    Fergus Watt – Nous sommes un petit organisme. Stratégiquement parlant, le MFMC se porte mieux s’il fait partie d’un réseau où il peut partager ses points de vue et collaborer pour promouvoir la coopération internationale. En ce sens, le CCCI est une plateforme idéale. De plus, le CCCI joue un rôle clé dans de nombreux dossiers chauds liés aux questions de politique étrangère, comme l’intégration de l’Agence canadienne de développement international (ACDI) au ministère des Affaires étrangères, du Commerce et du Développement (MAECD), et la redéfinition conséquente de la politique de développement et des priorités du Canada.

     


TOP
 
  • FLASH
  • Emploi
  • Programme en 10 points
  • Principes d'Istanbul
  • Code d'éthique
  • Devenez membre
  • QUI FAIT QUOI
  • COIN DES MEMBRES
  • Publications du CCCI
  • Emploi