CCCI - CCIC
ACCUEIL RECHERCHE PLAN DU SITE CONTACT ENGLISH

Members

CCIC members include approximately 100 Canadian non-profit organizations working, both in Canada and overseas, on the front lines of social justice, humanitarian aid, economic and democratic development.

About us What we do Working Groups Media RESSOURCES Members
Become a Member
Member Organizations
CCIC Member Profiles
Membership Renewal
Members' Space
Who's Who: Who does what where


IMPRIMER

Victoria International Development Education Association (VIDEA)

Member Profile December 2012

This month, CCIC spoke with Lesley Palmer, Programme Manager at the Victoria International Development Education Association (VIDEA), a dynamic NGO based in British Columbia. VIDEA was established as a non-profit organization in 1977 to “inspire thought and action on global issues”. The organization will be celebrating its 35th anniversary in 2013 and we take this opportunity to present some of the work done by VIDEA on global education and on partnering with Southern organizations through the years, as well as some initiatives being developed more recently.

VIDEA Twinning Programme

Friendship and solidarity between BC communities and Zambian communities through VIDEA’s Twinning Programme

CCIC: VIDEA will be celebrating its 35th anniversary in 2013! Tell us about some of VIDEA's greatest achievements. And what are some of the most important challenges that you faced in the recent years?

 

VIDEA: Yes, we are very excited to be celebrating 35 years of promoting global education and engaging youth and communities in global issues! VIDEA is one of Canada's oldest global education centres, and we work to build relationships among Canadians working for global justice, peace and sustainable development, linking local and international issues with community initiatives.

Some of VIDEA's greatest achievements have been:

  • Setting up sustainable and equitable partnerships with our overseas partners;
  • Engaging with the educational community across British Columbia, Canada, and the United States through the development of quality learning resources and through innovative learning opportunities that have helped generations of students and teachers to better understand and become active on global issues;
  • Developing a culture of friendship and solidarity across our work that guides our programmes;
  • Creating opportunities across BC for community members to become actively involved in the development of sustaining relationships with counterparts in southern African communities.

As a result of challenges and changes in the international development funding climate, over the past couple of years VIDEA has worked hard to explore new and innovative ways of delivering programming. This has been characterised by the fostering of new non-traditional partnerships and through increased use of digital and social media opportunities for public engagement and fund development.

 

CCIC: VIDEA is one of Canada's oldest global education centres; how has your approach to global education evolved over the years?

 

VIDEA: VIDEA works with a broad partner network to develop learning tools and opportunities to empower people to better understand global issues, poverty issues, community diversity, global citizenship, and the interconnectedness of the world. Our approach to global education has evolved over the years from focusing on awareness raising to moving people to a place of action where they become directly engaged and involved in the issues. This has grown into programming that is increasingly made up of community and youth-led activities, and includes the use of innovative social and digital media initiatives to engage and inspire youth.

 

 

CCIC: Could you share a story from the field that illustrates VIDEA's work today and that you are particularly proud of?

 

VIDEA: VIDEA's overseas programme creates relationships with overseas partners and communities based on the principles of friendship, solidarity, equality and respect for local communities. We are particularly proud of the linkages and relationship building that is part of our twinning programme. VIDEA's twinning programme works in partnership with Women for Change (WfC) in Zambia to create sustaining links of friendship and solidarity between BC communities and rural WfC operational areas. Current links exist between Kelowna and Senanga, Victoria and Lundazi, and Nelson and Kaoma. Over the past 7 years these relationships have grown to include: support to a cooperative of 46 basket makers in Senanga District; art exchanges between schools in each of these districts; official sister-city relationships between Kelowna and Senanga and Nelson and Kaoma; an Orphan and Vulnerable Children Education Programme that provides primary, middle, high school and university education to over 35 young people in the Kaoma, Senanga, Lundazi and Lusaka districts of Zambia; and mutual exchanges of knowledge, experience and solidarity through visits to rural Zambia by lead volunteers from BC, and to BC by members of WfC staff.

 

 

CCIC: Your organization has developed the Indigenous Knowledge Programme; can you tell us more about it?

 

VIDEA: VIDEA's Indigenous Knowledge Programme focuses on creating links between indigenous peoples in BC with indigenous peoples in sub-Saharan Africa, sharing indigenous knowledge, culture and language across communities. A key component of this programme is the importance of creating safe and accessible programming for indigenous elders and youth to have their voices heard. The programme includes:

Mpambo Project - the Mpambo project focuses on supporting and preserving indigenous thought, language and culture in Uganda. The focus of the Mpambo project in recent years has been to create a place of indigenous learning, the House of Indigenous Cultures, that will serve as a seat to bring together many ways of learning (a multi-versity).


International Aboriginal Youth Internships (IAYI) - This year VIDEA was one of only 8 organisations across Canada that gained CIDA funding to carry out international Aboriginal internships. The IAYI initiative provided opportunities for 10 Indigenous youth to participate in international internships with our partner organizations in Zambia and Uganda.


Elder's Wisdom - this project works with Elders in BC to identify and share key cultural pieces of knowledge, experience or practice and to share this with Elders from other project areas. The archive includes stories, footage and crafts covering issues from traditional crafts, to healthy children and healthy families, to environmental and food security strategies and language preservation.

 

 

CCIC: How do you envision the future or your organization?

 

VIDEA: Key to the success of VIDEA’s programmes are the organisational, institutional and funding partners that we are proud to work with. We envision a future with a strong core of independent funding that does not leave us reliant on government funding or tied to externally decided funding priorities, allowing us to continue to uphold our values and maintain a human rights focus whilst maintaining commitments to our overseas gender and human rights focused partners. VIDEA's programmes have always rested on a wide volunteer network throughout BC and the Yukon, where currently just under 200 volunteers are actively engaged in committees and youth groups. Having this strong volunteer base enables us to maintain our programmes even when funding is scarce.

 

CCIC: How would you describe the benefits of being a member of CCIC and what it means for your organization?

VIDEA: The benefits of being a member of CCIC include access to training opportunities, subscribing to CCIC's comprehensive and progressive Code of Ethics, and the solidarity, advocacy, and knowledge sharing that comes with being affiliated with other NGOs and civil society organizations working in international development. For our organization, membership also provides an opportunity for us to contribute to the future development of our sector.

 

TOP
 
  • FLASH
  • Code of Ethics
  • 10-point agenda
  • Istanbul Principles
  • CCIC Publications
  • Who's who
  • Code of ethics
  • MEMBERS SPACE
  • Employment
  • Employment

CCCI - CCIC
ACCUEIL RECHERCHE PLAN DU SITE CONTACT ENGLISH

Members

CCIC members include approximately 100 Canadian non-profit organizations working, both in Canada and overseas, on the front lines of social justice, humanitarian aid, economic and democratic development.

À PROPOS NOS INTÉRÊTS GROUPES DE TRAVAIL MÉDIAS RESSOURCES MEMBRES
Organisations membres du CCCI
Événements du CCCI à venir
Profils des membres
Un mot sur les membres


IMPRIMER


Victoria International Development Education Association (VIDEA)

Profil d'un membre, décembre 2012

Ce mois-ci le CCCI a rencontré Lesley Palmer, chargée de programme au Victoria International Development Education Association (VIDEA), une ONG dynamique située en Colombie-Britannique. VIDEA est une organisation à but non lucratif qui a été créée en 1977 pour “inspirer la pensée et l’action sur des enjeux mondiaux ”. L’organisation fêtera son 35e anniversaire en 2013 alors il s’agit d’une bonne occasion de présenter une partie du travail fait par VIDEA sur l’éducation internationale, sur les partenariats développés au fil des ans avec des organisations du Sud, ainsi que des initiatives développées plus récemment.

Rosemary McCarney

Grâce au programme de jumelage de VIDEA, des liens d’amitié et de solidarité unissent aujourd’hui des communautés de Colombie-Britannique et de Zambie.

CCIC: La Victoria International Development Education Association (VIDEA) célébrera son 35e anniversaire en 2013! Parlez-nous de quelques-unes de vos grandes réalisations, et des plus importants défis que vous avez dû relever au cours des dernières années.

VIDEA: Oui, nous sommes fébriles à l’idée de célébrer 35 années passées à promouvoir l’éducation internationale et à sensibiliser les jeunes et les communautés aux grands enjeux mondiaux! VIDEA est l’un des plus anciens centres consacrés à l’éducation internationale au pays, et nous mettons tout en œuvre afin de tisser des liens entre les Canadiens qui se dévouent à la cause de la justice, de la paix et du développement durable à l’échelle mondiale en érigeant des ponts entre les enjeux locaux et internationaux et les initiatives communautaires. Parmi nos faits d’armes, notons la création de partenariats durables et équitables avec nos partenaires étrangers; la mise sur pied, de concert avec des communautés éducatives de la Colombie-Britannique et des États-Unis, de ressources éducatives de qualité et d’occasions d’apprentissage novatrices qui ont aidé des générations d’étudiants et d’enseignants à mieux comprendre les enjeux mondiaux et à s’investir dans ces dossiers; le développement d’une culture fondée sur l’amitié et la solidarité qui oriente nos programmes; la création d’occasions, pour les membres des communautés de la Colombie-Britannique, de participer activement au développement de relations durables avec les partenaires des communautés sud-africaines.


Au cours des quelques dernières années, en raison des défis et changements qui ont marqué le milieu du financement du développement international, nous nous sommes échinés à trouver des moyens novateurs de déployer nos programmes. Nous avons notamment mis l’accent sur la recherche de partenariats non traditionnels, et sur le recours accru aux médias numériques et sociaux pour sensibiliser le public et recueillir des fonds. 

 


CCIC: VIDEA est l’un des plus anciens centres consacrés à l’éducation planétaire au pays. En quoi votre approche de celle-ci a-t-elle évolué au fil des ans?

VIDEA: VIDEA collabore avec un vaste réseau de partenaires au développement d’outils et d’occasions d’apprentissage afin d’aider les gens à mieux comprendre les enjeux internationaux, les problèmes liés à la pauvreté, ainsi que les concepts de diversité communautaire, de citoyenneté mondiale et d’interconnectivité. Oui, notre approche a évolué au fil des ans : d’abord axés sur la sensibilisation, nous avons peu à peu entrepris d’inciter les gens à l’action, pour qu’ils deviennent à leur tour des vecteurs de changement. Cette vision nous a menés à créer des programmes dont les activités relèvent d’abord de la communauté et des jeunes, et qui font appel aux médias sociaux et numériques pour interpeller et inspirer ces derniers.

 


CCIC: Y a-t-il une expérience sur le terrain qui témoigne du travail actuel de VIDEA et dont vous êtes particulièrement fier?

VIDEA: Les programmes de VIDEA à l’étranger créent des liens avec les partenaires et communautés de là-bas en misant sur quatre grands principes : l’amitié, la solidarité, l’égalité et le respect des communautés locales. Nous sommes particulièrement fiers des passerelles et des relations qui naissent de notre programme de jumelage. Celui-ci, fruit d’un partenariat avec Women for Change (WfC), une organisation de Zambie, a pour but de nouer des liens d’amitié et de solidarité durables entre les communautés de Colombie-Britannique et des régions rurales où WfC est active. À l’heure actuelle, des ponts existent entre Kelowna et Senanga, Victoria et Lundazi, et Nelson et Kaoma. Au cours des sept dernières années, ces rapports ont mené à plusieurs réalisations : appui à une coopérative de 46 vannières établie dans le district de Senanga, échanges artistiques inter-écoles dans chacun de districts susmentionnés; statut officiel de villes jumelées favorisant les relations entre Kelowna et Senanga et Nelson et Kaoma; programme d’éducation à l’intention des enfants orphelins ou vulnérables qui permet à plus de 35 jeunes des districts de Kaoma, Senanga, Lundazi et Lusaka d’avoir accès à un enseignement primaire, intermédiaire, secondaire et universitaire; et partage d’expériences et de connaissances à l’occasion de visites effectuées dans un esprit de solidarité par des bénévoles de Colombie-Britannique en Zambie rurale, et par des membres du personnel de WfC en Colombie-Britannique. 

 


CCIC: Votre organisation a développé l’Indigenous Knowledge Programme (programme sur le savoir autochtone). Pouvez-vous nous en dire plus à ce sujet?

VIDEA: Ce programme se concentre sur la création de liens entre les autochtones de la Colombie-Britannique et de l’Afrique subsaharienne; il permet aux communautés concernées de mettre en commun leurs connaissances et favorise les échanges culturels et linguistiques. L’une de ses principales visées est la mise en place de programmes sécuritaires et accessibles qui donnent la chance aux aînés et aux jeunes autochtones de se faire entendre. Il comprend les volets suivants :

Projet Mpambo – Cette initiative vise à appuyer et à protéger la pensée, la langue et la culture autochtone en Ouganda. Au cours des dernières années, il a gravité autour d’un objectif central : la création d’un lieu dédié à l’apprentissage autochtone, nommé House of Indigenous Cultures, une multiversité qui permettra de rassembler à la même enseigne de nombreux modes d’apprentissage.

Stages internationaux pour les jeunes autochtones (SIJA) – Cette année, VIDEA compte parmi le groupe sélect de huit organisations canadiennes qui ont reçu un financement de l’ACDI afin d’offrir des stages internationaux aux jeunes autochtones. L’initiative SIJA a permis à 10 d’entre eux de participer à un stage auprès de nos organisations partenaires de la Zambie et de l’Ouganda.

Projet Elder's Wisdom (sagesse des aînés) – Cette initiative sollicite la participation des aînés de Colombie-Britannique; avec eux, nous cernons des éléments culturels essentiels ancrés dans leur savoir, leur expérience et leurs pratiques, pour ensuite les partager avec des aînés rattachés à d’autres domaines. Nous sommes ainsi en mesure de constituer des archives qui rassemblent des témoignages, des séquences vidéo, des pièces d’artisanat, et qui abordent des sujets aussi variés que l’art traditionnel, la santé des enfants et des familles, les stratégies assurant la sécurité environnementale et alimentaire, ainsi que la préservation des langues.

 

 

CCIC: Comment envisagez-vous l’avenir de VIDEA?

VIDEA: La clé de notre succès est certainement le concours de nos partenaires organisationnels, institutionnels et de financement, avec lesquels nous sommes fiers de collaborer. Le futur dont nous rêvons reposerait d’abord sur un financement en majeure partie indépendant, qui permettrait à VIDEA de ne plus être tributaire des fonds gouvernementaux et de priorités décidées par des intervenants externes; nous serions ainsi en mesure de demeurer fidèles aux valeurs que nous défendons et de continuer à mettre l’accent sur les droits de la personne, et de respecter nos engagements envers nos partenaires étrangers qui luttent eux aussi pour les droits de la personne, et pour l’égalité des sexes. Nos programmes ont toujours misé sur un vaste réseau de bénévoles provenant de la Colombie-Britannique et du Yukon; à l’heure actuelle, nous en comptons presque 200, qui participent activement à la bonne marche de comités et de groupes de jeunes. Ce sont ces assises bénévoles solides qui nous permettent de poursuivre nos programmes même lorsque le financement se fait rare.

 

 

CCIC: Quels sont les avantages d’être membre du CCCI? Qu’est-ce que ça signifie pour VIDEA?

VIDEA: Les avantages d’être membre du CCCI sont multiples : possibilités de formation, adhésion au Code d’éthique détaillé et progressif de l’organisation, ainsi que solidarité, force de la revendication collective et partage des connaissances découlant de l’affiliation avec d’autres ONG et organisations de la société civile spécialisées dans le développement international. Le statut de membre offre aussi à VIDEA la chance de contribuer au développement du secteur.

 


TOP
 
  • COIN DES MEMBRES
  • FLASH
  • QUI FAIT QUOI
  • Devenez membre
  • Emploi
  • Programme en 10 points
  • Code d'éthique
  • Bilan de l'aide