CCCI - CCIC
ACCUEIL RECHERCHE PLAN DU SITE CONTACT ENGLISH

Members

CCIC members include approximately 100 Canadian non-profit organizations working, both in Canada and overseas, on the front lines of social justice, humanitarian aid, economic and democratic development.

About us What we do Working Groups Media RESSOURCES Members
Become a Member
Member Organizations
CCIC Member Profiles
Membership Renewal
Members' Space
Who's Who: Who does what where


IMPRIMER

MATCH International

Member Profile February 2013

VIDEA Twinning Programme

Malawi: Re-usable, locally sourced and crafted sanitary pads enable the full participation of girls in school, while providing local women with business opportunities.

CCIC: MATCH International was founded close to 40 years ago; and after undergoing a crisis, it is now back on the scene with a new strategy and structure. This is a “happy ending” story for our sector. Can you share with our readers what you consider to be some of the critical factors for this successful comeback?

 

MATCH: MATCH is an organization with a very loyal and committed base of support. Many women who started supporting the organization when it was founded by Norma Walmsley and Suzanne Johnson-Harvor in 1976 continue to support MATCH today. We never felt alone during the crisis, nor do we now in our transformation. A strategic administrative relationship with WUSC has helped in managing our corporate needs.

MATCH spent a good amount of time talking to a range of partners and stakeholders about our organization- asking questions around how we could be relevant in new ways, how we could honour the legacy and how we could reposition the organization whilst maintaining our core values of supporting women at the grassroots level. Losing CIDA funding forced us to explore all of these things, and redefine our viability model in a new way.

 

CCIC: How would you describe MATCH International’s role and niche, among the different international development organizations that have a focus on women’s rights?

 

MATCH: MATCH has over the years worked with more than 500 women’s rights organizations in the Global South, providing relatively small and sometimes catalytic investments. MATCH has always employed a rights-based approach in its work and has exclusively worked with women-led organizations. In moving forward, MATCH will focus its development efforts through an International Women’s Fund. The fund will be the only one of its kind in Canada. We also feel very strongly about the importance of our work domestically, and as such, will continue to play a role in convening Canadian groups in relation to international women’s rights issues as well as engaging the Canadian public more broadly to keep women’s rights top of mind.

 

 

CCIC: MATCH is supporting the International Campaign to Stop Rape and Violence in Conflict. Can you tell us more about this campaign?

 

MATCH: MATCH is one of thousands of organizations and individuals who have signed on to the campaign. This campaign seeks to harness a collective energy to advocate for the prevention of rape as a weapon of war, protect the victims of rape and violence in conflict, and demand that those perpetrators of violent conflict be prosecuted. Canada was one of the early adopters- On June 20th, 2012, the New Democratic Party of Canada introduced a motion to the House of Commons to not only reaffirm Canada’s commitment to implementing the United Nations Security Council (UNSC) Resolutions on Women, Peace and Security, but also to become a global leader in the fight against sexual violence in conflict. Canadian leadership, at the political and civil society level, in conjunction with a coordinated international effort is needed to prevent and stop rape and gender violence in conflict situations.

 

 

CCIC: Your renewal strategy (2013-2016) includes the new MATCH Women’s Fund for Social Innovation; can you explain what this program will respond to?

 

MATCH: Much like the hundreds of women’s funds around the world, MATCH believes that the women’s fund model is an important part of the development and philanthropic landscape. Women’s funds have historically prioritized investments in the leadership and empowerment of women and girls, addressing various aspects of social change - including systems, attitudes and social norms.

MATCH will launch its women’s fund in 2013 with an initial focus on women’s social innovation. We will be exploring partnerships around the world with women’s organizations that employ creative and catalytic approaches to their work in championing the rights of women and girls in the community. The MATCH women’s fund for social innovation will invest in a range of initiatives centered on social change- including supporting movement building in particular amongst young women, innovative use of technologies and the promotion of women in public and political space.

 

 

CCIC: Soon we will be celebrating International Women’s Day. For MATCH, what is one of the most pressing issues that women are still facing in 2013?

 

MATCH:The statistics around women in poverty are staggering. Women still do not have land rights in many countries; hundreds of thousands of women are trafficked across and within borders every day. Considerably more women than men are refugees and IDPs. For those in development, we know that the full appreciation of rights for women is an essential part of sustained and successful development. 

We are most encouraged however by the way in which these grave issues are making their way into the mainstream consciousness. Women’s rights have become increasingly ‘internationalized’ in recent years. Now more than ever, there is global outrage around the rape and violent acts committed against women and girls. There are movements gaining strength at both the grassroots and within the highest echelons of power. Millions of people rose to end rape as a part of the VDay campaign on February 14th. Organizations across the globe are banding together to end rape and violence against women in situations of conflict. This year we saw the inaugural international day of the girl. In the US, the women moving millions campaign has raised $200 million dollars for women’s rights and this number is climbing. Here at home, the idle no more movement was largely led and inspired by women. We at MATCH can’t escape the feeling that we are in a moment, a turning point, for global action.

 

 

TOP
 
  • FLASH
  • Code of Ethics
  • 10-point agenda
  • Istanbul Principles
  • CCIC Publications
  • Who's who
  • Code of ethics
  • MEMBERS SPACE
  • Employment
  • Employment

CCCI - CCIC
ACCUEIL RECHERCHE PLAN DU SITE CONTACT ENGLISH

Members

CCIC members include approximately 100 Canadian non-profit organizations working, both in Canada and overseas, on the front lines of social justice, humanitarian aid, economic and democratic development.

À PROPOS NOS INTÉRÊTS GROUPES DE TRAVAIL MÉDIAS RESSOURCES MEMBRES
Organisations membres du CCCI
Événements du CCCI à venir
Profils des membres
Un mot sur les membres


IMPRIMER


MATCH International

Profil d'un membre, février 2013

Malawi

Malawi : Réutilisables et fabriqué localement, ces serviettes hygiéniques permettent la pleine participation des filles à l'école, tout en fournissant des opportunites de travail pour les femmes locales

CCCI: MATCH International a été fondée il y a près de 40 ans. Après avoir traversé une crise, elle refait maintenant surface, forte d’une stratégie et d’une structure repensées. Il s’agit là d’une histoire qui finit bien pour notre secteur. Pouvez-vous nous faire part de certains des principaux facteurs qui ont contribué à ce retour réussi?

MATCH: MATCH est épaulée par des partisans très loyaux et dévoués. Bon nombre de femmes qui ont commencé à soutenir l’organisation au moment de sa fondation en 1976 par Norma Walmsley et Suzanne Johnson-Harvor continuent de le faire aujourd’hui. Au cours de la crise, jamais nous ne nous sommes sentis seuls, et c’est encore le cas à l’heure de notre transformation. En outre, notre relation administrative stratégique avec l’EUMC nous a aidés à gérer les besoins de l’organisation.

MATCH a passé beaucoup de temps à discuter de l’organisation avec un éventail de partenaires et d’intervenants; nous leur avons demandé comment nous pourrions renouveler notre pertinence, respecter l’héritage de l’organisation et la réorienter tout en restant fidèles à sa mission fondamentale : soutenir les femmes à l’échelle locale. Le retrait du financement de l’ACDI nous a obligés à nous pencher sur toutes ces questions et à repenser notre modèle de viabilité.


CCCI: Pouvez décrire le rôle et le créneau qu’occupe MATCH International par rapport aux différentes organisations de développement international qui défendent les droits des femmes?

MATCH: Au fil des ans, MATCH a travaillé avec plus de 500 organisations des pays du Sud œuvrant à la défense des droits des femmes, leur apportant un financement qui, bien que modeste, a parfois eu d’importantes répercussions. MATCH a toujours adopté une approche fondée sur les droits et travaillé exclusivement avec des organisations dirigées par des femmes. Désormais, nous concentrerons nos efforts de développement sur un fonds international pour les femmes unique en son genre au Canada.

Nous sommes également convaincus du bien-fondé de notre travail au Canada. Par conséquent, nous continuerons de réunir des Canadiens autour des questions touchant les droits des femmes du monde entier et sensibiliserons davantage le grand public à l’importance de cette cause.


CCCI: MATCH soutient la Campagne internationale pour mettre fin aux viols et à la violence fondée sur le genre en situation de conflit. Pouvez-vous nous en dire plus sur cette initiative?

MATCH: MATCH s’est engagée dans cette campagne aux côtés de milliers d’organisations et d’individus. Cette initiative vise à canaliser les énergies pour réclamer la fin de l’utilisation du viol comme arme de guerre, protéger les victimes de viol et de violence en situation de conflit et exiger que les auteurs de tels actes soient poursuivis. Le Canada a été l’un des premiers à se joindre au mouvement; le 20 juin 2012, le Nouveau Parti démocratique du Canada a déposé à la Chambre des communes une motion visant à réaffirmer l’engagement du Canada à appliquer les résolutions sur les femmes, la paix et la sécurité du Conseil de sécurité de l’ONU, mais aussi à faire du pays un leader mondial dans la lutte contre la violence sexuelle en situation de conflit. Pour remporter cette lutte, il faudra, en plus d’un effort international concerté, que le Canada fasse preuve de leadership tant sur la scène politique qu’au sein de la société civile.


CCCI: Votre stratégie de renouveau (2013-2016) mise entre autres sur le nouveau Fonds femmes et innovation sociale de MATCH; pouvez-vous expliquer à quoi servira ce programme?

MATCH: Se fondant sur les centaines de fonds pour les femmes mis en place partout dans le monde, MATCH croit que ce modèle joue un rôle important sur le plan du développement et de l’action philanthropique. Les fonds pour les femmes ont toujours privilégié les investissements dans le leadership et l’autonomisation des femmes et des filles, influant dans la foulée sur plusieurs aspects du changement social, y compris les systèmes, les attitudes et les normes sociales.

MATCH lancera son fonds pour les femmes en 2013, lequel mettra d’abord l’accent sur l’innovation sociale. Nous explorerons les possibilités de partenariat avec des organisations de femmes de partout dans le monde qui adoptent des approches créatives ayant un effet de catalyseur sur la défense des droits des femmes et des filles de leur communauté. Le Fonds femmes et innovation sociale de MATCH investira dans une gamme d’initiatives axées sur le changement social, notamment sur le soutien à la fondation de mouvements (surtout par les jeunes femmes), sur l’utilisation novatrice des technologies et sur la promotion des femmes dans l’espace public et politique.

CCCI: La Journée internationale de la femme approche à grands pas; selon MATCH, quels sont les problèmes les plus criants qu’éprouvent encore les femmes en 2013?

MATCH: Les statistiques sur les femmes vivant dans la pauvreté sont effarantes. Dans beaucoup de pays, elles n’ont toujours pas de droits fonciers. Chaque jour, le trafic de centaines de milliers d’entre elles a lieu au sein des pays ou entre les États. Beaucoup plus de femmes que d’hommes sont réfugiées ou déplacées à l’intérieur de leur propre pays. Ceux qui œuvrent au développement savent d’ailleurs que la pleine reconnaissance des droits des femmes est essentielle à la réussite et à la durabilité de leurs efforts.

Nous sommes malgré tout très encouragés par le fait que le grand public est de plus en plus sensibilisé à ces graves problèmes. Ces dernières années, les droits des femmes sont de plus en plus « internationalisés ». Plus que jamais, les viols et les actes violents dont sont victimes les femmes et les filles soulèvent l’indignation du monde entier. Des mouvements gagnent en importance au sein des peuples comme des hautes sphères du pouvoir. Dans le cadre de la campagne VDay du 14 février dernier, des millions de personnes ont uni leurs voix pour que cessent les viols. Des organisations de partout dans le monde joignent leurs forces pour mettre fin aux viols et à la violence contre les femmes en situation de conflit. Cette année, on a observé la première Journée internationale de la fille. Aux États-Unis, la campagne « Women Moving Millions » a permis d’amasser 200 millions de dollars pour la défense des droits des femmes, et ce chiffre continue de grimper. Au pays, le mouvement Idle No More est en grande partie dirigé et inspiré par des femmes. Chez MATCH, nous sommes convaincus que l’action mondiale amorce un tournant.

 


TOP
 
  • COIN DES MEMBRES
  • FLASH
  • QUI FAIT QUOI
  • Devenez membre
  • Emploi
  • Programme en 10 points
  • Code d'éthique
  • Bilan de l'aide