CCCI - CCIC
ACCUEIL RECHERCHE PLAN DU SITE CONTACT ENGLISH

Members

CCIC members include approximately 100 Canadian non-profit organizations working, both in Canada and overseas, on the front lines of social justice, humanitarian aid, economic and democratic development.

About us What we do Working Groups Media RESSOURCES Members
Become a Member
Member Organizations
CCIC Member Profiles
Membership Renewal
Members' Space
Who's Who: Who does what where


IMPRIMER

Project Ploughshares

Action Canada for Population and Development

Member Profile May-June 2013

ACDP

SWOP Launch 2011 (ACPD’s Director of Parliamentary Affairs, Dina Epale,
moderating launch of UNFPA’s 2011 State of the World Population Report
)

This month CCIC met with Sandeep Prasad, Executive Director at Action Canada for Population and Development (ACPD). ACPD was founded in 1997 and has been much engaged in the promotion of reproductive and sexual rights and health as human rights. Read about ACPD’s involvement in the High-Level Task Force for the International Conference on Population and Development (ICPD), share their comments on the High-Level Panel report on the Post-2015 Development Agenda, and much more.

 

CCIC - Your mission states that “ACPD (.....) seeks to enhance the quality of life of women, men and young people by promoting progressive policies in the field of human rights and international development with a primary focus on reproductive and sexual rights and health”. How and how much have you been able to achieve that since the organization was founded in 1997?

Sandeep Prasad

Sandeep Prasad - ACPD has played a leadership role in advancing gender equality, adolescent sexual and reproductive rights, abortion rights, maternal mortality and morbidity as a human rights matter, comprehensive sexuality education, among other human rights issues related to individuals’ sexual and reproductive health and rights within the UN system. ACPD has been working actively within the UN human rights system since 2002. Notably, ACPD was the first NGO to advocate in a sustained fashion for the UN Human Rights Council to take up the issue of maternal mortality and morbidity, which led to the groundbreaking resolution on “Preventable maternal mortality and morbidity and human rights” in June 2009 – the first intergovernmental recognition of maternal mortality as a human rights issue.  ACPD has also led and participated in advocacy efforts to integrate reproductive and sexual rights issues into a number of other UN resolutions, including successfully advocating for policy commitments on these issues to be made in resolutions on HIV and the right to health, violence against women, adolescents and youth, among others. To do this, ACPD engages in direct advocacy with a range of governments to grow support for specific proposals.

ACPD is the coordinator of the Sexual Rights Initiative, a South-North coalition of six organizations working to advance human rights in relation to sexuality and gender through the UN Human Rights Council and its mechanisms.

ACPD has also established itself as a respected organization in the area of NGO capacity-building and has worked to increase the knowledge of progressive advocates and organizations as to using international human rights mechanisms to advance their advocacy work.  ACPD has done this, for example, by conducting regular workshops for advocates on how to work with the universal periodic review (UPR) and assisting them to use this tool for advancing their domestic advocacy priorities.  ACPD also contributes to strengthening of the international sexual and reproductive health and rights movement by facilitating discussions, establishing coalitions and maintaining e-mail listservs.

Within Canada, ACPD is the secretariat of an all-parliamentary group entitled the Canadian Association of Parliamentarians on Population and Development (CAPPD). Through this group, ACPD has raised the awareness of dozens of sitting Members of Parliament and Senators on issues related to sexual and reproductive health, human rights and development. ACPD has also facilitated the exchange of information between countries on these issues through MPs and Senators’ participation in international events including global parliamentarian conferences and study tours.


CCIC - You have an international Board of Directors; can you explain how that reflects in the work that you do?

Sandeep Prasad - ACPD’s international Board of Directors plays a critical role in informing and strengthening its work. All of ACPD’s Directors bring unique skills and perspectives to the work of the organization. Such diversity in backgrounds enhances the organization’s positions and approaches, while also contributing to the strengthening of its national, regional and international partnerships. Concretely, through its international Board of Directors, ACPD has been able to develop strong partnerships with domestic and regional parliamentary associations working on population and development issues; this has created greater opportunities for CAPPD members to gain a deeper understanding of global sexual and reproductive health and rights issues..

 

CCIC - ACPD is a member of the High-Level Task Force for the International Conference on Population and Development (ICPD): what is the objective of this Task Force and what is your role in it?

Sandeep Prasad - As ACPD's executive Director I was appointed to the High-Level Task Force for ICPD in September 2012.  The goal of the Task Force is to strengthen “political will and commitments that advance sexual and reproductive health and rights and secure their positioning in the post-2015 global development agenda.”  At its core, the Task Force advocates for the respect, protection and fulfillment of sexual and reproductive rights for all, universal access to quality, comprehensive and integrated sexual and reproductive health information, education and services, universal access to comprehensive sexuality education for all young people and the elimination of violence against women and girls, including the securing of their access to critical services for all survivors of gender-based violence.

The recommendations that the Task Force has made strive to empower individuals through greater respect, protection and fulfillment of their human rights, particularly their right to bodily autonomy, and the ability to make free and informed choices regarding their sexuality, reproduction, and sexual and reproductive health. Women, young people and individuals from other marginalized communities are those who are least able to exercise these rights. As a member of the High-Level Task Force for ICPD, I am working to bring a greater focus on human rights into the new development agenda, with a particular focus on the empowerment of women and young people.

 

CCIC - What was ACPD’s reaction to the High-Level Panel report on the Post-2015 Development Agenda, which was released a few weeks ago?

Sandeep Prasad - ACPD welcomes the release of the High Level Panel’s report. ACPD is particularly pleased to see the report’s focus on reaching excluded and marginalized groups through deeper analysis of their needs and the socio-economic, political, religious, cultural, geographic, among other factors, which contribute to their lived realities. Similarly, ACPD is pleased to see the emphasis that the report places on the rights of women and girls. Specifically, the report calls on gender equality as an issue requiring both a standalone goal, as well as one which is cross-cutting. Moreover, the report emphasizes sexual and reproductive health and rights as a key priority. This is particularly important when we think about the more than 222 million women and girls who lack access to any modern method of contraception, whose right to decide if and when they want to have children is not guaranteed. Or the 800 women who die every day due to preventable pregnancy and childbirth-related complications, contributed to by a lack of access to comprehensive and integrated sexual and reproductive health care.  Or the 2400 young people who become infected with HIV every day.

Nonetheless, it is disappointing that women and adolescent girls’ access to abortion, as part of a comprehensive package of sexual and reproductive health services, is not mentioned in the report. Failing to provide women and adolescent girls with access to safe abortion services, including through its decriminalization where it is still against the law and by removing other restrictions, constitutes a violation of reproductive rights, the right to bodily autonomy and the right to health among other rights. It is essential that safe abortion services be made accessible to all women, including for survivors of sexual violence and rape. This is important not only as a means of eliminating unsafe abortions which lead to maternal morbidity and mortality, but also as a human rights issue.  Similarly, the report does not include specific references to adolescents’ access to comprehensive sexuality education (CSE). CSE is proven to be an effective means of reducing stigma, discrimination and violence, by challenging gender norms and stereotypes and promoting values of equality, non-discrimination and human rights. CSE also provides young people with essential information regarding their sexual and reproductive health which can help prevent unwanted pregnancies and the transmission of STIs, including HIV, and ultimately empower them to make the best possible decisions regarding their futures.


CCIC - In 2013, what are the main challenges in regards to reproductive and sexual rights and health, both at home and abroad?

Sandeep Prasad - We’re in a critical time in history, both at home and abroad. Abroad, we are almost one year away from the end of the ongoing review of the 1994 Programme of Action of the International Conference on Population and Development (ICPD PoA). Throughout this review process, civil society organizations have been playing a critical role in identifying new and emerging issues within the context of population and development. In this context, CSOs are calling on their governments to go beyond commitments made in 1994, by respecting, protecting and guaranteeing sexual rights for all, including adolescents, sex workers, LGBTI individuals and others, eliminating all forms of stigma, discrimination and violence, respecting and protecting adolescents’ right to bodily autonomy and ensuring women and adolescent girls have access to safe abortion services, all of which are essential to securing individuals’ right to the highest attainable standard of health, contributing to wellbeing and achieving sustainable development. Alongside the review of the ICPD PoA is the review of the MDGs and Open Working Group on the Sustainable Development Goals. All three processes will culminate with the mapping out of a strategy that will guide the field of international development for the foreseeable future.  In sum, 2013 will include many opportunities for CSOs to bring attention to these new and emerging issues, so that they may be addressed in the post-2015 development agenda.

At home, we have seen just cause to be concerned regarding Canada’s role within these processes. Most recently at the 23rd session of the UN Human Rights Council, the Canadian government adopted a regressive approach to a resolution on the theme of sexual violence against women – a resolution for which our government was the chair of the negotiations.  The Canadian government actively prevented the inclusion of numerous key recommendations related to effectively addressing sexual violence and the rights of survivors of violence by blocking the recognition of a comprehensive package of services that need to be available to survivors of sexual violence. Canada’s approach represented a serious attack on women’s rights and the health and wellbeing of survivors of sexual violence. Such an approach is reminiscent of the government’s refusal to fund safe abortion services, even where legal, as part of Canada’s international aid under the Muskoka initiative. Both examples emphasize the need for Canadians and Canadian CSOs to hold the government accountable to implementing its international development commitments and human rights obligations not only at home, but also internationally through the delivery of official development assistance and in the formulation of international agreements which have a direct impact on national level laws, policies and programmes.


CCIC - You were recently elected as a member of CCIC’s Board; what do you bring to the table and what are you hoping to achieve?

Sandeep Prasad - As Executive Director of ACPD, I’m very honoured to join CCIC’s Board of Directors. I am excited to begin working alongside other members of the Board from across the country, which have all made, and continue to make, significant contributions to international development. To my position on the Board, I bring significant expertise relating to human rights, advocacy, the UN system and sexual and reproductive health and rights. As a member of the Board, I hope to contribute towards ensuring that human rights are at the center of our approaches to development as well as to facilitate the bridging of Canadian and international human rights movements, with the intention of securing greater commitment towards human rights, specifically sexual and reproductive rights, both at home and internationally.  As a member of the Board, I hope to use our partnerships to foster greater relationships and understanding of human rights, sexual and reproductive health and rights, and the UN human rights system, with CCIC members.

 

 

TOP
 
  • FLASH
  • Code of Ethics
  • 10-point agenda
  • Istanbul Principles
  • CCIC Publications
  • Who's who
  • Code of ethics
  • MEMBERS SPACE
  • Employment
  • Employment

CCCI - CCIC
ACCUEIL RECHERCHE PLAN DU SITE CONTACT ENGLISH

Members

CCIC members include approximately 100 Canadian non-profit organizations working, both in Canada and overseas, on the front lines of social justice, humanitarian aid, economic and democratic development.

À PROPOS NOS INTÉRÊTS GROUPES DE TRAVAIL MÉDIAS RESSOURCES MEMBRES
Organisations membres du CCCI
Événements du CCCI à venir
Profils des membres
Un mot sur les membres


IMPRIMER

Project Ploughshares

Action Canada pour la population et le développement

Profil d'un membre, mai-juin 2013

Project Ploughshares

Lancement SWOP 2011 (le directeur des affaires parlementaires de ACPD, Dina Epale, anime le lancement du Rapport 2011 sur l'état de la population mondiale de l'UNFPA)

Ce mois-ci, le CCCI a rencontré Sandeep Prasad, directeur général de l’Action Canada pour la population et le développement (ACPD). L’ACPD a été fondée en 1997 et s’emploie activement à défendre les droits de la personne en matière de santé, de sexualité et de reproduction. Lors de cette entrevue, M. Prasad nous a parlé de la participation de l’ACPD au Groupe de travail de haut niveau en vue de la Conférence internationale sur la population et le développement (CIPD), du point de vue de son organisation sur le rapport du Groupe d’experts de haut niveau chargé du programme de développement pour l’après 2015, et de beaucoup plus.


CCCI – Selon votre énoncé de mission, l’ACPD a pour mission d’améliorer la qualité de vie des femmes, des hommes et des jeunes en faisant la promotion de politiques progressistes en matière de droits de la personne et de développement international et en ciblant principalement les droits reproductifs et sexuels ainsi que la santé. Parlez-nous de vos réalisations et de vos progrès depuis votre fondation en 1997.

Sandeep Prasad

Sandeep Prasad L’ACPD a joué un rôle de premier plan pour faire avancer l’égalité des sexes, les droits reproductifs et sexuels des adolescents, le droit à l’avortement, l’inscription de la mortalité et de la morbidité maternelles parmi les enjeux relatifs aux droits de la personne, l’éducation sexuelle complète et bien d’autres enjeux liés aux droits de la personne en matière de santé sexuelle et reproductive. L’ACPD travaille activement dans le Système des droits de la personne de l’ONU depuis 2002. Elle a notamment été la première ONG à réclamer de façon soutenue que le Conseil des droits de l’homme examine la question de la mortalité et de la morbidité maternelles, ce qui a conduit, en juin 2009, à une résolution sans précédent : « Mortalité et morbidité maternelles évitables et droits de l’homme », la première reconnaissance intergouvernementale de la mortalité et de la morbidité maternelles comme enjeux relevant des droits de la personne. L’ACPD a également mené des efforts de revendication pour faire intégrer les droits sexuels et reproductifs dans un certain nombre d’autres résolutions de l’ONU. Elle a entre autres fait en sorte qu’un engagement politique à cet égard fasse partie de résolutions portant notamment sur le VIH, le droit à la santé et la violence contre les femmes, les adolescents et les enfants. Pour y arriver, l’ACPD prend part à une action sociopolitique directe auprès de divers gouvernements afin de rallier l’appui nécessaire pour des propositions précises.

L’ACPD assure la coordination de Sexual Rights Initiative, une coalition de six organisations Sud-Nord qui travaille à l’avancement des droits de la personne concernant la sexualité et le genre par l’entremise du Conseil des droits de l’homme et de ses mécanismes.

L’ACPD s’est également imposée en tant qu’organisation respectée dans le domaine du renforcement des capacités des ONG et enseigne aux groupes de justice sociale à utiliser les mécanismes internationaux de protection des droits de la personne pour les aider dans leur travail de revendication. Pour ce faire, l’ACPD leur donne régulièrement des ateliers sur le fonctionnement de l’Examen périodique universel (EPU) afin de les aider à exploiter cet outil pour promouvoir leurs priorités nationales. L’ACPD alimente également le mouvement international de défense des droits de santé sexuelle et reproductive en favorisant les échanges, en mettant sur pied des coalitions et en s’occupant de listes de diffusion par courriel.

Au Canada, l’ACPD est le secrétariat d’un groupe formé exclusivement de parlementaires : l’Association canadienne des parlementaires pour la population et le développement (ACPPD). Par l’entremise de ce groupe, l’ACPD a sensibilisé des dizaines de députés et de sénateurs aux enjeux liés à la santé sexuelle et reproductive, aux droits de la personne et au développement. L’ACPD a aussi favorisé l’échange d’information à ce sujet entre les États grâce à la participation de députés et de sénateurs à des événements internationaux, dont des conférences parlementaires et des voyages d’études.

CCCI – Vous avez un conseil d’administration international. Expliquez en quoi cette diversité se reflète dans votre travail.

Sandeep Prasad –Le conseil d’administration international de l’ACPD joue un rôle essentiel pour soutenir et consolider son travail. Tous les membres de la direction de l’ACPD enrichissent son travail par leur vision et leurs talents uniques. Une telle diversité d’origines rehausse les positions et les approches de l’organisation tout en contribuant à renforcer ses partenariats régionaux, nationaux et internationaux. De façon concrète, grâce à son conseil d’administration international, l’ACPD a pu établir des partenariats solides avec des associations de parlementaires régionales et nationales qui travaillent sur des problèmes de population et de développement, ce qui a entre autres permis aux membres de l’ACPPD de mieux comprendre les enjeux liés à la santé et aux droits sexuels et reproductifs.

CCCI – L’ACPD est membre du Groupe de travail de haut niveau en vue de la Conférence internationale sur la population et le développement (CIPD). Quel est l’objectif de ce groupe de travail et quel rôle y jouez-vous?

Sandeep Prasad – En tant que directeur général de l’ACPD, je suis devenu membre du Groupe de travail de haut niveau en vue de la CIPD en septembre 2012. Le Groupe a pour but de renforcer les appuis politiques pour la défense des droits touchant à la santé reproductive et sexuelle et d’assurer qu’on accorde une place de choix à ces enjeux dans le cadre de développement d’après 2015. Il revendique avant tout le respect et la protection des droits sexuels et reproductifs pour tous, l’accès universel à des renseignements de qualité sur la santé sexuelle et reproductive, à des services intégrés ainsi qu’à une éducation sexuelle complète pour tous les jeunes et l’élimination de la violence contre les femmes et les jeunes filles, ce qui implique un accès assuré aux services essentiels pour tous les survivants de violence fondée sur le sexe. 

Les recommandations du Groupe de travail visent à autonomiser les gens par une protection et un respect plus grands de leurs droits fondamentaux, particulièrement en ce qui a trait à leur intégrité physique et à leur capacité de prendre des décisions éclairées par rapport à leur sexualité et à leur reproduction ainsi qu’à leur santé sexuelle et reproductive. Les femmes, adolescents et personnes d’autres communautés marginalisées font partie des gens les moins aptes à exercer ces droits. En tant que membre du Groupe de travail de haut niveau en vue de la CPID, je m’efforce de canaliser les efforts sur les droits de la personne dans le nouveau cadre de développement, particulièrement en ce qui a trait à l’autonomisation des femmes et des jeunes.


CCCI – Comment l’ACPD réagit-elle au rapport du Groupe d’experts de haut niveau chargé du programme de développement pour l’après 2015, publié il y a quelques semaines?

Sandeep Prasad – L’ACPD accueille favorablement la publication de ce rapport. Nous constatons avec joie qu’il se concentre sur les groupes exclus ou marginalisés par une analyse plus profonde de leurs besoins et des éléments qui ont une incidence sur leur quotidien comme les facteurs socio-économiques, politiques, religieux, culturels, géographiques, etc. Nous sommes également heureux de l’accent mis sur les droits des femmes et des jeunes filles. De façon plus particulière, le rapport demande que l’égalité des sexes soit considérée comme un enjeu qui nécessite à la fois un objectif central et transversal. De plus, le rapport donne une place prioritaire à la santé et aux droits reproductifs et sexuels. Cet aspect est particulièrement important quand on songe que plus de 222 millions de femmes et de jeunes filles n’ont accès à aucun moyen de contraception moderne et ne sont pas assurées d’avoir le droit de choisir si elles veulent des enfants et quand elles les veulent, que 800 femmes meurent tous les jours de complications évitables liées à la grossesse et à l’accouchement en raison d’un manque d’accès à des soins de santé sexuelle et reproductive complets, ou que 2 400 jeunes sont infectés par le VIH quotidiennement.

Toutefois, nous sommes déçus que le rapport passe sous silence l’accès à l’avortement dans le cadre d’un ensemble de services de santé sexuelle et reproductive. Le refus de donner accès aux femmes et aux adolescentes à des services d’avortement sécuritaires, y compris par la décriminalisation de l’avortement dans les régions où il demeure illégal et l’abolition d’autres restrictions, constitue une atteinte aux droits en matière de reproduction, d’intégrité physique et de santé, pour ne nommer que ceux-là. Il est primordial que toutes les femmes puissent accéder à des services d’avortement sécuritaires, y compris les survivantes de violence sexuelle et de viol, non seulement pour éliminer les avortements réalisés dans de mauvaises conditions, importante cause de morbidité et de mortalité maternelles, mais aussi parce qu’il s’agit d’un enjeu lié aux droits de la personne. Dans le même ordre d’idées, le rapport ne fait pas explicitement état de l’accès des adolescents à une éducation sexuelle complète, un excellent moyen de réduire la honte, la discrimination et la violence en bousculant les normes et stéréotypes sexuels et en faisant la promotion de valeurs d’égalité, d’ouverture et de respect des droits de la personne. Ce type d’éducation donne aux jeunes des connaissances qui peuvent les aider à prévenir les grossesses non désirées et les infections transmissibles sexuellement et qui les habilitent à planifier leur avenir de façon éclairée.

CCCI – En 2013, quels défis nous attendent en matière de santé et de droits sexuels et reproductifs, tant ici qu’à l’étranger?


Sandeep Prasad – Nous sommes à un tournant de l’histoire, ici comme ailleurs. Sur la scène internationale, il reste un peu plus d’un an avant la fin du processus d’évaluation continue du Programme d’action de la Conférence internationale sur la population et le développement (PA-CIPD) de 1994. Grâce à ce processus, les organisations de la société civile jouent un rôle de premier plan pour définir les nouveaux enjeux en matière de population et de développement. Dans ce contexte, les OSC demandent à leurs gouvernements d’aller au-delà des engagements pris en 1994 et de garantir le respect et la protection des droits sexuels pour tous, y compris les adolescents, les travailleurs du sexe et les membres de la communauté GBLTI, d’éliminer les préjugés, la discrimination et la violence, de respecter et de protéger l’intégrité physique des jeunes et de veiller à ce que les femmes et les adolescentes aient accès à des services d’avortement sécuritaires. Toutes ces conditions sont essentielles pour assurer le respect du droit au meilleur état de santé susceptible d’être atteint, qui favorise le bien-être et le développement durable. Outre l’évaluation du PA-CIPD, soulignons aussi celle des OMD et du Groupe de travail ouvert sur les objectifs du développement durable. Ces trois processus mèneront à l’élaboration d’une stratégie qui encadrera le secteur du développement international dans un avenir rapproché. En résumé, l’année 2013 donnera beaucoup d’occasions aux OSC d’attirer l’attention sur ces nouveaux enjeux afin qu’ils fassent partie du cadre de développement d’après 2015.

Au Canada, nous avons des raisons légitimes d’être inquiets par rapport au rôle de notre pays dans ces processus. Il y a peu de temps, lors de la 23e séance du Conseil des droits de l’homme des Nations Unies, le gouvernement canadien a adopté une approche rétrograde dans le cadre d’une résolution, dont il présidait les négociations, sur la violence sexuelle à l’endroit des femmes. En refusant de reconnaître la validité d’une liste de services essentiels aux victimes de violence sexuelle, notre gouvernement s’est activement opposé à l’inclusion de nombreuses recommandations importantes qui auraient permis de répondre efficacement aux problèmes de la violence sexuelle et du respect des droits des survivants de violence sexuelle. Cette approche représente une atteinte grave aux droits des femmes ainsi qu’à la santé et au bien-être de celles qui ont survécu à des actes de violence sexuelle. Elle rappelle le refus du gouvernement de financer des services d’avortement sécuritaires, même là où la loi l’autorise, dans le cadre de l’aide internationale canadienne offerte grâce à l’initiative de Muskoka. Ces deux exemples soulignent la nécessité pour les OSC et la population canadiennes d’exiger du gouvernement qu’il mette en œuvre ses engagements de développement international et ses obligations en matière de droits de la personne non seulement ici, mais également sur la scène internationale en offrant de l’aide publique au développement et en formulant des ententes internationales qui ont une incidence directe sur les lois, les politiques et les programmes nationaux.

CCCI – Vous avez récemment été élu au conseil d’administration du CCCI. Comment vous distinguez-vous et quels sont vos objectifs?

Sandeep Prasad – En tant que directeur général de l’ACPD, je suis très honoré de gagner les rangs du conseil d’administration du CCCI. J’ai hâte de commencer à travailler aux côtés d’autres membres du conseil de partout au pays qui ont tous contribué de façon importante au développement international et continuent de le faire. Dans le cadre de mes fonctions, je compte mettre à profit mon expertise non négligeable des droits de la personne, de l’action sociale, du système de l’ONU et de la santé et des droits reproductifs et sexuels. En tant que membre du conseil, j’espère faire en sorte que les droits de la personne occupent une place centrale dans nos approches du développement et aider à combler le fossé entre les mouvements canadiens et internationaux de défense des droits de la personne dans le but de favoriser un plus grand engagement à cet égard, particulièrement en ce qui a trait aux droits sexuels et reproductifs, tant ici que dans la communauté internationale. Je souhaite aussi utiliser nos partenariats pour bâtir des relations plus solides et favoriser une meilleure compréhension des droits de la personne, de la santé et des droits sexuels et reproductifs ainsi que du système onusien au sein du CCCI.

 


TOP
 
  • COIN DES MEMBRES
  • FLASH
  • QUI FAIT QUOI
  • Devenez membre
  • Emploi
  • Programme en 10 points
  • Code d'éthique
  • Bilan de l'aide