CCCI - CCIC
ACCUEIL RECHERCHE PLAN DU SITE CONTACT ENGLISH

Members

CCIC members include approximately 100 Canadian non-profit organizations working, both in Canada and overseas, on the front lines of social justice, humanitarian aid, economic and democratic development.

About us What we do Working Groups Media RESSOURCES Members
Become a Member
Member Organizations
CCIC Member Profiles
Membership Renewal
Members' Space
Who's Who: Who does what where


IMPRIMER

Alberta Council for Global Cooperation (ACGC)

Member Profile January 2013

This month CCIC spoke with Heather McPherson, Executive Director at ACGC, which is made up of 70 very diverse member organizations. ACGC members work in Alberta and around the world in many geographical and thematic areas. Heather tells us about ACGC’s involvement with students and teachers through “Development in a Box”, which was created to build a connection between ACGC member organizations and the Alberta education system. She also talks about upcoming events and many opportunities to engage during International Development Week, which is taking place nationally on Feb. 3-9, 2013.

Rosemary McCarney
ACGC staff work on developing the 'Development in a Box' program

 

CCIC: When was ACGC incorporated? What have been your greatest challenges and accomplishments over the years??

ACGC:  ACGC was the first provincial council for international cooperation in Canada. Our original iteration as the Alberta Committee of International Agencies came into existence circa 1975. The primary mandate at that time was to work with the Province of Alberta to disburse and manage international development funds at a Provincial level to organizational members. The council adopted the current name of the Alberta Council for Global Cooperation in 2001.

ACGCs greatest achievements have always been the strength and influence we wield as a large, vocal, and very committed group of people and organizations. Our motto is Stronger Together and that idea of collaborative action has a long history within the organization. In recent history ACGC has taken a lead in campaigning against attacks on our sector, including a very active resistance to federal ODA cuts in 2004-2005 and more recently, in 2009, ACGC and its member organizations campaigned and successfully were able to get 1.5 million dollars of Provincial international development funding reinstated after it had been cut from the Provincial budget.

Another achievement we are very proud of is our increased capacity to assist our members and to engage Albertans in conversations about global citizenship and international development and cooperation. In the past five years we have substantially increased our public engagement programming, particularly targeting the education sector. ACGC is now seen as the premier organization for educators to consult with regarding curriculum support, teacher training, lesson planning, and collaboration with the international development sector. In terms of challenges ACGC faces, reliance on our funders is the most pressing concern at this time.

 

CCIC: ACGC has a diverse membership; what are the services and the added value that you bring to your members?

ACGC:With over 70 members, ACGC is one of the largest coalitions of international development and social justice organizations in Canada. Our membership is comprised of organizations representing small, medium, and large CSOs, environmental groups, first nation groups, teacher associations, boards of education, student groups, universities, research centers, film festivals, theatre companies, and a wide variety of individual members including educators, administrators, and professors.  ACGC members work in Alberta and around the world in myriad geographical and thematic areas.
The Council’s goal is to support the work of its diverse membership through networking, leadership, information sharing, training and coordination, and to represent member interests when dealing with government and others. The objectives of the Council are to promote and mobilize greater Albertan participation in assisting international development. ACGC aims to be an effective advocate and representative to government agencies and the public for international development concerns on behalf of the membership and to keep member organizations informed as to important shifts in Canadian foreign policy.
Our membership is a dynamic network of international development organizations in Alberta working towards ending poverty and achieving a peaceful and healthy world, with dignity and full participation for all. A few of the concrete benefits ACGC provides to its members include:

 

Members can contribute to ACGC’s various communication initiatives such as:

    • ACGC’s “Changing Lives Around the Globe” Post Media newspaper section.
    • ACGC E-bulletin highlighting member events and activities.
    • ACGC Connect, ACGC’s quarterly newsletter.
    • ACGC Connect, ACGC’s monthly podcast.
    • ACGC Teach, ACGC’s educator newsletter.
    • ACGC’s website and social media tools

Members participate in capacity building and training initiatives such as:

    • Lunch & Learn capacity building trainings.
    • Multi-day workshops.
    • Podcast training.
    • Access sample tools, policies and resources.
    • Receive individual assistance with grant and proposal preparation.
  • Members network and build relationships through initiatives such as:
    • Annual ACGC AGM and gala event.
    • Mentoring with other organizations within the sector.
    • ACGC’s Members’ Only portion of the website and participation in forum discussions.

Members benefit from ACGC public engagement programming through initiatives such as:

    • The ACGC display of organizational materials at public engagement events around the province, including teacher’s conventions.
    • Development in a Box curriculum resource.
    • Organizational profile available on the ACGC website.

In addition, ACGC staff work very hard to identify specific organizational members that would benefit from additional support and opportunity, often engaging specific members one on one to provide personalized capacity building opportunities.

 

CCIC: ACGC is very active during International Development Week; can you tell us more about what you are organizing for IDW 2013? (Feb 3-9)

ACGC: As always, ACGC has a very full agenda of activities and events scheduled for International Development Week 2013.

On February 6, ACGC is publishing a special section of the Calgary Herald and Edmonton Journal in collaboration with Postmedia Network Inc. The objective is to raise awareness of important work being done by Albertan organizations and individuals who are working locally and globally to achieve sustainable human development and reduced global poverty.
Readers will find 8 full-colour pages profiling the work being done and personalities behind ACGC member organizations around the province. Stories include a look at how working at the U of A’s Global Education Program changed one student’s business when he moved back to Malaysia, why Sombrilla volunteers risked life and limb for humanitarian work in Central America, and what Calgary youth are doing to become leaders in water issues.

In addition, ACGC is organizing a Youth Day in collaboration with the University of Alberta in conjunction with the University of Alberta’s International Week. 160 students ranging from grades 9 – 12 will attend a full day of programming at the University of Alberta, with a wide range of speakers and opportunities for the students to engage with. This is an enormous opportunity for these students to gain valuable insight into Alberta’s international development sector and the role individual Albertans play as global citizens. In addition to programming by ACGC member organizations, ACGC is very pleased to offer the students the opportunity to partake in an afternoon workshop with Sheryl WuDunn, co-author of “Half the Sky: Turning Oppression into Opportunity for Women Worldwide.”

Sheryl WuDunn will also be presenting a free keynote speech to the general public to engage Albertans in the important issue of gender equality.

ACGC is releasing another edition of its very popular “Top 30 Under 30” Magazine, which profiles thirty Albertan individuals and individuals from the Global South who are under thirty years of age and who are involved in social justice and global citizenship work across the globe. The magazine is a wonderful platform to both celebrate the hard work being done locally and globally by youth, and offer ways which interested people can become more involved in a whole host of opportunities within the field..

 

CCIC: You have been doing a lot of work with teachers and educators; can you tell us more about Development in a Box?

ACGC:Development in a Box was created to build a connection between ACGC member organizations and the Alberta education system. In keeping with Alberta Education’s focus on global citizenship, Development in a Box is a collection of educational resources from contributing ACGC member organizations to be used in grades one through twelve to aid in the incorporation of global issues into the curriculum and classroom.

Educators are provided with a wealth of lesson plans and activities to support them in guiding their students through the Alberta curriculum as they journey towards becoming global citizens. The lesson plans and activities included in this toolkit touch upon a variety of thematic areas and include the following: a summarized lesson description, lesson objectives, Alberta curriculum links, estimated time needed to complete the lesson, as well as a list of all necessary materials. In addition, a DVD of all of the materials is included. All lessons and materials are also available on the ACGC website for teachers who prefer to access the important resources digitally.

The Change Your World Alberta Youth Leadership Tour is another component of the Development in a Box program, which was launched into schools at the beginning of 2010. The tour, held every two years, is an opportunity for Alberta youth to visit and connect with Alberta non-governmental organizations and their partners, working in the Global South and see firsthand the impacts being made in international development.


The participants filmed their journey and developed a short documentary and presentation of their experience upon returning home to Alberta. With this presentation the youth shared what they learned about international development work, both locally and globally, with a diverse population in Alberta, hoping to encourage other young people to become involved in their local and international community. 


ACGC has completed 2 tours (Ethiopia 2010, Peru 2012), visited 13 international development projects, had 10 amazing high school students selected to participate, visited more than 50 schools and communities groups to share the experience, and presented to more than 2500 young Albertans.

In addition, hard copies of the ACGC Development in a Box resource are currently in 350 schools, with educators accessing the online resources over 2000 times.

In addition to ACGC’s Development in a Box project, ACGC works closely with educators, administrators, and students through school support and assistance in developing relationships and making connections with CSOs working in the international development sector.  ACGC staff provides training to teachers on partnership principles and ways for teachers to engage their students more appropriately in global citizenship initiatives and ACGC hold several youth workshops and conferences every year to engage students in important issues related to social justice.  For example, the Yes Men, Stephen Lewis, and now Sheryl WuDunn have all worked directly with young Albertans through ACGC.

 

CCIC: What are the benefits that you see in being a member of CCIC? And how do you explain the complementarities between CCIC and the provincial councils?

ACGC: ACGC values its connection with CCIC. This collaboration allows ACGC a greater opportunity to have the voice and experience of Albertan CSOs heard at the national level and provides member organizations with easier access to information and policy analysis.

CCIC provides comprehensive and informative analysis of current issues affecting ACGC members in a way that ACGC does not have the capacity to do.  In addition, through the creation of policy briefings, news releases, the CCIC Flash bulletin, and social media updates, CCIC provides important updates and information that ACGC shares widely with its networks.  CCIC has a vital role within Canada, and indeed, through the Open Forum Process and participation in High Level Forums, within the global international development community.

As a convenor of organizations, CCIC also provides enormous benefits to the entire sector, including the Provincial and Regional Councils for International Cooperation, and their member organizations.  By bringing together sector representatives to discuss, learn and network together it is possible to keep abreast of changing international development landscape.

Obviously, ACGC also cherishes the important work the Communication Taskforce is doing and is pleased to be able to contribute to the taskforce and the upcoming Ottawa Citizen blog.

One of the key complementarities between the Provincial and Regional Councils for International Cooperation and CCIC is the ability to access over 400 organizations nationally when we work together on key identified projects.  The Provincial and Regional Councils for International Cooperation assist is extending CCICs reach, and CCIC is able to provide services around ethics and policy that the councils cannot.

 

TOP
 
  • FLASH
  • Code of Ethics
  • 10-point agenda
  • Istanbul Principles
  • CCIC Publications
  • Who's who
  • Code of ethics
  • MEMBERS SPACE
  • Employment
  • Employment

CCCI - CCIC
ACCUEIL RECHERCHE PLAN DU SITE CONTACT ENGLISH

Members

CCIC members include approximately 100 Canadian non-profit organizations working, both in Canada and overseas, on the front lines of social justice, humanitarian aid, economic and democratic development.

À PROPOS NOS INTÉRÊTS GROUPES DE TRAVAIL MÉDIAS RESSOURCES MEMBRES
Organisations membres du CCCI
Événements du CCCI à venir
Profils des membres
Un mot sur les membres


IMPRIMER


Alberta Council for Global Cooperation (ACGC)

Profil d'un membre, janvier 2013

Rosemary McCarney

L'équipe de l'ACGC en réunion

CCCI: Quand l’ACGC a-t-il été mis sur pied? Au fil des ans, quels ont été vos plus grands défis et vos plus importantes réalisations?

AQOCI: L’ACGC a été le premier conseil provincial de coopération internationale au Canada; il a vu le jour vers 1975 sous le nom d’Alberta Committee of International Agencies. À l’époque, son principal mandat consistait à travailler, de concert avec la province de l’Alberta, au versement et à la gestion des fonds destinés au développement international qui étaient confiés aux organisations membres à l’échelle provinciale. Le conseil a été rebaptisé Alberta Council for Global Cooperation en 2001.

Nos plus importantes réalisations demeurent toujours la force et l’influence dont nous disposons en tant que vaste groupe de personnes et d’organisations très engagées, qui n’hésitent pas à se faire entendre haut et fort. Notre devise, c’est « plus forts ensemble », et cette idée d’action concertée sous-tend notre organisme depuis longtemps. Récemment, l’ACGC a mené des campagnes contre les attaques que subit notre secteur, notamment en opposant une résistance très vive aux compressions du budget fédéral dédié à l’aide en 2004-2005. En 2009, l’ACGC et ses organisations membres ont si bien milité qu’ils ont réussi à récupérer une somme de 1,5 million de dollars qui avait été coupée du budget provincial pour le développement international.

Nous sommes également très fiers d’avoir renforcé notre capacité à aider nos membres et à nouer avec les Albertains un dialogue sur la citoyenneté mondiale, le développement international et la coopération. Ces cinq dernières années, nous avons considérablement étoffé nos programmes d’engagement du public, en mettant l’accent sur le secteur de l’éducation. Résultat : l’ACGC est désormais la principale organisation sur laquelle les éducateurs s’appuient en ce qui a trait au soutien aux programmes scolaires, à la formation des enseignants, à la planification des cours et à la collaboration avec le secteur du développement international.

Pour ce qui est des défis, notre préoccupation la plus pressante à l’heure actuelle est notre dépendance à l’égard des bailleurs de fonds.


CCCI: L’ACGC regroupe des membres diversifiés; quels services et quelle valeur ajoutée leur fournissez vous?

AQOCI: Fort de plus de 70 membres, l’ACGC constitue l’une des plus importantes coalitions d’organisations de développement international et de justice sociale au Canada. Nos organisations membres comprennent de petites, moyennes et grandes OSC, des groupes environnementaux, des groupes des Premières Nations, des associations d’enseignants, des conseils scolaires, des groupes d’étudiants, des universités, des centres de recherche, des festivals du film, des compagnies théâtrales ainsi qu’un vaste éventail d’individus, notamment des éducateurs, des administrateurs et des professeurs. Les membres de l’ACGC œuvrent en Alberta et partout dans le monde dans une myriade de régions et de domaines.

L'ACGC a pour mandat d'appuyer ses divers membres par le réseautage, les initiatives collectives, l'échange d'information, la formation et la concertation. Il fait valoir leurs intérêts auprès du gouvernement et d'autres interlocuteurs. L’ACGC cherche à susciter une plus grande participation de la population albertaine au développement international. Il veut défendre les intérêts et les préoccupations des membres auprès des organismes gouvernementaux et du grand public, et tenir les membres informés de l'évolution de la politique étrangère du Canada.

L’ACGC est un réseau dynamique d’organisations albertaines de développement international qui travaillent à éradiquer la pauvreté et à faire du monde un endroit paisible et sain, où chacun pourrait participer et verrait sa dignité respectée. Voici quelques-uns des avantages concrets que procure l’ACGC à ses membres.

Les membres peuvent contribuer à plusieurs initiatives de communication de l’ACGC, comme :

    • la section Changing Lives Around the Globe publiée dans les journaux avec la collaboration de PostMedia;
    • son bulletin électronique présentant les événements et les activités des membres;
    • son bulletin trimestriel, ACGC Connect;
    • son balado mensuel, ACGC Connect;
    • son bulletin à l’intention des éducateurs, ACGC Teach;
    • son site Web et ses outils de médias sociaux.

Les membres participent aussi à des initiatives de renforcement des capacités et de formation, comme :

    • des dîners-conférences de renforcement des capacités;
    • des ateliers sur plusieurs jours;
    • de la formation en balado;
    • l’accès à des outils, des politiques et des ressources types;
    • de l’aide individuelle pour les subventions et la préparation de propositions.

Les membres développent leur réseau et tissent des liens au moyen d’initiatives comme :

    • l’assemblée générale et le gala annuels de l’ACGC;
    • l’encadrement d’autres organisations du secteur;
    • la section du site Web d’ACGC qui leur est réservée et les forums de discussion.

Les membres bénéficient en outre des programmes d’engagement du public d’ACGC, grâce à des initiatives comme :

    • l’affichage du matériel des organisations par l’ACGC lors d’événements d’engagement du public tenus partout en province, notamment les congrès d’enseignants;
    • Development in a Box, la ressource pour l’élaboration de programmes scolaires;
    • la publication des profils des organisations sur le site Web de l’ACGC.

En outre, le personnel de l’ACGC s’efforce de proposer du soutien additionnel et d’autres possibilités aux organisations membres qui en tireraient parti. Il tend en effet souvent la main à certains membres et leur offre des occasions adaptées de renforcement des capacités.


CCCI: L’ACGC est très active durant la Semaine du développement international, qui aura lieu en 2013 du 3 au 9 février; pouvez-vous nous en dire plus sur ce que vous organisez cette année?

AQOCI: Comme toujours, l’ACGC a prévu cette année une foule d’activités et d’événements dans le cadre de la Semaine du développement international.

Le 6 février sera publiée, encollaboration avec Postmedia Network Inc., la section spéciale de l’ACGC dans le Calgary Herald et l’Edmonton Journal. Elle a pour but de faire connaître le travail important que réalisent les organisations et les individus de l’Alberta à l’échelle locale et planétaire en vue du développement humain durable et de la réduction de la pauvreté mondiale.

En parcourant les huit pages en couleurs, les lecteurs pourront en apprendre plus sur les réalisations de nos organisations membres et sur les personnes qui leur donnent corps. Les reportages porteront entre autres sur un étudiant qui, une fois de retour en Malaisie, a vu son entreprise transformée en raison de sa participation au programme d’éducation mondiale de l’Université de l’Alberta, sur la raison pour laquelle les bénévoles de Sombrilla ont mis leur vie en péril pour apporter une aide humanitaire en Amérique centrale, et sur ce que font les jeunes de Calgary pour devenir des leaders autour des enjeux liés à l’eau.

De plus, l’ACGC organise, en collaboration avec l’Université de l’Alberta, une journée de la jeunesse qui coïncide avec la semaine internationale à l’Université de l’Alberta. Sur place, 160 étudiants de la 9e à la 12e année assisteront aux présentations d’un vaste éventail de conférenciers, et auront de nombreuses possibilités de participer. Il s’agit là d’une excellente occasion pour ces étudiants de se familiariser avec le secteur albertain du développement international et avec le rôle que chaque Albertain doit jouer en tant que citoyen du monde. En plus des activités prévues par ses organisations membres, l’ACGC est très fière d’offrir aux étudiants la possibilité de participer à un atelier donné durant l’après-midi par Sheryl WuDunn, coauteure de Half the Sky: Turning Oppression into Opportunity for Women Worldwide.

Afin de sensibiliser les Albertains à l’importante question de l’égalité des sexes, Sheryl WuDunn prononcera également un discours liminaire auquel pourra assister gratuitement le grand public.

L’ACGC publiera en outre une autre édition de son très populaire magazine Top 30 Under 30, qui présente 30 personnes de l’Alberta ou des pays du Sud qui ont moins de 30 ans et qui prennent part à des efforts de justice sociale et de citoyenneté mondiale partout dans le monde. Cette plateforme exceptionnelle permet de saluer le dur travail réalisé par ces jeunes dans la province et à l’étranger, ainsi que de présenter un éventail d’occasions d’engagement aux personnes qui souhaiteraient y mettre du leur.


CCCI: Vous travaillez beaucoup auprès des enseignants et des éducateurs; pouvez-vous nous parler un peu plus de Development in a Box?

AQOCI: Development in a Box a été créé afin d’établir un lien entre nos organisations membres et le système d’éducation albertain. Conformément à la priorité qu’accorde le ministère de l’éducation de l’Alberta à la citoyenneté mondiale, cette boîte à outils rassemble des ressources pédagogiques destinées aux enseignants de la 1re à la 12e année. Ces outils ont été fournis par les membres de l’ACGC participants afin de faciliter l’intégration des enjeux mondiaux dans les programmes scolaires et dans les salles de classe.

Les éducateurs reçoivent une foule de plans de cours et d’activités qui les aideront à épauler leurs étudiants tout au long du programme scolaire de l’Alberta afin qu’ils deviennent des citoyens du monde. Les outils fournis touchent à une variété de thématiques et comportent notamment la description sommaire, les objectifs et la durée estimée des cours, les liens avec le programme scolaire de l’Alberta ainsi qu’une liste des documents requis – un DVD qui rassemble ces derniers est inclus. Les cours et les documents sont également disponibles sur le site Web de l’ACGC pour les enseignants qui préfèrent accéder en ligne à ces importantes ressources.

Le voyage Change Your World Alberta Youth Leadership Tour est une autre composante du programme Development in a Box; elle a été lancée dans les écoles au début de 2010. Ayant lieu tous les deux ans, il donne aux jeunes Albertains l’occasion de rencontrer des organisations non gouvernementales de la province ainsi que leurs partenaires et de tisser des liens avec eux, de travailler dans les pays du Sud et de constater d’eux-mêmes les avancées réalisées grâce au développement international.

Les participants ont filmé leur voyage, ce qui leur a permis de réaliser un court documentaire ainsi qu’une présentation sur leur expérience à leur retour. Les jeunes ont ainsi communiqué à un auditoire diversifié ce qu’ils ont appris sur le développement international, tant à l’échelle locale que mondiale, en vue d’inciter d’autres jeunes à s’engager dans leur communauté et à l’étranger. 

Dans le cadre de cette initiative, l’ACGC a jusqu’à présent organisé deux voyages (Éthiopie en 2010 et Pérou en 2012) ainsi que la visite de 13 projets de développement international, a permis à 10 merveilleux étudiants de participer au programme, a visité plus de 50 écoles et groupes communautaires pour parler de l’expérience et rejoint par le fait même plus de 2 500 jeunes Albertains.

En outre, 350 écoles disposent actuellement d’exemplaires papier des ressources de Development in a Box, tandis que les éducateurs ont accédé à la version en ligne plus de 2 000 fois.

En plus du projet Development in a Box, l’ACGC aide les éducateurs, les administrateurs et les étudiants à établir des relations et à tisser des liens avec les OSC œuvrant au développement international. Son personnel forme les enseignants sur les principes de partenariat et leur donne des moyens pour inciter les étudiants à s’engager dans les initiatives de citoyenneté mondiale. Chaque année, l’ACGC organise aussi plusieurs ateliers et conférences visant à mobiliser les jeunes autour de grands enjeux de justice sociale. Par exemple, les Yes Men, Stephen Lewis et maintenant Sheryl WuDunn se sont tous adressés directement aux jeunes Albertains grâce à lui.

CCCI: Quels sont pour vous les avantages d’être membre du CCCI? En quoi ce dernier et les conseils provinciaux sont-ils complémentaires?

AQOCI: L’ACGC accorde une grande valeur à ses relations avec le CCCI. Fort de cette collaboration, il est mieux outillé pour aider les OSC albertaines à se faire entendre et à communiquer leur expérience à l’échelle nationale; ses membres ont également plus facilement accès à des renseignements et à des analyses stratégiques.

Le CCCI propose des analyses approfondies et informatives des enjeux qui touchent actuellement nos membres; l’ACGC n’a pas les ressources nécessaires à la production de telles analyses. De plus, par l’entremise de ses documents d’information stratégique, de ses communiqués, du bulletin Flash et de ses mises à jour dans les médias sociaux, le CCCI fournit des nouvelles et des renseignements importants que nous transmettons à nos réseaux. Le CCCI joue un rôle vital au Canada, mais aussi au sein de la communauté mondiale du développement international grâce à sa participation au Forum ouvert et à des forums de haut niveau.

À titre de coalition, le CCCI procure aussi des avantages considérables à tout le secteur, notamment aux conseils provinciaux et régionaux de coopération internationale et à leurs organisations membres. En rassemblant des représentants du secteur qui peuvent discuter, apprendre et tisser des liens ensemble, le CCCI permet à tous de demeurer au fait du contexte changeant dans lequel nous évoluons.

Bien entendu, l’ACGC reconnaît également l’importante tâche qu’accomplit le Groupe de travail sur les communications et est fier d’y contribuer, tout comme au prochain blogue à paraître sur le site du Ottawa Citizen.

L’une des meilleures preuves de la complémentarité entre les conseils provinciaux et régionaux de coopération internationale et le CCCI, c’est qu’ils sont capables de rejoindre plus de 400 organisations du pays lorsqu’ils travaillent ensemble sur des projets importants. Les conseils provinciaux et régionaux étendent la portée du CCCI, et ce dernier est en mesure de fournir des services liés à l’éthique et aux politiques auxquels les conseils n’auraient normalement pas accès.

 


TOP
 
  • COIN DES MEMBRES
  • FLASH
  • QUI FAIT QUOI
  • Devenez membre
  • Emploi
  • Programme en 10 points
  • Code d'éthique
  • Bilan de l'aide