CCIC - Flash
A semi-monthly electronic bulletin www.ccic.ca
PRINT FRANÇAIS

Headlines
February 19, 2010

1. UK Bill on 0.7%

 

The UK government recently released draft text of legislation that would commit the government to dedicating 0.7% of gross national income (GNI) to foreign aid spending.   The 0.7% target has been an international commitment for forty years, and the legislation represents a historic opportunity to see this promise delivered.  The Bill makes an unambiguous legal commitment to spend 0.7% of GNI on aid, using the definitions of aid set out in UK legislation passed in 2002.  The legislation would require the Secretary of State to report to parliament if that target is not met in any given year and then describe steps to be taken to ensure the target is met.  


2. DFAIT eDiscussion on G8

 

The Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade Canada (DFAIT)  is holding an online eDiscussion on global peace and security issues in the lead-up to the G8 foreign ministers’ meeting March 29-30 in Gatineau, Quebec. The eDiscussion is open until April 2, 2010. It is hosted on the G8 official website at www.g8.gc.ca.  NGOs, civil society groups and academia are encouraged to submit position papers to the eDiscussion. The position paper should be approximately 1000 words and respond to a set of questions on the eDiscussion topic. A summary of the most interesting and challenging points of the eDiscussion and of the policy papers will be prepared and distributed to departmental officers and circulated to Canada’s G8/G20 Sherpa and senior officials. For more information about the eDiscussion process contact discussions@international.gc.ca.


3. Canada’s World Releases Public Engagement Video

 

Canada’s World, a 3-year national citizens' dialogue project based at Simon Fraser University's Centre for Dialogue, uses innovative methods to engage citizens in developing a new story for Canada's role in the world. Canada's World is hosting a video contest, Hearts of Canada, aimed at encouraging Canadians to “lead by example”. To view the video or to use it in public engagement efforts visit: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GpRpZGc2Kek. Learn more about Canada’s World at www.canadasworld.ca.


4. International Development Fundraising Survey

 

A new survey of Canadian international development charities is looking at trends in fundraising including direct mail, events, online, foundation and corporate giving.  The results of the survey “will assist international development organizations in creating benchmarks for more strategic and targeted fundraising in the future”, says Ken Wyman, former National Coordinator of Fund Raising and Publicity for OXFAM-Canada. The survey was created by two students in the postgraduate Fundraising and Volunteer Management program at Humber College in Toronto, under the direction of Ken Wyman and in collaboration with Michelle Stefanski, Monthly Giving and Database Strategy Manager at the Canadian Red Cross.  For more information, contact ken.wyman@humber.ca or call 416-675-6622, ext. 3013.


Upcoming Events

 

5. CCIC Consultation with Members Working on Haiti


In response to the large-scale civil society mobilization to last month’s earthquake in Haiti, CCIC is consulting with members working in emergency relief, recovery, reconstruction, development, governance, security, and human rights in Haiti.  Topics include the March donor conference in New York and a discussion on Canada’s response to the earthquake.  Contact surendrini@ccic.ca for more details.

6. Oslo Conference on Armed Violence and MDGs


The Government of Norway and the United Nations Development Programme (UNDP) are hosting, on April 21 and 22, a high level conference on armed violence. The conference, held in advance of the Millennium Development Goals (MDGs) review summit in September at the UN in New York, will bring together governments and civil society organizations. Space for civil society participation in the April conference is limited and priority will be given to organizations and individuals already involved in programming or advocacy work in development, disarmament, public health, human rights and transparency. Interested civil society organizations must complete submissions for participation by February 22.  The form and further details can be downloaded at  www.ploughshares.ca.

If you have an item for Flash, send it by e-mail to Katia Gianneschi. Please note that Flash items should be no longer than one paragraph.

TOP

All Rights Reserved 2009 Canadian Council for International Co-operation | info@ccic-ccci.ca

CCCI - Flash
Le bulletin électronique bi-mensuel www.ccic.ca
IMPRIMER ENGLISH

Dernières nouvelles
Le 19 février 2010

1. Loi du R.-U. sur le 0,7 % 


Le gouvernement du R.-U. a récemment publié le texte d’un projet de loi en vertu duquel le gouvernement s’engagerait à consacrer 0,7 % du revenu national brut (RNB) à l’aide étrangère. La cible de 0,7 % est un engagement international pris il y a 40 ans. La loi représente une occasion historique de respecter cette promesse. On y trouve un engagement légal ferme à consacrer 0,7 % du RNB à l’aide, conformément aux définitions de l’aide énoncées dans une loi du R.-U. adoptée en 2002. La loi obligerait le secrétaire d’État à faire rapport au Parlement advenant qu’on ne puisse atteindre la cible au cours d’une année donnée et à décrire les mesures prévues pour veiller à ce que la cible soit atteinte.  


2. Discussions en ligne du MAECI sur le G8

 

Le ministère des Affaires étrangères et du Commerce international du Canada (MAECI) organise des discussions en ligne sur les questions liées à la paix et à la sécurité mondiales, en prévision de la réunion des ministres des Affaires étrangères du G8 qui aura lieu les 29 et 30 mars à Gatineau (Québec). Ces discussions en ligne seront ouvertes jusqu’au 2 avril 2010. On peut y accéder par le site officiel du G8 à l’adresse www.g8.gc.ca. On encourage les ONG, les groupes de la société civile et le milieu universitaire à y présenter des exposés de principe. Ces exposés devraient compter environ 1 000 mots; on devra y donner la réponse à une liste de questions sur les discussions en ligne. On rédigera un sommaire des points les plus intéressants et les plus épineux des discussions en ligne et des exposés de principe, qui sera communiqué aux agents du ministère puis diffusé aux sherpas et aux hauts fonctionnaires du Canada qui participent au G8/G20. Pour de plus amples renseignements sur les discussions en ligne, veuillez vous adresser à discussions@international.gc.ca.

 


3. Canada Monde lance une vidéo sur l’engagement du public

 

Canada Monde, un dialogue national entre les citoyens créé il y a trois ans au Centre for Dialogue de l’Université Simon Fraser, utilise des méthodes novatrices pour mobiliser les citoyens en faveur de l’élaboration d’un nouveau scénario pour le rôle du Canada dans le monde. Canada Monde organise le concours, Hearts of Canada, qui vise à encourager les Canadiens à « prêcher par l’exemple ». Pour voir la vidéo du concours ou la présenter dans le cadre d’activités d’engagement du public, rendez-vous à : http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GpRpZGc2Kek. Pour obtenir plus de renseignements sur Canada Monde, rendez-vous à www.canadasworld.ca.


4. Sondage sur la collecte de fonds pour le développement international

 

Un nouveau sondage auprès des organismes de bienfaisance canadiens spécialistes du développement international s’intéresse aux tendances en matière de collecte de fonds telles que le publipostage, les événements, Internet, les fondations et les dons des entreprises. Les résultats du sondage « aideront les organisations de développement international à mettre en place des points de référence pour une collecte de fonds plus stratégique et ciblée à l’avenir », dit Ken Wyman, ancien coordonnateur national de la collecte de fonds et de la publicité chez OXFAM-Canada. Ce sondage a été créé par deux étudiants du programme d’études supérieures Fundraising and Volunteer Management au Collège Humber, à Toronto, sous la direction de Ken Wyman et en collaboration avec Michelle Stefanski, gestionnaire de la stratégie relative aux dons mensuels et aux bases de données, à la Croix-Rouge canadienne.  Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez vous adresser à  ken.wyman@humber.ca ou composer le 416-675-6622, poste 3013.


À venir

 

5. Consultation du CCCI auprès des membres qui s’intéressent à Haïti 


En réaction à la vaste mobilisation de la société civile qui a suivi le tremblement de terre du mois dernier en Haïti, le CCCI consulte les membres qui interviennent dans le domaine des secours d’urgence, du rétablissement, de la reconstruction, du développement, de la gouvernance, de la sécurité et des droits de la personne en Haïti. La consultation porte entre autres sur la conférence des donateurs qui aura lieu en mars à New York et sur une discussion relative à la réaction du Canada au tremblement de terre. Veuillez vous adresser à  surendrini@ccic.ca pour de plus amples détails.


6. Conférence d’Oslo sur la violence armée et les objectifs du Millénaire pour le développement

 

Le gouvernement de la Norvège et le Programme des Nations Unies pour le développement (PNUD) tiendront, les 21 et 22 avril, une conférence de haut niveau sur la violence armée. La conférence, qui précède le sommet spécial sur les objectifs du Millénaire pour le développement qui aura lieu en septembre aux Nations Unies, à New York, réunira des gouvernements et des organisations de la société civile. Le nombre de représentants de la société civile qui pourront participer à la conférence d’avril est limité; la priorité sera accordée aux organisations et aux particuliers qui interviennent déjà dans des programmes ou dans des activités de plaidoyer en matière de développement, de désarmement, de santé publique, de droits de la personne et de transparence. Les organisations de la société civile intéressées doivent présenter leur demande de participation d’ici le 22 février. On peut télécharger le formulaire et d’autres détails à www.ploughshares.ca


Pour faire publier un texte, prière de l’envoyer à Katia Gianneschi. À noter que les articles destinés au Flash ne doivent pas avoir plus d’un paragraphe.

HAUT
Tous droits réservés © 2009 Conseil canadien pour la coopération internationale | info@ccic-ccci.ca