CCIC - Flash
A semi-monthly electronic bulletin www.ccic.ca
PRINT FRANÇAIS

Headlines
October 9, 2009

1. Human Rights Impact Assessments Debated at WTO Public Forum


The World Trade Organization (WTO) recently held its annual public conference on the theme “Global Problems, Global Solutions: Towards Better Global Governance”. One session focused on the growing global interest in Human Rights Impact Assessments (HRIA) as a tool for improving trade governance.  The demand from Canadian parliamentarians and CSOs for an HRIA as an essential step of due diligence before ratification of the Colombia-Canada FTA was highlighted by several speakers as an important development. The session looked at HRIA experiences in Thailand as well as the European Community’s approach to mandatory sustainability impact assessments.  The session was organized by the Geneva based organization 3D, and moderated by Gabrielle Marceau , Counsellor with the Office of the WTO Director-General. Audio files of this and other sessions from the conference are available.

 


2. Future of Canadian ODA Conference Audio Files Available

 

Audio files are available from the recent conference on “The Future of Canadian ODA: Putting the ODA Accountability Act into Practice”. Listen to CCIC President and CEO, Gerry Barr explain the context and purpose of the conference, CCIC’s Gauri Sreenivasan talks about the Accountability Act and its implications, Giorgiana Rosa of Amnesty International looks at international co-operation and international human rights standards, Alex Neve, Secretary General of Amnesty International Canada helps us understand the practical implications of human rights standards for Canadian ODA content and Ed Broadbent sums up lessons from the conference for strengthening Canadian ODA.

Upcoming Events

3. Power Shift Canada


Power Shift Canada is a national youth summit on the green economy and climate change hosted by the Canadian Youth Climate Coalition. On October 23 to 26, 2009, young people from across the country will converge on Ottawa to take the message of bold, comprehensive and immediate federal climate action to Parliament Hill. 

4. C-Day – Fill the Hill

 

On the International Day of Climate Action, October 24, “C-Day”, or the “Fill the Hill” event on Parliament Hill will gather Canadians, in solidarity with millions of people in cities around the world, as part of a global call for fair and binding climate agreements in Copenhagen.


5. MP Meeting Days – Save the dates


CCIC will hold its annual Members/MPs Meeting Days on November 25 and 26. An agenda and registration process will be posted in Flash in the coming weeks.

6. Reminder – Asia-Pacific Working Group Fall Symposium

 

The “Convergence of Crises: Impacts of the Financial, Food, and Climate Crises in Asia” will be the focus of the Asia-Pacific Working Group” (APWG) Fall Symposium on October 19. For more information see the agenda. Register online by October 12, 2009.

7. Reminder – Africa-Canada Forum Colloquium – Africa in Canadian Foreign Policy

 

Africa and the global economic crisis, agriculture, sustainable rural development and CIDA’s priority for food security, and Canada’s role in supporting women’s empowerment will be the issues discussed at the Africa-Canada Forum (ACF) colloquium in Ottawa on October 27 and 28. For an agenda and to register, contact ACF’s Sylvie Perras.

8. Reminder – Climate Justice Speaking Tour


Bollywood celebrity, Oxfam Ambassador and climate activist Rahul Bose and Solomon Island teenager, Christina Ora will be touring the greater Toronto (October 15 to 20) and Vancouver (October 22 to 24) calling for a fair, ambitious and binding agreement at the climate summit in Copenhagen.  For information contact Lauren Drainie at Climate Action Network.

Worth Looking At

 

9. CSOs and the Accra High Level Forum on Aid Effectiveness

 

CCIC, CIVICUS and IBON Foundation (Philippines) co-published Strengthening Civil Society’s Role and Voice: Reflections on CSO Engagement with the Accra Third High Level Forum on Aid Effectiveness. The book documents the experience and impact of CSOs in organizing for the September 2008 Accra High Level Forum on Aid Effectiveness.  It also draws lessons from a series of interviews with key stakeholders in the Accra process. The book is currently only available in English.  A French translation is underway through CIVICUS.

10. Implementing the ODA Accountability Act


The Halifax Initiative has prepared an Issue Brief, Official Interpretations of the “ODA Accountability Act” − One Year Later, on the implementation of the ODA Accountability Act based on documents received under a Freedom of Information Request.  This Issue Brief complements the presentation by officials from CIDA and DFAIT at the recent CCIC-organized conference on the Future of Canadian ODA. 

11. Right to Education


The ODA Accountability Act and the Right to Education: Implications for Canadian Aid to Education provides a detailed description of internationally recognized human rights standards in education and an analysis of Canada’s current policies and strategies related to education. The paper was written by Kim Kerr of Save the Children Canada and Nhung Truong of OISE/University of Toronto on behalf of the Canadian Global Campaign for Education Aid Monitoring Working Group.

12. Promoting Gender Equality

 

The Informal Working Group on Women’s Rights response to the evaluation of the implementation of CIDA’s 1999 “Policy on Gender Equality”  Strengthening Canada’s International Leadership in the Promotion of Gender Equality) is now available online. 

Ethics in a Flash

 

13. Dear Ms Ethics

 

Dear Ms Ethics:  Our overseas work includes funding student resources for public schools.  The bible is required for some schools.  Some people in our organization say that using a bible as a study tool discriminates against students of other faiths and we shouldn’t fund this practice.  What advice would you give us to ensure we are considering the ethics of this situation?  Resourcefully yours.

 

Dear Resourceful:  Start by identifying the local factors involved in this situation, including any rules and values.  How is the bible used (i.e. to teach Christianity or as a literary work)? Were the parents engaged in decisions about the education of their children and requested the bibles?  Is the bible one of the only available, or affordable, texts written in the community’s local language?  Then identify desirable and undesirable consequences for your possible action.  Would the refusal of your funds mean students couldn’t attend school at all?  There is potential discrimination in this scenario, but the community may well have weighed the issue and decided that the bible is an acceptable resource for their children’s education.  Or they may not have considered that the impact would be creating barriers to non-Christian children’s education.  Before reaching a conclusion, discuss your questions with your partners and listen respectfully to how they work within the local context.  This is a good opportunity to implement the partnership principles by learning how your partners see the situation.  There are many ethical issues to consider here, but one thing is certain, cutting your partner off “cold turkey” from funding is bad practice.  Ms. Ethics advises that you leave the cold turkey for your lunch the day after Thanksgiving.

If you have an item for Flash, send it by e-mail to Katia Gianneschi. Please note that Flash items should be no longer than one paragraph.

TOP

All Rights Reserved 2009 Canadian Council for International Co-operation | info@ccic-ccci.ca

CCCI - Flash
Le bulletin électronique bi-mensuel www.ccic.ca
IMPRIMER ENGLISH

Dernières nouvelles
Le 9 octobre 2009

1. Forum public de l’OMC : Les évaluations d’impact sur les droits de la personne


L’Organisation mondiale du commerce (OMC) a tenu récemment sa conférence publique annuelle qui avait pour thème Problèmes mondiaux, solutions mondiales : Vers une meilleure gouvernance mondiale. L’une des séances portait sur l’intérêt de plus en plus marqué à l’échelle mondiale pour les évaluations d’impact sur les droits de l’homme (HRIA) comme moyen d’améliorer la gouvernance mondiale du commerce. Plusieurs conférenciers ont souligné la particularité et l’importance de la résolution affichée par certains députés et OSC qui ont réclamé que la HRIA soit une mesure obligatoire de contrôle préalable à la ratification de l’Accord de libre-échange (ALE) entre le Canada et la Colombie. La séance avait pour thèmes une HRIA réalisée en Thaïlande et l’approche préconisée par l’Union européenne relativement aux évaluations obligatoires de l’impact de la libéralisation du commerce sur le développement durable. La séance parrainée par l’organisation genevoise 3D a été animée par Gabrielle Marceau, conseillère au Bureau du directeur général de l’OMC. On peut écouter les fichiers audio de quelques séances, dont celle portant sur les HRIA, sur le site Web de l’OMC.


2. L’avenir de l’APD canadienne : fichiers audio de la conférence


Les fichiers audio de la conférence récente intitulée L’avenir de l’APD canadienne : Application de la Loi sur la responsabilité en matière d’aide au développement officielle sont maintenant disponibles. Ils reprennent les exposés de plusieurs conférenciers : Gerry Barr, président-directeur général du CCCI, présente le contexte et les thèmes de la conférence; Gauri Sreenivasan, du CCCI, traite des répercussions de la Loi sur la responsabilité en matière d’aide au développement officielle; Giorgiana Rosa, d’Amnesty International Canada, parle des normes en matière de droits de la personne dans le contexte du développement international; et Ed Broadbent fait un résumé des enseignements à tirer des divers exposés de la conférence.

À venir

 

3. Power Shift Canada

 

Power Shift Canada est un sommet national organisé par la Coalition canadienne des jeunes pour le climat. Du 23 au 26 octobre 2009, la jeunesse canadienne se réunira sur la Colline du Parlement à Ottawa pour demander au gouvernement de s’engager immédiatement et fermement dans la lutte aux changements climatiques.

4. Jour C - Occupons la colline (C-Day - Fill the Hill)


Le 24 octobre sera la Journée internationale d'action contre le changement climatique. Pour l’occasion, l’événement Jour C – Occupez la colline (C-Day -Fill the Hill, en anglais seulement) permettra à des Canadiens de se rencontrer devant le Parlement dans le but de manifester leur solidarité avec les millions de personnes vivant dans les villes du monde entier et ainsi réclamer que la conférence de Copenhague sur le climat aboutisse à la ratification de conventions obligatoires. 

5. À inscrire à votre calendrier – Journées de rencontres avec les députés


Les journées de rencontres annuelles entre les membres du CCCI et les députés auront lieu les 25 et 26 novembre 2009. Le programme et les modalités d’inscription seront publiés dans le Flash au cours des prochaines semaines.

6. Rappel - Colloque d'octobre pour le Groupe de travail Asie-Pacifique


Le thème de la conférence que le Groupe de travail Asie-Pacifique (GTAP) tiendra le 19 octobre sera La convergence des crises : Impacts des crises financière, alimentaire et climatique en Asie. Pour tout renseignement, prière de consulter l’ordre du jour de l’événement. Le formulaire d’inscription en ligne sera disponible jusqu’au 12 octobre 2009.

7. Rappel - Colloque sur la place de l’Afrique dans la politique étrangère canadienne 

 

L’Afrique dans un contexte de crise économique, l’agriculture, le développement durable en milieu rural, les priorités de l’ACDI en matière de sécurité alimentaire ainsi que le rôle du Canada dans la promotion de l’autonomisation des femmes seront autant de sujets abordés pendant le colloque du Forum Canada-Afrique (FCA) qui se tiendra les 27 et 28 octobre à Ottawa. Pour connaître le programme de l’activité et pour savoir comment s'inscrire, joindre Sylvie Perras.

8. Rappel – Tournée de conférences sur la justice climatique

 

Vedette de Bollywood, porte-parole d’Oxfam et militant pour la justice climatique, Rahul Bose a fait équipe avec Christine Ora, adolescente originaire des Îles Salomon et communicatrice primée, pour effectuer une tournée des régions de Toronto (15 au 20 octobre) et de Vancouver (22 au 24 octobre). Cette tournée vise à promouvoir les accords stricts et ambitieux que l’on cherchera à faire adopter à la conférence de Copenhague sur les enjeux climatiques. Pour un complément d’information, contacter Lauren Drainie au Réseau Action Climat. 

Vaut un coup d'oeil

 

9. Les OSC et le Forum de haut niveau d’Accra sur l’efficacité de l’aide


Le CCCI, CIVICUS et la Fondation IBON (Philippines) ont publié conjointement Strengthening Civil Society’s Role and Voice: Reflections on CSO Engagement with the Accra Third High Level Forum on Aid Effectiveness. Cet ouvrage documente les commentaires des auteurs sur l’expérience des organisations de la société civile relativement à la mise sur pied du Forum de haut niveau de septembre 2008 à Accra. Le livre rapporte également des propos révélateurs recueillis à l’occasion d’interviews avec certaines des principales parties prenantes au processus d’Accra. Actuellement, le livre n’est offert qu’en version originale anglaise. Cependant, CIVICUS prépare la version française qui paraîtra prochainement.

10. Mise en œuvre de la Loi sur la responsabilité en matière d’aide au développement officielle

 

L’Initiative d’Halifax a préparé une fiche d’information, Interprétations officielles de la Loi sur la responsabilité en matière d’aide au développement officielle – un an plus tard. Il est question de la mise en œuvre de la Loi à la lumière de documents obtenus au moyen d’une demande d'accès à l'information. La fiche d’information constitue un complément utile aux exposés que les représentants de l’ACDI et du MAECI ont présentés à la conférence tenue récemment par le CCCI sur L’avenir de l’APD canadienne.

11. Droit à l’éducation  

 

Le document ODA Accountability Act and the Right to Education: Implications for Canadian Aid to Education (temporairement en anglais seulement) offre une description détaillée de normes mondialement reconnues en matière de droits de la personne dans le milieu de l'éducation, ainsi qu'une analyse des politiques et des stratégies du Canada dans le domaine de l’éducation. Kim Kerr, Aide à l'enfance Canada, et Nhung Truong, OISE – Université de Toronto, ont préparé le document pour le compte du Groupe de travail sur le suivi de l'aide, un groupe de l’Alliance canadienne de la campagne mondiale pour l’éducation.

12. Promouvoir l’égalité entre les sexes 

 

Le groupe de travail informel sur le droit des femmes, regroupant des d’organisations engagées dans la promotion des droits des femmes et de l’égalité des sexes, a préparé une réaction de la société civile à l’évaluation de la mise en œuvre de la politique de l’ACDI en matière d’égalité entre les sexes de 1999. Le document intitulé Consolider le leadership international du Canada en matière de promotion de l’égalité entre les sexes est maintenant offert en ligne.

Flash éthique

 

13. Madame Éthique

 

Chère Madame Éthique: Notre travail outremer comporte un volet de financement de ressources à l’intention des élèves des écoles publiques, dont certaines utilisent la bible comme ouvrage de référence. Des membres de notre organisation estiment que l’utilisation de la bible à des fins éducatives est une pratique qu’il faut éviter de financer, car elle s’avère discriminatoire à l’endroit des élèves d’autres confessions. Dans la mesure où nous tenons à nous conformer aux règles éthiques, que nous conseillez-vous de faire? Cordialement, Lucide.

 

Chère Lucide : D’abord, il serait utile de déterminer les facteurs qui entrent en jeu, tels que les règles et les valeurs socioculturelles, en vous posant quelques questions. (Dans quel but la bible est-elle utilisée – p. ex., pour enseigner les valeurs chrétiennes ou pour faire une analyse littéraire? Les parents ont-ils participé à l’élaboration des programmes d'éducation et demandé que la bible en fasse partie? La bible est-elle le seul livre abordable dont on dispose en langue locale? Il faudrait ensuite prévoir les conséquences, positives et négatives, de l’interruption du financement. Empêcherait-elle les étudiants de poursuivre leurs études? Dans une certaine mesure, le cas de figure que vous présentez pourrait être source de discrimination, mais en revanche il est possible que les gens qui bénéficient du financement aient déjà soupesé les éventuelles complications. Il se peut, néanmoins, qu’ils n’aient pas prévu que l’utilisation de la bible pourrait porter préjudice aux enfants qui ne sont pas de foi chrétienne. Avant de tirer des conclusions, serait important que vous discutiez avec vos partenaires et que vous vous montriez réceptive à ce qu’ils vivent sur le terrain. Il s’agit là d’une occasion de vous familiariser avec le point de vue de vos partenaires et de mettre en pratique les principes de coopération. Même si le cas que vous nous soumettez soulève plusieurs questions d’ordre éthique, il n’en demeure pas moins que la décision d’interrompre soudainement le financement peut s’avérer tout à fait regrettable. Il faut toujours privilégier le dialogue et éviter de prendre des décisions précipitées.

Pour faire publier un texte, prière de l’envoyer à Katia Gianneschi. À noter que les articles destinés au Flash ne doivent pas avoir plus d’un paragraphe.

HAUT
Tous droits réservés © 2009 Conseil canadien pour la coopération internationale | info@ccic-ccci.ca