CCIC - Flash
A semi-monthly electronic bulletin www.ccic.ca
PRINT FRANÇAIS

Headline
April 10, 2009

1. Canadian Food Security Policy Group Letter to PM


In a letter to Prime Minister Harper, the FSPG reiterates its congratulations to the government for adding $50 million to its food assistance budget for 2008. But it points out that the current economic crisis has led to higher food prices and hardship and social unrest in dozens of countries round the world. It urges the government to build on its recent commitments on global food security and address the root causes of the global food crisis, based on the principle “that access to adequate and nutritious food is a basic human right for all men women and children.” It calls for the implementation of a “comprehensive whole-of-government strategy on food security.” For the full text, visit the Canadian Foodgrains Bank Association website.


2. How Free Trade Threatens Employment


War on Want’s latest report, “Trading Away our Jobs: how free trade threatens employment around the world”, examines how free trade agreements and policies designed to open up import markets have led to the collapse of entire industries and the loss of millions of jobs across the world. The report brings together, for the first time, both historical and projected data on the impact of trade liberalisation on employment.

It analyses studies of past liberalisations in Africa and Latin America, as well as impact assessments for the ongoing WTO negotiations. Among its findings:  Trade liberalisation in Brazil cut net employment by 2.7 million between 1990 and 1997;  Ghana lost 17% of its industrial jobs and female employment fell 22% after trade liberalisation; Mediterranean countries could lose 3.4 million jobs as a result of an EU free trade agreement, 1.5 million in Egypt alone. For more info, visit the War on Want website.

3. Oxfam America Report on Afghanistan


Smart Development In Practice – Field Report from Afghanistan is based on a series of interviews in Kabul with individuals involved in the delivery of US aid - employees of the US AID, other foreign donor contractors, consulting companies, Afghan and international nongovernmental organizations, and Afghan government officials. The report identifies as key problems an undue focus on short-term security objectives to the detriment of poverty reduction, insufficient support for long-term capacity building and excessive funds absorbed by private contractors. It notes that much of US aid is supply-driven, rather than supporting and complementing Afghan government and community efforts. There are success stories, where development initiatives have had clear development objectives and a high level of local ownership, such as the Afghanistan community midwifery program, started in 2002 by the government of Afghanistan, which USAID is funding.


4. International Indigenous Rights Experts Send Letter to the PM Re CSR


Participants at the International Expert Workshop on Indigenous Peoples’ Rights, Corporate Accountability and Extractive Industries, and the International Conference on Extractive Industries and Indigenous Peoples have sent a strong letter to Prime Minister Harper. In it they express their regret over Canada’s new Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR) Strategy for the Canadian International Extractive Sector which they say “falls far short of upholding Canada’s international commitments on human rights, Indigenous Peoples and the environment.” They add that the new policy which relies on voluntary guidelines instead of binding regulations, “is one that will do little to stop abuses by Canadian extractive companies from continuing unabated and unpunished.” A copy of the letter will soon be posted on the North-South Institute website.

5. The World According to Monsanto: A film by
Marie-Monique Robin


Present in forty-six countries, Monsanto has become the world leader in GM crops, as well as becoming one of the most controversial companies in industrial history. Since its foundation in 1901, the firm has faced trial after trial because of the toxicity of its products. Today it has reinvented itself as a "life sciences" company which has been converted to the virtues of sustainable development. Using hitherto unpublished documents and the testimonies of victims, scientists and politicians, The World According to Monsanto pieces together the origins of an industrial empire, now the world's leading seed manufacturer, spreading GM crops worldwide - amid a lack of any proper controls with respect to their effects on nature and human health. Now posted on YouTube.

The film is distributed in Canada by the National Film Board and you can view a trailer and purchase the DVD here.

6. CCIC Job Posting Service


For many years CCIC has been providing a Job Posting Service to help members and other NGOs recruit employees. The Work Opportunity page of our web site is a popular destination for visitors looking for work in the international development sector. While we will continue to offer this service at the same low rates again this year, members further benefit from two free postings per fiscal year.  If you have a job to post, or need more details, contact Pierre Laflamme.

 

Upcoming Events

 

7. Public Engagement Forum


The Role of Public Engagement & Campaigning in Changing Times a public engagement (PE) forum for CCIC members takes place in Ottawa on May 20 to 21.  The Forum provides PE practitioners from across the country an important opportunity to connect, dialogue, and share practices and tools. This year’s Forum will focus on 3 primary areas: 1) the current context and its implications for Public Engagement in Canada, 2) the role and value of PE in the development process, and 3) the in-depth exploration of campaigning as a vehicle for influencing policy and engaging Canadians as global citizens. See the draft program for details. To register complete this form.  For more info contact Michael Stephens by email or dial 613-241-7007 ext. 332.


8. Climate Justice Seminar


What is Canada’s Fair Share in the Fight Against Climate Change?  Climate Action Network Canada and CCIC invite you to a seminar on the launch of a new report on climate justice and Canada’s role in the global fight to stop global warming. The seminar will focus on how to reduce greenhouse gas emissions while preserving the right of all people to dignity and human development. It will also examine how Canada can meet its fair share of obligations. The seminar is in Ottawa on April 21 from 2:00pm to 4:30pm. For more information: contact Montana Burgess.


9. Canadian Global Campaign for Education (CGCE) organizes Global Action Week 2009


Global Action Week is an international campaign to alert politicians and journalists to the need to provide quality education to the 75 million children and 774 million adults who have no access to this basic human right.  GAW 2009, April 20-26, will highlight the

“Big Read” campaign which focuses on Youth and Adult Literacy, one of the six

Education for All goals.  For more, visit the CGCE website or contact dhodgson@cgce.ca.


10. Policy Seminar on Investment Treaties, Human Rights and the Extractives, May 13-14th


This CCIC policy seminar on Investment Treaties, Human Rights and the Extractives takes place May 13th in Ottawa.  It’s an opportunity for CCIC members, officials, researchers and others  to learn about alternative policy approaches in the South for regulating investment in extractives for development outcomes. It will also look at how Canada’s bilateral investment treaty agenda affects and interacts with those Southern approaches. The seminar will feature CSO and government perspectives from a variety of Southern and Canadian contexts and expert panelists on trade and investment treaties.  A half-day meeting May 14th for CCIC members and CSO participants will follow to discuss next steps and share reflections. To register or for more information, click here.

11. Bruce Cockburn in Nepal


USC Canada presents the Ottawa Premiere ofReturn to Nepal -- a documentary film chronicling musician Bruce Cockburn’s journey to Nepal.  Cockburn travels to the remote Humla region, near Tibet, where farmers work steep mountain slopes and offer strategies for survival in a tough land.  Friday, April 17,  7:30 pm, St. Paul’s University, Ottawa

(223 Main Street).  Free Admission.  For more information, send an email or dial

613-234-6827.

12. ACF Annual General Meeting – Meeting the Challenges of Democratic Development, Peace and Economic Justice in Africa


The Africa-Canada Forum (ACF) Platform for Action: Africa Matters will be launched at the AFC Annual General Meeting. The AGM, to be held April 22 and 23, will be an opportunity to better understand both the impact of the global financial crisis on Africa and Canada’s International Defense Policy as it relates to Africa.   Discussions will focus on three priority areas for the ACF: putting Africa back on the Canadian agenda for the G8 Summit in 2010; extractive industries and corporate social responsibility; and food sovereignty. Women’s rights and gender equality concerns will be central to all the discussions.

To receive an agenda and a registration form, contact Sylvie Perras, ACF Coordinator.

13. CCSD CANADIAN SOCIAL FORUM:

 

TELUS Centre, Calgary, AB, May 19 - 22, 2009. The shift from decades of economic “prosperity” to an economic downturn has magnified social challenges in Canada. In spite of resources, innovation, energy and commitment, poverty persists. It is time for a rethink. The Canadian Council on Social Development (CCSD) is creating space for over 750 leaders from a variety of backgrounds and standpoints to consider how we can reduce poverty in Canada. The program will highlight the innovative work across the country. Plenary and keynote speakers: Cindy Blackstock, Cornelia Wieman,  Richard Harwood and Sheila Watt-Cloutier. For more info.

14. KAIROS GATHERING 2009


The end of the world as we know it...Thank God! takes place June 17-20 2009 at the University of Waterloo, Ontario. It’s a four day gathering of justice and peace-focused worship, work, play, workshops, music, conversation, learning and networking, bringing together 500 creative people from a wide range of communities coast to coast to coast, with resource people from around the world. You are welcome whatever your tradition and background. It’s purpose? To learn, pray, act, reflect, and build community for education and action together with the many communities that make up KAIROS.  More info, or contact Sheilagh McGlynn  Tel: 1 877 403 8933 x 246.

15. Rotary/RESULTS Toronto Microfinance Conference


The conference (Saturday, May 9th) features Alex Counts (CEO, Grameen Foundation) as keynote speaker. This is both an educational event and a fundraiser for RESULTS.  

Ticket prices are modest and donations will be requested at the event to allow us to continue creating the political will to end poverty. To purchase tickets or make a donation, click here.

 

Ethics in a Flash

 

16. Draft 2 of Code of Ethics revision now available

 

Over the last year, the Ethics Review Committee has been reviewing the CCIC Code of Ethics to clarify and simplify its structure and to update areas as needed.  Feedback on a first draft provided by the CCIC Board of Directors in December, and by members during the February Member meetings, helped the Committee in this process.  A second draft of the Code of Ethics and Operational Standards has now been sent to all members and is available on the CCIC web site.  Further comments are invited.  Send them by email before April 30 for the Committee to review at its next meeting.  A final proposed update will go to the CCIC AGM in May. 

Flash is a members only publication. CCIC members, however, are encouraged to forward Flash to their staff, board, regional offices, Southern partners and volunteers. If you have an item for Flash, send it by e-mail to Peter Puxley at ppuxley@ccic.ca. Please note that Flash items should be no longer than one paragraph.

TOP

All Rights Reserved 2009 Canadian Council for International Co-operation | info@ccic-ccci.ca

CCCI - Flash
Le bulletin électronique bi-mensuel www.ccic.ca
IMPRIMER ENGLISH

Dernières nouvelles
Le 10 avril 2009

1. Lettre du Groupe canadien de réflexion sur la sécurité alimentaire au premier ministre


Dans une lettre adressée au premier ministre Harper, le Groupe canadien de réflexion sur la sécurité alimentaire réitère ses félicitations au gouvernement pour avoir ajouté 50 millions de dollars à son budget d’aide alimentaire de 2008. Cependant, le Groupe souligne que la crise économique actuelle a fait augmenter le prix des denrées et progresser la misère et l’agitation sociale dans des dizaines de pays. Il exhorte le gouvernement à honorer son engagement récent en matière de sécurité alimentaire pour s’attaquer aux sources premières de la crise alimentaire internationale, en vertu du principe selon lequel « l’accès à une nourriture adéquate et nutritive est un droit fondamental pour tous les hommes, les femmes et les enfants ». Le Groupe exige aussi la mise en œuvre d’une « stratégie pangouvernementale complète pour la sécurité alimentaire ». Pour lire le texte de la lettre, visiter le site web de l’Association de la banque canadienne de grains inc (en anglais seulement).

2. Le libre-échange, une menace pour l’emploi


Le dernier rapport de l’organisme War on Want, Trading Away our Jobs: how free trade threatens employment around the world (en anglais seulement), porte sur la manière dont les accords de libre-échange et les politiques conçus pour ouvrir les marchés à l’importation ont en réalité conduit à l’effondrement d’industries entières et à la perte de millions d’emplois partout dans le monde. Dans ce rapport sont réunies pour la première fois des données historiques et des projections sur les répercussions de la libéralisation du commerce sur l’emploi. On y analyse des études sur les libéralisations passées en Afrique et en Amérique latine, ainsi que des études d’impact réalisées en vue des négociations actuelles de l’OMC. On en conclut notamment que la libéralisation du commerce au Brésil a fait chuter les revenus nets d’emploi de 2,7 millions entre 1990 et 1997, qu’au Ghana, 17 % des emplois industriels ont été perdus et l’emploi des femmes a chuté de 22 % après la libéralisation du commerce, et que dans les pays de la Méditerranée, 3,4 millions d’emplois, dont 1,5 million en Égypte seulement, pourraient disparaître si un accord de libre-échange européen était conclu. Pour en savoir plus, consulter le site web de

War on Want (en anglais seulement).

3. Rapport d’Oxfam America sur l’Afghanistan

 

Le rapport Smart Development In Practice – Field Report from Afghanistan (en anglais seulement) est fondé sur une série d’entrevues réalisées à Kaboul avec des participants à la livraison de l’aide états-unienne (des employés d’USAID, d’autres contractants de donateurs étrangers, des sociétés de conseil, des ONG afghanes et internationales et des fonctionnaires afghans). Le rapport relève les principaux problèmes suivants : accent injustifié sur les objectifs de sécurité à court terme au détriment de la réduction de la pauvreté, insuffisance du soutien du développement des capacités à long terme et absorption excessive des fonds par les fournisseurs privés. On y souligne également qu’une bonne partie de l’aide américaine est axée sur l’approvisionnement au lieu de soutenir et de compléter les efforts du gouvernement et des collectivités afghanes. Cependant, on relève des réussites, lorsque des initiatives de développement avaient des objectifs clairement axés sur le développement et que les collectivités locales étaient en grande partie responsables des projets, comme dans le cas du programme communautaire de sages-femmes lancé en 2002 par le gouvernement de l’Afghanistan et financé par USAID.

4. Des experts internationaux des droits des autochtones écrivent au premier ministre au sujet de la responsabilité sociale d’entreprise (RSE)


Les participants de l’International Expert Workshop on Indigenous Peoples’ Rights, Corporate Accountability and Extractive Industries (Atelier international d’experts sur les droits des autochtones, la responsabilisation des entreprises et les industries extractives) et de l’International Conference on Extractive Industries and Indigenous Peoples (Colloque international sur les industries extractives et les peuples autochtones) ont envoyé une lettre insistante au premier ministre Harper, dans laquelle ils expriment leur déception devant la nouvelle stratégie du Canada en matière de RSE pour les industries extractives canadiennes actives à l’étranger, qu’ils considèrent comme « loin d’honorer les engagements internationaux du Canada en matière de droits de la personne, de droits des autochtones et d’environnement ». Ils ajoutent que la nouvelle politique, qui repose sur des lignes directrices facultatives au lieu de règlements obligatoires, « en fera très peu pour freiner et punir les abus commis par l’industrie extractive canadienne ». La lettre sera bientôt affichée sur le site de l’Institut Nord-Sud.

5. Le monde selon Monsanto : un film de Marie-Monique Robin


Implantée dans quarante-six pays, Monsanto est devenue le leader mondial des OGM, mais aussi l’une des entreprises les plus controversées de l’histoire industrielle. Depuis sa création en 1901, la firme a accumulé des procès en raison de la toxicité de ses produits, mais se présente aujourd’hui comme une entreprise des « sciences de la vie » convertie aux vertus du développement durable. A partir de documents inédits, de témoignages de victimes, de scientifiques et d’hommes politiques, Le monde selon Monsanto reconstitue la genèse d’un empire industriel qui est devenu le premier semencier du monde, permettant l’extension planétaire des cultures OGM sans aucun contrôle sérieux de leurs effets sur la nature et la santé humaine. Maintenant disponible en anglais sur YouTube. Le film est distribué au Canada par l’Office national du film. Pour visionner la bande annonce ou acheter le DVD, cliquer ici.

6. Service d’affichage de postes


Depuis plusieurs années, le CCCI offre un service d’affichage de postes pour aider ses membres et les autres ONG à recruter du personnel. La page Info travail de notre site est très populaire auprès des chercheurs d’emploi dans le secteur du développement international. Cette année encore, nous offrons ce service au même bas prix, ainsi que deux annonces gratuites par exercice financier pour les membres. Pour afficher un emploi ou obtenir plus de renseignements, écrire à Pierre Laflamme.

À venir

 

7. Forum sur l’engagement du public


Le Forum, intitulé Le rôle de l’engagement du public et des campagnes dans un monde en mutation, est destiné aux membres du CCCI et se tiendra à Ottawa les 20 et 21 mai.

Ce sera pour les professionnels de l’engagement du public de partout au pays une occasion exceptionnelle de se rencontrer, de discuter et de partager leurs pratiques et leurs outils. Cette année, le Forum portera sur trois grands thèmes : 1) la conjoncture actuelle et ses répercussions sur l’engagement du public au Canada, 2) le rôle et la valeur de l’engagement du public dans le processus de développement et 3) une réflexion approfondie sur la façon dont les campagnes peuvent influencer les politiques et mobiliser les Canadiens comme citoyens du monde. Le programme préliminaire et le formulaire d’inscription sont maintenant en ligne. Pour de plus amples renseignements, communiquer par courriel avec Michael Stephens ou composer le 613-241-7007, poste 332.

8. Séminaire sur la justice climatique

 

Quel rôle doit jouer le Canada dans la lutte contre le changement climatique ? Le Réseau action climat Canada et le CCCI vous invitent à un séminaire tenu à l’occasion du lancement d’un rapport sur la justice climatique et le rôle du Canada dans la lutte internationale contre le réchauffement planétaire. On y abordera les moyens de réduire les émissions de gaz à effet de serre tout en protégeant le droit de tous à la dignité et au développement. On y réfléchira également à la manière dont le Canada peut faire sa juste part en respectant ses obligations. Le séminaire aura lieu le 21 avril à Ottawa, de 14 h à 16 h 30. Pour en savoir plus, veuillez vous adresser à Montana Burgess.

9. Semaine mondiale d’action 2009 de l’Alliance canadienne de la campagne mondiale pour l’éducation (ACCMÉ)


La Semaine mondiale d’action (SMA) est une campagne internationale qui vise à alerter les politiciens et les journalistes de la nécessité d’assurer une éducation de qualité aux 75 millions d’enfants et aux 774 millions d’adultes pour qui ce droit fondamental demeure théorique. Durant la SMA 2009, du 20 au 26 avril, on attirera l’attention sur la campagne « La grande lecture » pour l’alphabétisation des jeunes et des adultes, qui est l’un des six objectifs de l’Éducation pour tous. Pour en savoir plus, visiter le site web de l’ACCMÉ ou écrire à dhodgson@cgce.ca.


10. Colloque d’orientation sur les accords d’investissement, les droits de la personne et les industries extractives, les 13 et 14 mai


Ce colloque d’orientation du CCCI aura lieu le 13 mai à Ottawa. Ce sera l’occasion pour les membres, les fonctionnaires, les chercheurs et les autres intéressés de se renseigner sur de nouvelles solutions politiques pour le Sud visant à réglementer les investissements dans les industries extractives en fonction du développement. On y abordera également la manière dont les accords d’investissement bilatéraux canadiens interfèrent avec ces nouvelles solutions. On y exposera les points de vue des OSC et des gouvernements dans divers contextes du Sud et du Canada et dans le cadre d’un panel d’experts du commerce et des accords d’investissement. Par la suite aura lieu le 14 mai, pour les membres du CCCI et les OSC participantes, une réunion d’une demi-journée où l’on discutera des prochaines étapes et l’on réfléchira ensemble. Pour s’inscrire ou pour en savoir plus, cliquer ici.

11. Bruce Cockburn au Népal


USC Canada présente la première de Return to Nepal à Ottawa. Ce documentaire décrit le voyage du musicien Bruce Cockburn au Népal. M. Cockburn s’est rendu dans la région éloignée de Humla, près du Tibet, où des paysans travaillent dans les collines escarpées et utilisent différentes stratégies pour survivre sur cette terre aride. La première aura lieu le vendredi 17 avril à 19 h 30, à l’Université Saint-Paul (223, rue Main, Ottawa).

Entrée libre. Pour en savoir plus, communiquer par courriel ou composer le 613-234-6827.

12. Assemblée générale annuelle du FAC – Relever les défis du développement démocratique, de la paix et de la justice économique en Afrique


Le Programme d’action L’Afrique compte du Forum Afrique-Canada (FAC) sera lancé lors de l’assemblée générale annuelle du FAC. Cette assemblée se tiendra les 22 et 23 avril et sera l’occasion de mieux situer l’Afrique dans le contexte actuel de la crise financière mondiale et d’approfondir la compréhension de sa place dans la politique de défense internationale du Canada. Elle permettra également de discuter de trois sphères d’action prioritaires du FAC : l’importance de remettre l’Afrique au rang des préoccupations du Canada pour le Sommet du G8 en 2010, les industries extractives et la responsabilité sociale d’entreprise, ainsi que la souveraineté alimentaire. Les préoccupations liées aux droits des femmes et à l’égalité entre les sexes seront au cœur de toutes les discussions. Pour recevoir l’ordre du jour et un formulaire d’inscription, communiquer avec la coordonnatrice du FAC, Sylvie Perras.

13. Forum Social Canadien 

 

Le Forum sera organisé par le CCDS au TELUS Centre de Calgary, en Alberta, du 19 au 22 mai 2009. Le virage de décennies de « prospérité » économique à un repli économique a amplifié les défis sociaux auxquels le Canada fait face. Malgré nos ressources, nos innovations, notre énergie et notre engagement, la pauvreté persiste. Le temps est venu de repenser nos actions. C’est ce que fera le Forum social canadien. Des leaders d’une variété de domaines et ayant différents points de vue collaboreront afin de trouver des façons de réduire la pauvreté au Canada. Le programme mettra l’accent sur le travail innovateur qui se fait déjà dans ce domaine dans des collectivités partout au pays.

Les conférencières et conférenciers des plénières sont Cindy Blackstock, Cornelia Wieman, Richard Harwood et Sheila Watt-Cloutier. Pour s’inscrire ou vérifier les mises à jour du programme, cliquer ici.

14. Rencontre KAIROS 2009


La fin du monde tel qu’on le connaît… Dieu merci! se déroulera du 17 au 20 juin 2009 à l’Université de Waterloo en Ontario.Il s’agit de quatre jours de prière, de travail, de jeux, d’ateliers, de musique, de discussions, d’apprentissage et de réseautage, pour lesquels se réuniront 500 personnes créatives provenant de diverses communautés d’un océan à l’autre, ainsi que des personnes-ressources de partout dans le monde. Tout le monde est bienvenu, sans égard aux familles de croyances ni aux origines. L’objectif est d’apprendre, de prier, d’agir, de réfléchir et de créer une communauté pour l’éducation et l’action à partir des nombreuses communautés qui composent KAIROS. Pour en savoir plus, visiter la page Rencontre 2009 ou communiquer avec Sheilagh McGlynn par courriel ou composer le 1-877-403-8933, poste 246.

15. Conférence Rotary/RÉSULTATS de Toronto sur la microfinance


La conférence qui aura lieu le samedi 9 mai 2009 mettra en vedette le conférencier invité Alex Counts, PDG de la fondation Grameen. Cet événement sera à la fois une occasion d’apprendre et une activité de financement pour RÉSULTATS. Les billets sont vendus à un prix abordable et des dons seront amassés sur place pour nous aider à susciter la volonté politique de mettre fin à la pauvreté. Pour se procurer des billets ou faire un don, cliquer ici

Flash éthique

 

16. La deuxième ébauche du Code d’éthique est maintenant prête


Au cours de la dernière année, le Comité d’étude du Code d’éthique a passé en revue le Code d’éthique du CCCI pour le clarifier, le simplifier et le mettre à jour au besoin. 

Le Conseil d’administration a donné son avis sur la première ébauche en décembre, et les membres ont fait de même lors des assemblées des membres de février, ce qui a aidé le Comité dans son travail. La deuxième ébauche du Code et des normes opérationnelles a maintenant été envoyée à tous les membres et se trouve sur le site du CCCI. Nous vous invitons à nous faire parvenir vos commentaires supplémentaires par courriel avant le 30 avril pour que le Comité puisse en prendre connaissance à sa prochaine réunion.

Le texte final sera proposé lors de l’assemblée générale annuelle du CCCI en mai.

Flash n’est distribué qu’aux membres du CCCI. Ceux-ci sont cependant encouragés à le communiquer à leur personnel, à leurs administrateurs, à leurs bureaux régionaux, à leurs partenaires du Sud et à leurs bénévoles. Pour faire publier un texte, prière de l’envoyer à Peter Puxley, à ppuxley@ccic.ca. À noter que les articles destinés au Flash ne doivent pas avoir plus d’un paragraphe.

HAUT
Tous droits réservés © 2009 Conseil canadien pour la coopération internationale | info@ccic-ccci.ca