CCIC - Flash
A semi-monthly electronic bulletin www.ccic.ca
PRINT FRANÇAIS

Headlines
January 16, 2009

1. New Look for New Year


Flash has a new look. Although the look has changed, Flash still strives to give you the latest news, upcoming events and ethical deliberations. And, of course, it continues to be a tool for CCIC members. So if you have an item you’d like to place in Flash, be sure to send it to Katia Gianneschi. The deadline for submissions for the next Flash is January 23.


2. Federal Budget Brief


In advance of the federal budget expected January 27, CCIC sent a letter to Finance Minister Jim Flaherty calling on him to ensure that “measures to help end poverty are included in the upcoming budget.” CCIC’s budget brief, prepared for the pre-budget consultations of the Standing Committee on Finance, was also sent to Flaherty. The brief sets out a 10-year timetable for Canada to reach the internationally agreed to target for aid spending of 0.7% of Gross National Income.

Upcoming Events

 

3. Informal Working Group on Women's Rights


An informal group of CCIC members interested in women's rights is meeting to discuss ways to strengthen the focus on the women's rights agenda in international cooperation (CIDA and CSOs) and to consolidate and support a “Community of Practice”.  This group is open to any CCIC member active in the women's rights agenda.  The group is currently meeting a morning every two to three months with a rotating chair.  The next meeting will be chaired by Oxfam Canada and is set for February 23, 9:30 to noon in the CCIC boardroom at 1 Nicholas St. Suite 300, Ottawa.  To be added to a Google group for more information, contact Dana Stefov ( 613-241-7007 ext. 357).

4. Northern Youth Abroad Volunteers Needed


Northern Youth Abroad (NYA) is seeking experienced, motivated, and responsible volunteers to act as Group Leaders for its 2009 summer program. Successful applicants will form two pairs who will each lead a group of six youth on their International placement. The placement will run from approximately July 8 to August 17 in Botswana with orientation and reorientation programs in Ottawa preceding and following the placement. Group leaders’ involvement is needed before and after the field placement. For more information, and full posting see NYA website or contact NYA Program Director Rebecca Bisson.

5. Global Development Studies Master’s of Arts


The department of Global Development Studies at Queen’s University will be offering a new Master’s of Arts degree starting September 2009.  Global Development Studies is an interdisciplinary department offering a wide range of course and degree options on campus while at the same time allowing students to participate in hands-on learning in locations around the world.  For information on the program visit the Queen’s University website. Application deadlines are January 31 2009.


Setting Our Sites

 

6. CCIC Web Site Update


CCIC is updating the “Take Action” section of its website. Take Action profiles members’ public engagement campaigns and actions. Members interested in promoting their current and upcoming campaigns can complete the online form. For more information contact Karine Girard (613-241-7007 ext. 339).

Ethics in a Flash

 

7. Leading the Way – Ethics and Governance Toronto  Workshop


Although Board Directors and senior management must promote ethical principles throughout the organization, individuals don’t always know how best to do that.  Decision-making at the governance level can be difficult and time-consuming when people are faced with conflicting ethical values.  Are your leaders well equipped to make the kind of sound decisions expected of civil society organizations in today’s climate?  CCIC is offering the workshop “Leading the Way: Ethics and Governance”.  Jane Garthson, a Canadian specialist on ethics and governance, will guide workshop participants through scenario discussions and presentation so that they will become more comfortable applying ethical principles to decision-making.  Sessions will be held in Toronto in February. Further information is available on CCIC website.

8. Staying True – Governance and Change Toronto Workshop


Internal and external change impacts organizations at many levels.  Program, structural or staff changes are most often dealt with, but what does change mean for Board operations? Will Boards need different ways of ensuring their accountability to communities, partners, donors, funders and regulators? When is it time to review a governance framework? What criteria might be used for such a review?  CCIC is offering the workshop “Staying True: Governance and Change” led by Jane Garthson, a Canadian specialist on ethics and governance.  Garthson will discuss how to set directions during periods of rapid change and will assist workshop participants through discussions and exercises in how to stay true to ethical principles even during chaos and conflict.  This workshop will be offered in Toronto in February. Further information is available on CCIC website.

 

TOP
All Rights Reserved 2009 Canadian Council for International Co-operation | info@ccic-ccci.ca

CCCI - Flash
Le bulletin électronique bi-mensuel www.ccic.ca
IMPRIMER ENGLISH

Dernières nouvelles
Le 16 janvier 2009

1. Nouvel an, nouveau look!


Le Flash s’est refait une beauté. Sous ses nouveaux habits, notre bulletin continuera de vous tenir au courant des dernières nouvelles, des activités à venir et des réflexions éthiques d’actualité, sans cesser, bien sûr, de servir d’outil pour les membres du CCCI. Donc, si vous avez un article à faire publier dans le Flash, n’hésitez pas à l’envoyer à Katia Gianneschi. La date de tombée pour la prochaine parution est le 23 janvier.


2. Note d’information sur le budget fédéral


À l’approche du budget prévu pour le 27 janvier, le CCCI a fait parvenir une lettre au ministre des Finances Jim Flaherty, lui demandant de veiller à ce que son plan budgétaire comprenne des « mesures ayant pour objectif d’éliminer la pauvreté ». La note d’information du CCCI sur le budget, préparée en vue des consultations prébudgétaires du Comité permanent des finances, a également été envoyée à monsieur Flaherty. Cette note fait état d’une stratégie s'étalant sur dix ans, qui permettrait au Canada de réaliser son engagement, selon lequel il consent, en vertu des termes d’un accord international, une aide financière équivalente à 0,7 % du revenu national brut.

À venir

 

3. Groupe de travail informel sur les droits des femmes


Un groupe de travail informel de membres du CCCI intéressés par les droits des femmes s’est constitué pour discuter des moyens de valoriser davantage ce secteur d’activité dans le milieu de la coopération internationale (ACDI et OSC) et pour créer et entretenir une « communauté de pratique ». Ce groupe est ouvert à tous les membres du CCCI actifs dans ce domaine. Actuellement, il se réunit un matin tous les deux ou trois mois, sous la présidence d’un membre différent chaque fois. La prochaine réunion, qui sera présidée par Oxfam Canada, aura lieu le 23 février, de 9 h 30 à midi, à la salle du conseil du CCCI, 1, rue Nicholas, bureau 300, à Ottawa. Pour faire partie d’un groupe Google afin d’en savoir plus, communiquer avec Dana Stefov (613-241-7007, poste 357).

4. Bénévoles demandés pour Northern Youth Abroad


Northern Youth Abroad (NYA) est à la recherche de bénévoles expérimentés, motivés et sérieux pour travailler comme chefs d’équipe durant son programme de l’été 2009. Les personnes retenues formeront deux paires dont chacune animera un groupe de six jeunes durant un stage qui se déroulera au Botswana, du 8 juillet au 17 août environ. Le stage sera précédé d’un programme de préparation et suivi d’une démarche de réorientation, à Ottawa. Les chefs d’équipe ont du travail à effectuer avant et après le stage. Pour en savoir plus, voir le site web de NYA ou écrire à la directrice de programme de NYA, Rebecca Bisson.

5. Maîtrise en développement international


Le département des études internationales de l’Université Queen’s offre un nouveau programme de maîtrise dès septembre 2009. Ce département multidisciplinaire offre un vaste éventail de cours et de diplômes à des étudiants qui peuvent soit étudier sur place, soit profiter d’occasions d’apprentissage pratique ailleurs dans le monde. Pour en savoir plus sur le programme, consulter le site web de l’Université Queen’s. Les inscriptions prennent fin le 31 janvier 2009.


Des sites en vue

 

6. Mise à jour du site web du CCCI


Le CCCI met à jour la section Passer à l’action de son site web, qui fait état des campagnes de mobilisation du public entreprises par les membres. Pour faire connaître une campagne en cours ou à venir, il suffit de remplir le formulaire en ligne. Pour de plus amples renseignements, communiquer avec Karine Girard (613-241-7007, poste 339).

Flash éthique

 

7. Atelier Donner l’exemple : éthique et gouvernance à Toronto


Dans toute organisation, les administrateurs et la haute direction doivent promouvoir l’éthique à tous les niveaux, mais ils ne connaissent pas toujours les meilleurs moyens de le faire. Or, lorsqu’un conflit de valeurs survient, la prise de décisions en haut lieu peut s’avérer ardue et entraîner une perte de temps. Vos dirigeants sont-ils bien outillés pour prendre les décisions judicieuses auxquelles on s’attend des organisations de la société civile d’aujourd’hui ? Pensez à l’atelier Donner l’exemple : éthique et gouvernance offert par le CCCI. Jane Garthson, spécialiste canadienne de ces questions, proposera des scénarios pour aider les participants à se familiariser avec l’application de principes éthiques dans la prise de décisions. Les ateliers auront lieu à Toronto en février. Pour renseignements, consulter le site web du CCCI.

8. Atelier Rester fidèle à ses principes : gouvernance et changement à Toronto

 

Toute organisation vit des changements internes et externes ayant des incidences multiples. Qu’il s’agisse de programmes, de structures ou de personnel, on s’adapte la plupart du temps, mais quelle est l’incidence des changements sur le C.A. ? Celui-ci doit-il se doter de nouveaux moyens de rendre des comptes au milieu, à leurs partenaires, aux donateurs, aux bailleurs de fonds, aux organes de réglementation ? Quand est-il temps de réviser ses structures décisionnelles ? Quels critères faut-il suivre alors ? Pensez à l’atelier Rester fidèle à ses principes : gouvernance et changement animé par Jane Garthson, spécialiste canadienne de l’éthique et de la gouvernance. La formatrice expliquera comment s’orienter en période de mutation et montrera aux participants, au moyen d’exposés et d’exercices, comment rester fidèle à ses principes éthiques même en période de chaos ou de conflit. Cet atelier se tiendra à Toronto en février. Pour renseignements, consulter le site web du CCCI.

 

HAUT
Tous droits réservés © 2009 Conseil canadien pour la coopération internationale | info@ccic-ccci.ca