CCIC - Flash
A semi-monthly electronic bulletin www.ccic.ca
PRINT FRANÇAIS

Headlines
December 12, 2008

1. Canada Signs Historic Treaty Banning Cluster Munitions


Over the past 40 years, tens of thousands of civilians, including many children, have been killed or injured by cluster munitions in conflict zones around the world. On December 03, 2008, governments from around the world, including Canada, signed the Convention on Cluster Munitions banning the use, production, transfer and stockpiling of cluster munitions. The Convention also commits signatories to providing victim assistance and to clearing contaminated land. The Convention has been called the most significant disarmament and humanitarian treaty of the decade. To learn more, visit the Mines Action Canada website.

2. Official Development Assistance Accountability Act Consultations


The department of Finance is holding web consultations on the new Official Development Assistance Accountability Act (formerly Bill C-293). The consultations are required under Section 4(2) of the Act: “The competent minister shall consult with governments, international agencies and Canadian civil society organizations at least once every two years, and shall take their views and recommendations into consideration when forming an opinion described in subsection (1).” Subsection 1 refers to the three criteria for ODA: 1) contribution to poverty reduction, 2) taking into account the perspectives of the poor and, 3) consistency with human rights standards. The consultations run until the end of December. Information on the consultation process is posted on the Department of Finance website. CCIC briefing notes on the Accountability Act are available on CCIC website.

3. 2009 Federal Budget Backgrounder


CCIC’s 2009 Federal Budget Backgrounder is now available on CCIC website. CCIC is calling on the government to honour its commitments to increase aid spending and to set a time table to reach the United Nations 0.7% target.

4. Registered Charity Return


The Canada Revenue Agency is introducing a new Registered Charity Information Return for fiscal periods ending on or after January 1, 2009. The Registered Charity Information Return is now comprised of a simple core form with topic-related schedules including an annexe on overseas activity. For more information see the Charity Law Education section of CCIC’s website.

5. Diamond Development Initiative International Grants Program


Diamond Development Initiative International (DDII) – an organization that brings together civil society, governments and the private sector in efforts that address political, social and economic challenges facing the artisanal diamond mining sector – is now accepting proposals for grants. DDII is interested in partnerships with international NGOs, governments, academic institutions and national and local NGO’s in the areas of development research, advocacy and policy development, as well as efforts that directly enhance the development prospects of artisanal diamond miners. For information on the grant criteria see the DDII website.

Upcoming Events

 

6. Reclaiming the Commons


Registration is still open for the "Reclaiming the Commons – Promoting a North/South Agenda for Environmental Justice " policy roundtable. The Roundtable is an opportunity for CCIC members and key allies to discuss and profile issues in environmental justice and international co-operation. The roundtable, to be held in Ottawa on January 14, 2009, will feature panel presentations with Southern speakers and CCIC members. To register, contact Dana Stefov ( 613 -241-7007 ext. 357).

7. Gender Equality Conference


The conference on "Gender Equality in Canadian International Co-operation: Challenges and Perspectives" is an opportunity to encourage new approaches, underline collective courses of actions and mobilize the various stakeholders around the issues of women's rights and gender equality. The conference, in Montreal January 19 and 20, is organized by the Global Youth Fellowship Program of the Walter & Duncan Gordon Foundation and the Comité québécois femmes et développement of AQOCI in conjunction with CCIC. For more information go to AQOCI website.

 

TOP
All Rights Reserved 2009 Canadian Council for International Co-operation | info@ccic-ccci.ca

CCCI - Flash
Le bulletin électronique bi-mensuel www.ccic.ca
IMPRIMER ENGLISH

Dernières nouvelles
Le 12 décembre 2008

1. Le Canada signe un traité historique d’interdiction des armes à sous-munitions

 

Au cours des 40 dernières années, des dizaines de milliers de civils, dont nombre d’enfants, ont été tués ou blessés par des armes à sous-munitions dans des zones de conflit du monde entier. Le 3 décembre 2008, des gouvernements de toute la planète, y compris du Canada, ont signé la Convention sur les armes à sous-munitions, qui interdit l’utilisation, la production, le transfert et le stockage de ces armes. Les signataires s’engagent aussi à aider les victimes et à nettoyer les terrains minés. On a dit qu’il s’agissait du traité humanitaire de désarmement le plus important de la décennie. Pour en savoir plus, voir le site web d'Action Mines Canada.

2. Consultations sur la Loi sur la responsabilité en matière d’aide au développement


Le ministère des Finances tient des cyberconsultations sur la nouvelle Loi sur la responsabilité en matière d’aide au développement (ancien projet de loi C-293). Cet exercice est rendu obligatoire par l’article 4(2) de la Loi : « Le ministre compétent consulte des gouvernements, des agences internationales et des organismes de la société civile canadienne au moins une fois tous les deux ans; il tient compte de leurs points de vue et de leurs recommandations pour prendre sa décision en application du paragraphe (1). » Le paragraphe (1) traite des trois critères d’attribution de l’APD: 1) contribution à la réduction de l a pauvreté; 2) prise en compte des points de vue des pauvres; 3) compatibilité avec les normes internationales en matière de droits de la personne. Les consultations se poursuivent jusqu’à la fin de décembre. Pour en savoir plus, voir le site du ministère des Finances. Pour lire les notes d'information, cliquer ici.

3. Document d'information à l’égard du budget fédéral de 2009


Le document d’information sur le budget fédéral de 2009 est maintenant en ligne. Le CCCI demande au gouvernement de respecter ses promesses d’accroître les dépenses consacrées à l’aide et de fixer un échéancier visant à atteindre l’objectif de 0,7 % fixé par les Nations unies.

4. Déclaration des organismes de bienfaisance enregistrés


L’Agence du revenu du Canada (ARC) lance une nouvelle Déclaration de renseignements des organismes de bienfaisance enregistrés pour les exercices financiers prenant fin le 1er janvier 2009 ou après. La Déclaration de renseignements des organismes de bienfaisance enregistrés est désormais composée d’un seul formulaire principal accompagné d’annexes portant, entre autres, sur les activités à l’étranger. Pour plus d’information, consulter la section Formation juridique pour les organismes de bienfaisance sur le site web du CCCI.

5. Programme international de subventions de l’Initiative diamant et développement internationale (IDDI)


L’Initiative diamant et développement internationale (IDDI), une organisation qui réunit la société civile, les gouvernements et le secteur privé pour s’attaquer aux problèmes politiques, sociaux et économiques qui grèvent le secteur de l’extraction artisanale des diamants, reçoit actuellement les demandes de subventions. L’IDDI s’intéresse aux partenariats avec des ONG internationales, des gouvernements, des établissements de recherche et des ONG nationales et locales dans les domaines de la recherche sur le développement, de la défense des droits et de l’élaboration des politiques, ainsi que des efforts qui améliorent directement les perspectives des travailleurs actifs dans l’extraction artisanale des diamants. Pour connaître les critères d’attribution consulter le site web de l'IDDI.

À venir

 

6. Une terre pour tout le monde


Il est toujours possible de s’inscrire à la table ronde sur les politiques « Une terre pour tout le monde : Promotion d’un programme Nord-Sud pour la justice environnementale ». Cet événement offrira aux membres du CCCI et à leurs alliés une occasion de discuter des grands enjeux de la justice environnementale et de la coopération internationale. La table ronde aura lieu à Ottawa le 14 janvier 2009 et comportera des interventions de conférenciers du Sud et de membres du CCCI. Pour s’inscrire, communiquer avec Dana Stefov (613-241-7007, poste 357).

7. Conférence sur l’égalité entre les sexes

 

La conférence « Droits des femmes et égalité entre les sexes dans la coopération canadienne : défis et perspectives » sera l’occasion de favoriser un renouvellement des pratiques, de faire ressortir des pistes d’action collectives et de mobiliser les différents acteurs présents autour des droits des femmes et de l’égalité homme-femme. La conférence, qui aura lieu à Montréal les 19 et 20 janvier, est organisée par le programme Global Youth Fellowship de la Fondation Walter et Duncan Gordon et par le Comité québécois femmes et développement de l’AQOCI, en collaboration avec le CCCI. Pour information et inscription, consulter le site web de l'AQOCI.

 

HAUT
Tous droits réservés © 2009 Conseil canadien pour la coopération internationale | info@ccic-ccci.ca