CCIC e-bulletin:January 2015 | Web Version |  Comments   

Flash banner image
www.ccic.ca
In this issue
Message from the President-CEO
New Developments in the Sector
Member Profile
CCIC Members in Action
Worth a Look

Events
CCIC In The News
 

CCIC presents

 
Leaders Forum
February 4-5 2015
Ottawa, Ontario
 
Save the Date: CCIC Annual Conference
May 12-14, 2015
Palais des Congres
Gatineau, Quebec
For more information, please contact Michelle Bested

 

Biannual APG Meeting April 15-16
CCIC offices
Ottawa, Ontario
 

upcoming events

 

Kama Reading Series 2014 – World Literacy Canada
January 29-May 28, 2015
Toronto, Ontario

 

International Development Week
February 1-7, 2015
Canada

 

La santé des mères, des nouveau-nés et des enfants au centre des politiques de coopération internationale du Canada : bilan et perspectives
February 5, 2015
Montreal, Quebec

 
CUPE National Human Rights Conference
February 5-8, 2015 Winnipeg, Manitoba
 
The 2015 Ottawa Region Charity & Not-for-Profit Law Seminar
February 12, 2015
Ottawa, Ontario

 

Book Launch (Montreal): « Rethinking Canadian Aid »
February 26, 2015
Montreal, Quebec
 
Book Launch (Ottawa): « Rethinking Canadian Aid »
February 27, 2015
Ottawa, Ontario

 

Les rapports de pouvoir dans les relations inter-organisationnelles en coopération internationale : histoire des acquis, risques et défis dans le contexte canadien actuel
March 19, 2015
Montreal, Quebec

 

3rd International Open Data Conference
May 27-29, 2015
Ottawa, Ontario

 

CASID Annual Conference 2015 - Call for Papers /Panel Proposals
June 3-5, 2015
Ottawa, Ontario

 

 

 

CCIC In The News

Inside the takedowns of AusAID and CIDA
January 15, 2015
Devex

 
Canada flirts with starting development finance institution
January 21, 2015
Embassy

 

Three Amigos summit delay a missed opportunity
January 28, 2015
Embassy
 

 

stay connected

CCIC blogCCIC twitterCCIC facebook
CCIC YouTubeCCIC flickr

Contact us

Canadian Council for International Co-operation

39 McArthur Av.
Ottawa, ON
K1L 8L7
613-241-7007

 

Unsubscribe

 

MESSAGE FROM THE PRESIDENT-CEO

Welcome to 2015 - a year that promises to be a game-changer both at home and abroad!

2015 is an important year in the international development arena because the Millennium Development Goals (MDGs) are set to expire and the process to determine what new development framework will replace them will culminate at the UN General Assembly in the fall. As negotiations around the new framework begin at the UN this month, expectations are high and a significantly more complex and ambitious agenda is the starting point.

Read more...

dividing line

NEW DEVELOPMENTS IN THE SECTOR

The environment of civil society organizations in Canada remains a challenge!

A growing number of events and reports point to the fact that civil society organizations in Canada are facing a stricter, more complex environment lately, with increased scrutiny and legal constraints from the federal government.

Read more...

dividing line

A Changing landscape – read CCIC's new report on the state of Canadian coalitions

Ever wondered what value working in coalition can bring to your work? Or what coalitions actually exist in Canada? Or what international issues they are focsing on? In mid-January, CCIC launched a new report...

Read more...

dividing line

Global Partnership meets again to discuss evaluation of progress since Busan

The Steering Committee of the Global Partnership for Effective Development Cooperation met this month in The Hague, Netherlands. Among other things, the Steering Committee discussed the results of a survey of members conducted in October.

Read more...

dividing line

Paul Samson joins Finance, Replaced by Elissa Goldberg

After eight years at the Department of Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development (DFATD), Acting Assistant Deputy Minister of Partnerships for Development Innovation Brach, Paul Samson, will be leaving DFATD for a new position at Finance Canada.

Read more...

dividing line

Thinking of joining a working group? Value added pamphlet

Become a member of CCIC’s Regional Working Groups and be part of a national network of civil society organizations committed to development, social justice and human rights in Africa, the Americas, or Asia-Pacific!

Read more...

dividing line

APG letter to Minister John Baird about the human rights crisis in Mexico

CCIC’s Americas Policy Group recently wrote a letter to Minister John Baird about the human rights crisis in Mexico, where there are still no clear answers about the 43 students who disappeared in September.

Read more...

dividing line

Africa-Canada Forum Colloquium Report

The Africa-Canada Forum has released a report outlining for its annual colloquium on “Building Partnerships to tackle Inequality: opportunities and challenges for African and Canadian CSOs”, on October 14-15, 2014.

dividing line

Annual members meeting of the Asia-Pacific Working Group

APWG members met in Ottawa on January 22 to discuss the priorities of the working group and plan the activities for year ahead. Members also discussed the CCIC post-2015 campaign and the joint working group research on investment treaties and human rights. The notes from the meeting will be circulated to members shortly. For more information, please contact Denis Côté

dividing line

APWG & World Vision Canada Event: "Child Protection Issues and Promising Practices in Asia"

The APWG and World Vision Canada collaborated to hold an event where three panelists presented their views on child marriage and other children’s issues in Nepal; and child sponsorship as a child protection tool, using India as a case study.

Read more...

dividing line

New on CCIC’s blog

15 Proposals for Canadian Foreign Aid is an interesting and thought provoking article by Ottawa U. professor Stephen Brown. It was re-posted on CCIC’s blog, both in French and English. Increasing the ODA budget and getting rid of priority themes for Canadian aid are part of the suggested changes. Organizations and individuals interested in publishing an article in CCIC’s blog can contact Chantal Havard.dividing line

Coalition Profile: WASH Canada

WASH Canada was launched in 2012 to strengthen the Canadian voice and impact on the global water and sanitation crisis. At present, it brings together 40 Canadian partners working on international water, sanitation and hygiene, including innovators, researchers, implementers, funders and experts.

Read more...

dividing line

MEMBER PROFILE: World Animal Protection

This month, CCIC met with Melissa Matlow, Legislative and Public Affairs Manager. Melissa discussed the organization’s mandate and work, the importance of its programing “Animals in disasters” within humanitarian assistance and international development programming more generally, the “rebranding” process and plans for the upcoming year ... among other things!

Read more...

dividing line

CCIC MEMBERS IN ACTION

Inter Pares Peace campaign

On November 11th, Inter Pares launched a special Peace campaign. The campaign highlighted and built essential support for the work of their counterparts around the world working to create a more peaceful world.

Read more...

dividing line

Harvest of Letters: Supporting Smallholder Farmers with the Canadian Foodgrains Bank

Since 2009, Canada has taken a leadership role in global food security, launching a Food Security Strategy for developing countries that prioritizes sustainable agricultural development, nutrition and food assistance.

Read more...

dividing line

Merger of Save the Children and Street Kids International

Save the Children is delighted to announce that Street Kids International – a leading organization committed to empowering youth – will become part of Save the Children Canada. Together, the organizations are confident that they will have a stronger, positive impact on children and youth.

dividing line

WORTH A LOOK

Financing the post-2015 Sustainable Development Goals: A Rough Roadmap

The OECD has released a new publication laying out twelve lessons learned from OECD DAC peer reviews in terms of engaging the public – its first such publication on the topic.

Read more...

dividing line

12 Lessons on Engaging the Public

The OECD continues its series of publications that draw on the lessons learned from past Peer Reviews of donors, this time on communication and public engagement.

Read more...

dividing line

Report - Workshop on Civil Society: Dissent, Democracy, and the Law  

The report of the workshop “Civil Society: Dissent, Democracy, & the Law” was recently published and examines connections between the recent experiences of those working in Canadian CSOs and the broader societal contexts to help develop responses to the challenges facing civil society in Canada.

Read more...

dividing line

Special Rapporteur releases report on 'monumental' events of 2014

UN Special Rapporteur on Freedom of Peaceful Assembly and of Association, Maina Kiai, released his mandate’s first ever year-end report, reviewing the events of 2014 from Ukraine to Egypt to the United States to Kenya.

Read more...

dividing line

How is your organization doing on implementing the Istanbul Principles?

To follow-up on the outcomes of Busan, and the commitment made by civil society to implement the Istanbul Principles, the CSO Partnership for Development Effectiveness has designed a survey to help organizations self-assess and evaluate their work vis-a-vis the Istanbul Principles.

Read more...

dividing line

Video: The Wealth Gap - Broadbent Institute

The animated video narrated by Ed Broadbent, based on a landmark survey the Broadbent Institute commissioned on perceptions of wealth distribution in Canada, shows just how Canadians underestimate wealth equality -- and how much they want a shared prosperity.

dividing line

Growing Global Concern over Poverty and Homelessness

A new GlobeScan poll shows increases in perceived seriousness of poverty and homelessness.The GlobeScan poll of 24,000 citizens across 24 countries, including Canada, shows the abiding strength of people’s concerns about poverty and their perceptions of economic unfairness.

Read more...

dividing line

Map of NGOs around the world

TOver the next couple of months, the Global Development Professionals Network (GDPN) will be crowdsourcing a map of NGOs working in developing countries.

Read more...

dividing line

Rethinking Canadian Aid: Now available online for free!

A new book entitled Rethinking Canadian Aid edited by Stephen Brown, Molly den Heyer and David R. Black has been published by the University of Ottawa Press. The PDF of entire book can be downloaded for free by clicking here!

dividing line

If you have an item for Flash, send it by e-mail to Chantal Havard. Please note that Flash items should be no longer than one paragraph.

CCIC homepage

Bulletin électronique du CCCI: janvier 2015 | version web |  commentaires|    

Flash banner image
www.ccic.ca
In this issue
Message de la présidente-directrice générale
Dernières nouvelles du secteur
Profil d’un membre
Les membres du CCCI en action
Vaut le coup d’œil

Événements
Le CCCI dans les médias
 

le CCCI presente

 
Forum des leaders
4-5 février 2015
Ottawa (Ontario)

 

Retenez cette date : Conférence annuelle du CCCI
12-14 mai 2015
Palais des Congrès,
Gatineau (Québec)
Pour plus d'information, veuillez communiquer avec Michelle Bested.

 

Rencontre bisannuelle du GOPA
15-16 avril 2015
Bureaux du CCCI,
Ottawa (Ontario)

 

 

upcoming events

 

 

Série de lectures-bénéfice KAMA – World Literacy Canada
29 janvier au 28 mai 2015
Toronto (Ontario)

 

Semaine du développement international
1-7 février 2015 Canada

 

La conférence annuelle de l'ACÉDI 2015 - Appel aux communications et proposition de table ronde
3-5 février 2015 Ottawa (Ontario)
 
La santé des mères, des nouveau-nés et des enfants au centre des politiques de coopération internationale du Canada : bilan et perspectives
5 février 2015 Montréal (Québec)
 
Conférence nationale du SCFP sur les droits de la personne 2015
5-8 février 2015 Winnipeg (Manitoba)
 
Le séminaire 2015 de la région d'Ottawa sur le droit des organismes de bienfaisance et à but non lucratif
12 février 2015 Ottawa (Ontario)

 

Lancement de livre (Montréal) : « Rethinking Canadian Aid »
26 février 2015 Montréal (Québec)
 
Lancement de livre (Ottawa) : « Rethinking Canadian Aid »
27 février 2015 Ottawa (Ontario)

 

Les rapports de pouvoir dans les relations inter-organisationnelles en coopération internationale : histoire des acquis, risques et défis dans le contexte canadien actuel
19 mars 2015
Montréal (Québec)
 
3e conférence internationale sur les données ouvertes
27 - 29 mai 2015
Ottawa (Ontario)
 
 

CCIC In The News

Inside the takedowns of AusAID and CIDA
Le 15 janvier 2015
Devex

 
Canada flirts with starting development finance institution
le 21 janvier 2015
Embassy

 

Three Amigos summit delay a missed opportunity
le 28 janvier 2015
Embassy
 

 

stay connected

Blogue CCCICCIC twitterCCIC facebook
CCIC YouTubeCCIC flickrPE Hub

 

Contact us

Conseil canadien pour la coopération internationale

39 avenue McArthur
Ottawa (Ontario)
K1L 8L7
613.241.7007

 

Desabonnez-vous

 

MESSAGE DE LA PRÉSIDENTE-DIRECTRICE GÉNÉRALE

Bienvenue en 2015 - une année qui annonce de grands changements tant au pays qu'à l'étranger !

Julia Sanchez
2015 est une année charnière pour le développement international parce que les Objectifs du millénaire pour le développement (OMD) arrivent à terme et que le processus pour déterminer le nouveau cadre de développement qui remplace ces objectifs culminera lors d'un Sommet à l'Assemblée générale de l'ONU à l'automne.  Alors que s'amorcent les négociations autour du nouveau cadre à l'ONU ce mois-ci, les attentes sont élevées et c'est un programme beaucoup plus complexe et ambitieux qui sert de point de départ.

Lire la suite...

dividing line

DERNIÈRES NOUVELLES DU SECTEUR

L'environnement pour les organisations de la société civile au Canada présente toujours des défis !

Un nombre croissant d'événements et de rapports indiquent que les organisations de la société civile au Canada font face récemment à un environnement plus stricte, plus sévère et plus complexe, faisant face à une surveillance de plus en plus rigoureuse et à un plus grand nombre de contraintes légales de la part du gouvernement fédéral.

Lire la suite...

dividing line

Un paysage changeant - lisez le nouveau rapport du CCCI sur l'état des coalitions canadiennes

Vous êtes-vous déjà demandé quelle valeur le travail de coalition pouvait ajouter à votre travail? Quelles sont les coalitions en activité au Canada? Ou encore sur quels enjeux internationaux elles mettent l'accent?

Lire la suite...

dividing line

Le Partenariat mondial se réunit encore pour évaluer les progrès réalisés depuis Busan

Le comité de direction du Partenariat mondial pour une coopération efficace au service du  développement s'est réuni ce mois-ci à la Haye aux Pays-Bas. Entre autres choses, le comité de direction a discuté des résultats du sondage mené auprès des membres en octobre.

Lire la suite...

dividing line

Paul Samson rejoint le ministère des Finances et il est remplacé par Elissa Goldberg

Après huit ans passés au ministère des Affaires étrangères, du Commerce et du Développement (MAÉCD), le Sous-ministre adjoint par intérim aux Partenariats pour l'innovation dans le développement, Paul Samson, quittera le MAÉCD pour occuper un nouveau poste au ministère des Finances Canada.

Lire la suite...

dividing line

Vous pensez vous joindre à un groupe de travail ? Pamphlet sur la valeur ajoutée

Devenez membre d’un des groupes de travail régionaux du CCCI et faites partie du réseau national d’organisations de la société civile qui s’engagent à promouvoir le développement, la justice sociale et les droits de la personne en Afrique, dans les Amériques et en Asie-Pacifique!

Lire la suite...

dividing line

Lettre du GOPA au ministre John Baird au sujet de la crise des droits de la personne au Mexique

Récemment, le GOPA a fait parvenir une lettre au ministre John Baird en lien avec la crise des droits de la personne au Mexique, où on n'arrive pas encore à expliquer la disparition de 43 étudiants en septembre.

Lire la suite...

dividing line

Rapport du colloque du Forum Afrique-Canada

Le Forum Afrique-Canada a récemment publié un rapport (en anglais) résumant les discussions qui se sont déroulées  dans le cadre de son colloque annuel intitulé « Établir des partenariats pour réduire les inégalités : opportunités et défis pour les OSC africaines et canadiennes », les 14 et 15 octobre 2014.

dividing line

Rencontre annuelle des membres du Groupe de travail Asie-Pacifique

Les membres du GTAP se sont rencontrés à Ottawa le 22 janvier pour discuter des priorités du groupe de travail et pour planifier les activités pour l’année qui s’amorce.

Lire la suite...

dividing line

Événement GTAP & Vision mondiale Canada : « Les enjeux liés à la protection des enfants et les pratiques prometteuses en Asie »

Le GTAP et Vision mondiale Canada ont collaboré afin d’organiser un événement au cours duquel trois conférencières ont partagé leurs points de vue sur le mariage des enfants et d'autres enjeux liés aux enfants au Népal; la protection des enfants dans le contexte de l’Oplan Bayanihan aux Philippines; et le parrainage comme outil de de protection des enfants en Inde.

Lire la suite...

dividing line

Nouveau sur le blogue du CCCI

15 propositions pour l'aide canadienne est un article très intéressant,  et qui suscite la réflexion, rédigé par Stephen Brown, professeur à l'Université d'Ottawa.

Lire la suite...

dividing line

Profil d'une coalition: WASH Canada

WASH Canada a été fondé en 2012 afin de renforcer la voix et l'impact du Canada dans le cadre de la crise mondiale de l'accès à l'eau potable et à l'assainissement.  

Lire la suite...

dividing line

PROFIL D'UN MEMBRE: Protection mondiale des animaux

Ce mois-ci, le CCCI a rencontré Melissa Matlow, agente des affaires législatives et publiques. Melissa nous a parlé du travail de l'organisation, de l'importance de son programme « Animaux dans les catastrophes » dans le contexte de l'aide humanitaire et de ses programmes de développement international de manière plus générale, de son processus de « changement d'image » au cours de l'année à venir... et de bien d'autres choses encore !

Lire la suite...

dividing line

LES MEMBRES DU CCCI EN ACTION

La campagne d'Inter Pares pour la paix

Le 11 novembre, Inter Pares a lancé une campagne spéciale pour la paix. Cette campagne avait pour but de faire connaître et d’appuyer le travail de leurs homologues en vue de créer un monde plus pacifique aux quatre coins de la planète.

Lire la suite...

dividing line

Récolte de lettres : appuyer les petits agriculteurs avec la Banque canadienne de grains

Depuis 2009, le Canada a fait preuve de leadership en matière de sécurité alimentaire au niveau international, lançant une stratégie pour accroître la sécurité alimentaire dans les pays en développement qui accorde la priorité au développement d'une agriculture durable, à la nutrition et à l'aide alimentaire.

Lire la suite...

dividing line

Fusion d'Aide à l'enfance et de Street Kids International

Aide à l'enfance est heureuse d'annoncer que Street Kids International - une organisation qui s'efforce de renforcer les capacités des jeunes - se joint à l'Aide à l'enfance Canada. Ensemble, les organisations sont confiantes qu'elles auront un impact positif plus grand sur les enfants et les jeunes.

dividing line

VAUT LE COUP DE L'OEIL

Le financement des Objectifs de développement durable pour l'après 2015 : une feuille de route générale

Alors que s'accélèrent les négociations entourant la troisième Conférence internationale sur le financement du développement - une contribution importante aux futurs objectifs de développement durables (ODD) - l'Overseas Development Institute a publié un rapport, intitulé « Rough Roadmap », qui se veut une feuille de route pour le financement des ODD.

Lire la suite...

dividing line

12 leçons sur l'engagement du public

L'OCDE poursuit sa série de publications sur les leçons tirées des anciens examens par les pairs des donateurs, en mettant l'accent cette fois sur la communication et l'engagement du public.

Lire la suite...

dividing line

Rapport - Atelier sur la société civile : dissidence, démocratie et droit

Le rapport sur l'atelier « Société civile : dissidence, démocratie et droit » a été publié récemment. Il examine les liens entre les récentes expériences de gens qui travaillent au sein des ONG canadiennes et les contextes sociaux plus larges afin de faciliter l'élaboration de réponses aux défis auxquels fait face la société civile au Canada.

Lire la suite...

dividing line

Le Rapporteur spécial publie son rapport sur les événements « monumentaux » de 2014

Le Rapporteur spécial des Nations Unies sur le droit de réunion pacifique et d’association, Maina Kiai, a publié son tout premier rapport de fin d'année, effectuant une revue des événements qui se sont déroulés en 2014 de l'Ukraine à l'Égypte, en passant par les États-Unis et le Kenya.

Lire la suite...

dividing line

Comment votre organisation se débrouille-t-elle avec la mise en œuvre des principes d'Istanbul?

Pour faire le suivi par rapport aux résultats de Busan, et à l'engagement pris par la société civile de mettre en œuvre les principes d'Istanbul, le Forum sur l'efficacité du développement des OSC (CPDE) a préparé un sondage pour aider les organisations à faire une auto-évaluation de leur travail par rapport aux principes d'Istanbul.

Lire la suite...

dividing line

Vidéo : Les écarts de richesse - Institut Broadbent

Cette animation vidéo commentée par Ed Broadbent, basée sur un important sondage commandé par l'Institut Broadbent sur les perceptions par rapport à la distribution de la richesse au  Canada, montre comment les Canadiens sous-estiment l'égalité des richesses - et à quel point ils souhaitent que la prospérité soit partagée.

dividing line

L'inquiétude grandit à l'échelle mondiale par rapport à la pauvreté et à l'itinérance

Un nouveau sondage mené par GlobeScan montre que la perception de la gravité des problèmes que ce sont la pauvreté et l'itinérance  s'est accrue.Le sondage de GlobeScan qui a rejoint 24 000 citoyens dans 24 pays, incluant le Canada, montre la grande importance que les gens continuent d'accorder aux enjeux de pauvreté et d'injustice économique. 

Lire la suite...

dividing line

Carte des ONG autour du monde

Au cours des prochains moins, le Global Development Professionals Network (GPDN) utilisera la technique de la production participative afin de développer une carte des ONG qui travaillent dans les pays en développement.

Lire la suite...

dividing line

« Rethinking Canadian Aid » : Maintenant disponible en ligne gratuitement!

Un nouveau livre intitulé Rethinking Canadian Aid,sous la direction de Stephen Brown, Molly den Heyer et David R. Black, a été publié récemment aux Presses de l'Université d'Ottawa. Le livre en entier peut être téléchargé gratuitement en format PDF en cliquant ici!

dividing line

Pour faire publier un texte, prière de l’envoyer à Chantal Havard. À noter que les articles destinés au Flash ne doivent pas avoir plus de 150 mots.

CCIC homepage