CCIC e-bulletin: May-June 2013                            |  Web Version Comments  

Flash banner image
www.ccic.ca
In this issue
Message from the President-CEO
New Developments in the Sector
Member Profile
CCIC Members in Action
Worth a Look

Events
CCIC In The News
 

CCIC presents

 

 

 
 

upcoming events

 

Transformative Leadership Education Programs
April-December 2013
Coady International Institute
St-Francis-Xavier University, NS

 

International Development: Bridging the Worlds of Theory, Policy and Practice
October 21-25, 2013
McGill University
Faculty of Management
Montreal, QC

 

Canadian Humanitarian Conference: Challenges and Opportunities for Canada
October 30, 2013
Ottawa, ON

 

WUSC 3rd Annual International Forum: Great Development Debates
November 1-3, 2013
Delta Hotel
Ottawa, ON

 

Call for Expressions of Interest
Innovation Fair 2013: Showcasing Innovations in Children & Youth Programming November 2013, Toronto (Time and Location TBD) For more info, contact Jeremy Greenberg
from Save the Children

 

Putting public in public services: Call for Papers and Panels
April 13-16, 2014
Research, Action & Equity in the Global South International Conference
Cape Town, South Africa

 

 

 

CCIC In The News

Ottawa signals merger won’t affect humanitarian aid
The Globe and Mail
April 29, 2013

 

CIDA merger with DFAIT
CTV News
May 3, 2013

 

Has CIDA been DFAITD?
Discourse Magazine
May 2013

 

CIDA-DFAIT merger
Whither Canada’s development effort?

Mondial
May 2013

 

CIDA DFAIT merger doesn't worry experienced development advocates
The Lobby Monitor
June 10, 2013

 
 

 

stay connected

CCIC blogCCIC twitterCCIC facebook
CCIC YouTubeCCIC flickrPE Hub

 

Contact us

Canadian Council for International Co-operation

200-450 Rideau St.
Ottawa, ON
K1N 5Z4
613-241-7007

 

Unsubscribe

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

MESSAGE FROM THE PRESIDENT-CEO

June 27th, 2013: Adieu CIDA

In the next Flash – coming out in late August – I plan to share my takeaways from the CCIC Annual Forum and also reflect on the great interactions I have had in the different provincial and regional council meetings that I have been privileged enough to attend. But today, I feel it important to mark the moment with a solemn pause and brief “adieu” to CIDA.

Despite the insistence from officialdom that all will remain the same, that things will only get better, and that this is not a take over nor a merger but rather an amalgamation, and despite the stubborn insistence of too many people that this could be a good thing in the end, and that it in any case does not have to be a bad thing… this is a sad day.

Read more...

dividing line

NEW DEVELOPMENTS IN THE SECTOR

One step closer to CIDA/DFAIT merger

Throughout May and June, CCIC and it's members have been actively following developments around the CIDA-DFAIT merger. The draft legislation was referred by the Finance Committee to the Standing Committee on Foreign Affairs and International Development for review, with presentations from several witnesses, including CCIC Chair Jim Cornelius.

Read more...

dividing line

Rochon replaces Biggs as top development bureaucrat

On July 8, Paul Rochon, currently Associate Deputy Minister of Health and special advisor to the Minister of Finance on negotiations for a Canadian securities regulator, will become the Deputy Minister for International Development under the new Department of Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development.

Read more...

dividing line

A first step towards more transparency for Canadian mining

On June 12, in advance of the G-8, Canada announced that it will establish new, mandatory reporting standards for payments made to foreign and domestic governments by Canadian extractive companies. Leaders of the world's eight richest countries pledged after their 2011 meeting to consider new rules that would allow for greater scrutiny of companies' payments to governments.

Read more...

dividing line

Panel of Eminent Persons proposes post-2015 framework

On May 30th, the High Level Panel of Experts on the Post-2015 Development Agenda (HLP) released their final report, framing an “ambitious, yet achievable” development framework for what will succeed the eight Millennium Development Goals (MDGs), established in 2000 and intended to be achieved by 2015.

Read more...

dividing line

Help pilot HRBA methodology and equitable partnership tools

Since January 2013, CCIC has been working with Equitas – International Centre for Human Rights Education and the Coady International Institute, to design some modules on Human Rights Based Approaches (HRBA) and Equitable Partnership.

Read more...

dividing line

Bill S-14 adopted, despite concerns that it could hinder humanitarian efforts

Bill S-14, the Fighting Foreign Corruption Act, was introduced in the Senate on February 5 to amend the Corruption of Foreign Public Officials Act (CFPOA), and received Royal Assent on June 19. The two key points of interest of Bill S-14 for our sector are the inclusion of not-for-profit organizations in the dispositions of the Corruption of Foreign Public Officials Act, and the prohibition of facilitation payments to foreign officials.

Read more...

dividing line

Calling all emerging leaders!

Take a quick moment and consider your team – is there someone who fits the following criteria: a young person (loosely defined as under thirty); committed to the sector, passionate about their role in it, and envisages themselves in its future;...

Read more...

dividing line

World Bank President in Ottawa

On June 10th Jim Yong Kim, the President of the World Bank, spent the day in Ottawa and, thanks to NSI’s Joe Ingram, his first stop was at a meeting with Civil Society representatives. Self-identifying as the “first development person and person of color to head the World Bank”, Mr. Kim left many of us present at the meeting with a strong sense that a reflective and visionary person, with ample experience to draw from, is heading an organization that remains a key player on the development scene worldwide.

Read more...

dividing line

Asia Pacific Working Group Annual Meeting with CIDA Asia Branch

Asia Pacific Working Group (APWG) members met with CIDA Asia Branch staff on May 29th to discuss various issues, including the CIDA-DFAIT merger and its potential impacts on development programs and projects in the region, coordination with CIDA’s Partnership with Canadians Branch, as well as CIDA’s current priority countries and themes — with a focus on the role of the private sector.

Read more...

dividing line

Americas Policy Group Annual Spring Meeting

CCIC’s Americas Policy Group (APG) held one of its tri-annual meetings on June 4-5, bringing together members from coast to coast. The meeting consisted of both learning sessions and strategic work planning sessions.

Read more...

dividing line

New on CCIC’s blog

CCIC’s blog always welcomes contributions and new voices from the sector, and last May was an excellent month in this regard, with the participation of four guest bloggers who were either volunteering or participating as Emerging Leaders in our Annual Forum 2013.

Read more...

dividing line

Coalition profile : The Canadian Network on Corporate Accountability

CCIC has been a member of the Canadian Network on Corporate Accountability (CNCA) since its inception in 2005. The CNCA unites civil society groups across Canada who are advocating for federal legislation to establish mandatory corporate accountability standards for Canadian extractive companies operating abroad, especially in developing countries.

Read more...

dividing line

MEMBER PROFILE: Action Canada for Population and Development

This month CCIC met with Sandeep Prasad, Executive Director at Action Canada for Population and Development (ACPD). ACPD was founded in 1997 and has been much engaged in the promotion of reproductive and sexual rights and health as human rights. Read about ACPD’s involvement in the High-Level Task Force for the International Conference on Population and Development (ICPD), share their comments on theHigh-Level Panel report on the Post-2015 Development Agenda, and much more.

Read more...

dividing line

CCIC MEMBERS IN ACTION

CCIC members rock! Meet the four winners of CCIC’s 2013 Innovation and Effectiveness Awards

One of this year’s new activities at the CCIC Annual Forum 2013 was the 2013 Innovation and Effectiveness Awards, and CCIC has recognized four winning organizations/projects.

Read more...

dividing line

WORTH A LOOK

Beyond Aid: A Plan for Canada’s International Cooperation

This research report by the North-South Institute looks at Canada’s engagement with the developing world, arguing that a broader vision that includes aid and non-aid policies is needed for Canada to achieve better Policy Coherence for Development and be an effective international development actor.

dividing line

Resilience and the inequality of risk

This report by Oxfam International shows that vulnerability to risks like climate change, hazards and insecurity are higher in countries with greater income inequality. Thus resilience-building work must address the underlying causes of vulnerability, not just the symptoms.  The report argues that our approach to poverty reduction must shift dramatically to better support poor people to cope, and ultimately thrive, in the face of shocks, stresses and uncertainty.

dividing line

Reflecting on the MDGS and Making Sense of the Post-2015 Development Agenda

NSI's new report examines the Millennium Development Goals and identifies the processes, issues, architecture and emerging challenges that are influencing the post-2015 debate.

dividing line

Global Social Justice Journal

The Centre for International Studies at Cape Breton University announces the publication of the inaugural issue of its peer-reviewed Global Social Justice Journal. The purpose of this new publication is to transcend the academic/social activist divide by disseminating peer reviewed research on normative global social justice issues including economic globalization, human rights, indigenous peoples, the environment, education, gender, class, political culture and race.

dividing line

Tax Evasion and the Use of Tax Havens

This report published in May 2013 by the Standing Committee on Finance examines tax avoidance and tax evasion in Canada, as well as the methods used domestically and internationally to detect and prosecute — and thereby reduce — aggressive tax planning so that taxpayers pay their fair share of tax.

dividing line

4th year undergraduate Carleton students available for internships in NGOs

Carleton University students participating in a 4th year undergraduate seminar in the 'development' specialization (part of Kroeger College, the undergraduate program for students interested in public policy) are available and keen to work in the NGO sector. The seminar (12 weeks from September-December) provides a learning opportunity for the students while contributing something useful to an NGO.

Read more...

dividing line

If you have an item for Flash, send it by e-mail to Chantal Havard. Please note that Flash items should be no longer than one paragraph.

CCIC homepage

Bulletin électronique du CCCI: mai-juin 2013   |  version web   |     commentaires|    

Flash banner image
www.ccic.ca
In this issue
Message de la présidente-directrice générale
Dernières nouvelles du secteur
Profil d’un membre
Les membres du CCCI en action
Vaut le coup d’œil

Événements
Le CCCI dans les médias
 

 

le CCCI presente

upcoming events


Transformative Leadership Education Programs
D’avril à décembre 2013
Coady International Institute
Université St. Francis Xavier,
Nouvelle-Écosse
 
International Development: Bridging the Worlds of Theory, Policy and Practice
Du 21 au 25 octobre 2013
Université McGill
Faculté de gestion
Montréal (Québec)

 

Conférence humanitaire canadienne : défis et opportunités pour le Canada
30 octobre 2013
Ottawa (Ontario)
 
Troisième Forum international de l’EUMC : les grands débats du développement
Du 1er au 3 novembre 2013
Hôtel Delta
Ottawa (Ontario)

 

Manifestez votre intérêt
Foire de l’innovation 2013 : faire connaître les innovations dans les programmes destinés aux jeunes et à l’enfance
Novembre 2013, Toronto (date et lieu à déterminer) Pour plus de renseignements, communiquez avec , Jeremy Greenberg
d’Aide à l’enfance.

 

Putting public in public services – Appel de candidatures : études et comités d’expert
Du 13 au 16 avril 2014
La promotion de services publics progressistes à travers la recherche et l’action Conférence internationale
Le Cap, Afrique du Sud

 

 

CCIC In The News

Ottawa signals merger won’t affect humanitarian aid
The Globe and Mail
29 avril 2013

 

CIDA merger with DFAIT
CTV News
3 mai 2013

 

Has CIDA been DFAITD?
Discourse Magazine
Mai 2013

 

CIDA-DFAIT merger
Whither Canada’s development effort?

Mondial
Mai 2013

 

CIDA/DFAIT merger doesn’t worry experienced development advocates
The Lobby Monitor
10 juin 2013

 

 
 

 

stay connected

CCIC blogCCIC twitterCCIC facebook
CCIC YouTubeCCIC flickrPE Hub

 

Contact us

Conseil canadien pour la coopération internationale

200-450 rue Rideau
Ottawa, ON
K1N 5Z4
613.241.7007

 

 

 

Desabonnez-vous

 


MESSAGE DE LA PRÉSIDENTE-DIRECTRICE GÉNÉRALE

27 juin 2013 : adieu l’ACDI

Dans le prochain FLASH (qui sera publié à la fin d’août) je vous partagerai ce que je retiens du Forum annuel du CCCI, ainsi que mes réflexions sur les formidables échanges que j’ai eus lors de ma participation aux réunions des conseils provinciaux et régionaux. Mais aujourd’hui, il me semble important de faire une pause solennelle et de dire un bref adieu à l’ACDI.

Malgré le discours officiel affirmant que rien ne va changer, que les choses vont s’améliorer, et qu’il ne s’agit pas d’une prise de contrôle ni d’une fusion mais bien d’une amalgamation, et malgré l’insistance entêtée de trop de gens affirmant que ce pourrait être une bonne chose en bout de ligne, et que ce n’est pas nécessairement négatif…aujourd’hui est une triste journée.

Lire la suite...

dividing line

NOUVEAUX DÉVELOPPEMENTS DANS LE SECTEUR

Un pas de plus vers la fusion de l’ACDI et du MAECI

Tout au long des mois de mai et de juin, le CCCI et ses membres ont suivi de près la progression du processus de fusion de l’ACDI et du MAECI. Le Comité des finances a soumis l’avant-projet de loi à l’examen du Comité permanent des affaires étrangères et du développement international, qui a entendu plusieurs témoins, dont Jim Cornelius, président du conseil d’administration du CCCI.

Lire la suite...

dividing line

Remaniement dans les hautes instances du développement international

Le 8 juillet, Paul Rochon, sous-ministre délégué de Santé Canada et conseiller spécial auprès du ministre des Finances pour les négociations en vue de la création d’un organisme de réglementation des valeurs mobilières, deviendra sous-ministre du développement international du nouveau ministère des Affaires étrangères, du Commerce et du Développement.

Lire la suite...

dividing line

Première étape vers une plus grande transparence dans le secteur minier canadien

Le 12 juin dernier, avant la tenue du G-8, le Canada annoncé qu’il développerait de nouvelles mesures obligatoires pour rapporter les paiements qui sont faits aux gouvernements étrangers et nationaux par les compagnies extractives canadiennes. Les leaders des huit pays les plus riches s’étaient engagés, après leur réunion de 2011, à étudier de nouvelles règles qui permettraient de mieux suivre les paiements faits par les compagnies aux gouvernements.

Lire la suite...

dividing line

Le groupe de haut niveau de personnalités éminentes propose un cadre de développement pour l’après 2015

Le 30 mai, le Groupe d’experts de haut niveau chargé du programme de développement pour l’après 2015 a publié son rapport définitif exposant un cadre de développement « ambitieux, mais réaliste » qui prendra la relève des huit objectifs du Millénaire pour le développement (OMD) mis en place en 2000 et dont l’échéance est fixée à 2015.

Lire la suite...

dividing line

Participez à l’essai de modules sur les approches fondées sur les droits de la personne et les partenariats équitables

Depuis janvier 2013, le CCCI collabore avec Equitas – Centre international d’éducation aux droits humains et avec le Coady International Institute pour la conception de modules portant sur les approches fondées sur les droits de la personne et sur les partenariats équitables.

Lire la suite...

dividing line

Le projet de loi S-14 est adopté, malgré les craintes de son impact sur le travail humanitaire

Le projet de loi S-14, modifiant la Loi sur la corruption d’agents publics étrangers, a été introduite au Sénat le 5 février dernier afin de modifier la Loi sur la corruption d’agents publics étrangers et a reçu la sanction royale le 19 juin. Les deux points d’intérêt du projet de loi S-14 pour notre secteur sont...

Lire la suite...

dividing line

Appel aux leaders de la relève!

Pensez un instant à votre équipe… la description qui suit vous rappelle-t-elle quelqu’un? Une jeune personne (disons moins de 30 ans) engagée dans le secteur, passionnée par le rôle qu’elle peut y jouer, qui s’y voit à long terme et qui est désireuse de réseauter et de collaborer avec d’autres jeunes professionnels. Si c’est le cas, nous serions heureux que cette personne rejoigne le réseau des leaders émergents du CCCI!

Lire la suite...

dividing line

Le président de la Banque mondiale à Ottawa

Le 10 juin dernier Jim Yong Kim, président de la Banque mondiale, était de passage à Ottawa et grâce à  Joe Ingram de NSI sa première réunion s’est déroulée avec des représentants de la société civile. Se décrivant comme la “la première personne d’un pays en développement et première personne de couleur à prendre la tête de la Banque mondiale” M. Kim nous a laissé avec l’impression forte qu’une personne réfléchie et visionnaire...

Lire la suite...

dividing line

Rencontre annuelle du Groupe de Travail Asie Pacifique avec la Direction générale de l’Asie de l’ACDI

Le 29 mai, les membres du Groupe de Travail Asie Pacifique (GTAP) ont rencontré la Direction générale de l’Asie de l’ACDI pour aborder diverses questions, dont la fusion de l’ACDI et du MAECI et ses répercussions sur les programmes et les projets de développement dans la région, la coordination avec la Direction générale des partenariats avec les Canadiens de l’ACDI ainsi que les pays et thèmes prioritaires actuels de cette dernière. Il a surtout été question du rôle du secteur privé.

Lire la suite...

dividing line

Réunion du printemps du Groupe d’orientation politique pour les Amériques

Les 4 et 5 juin, le Groupe d’orientation politique pour les Amériques (GOPA) du CCCI a tenu l’une de ses trois rencontres annuelles réunissant des membres des quatre coins du pays. Au programme : séances d’apprentissage et de planification stratégique du travail.

Lire la suite...

dividing line

Nouveautés sur le blogue du CCCI

Le blogue du CCCI accueille toujours les contributions et les nouvelles voix du secteur, qui ont d’ailleurs été très prolifiques au mois de mai. En effet, nous avons eu droit aux écrits de quatre blogueurs invités, qui ont participé à notre forum annuel 2013 à titre de volontaires ou de leaders émergents.

Lire la suite...

dividing line

Profil d’une coalition : Le Réseau canadien sur la reddition de comptes des entreprises

Le CCCI est membre du Réseau canadien sur la reddition de comptes des entreprises (RCRCE) depuis sa création en 2005. Le RCRCE rassemble des groupes de la société civile canadiens qui réclament qu’un cadre législatif fédéral mette en place des normes réglementant la responsabilité des sociétés minières actives à l’étranger, particulièrement dans les pays en développement.

Lire la suite...

dividing line

PROFIL D'UN MEMBRE: Action Canada pour la population et le développement

Ce mois-ci, le CCCI a rencontré Sandeep Prasad, directeur général de l’Action Canada pour la population et le développement (ACPD). L’ACPD a été fondée en 1997 et s’emploie activement à défendre les droits de la personne en matière de santé, de sexualité et de reproduction. Lors de cette entrevue, M. Prasad nous a parlé de la participation de l’ACPD au Groupe de travail de haut niveau en vue de la Conférence internationale sur la population et le développement (CIPD), du point de vue de son organisation sur le rapport du Groupe d’experts de haut niveau chargé du programme de développement pour l’après 2015, et de beaucoup plus.

Lire la suite...

dividing line

LES MEMBRES DU CCCI EN ACTION

Nos membres se distinguent! Voici les quatre lauréats des Prix pour l’innovation et l’efficacité 2013 du CCCI

Les Prix pour l’innovation et l’efficacité 2013  font partie des nouvelles activités organisées cette année durant notre forum annuel. Le CCCI y a souligné le travail de quatre projets/organisations.

Lire la suite...

dividing line

VAUT LE COUP DE L'OEIL

Au-delà de l’aide : un plan pour la coopération internationale canadienne

Selon ce rapport d’étude de l’Institut Nord-Sud, qui examine l’engagement du Canada dans les pays en développement, le Canada a besoin d’une vision plus large qui comprend des politiques d’aide et des politiques visant des domaines autres que l’aide pour accroître la cohérence des politiques au service du développement et devenir un acteur efficace du développement international.

dividing line

Résilience et inégalités face au risque

Ce rapport d’Oxfam International montre que la vulnérabilité aux risques comme les changements climatiques, les dangers et l’insécurité est plus prononcée dans les pays qui présentent de plus grandes inégalités de revenus. C’est pourquoi le travail de renforcement de la résilience doit s’attaquer aux causes sous-jacentes de la vulnérabilité, et non seulement à ses symptômes. Selon le rapport, notre approche de la réduction de la pauvreté doit être entièrement revue de façon à ce que nous aidions davantage les moins fortunés à affronter – et enfin surmonter – les chocs, les tensions et l’incertitude.

dividing line

Réflexion sur les OMD et explication du programme de développement d’après 2015

Ce nouveau rapport de l’INS examine les objectifs du Millénaire pour le développement et fait état des processus, des questions, de l’architecture et des nouveaux problèmes qui alimentent le débat sur l’après 2015.

dividing line

Global Social Justice Journal

Le Centre for International Studies de l’Université Cape Breton fait l’annonce du premier exemplaire de sa nouvelle publication à comité de lecture, le Global Social Justice Journal. Cette nouvelle publication a pour objectif de transcender le fossé entre les militants sociaux et les chercheurs en diffusant des études évaluées par les pairs sur des questions normatives de justice sociale mondiale, dont la mondialisation économique, les droits de la personne, les peuples autochtones, l’environnement, l’éducation, le genre, les classes, la culture politique et la race.

dividing line

La fraude fiscale et le recours aux paradis fiscaux

Ce rapport, publié en mai 2013 par le Comité permanent des finances, étudie l’évitement fiscal et la fraude fiscale au Canada ainsi que les méthodes utilisées ici et ailleurs pour détecter, contrer et ainsi diminuer la planification fiscale sophistiquée afin que les contribuables paient leur juste part d’impôt.

dividing line

Des étudiants de 4e année de Carleton disponibles pour des stages dans des ONG

Des étudiants de l’université Carleton, qui participent à un séminaire de 4e année du programme de premier cycle et spécialisés en développement (faisant partie du programme de premier cycle pour étudiants intéressés en politiques publiques de Kroeger College), sont disponibles et intéressés à travailler dans le milieu des ONG.

Lire la suite...

dividing line

Pour faire publier un texte, prière de l’envoyer à Chantal Havard. À noter que les articles destinés au Flash ne doivent pas avoir plus de 150 mots.

CCIC homepage