CCIC e-bulletin: March 2013                            |  Web Version Comments  

Flash banner image
www.ccic.ca
In this issue
Message from the President-CEO
New Developments in the Sector
Member Profile
CCIC Members in Action
Worth a Look

Events
CCIC In The News
 

CCIC presents

 

APWG Symposium 2013: Trade, Investment, and Human Rights in Asia
16 April 2013
Ottawa

 

APWG : Annual Members’ Meeting
17 April 2013
Ottawa
Register with Denis Coté

 

CCIC AGM and Forum
23-24 May 2013
Ottawa

 

In conversation with Duncan Green
May 10, 2013
Details to follow

 

upcoming events

AKFC Seminars on Innovative Financing for Development
30 April 2013
16 May 2013
Ottawa

 

Africa Communicating: Digital Technologies, Representation, Power
May 1-3, 2013
Institute of African Studies Carleton University
Ottawa

 

Canada and the Americas: Travelling-Knowledges-Peoples-Solidarities
CALACS Congress
May 3-5, 2013
Ottawa

 

Governing natural resources for Africa’s Development
29 May 2013
The North-South Institute
Ottawa

 

Run for Biodiversity
USC Canada
May and Oct 2013
Various cities

 

CCIC In The News

Canada criticized for tying foreign aid to commerce
Agence France-Presse
6 March 2013

 

Canada cuts direct foreign aid to China
The Globe and Mail
20 March 2013

 

Federal budget folds CIDA into Foreign Affairs
CBC News
21 March 2013

 

Budget and CIDA
CBC Radio - Ottawa Morning
22 March 2013

 

CIDA-Foreign Affairs Merger
CBC Power and Politics
22 March 2013

 

Canada's revamped approach to aid likely to leave bitter taste, say experts
The Guardian
25 March 2013

 
Las instancias de cooperación internacional canadienses inquietas por viraje gubernamental
Radio-Canada International
25 March 2013

 

NGOs see risks ahead with merger
Embassy
27 March 2013

 

Should international aid serve Canada’s commercial interests?
CBC
28 March 2013

 

Will it be a ‘New Deal’ or a ‘Raw Deal’ for FCAS?
CIPS Blog
3 April 2013

 

stay connected

CCIC blogCCIC twitterCCIC facebook
CCIC YouTubeCCIC flickrPE Hub

 

Contact us

Canadian Council for International Co-operation

200-450 Rideau St.
Ottawa, ON
K1N 5Z4
613-241-7007

 

Unsubscribe

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

MESSAGE FROM THE PRESIDENT-CEO

A Call to Action

I was going to write this month about our Leaders Forum, held on Feb 27th under the heading of “Working Together with Change” and which brought together approximately 70 leaders from our sector – EDs/CEOs, members of your boards, and some communications staff. I was going to reiterate how much we appreciated the great inputs provided on the “Redefining our Narrative” initiative for the sector, and also our thanks for the patience with which you sat through and participated in the ceremonious sharing of the responses to the survey which identified other areas of possible collaboration for the sector and roles for CCIC. Also to thank those of you who have written in saying how much you appreciated the forum, and in particular the interaction with the four journalists who were with us in the morning, the short but lively and graphic intervention from our colleague Stephen Faul from Imagine Canada on their Narrative project, and the opportunity to discuss issues of common interest and network with peers.

However, I have decided instead to share some thoughts with you today on the issue of the amalgamation of CIDA with DFAIT announced in the budget two weeks ago. And I have further decided to make this a call to action for the sector.

Read more...

dividing line

NEW DEVELOPMENTS IN THE SECTOR

Federal Budget 2013: CIDA and poverty reduction further sidelined?

Having deflated the international assistance envelope (IAE) – and with it Canadian aid - in last year’s budget by $1.2 billion in cumulative cuts between 2012 and 2015 (relative to a flat lined IAE), Budget 2013 could further undermine Canadian aid by putting the Canadian International Development Agency (CIDA) within the remit of a new Department of Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development.

Read more...

dividing line

Alternative federal budget – Doing better together

Ten days ahead of Budget 2013 the Canadian Centre for Policy Alternatives released “Alternative Federal Budget 2013: Doing better together ”. This year’s report included a section on International Development by CCIC that focused on four key issues for the government in Budget 2013.

Read more...

dividing line

Olivier de Schutter’s report on right to food in Canada

In Olivier De Schutter, the UN Special Rapporteur on the Right to Food, delivered a report on his mission to Canada to the UN Human Rights Council on March 04, 2013. In this report, De Schutter finds that Canada has the means to do much more to ensure the realization of the right to food of its citizens.

Read more...

dividing line

New blog on Aid and Development in the Ottawa Citizen is up!

The new blog on Aid and Development, hosted by the Ottawa Citizen, was launched the last week of March. This unique Canadian platform provides a space to present, discuss and debate current issues and challenges in relation with the role of Canada in international development, as well as stories from the field.

Read more...

dividing line

In conversation with Lilian Chaterjee

On March 19th, CCIC hosted an informal exchange with Lilian Chatterjee, Director General, Thematic and Sectoral Policy, Strategic Policy and Performance Branch, on CIDA’s approach to working with the extractive industry.

Read more...

dividing line

Second workshop on the rules of lobbying for NGOs

Last fall CCIC hosted a workshop for NGOs entitled “The Rules of Lobbying”. The workshop covered the essentials of both CRA regulations associated with "political activities" as well as emerging potential changes to the federal Lobbying Act.

Read more...

dividing line

Have you saved the date for the 2013 CCIC Annual Forum and AGM?

Planning is well underway and in the coming weeks we will send out a notice with the registration package for this year’s Annual Forum and AGM. Entitled “Development and social transformation as shared responsibility: building new bridges and connections”.

Read more...

dividing line

Popular blogger and development practitioner Duncan Green coming to Ottawa!

CCIC, in collaboration with the Center for International Development and Global Studies at the University of Ottawa, Oxfam Canada and Octopus Books, is bringing Duncan Green, Strategic Advisor to Oxfam UK and author of the popular blog, From Poverty to Power, to Ottawa on May 10.

Read more...

dividing line

New on CCIC’s blog

Jody Heymann and Kristen McNeill are co-authors of Children’s Chances: How Countries can Move from Surviving to Thriving (Harvard University Press, 2013)...

Also, and following up on the publication of the Human Development Report 2013, CCIC/APWG Research Assistant Kai-Hsin Hung has written a post on how the rise of the South presents opportunities for new development partnerships and approaches.

Read more...

dividing line

NEW! Coalition profile

To advance its policy agenda, support existing networks and have a greater impact, CCIC is involved in many coalitions. Each month we will be featuring one of them in Flash! so that you can get involved with them too.

Read more...

dividing line

MEMBER PROFILE:

This section will be back next month!

dividing line

CCIC MEMBERS IN ACTION

Guatemalan delegation report

Guatemalan human rights defender Aura Lolita Chávez Ixcaquic visited Canada in March to draw attention to the criminalization of activists resisting Canadian extractive projects on their territories.

Read more...

dividing line

From 29 April to 3 May join RESULTS Canada and Live Below the Line

Join Results Canada and take the challenge of eating and drinking on $1.75 a day for 5 days to raise awareness and funds for the 1.4 billion people who live below the poverty line. If you want to find out more and get involved at the local level, join one of the group meetings held in Victoria, Calgary, Toronto, Ottawa, Gatineau, Montreal, Quebec City and virtually. More info available from www.livebelowtheline.ca and www.resultscanada.ca.

dividing line

WORTH A LOOK

Government responds on aid and the private sector

On March 6th, the government released its response to  the sixth Parliamentary Standing Committee on Foreign Affairs and International Development’s report, “Driving Inclusive Economic Growth: The Role of the Private Sector in International Development”,. The government largely agrees with the suggestions made by the committee, but also indicates that it is already doing most of what is being suggested.

dividing line

The Rise of the South

On March 14th, the United Nations Development Program launched “The Rise of the South: Human progress in a diverse world”, looking at the North-South shift in global economic and political affairs and profiling the positive shift of 18 out of 40 countries in the developing world that have surpassed expectations in human development over the past few decades. As always, the Report featured the Human Development Index, which ranked Canada 11th , ten spots behind Norway which ranked number one.

dividing line

New report on land grabs and food systems

A new report by IATP (Institute for Agriculture and Trade Policy) profiles how land grabbing and its detrimental effects on food-insecurity will continue to accelerate as international trade and investment agreements favor corporate and financial interests over the right to food.

dividing line

Fragile States 2013: Resource Flows and Trends in a shifting world

This publication produced by the OECD takes stock of i) the evolution of fragility as a concept, ii) financial flows to and within fragile states between 2000 and 2010, and iii) trends and issues that are likely to shape fragility in the years to come. It is an important contribution to better understanding the challenges donors and governments continue to face in supporting Fragile and Conflict Affected States.

dividing line

What countries are thinking post-2015

The Global Call to Action Against Poverty and Beyond 2015 have produced an excellent Interim Synthesis Report summing up some key streams of thinking emerging from National Debates on the post-2015 agenda in 22 countries. 18 more national debates are expected. Among other things, emerging from the debates was the need for any post-2015 framework to focus on human rights, equality and justice, environmental sustainability and poverty eradication.

dividing line

Call for concept notes: Canadian Partnerships Small Grants, IDRC

IDRC invites applications for its 2013-2014 Small Grants for Innovative Research and Knowledge Sharing. Provided through the Canadian Partnerships program, these grants support research, knowledge-building, and knowledge-sharing projects. They also fund events and small dissemination activities and products.  These grants are open to local, regional, national, and international organizations incorporated and headquartered in Canada that produce or share knowledge for development. Individuals may not apply. Organizations new to IDRC are encouraged to apply. More information is available on IDRC site.

dividing line

If you have an item for Flash, send it by e-mail to Chantal Havard. Please note that Flash items should be no longer than one paragraph.

CCIC homepage

Bulletin électronique du CCCI: mars 2013  | version web commentaires|   

Flash banner image
www.ccic.ca
In this issue
Message de la présidente-directrice générale
Dernières nouvelles du secteur
Profil d’un membre
Les membres du CCCI en action
Vaut le coup d’œil

Événements
Le CCCI dans les médias
 

 

le CCCI presente

AGA et forum du CCCI
Les 23 et 24 mai 2013
Ottawa

 

Rencontre annuelle des membres du GTAP
Le 17 avril 2013
Ottawa
Communiquer avec Denis Côté pour inscription
 
Symposium 2013 du GTAP : Commerce, investissement et droits humains en Asie
Le 16 avril 2013
Ottawa

 

En conversation avec Duncan Green
Le 10 mai 2013
Détails à venir

upcoming events


Conférences de l'AKFC sur le financement novateur pour le développement
Le 30 avril 2013
Le 16 mai 2013
Ottawa

 

L'Afrique en communication : technologie numérique, représentations et pouvoir
Du 1er au 3 mai 2013
Institute of African Studies Université Carleton
Ottawa

 

Le Canada et les Amériques : savoir, peuples et solidarités itinérantes
Congrès de l’ACÉLAC
Du 3 au 5 mai 2013
Ottawa

 

La gouvernance des ressources naturelles au service du développement en Afrique
Le 9 mai 2013
Institut Nord-Sud
Ottawa

 

CCIC In The News

Canada criticized for tying foreign aid to commerce
Agence France-Presse
Le 6 mars 2013

 

Canada cuts direct foreign aid to China
The Globe and Mail
Le 20 mars 2013

 

Federal budget folds CIDA into Foreign Affairs
CBC News
Le 21 mars 2013

 

Budget and CIDA
CBC Radio, Ottawa Morning
Le 22 mars 2013

 

CIDA-Foreign Affairs Merger
CBC, Power and Politics
Le 22 mars 2013

 

Canada's revamped approach to aid likely to leave bitter taste, say experts
The Guardian
Le 25 mars 2013

 
Las instancias de cooperación internacional canadienses inquietas por viraje gubernamental
Radio-Canada International
Le 25 mars 2013

 

NGOs see risks ahead with merger
Embassy
Le 27 mars 2013

 

Should international aid serve Canada’s commercial interests?
CBC
Le 28 mars 2013

 

Will it be a ‘New Deal’ or a ‘Raw Deal’ for FCAS?
CIPS Blog
Le 3 avril 2013

 

 

stay connected

CCIC blogCCIC twitterCCIC facebook
CCIC YouTubeCCIC flickrPE Hub

 

Contact us

Conseil canadien pour la coopération internationale

200-450 rue Rideau
Ottawa, ON
K1N 5Z4
613.241.7007

 

 

 

Desabonnez-vous

 


MESSAGE DE LA PRÉSIDENTE-DIRECTRICE GÉNÉRALE

Un appel à l’action

Ce mois-ci, j’avais l’intention d’écrire sur notre Forum des leaders qui, le 27 février dernier, a réuni sous le thème « Ensemble vers le changement » environ 70 dirigeants de notre secteur, soit des directeurs généraux, des chefs de la direction, des membres de vos conseils et certains membres du personnel des communications. J’allais vous remercier encore une fois d’avoir apporté votre précieuse contribution à l’initiative « Redéfinir notre discours », et saluer la patience avec laquelle vous avez participé à la communication protocolaire des résultats du sondage, lesquels ont mis au jour d’autres possibilités de collaboration pour le secteur et des rôles que pourrait endosser le CCCI. Je voulais aussi remercier ceux qui nous ont écrit pour nous dire à quel point ils avaient apprécié le forum, en particulier la discussion entre les quatre journalistes lors de la table ronde du matin, la présentation courte mais dynamique et imagée de Stephen, d’Imagine Canada, sur leur projet lié au discours, et la possibilité de discuter d’enjeux communs et d’établir des liens avec leurs homologues.

Or, j’ai plutôt choisi de partager avec vous quelques réflexions sur l’intégration de l’ACDI au MAECI, annoncée lors du dévoilement du budget il y a deux semaines. De plus, j’ai décidé de lancer un appel à l’action au secteur.

Lire la suite...

dividing line

NOUVEAUX DÉVELOPPEMENTS DANS LE SECTEUR

Budget fédéral 2013 : l’ACDI et la réduction de la pauvreté encore plus mis à l’écart?

Dans son budget de l’an dernier, le gouvernement fédéral avait déjà amputé l’enveloppe d’aide internationale (EAI) – et l’aide canadienne avec elle – de 1,2 milliard de dollars sur quatre ans, soit de 2012 à 2015 (EAI fixe). Le budget de 2013 risque d’enlever encore davantage à l’aide canadienne en plaçant l’Agence canadienne de développement international (ACDI) dans le giron du nouveau ministère des Affaires étrangères, du Commerce et du Développement. Le gouvernement maintiendra toutefois un poste distinct de ministre de la Coopération internationale.

Lire la suite...

dividing line

Budget fédéral parallèle : unis pour la réussitee

À dix jours du dévoilement du budget 2013, le Centre canadien de politiques alternatives a publié un document intitulé L’Alternative budgétaire pour le gouvernement fédéral 2013. Le rapport de cette année contient une section sur le développement international préparée par le CCCI qui présente quatre défis à relever dans le budget de 2013 

Lire la suite...

dividing line

Rapport d’Olivier de Schutter sur le droit à l’alimentation au Canada

Olivier De Schutter, le rapporteur spécial des Nations Unies sur le droit à l’alimentation, a présenté le 4 mars 2013 au Conseil des droits de l’homme le rapport sur sa mission au Canada. Il y affirme que le Canada a les moyens de faire beaucoup plus pour assurer le respect du droit à l’alimentation de ses citoyens.

Lire la suite...

dividing line

Le nouveau blogue sur l’aide et le développement du Ottawa Citizen est en ligne!

Le nouveau blogue sur l'aide et le développement, mis en ligne par le Ottawa Citizen, a été lancé la dernière semaine de mars. Cette plate-forme unique au Canada est un lieu où présenter, discuter et débattre sur les sujets chauds et les défis en lien avec le rôle du Canada en développement international, ainsi que des histoires du terrain.

Lire la suite...

dividing line

Une rencontre avec Lilian Chaterjee

Le 19 mars dernier, le CCCI a organisé une discussion informelle avec Lilian Chatterjee, directrice générale, politiques sectorielles et thématiques, Direction générale des politiques stratégiques et du rendement, sur l’approche de l’ACDI dans son travail avec le secteur extractif.

Lire la suite...

dividing line

Deuxième atelier sur les règles du lobbying pour les ONG

L’automne dernier le CCCI a organisé un atelier pour les ONG intitulé “Les règles du lobbying”. L’atelier couvrait l’essentiel du contenu des règles de l’Agence canadienne du revenu (ACR) associées aux "activités politiques" ainsi que les changements potentiels à la Loi sur le lobbying.

Lire la suite...

dividing line

Avez-vous noté les dates du Forum annuel 2013 du CCIC et de l’AGA?

La planification va bon train et dans les prochaines semaines nous enverrons un message avec les informations pour s’inscrire au Forum annuel et à l’AGA. Intitulé “Le développement et la transformation sociale en tant que responsabilité partagée: construire de nouveaux ponts et liens” le forum mettra de l’avant les questions clés...

Lire la suite...

dividing line

Le populaire blogueur et praticien du développement Duncan Green bientôt à Ottawa!

Le CCCI, en collaboration avec l’École de développement international et mondialisation de l’Université d’Ottawa, Oxfam Canada et Octopus Books, a invité Duncan Green, conseiller stratégique d’Oxfam UK et auteur du populaire blogue From Poverty to Power, à venir à Ottawa le 10 mai.

Lire la suite...

dividing line

Nouveautés sur le blogue du CCCI

Jody Heymann et Kristen McNeill sont co-auteures de Children’s Chances: How Countries Can Move from Surviving to Thriving (Harvard University Press, 2013). Elles ont reproduit sur notre blogue un article traitant du travail qu’elles ont accompli ces dernières années dans le cadre de l’initiative Children’s Chances afin de faciliter l’accès aux données comparatives sur l’éducation et d’autres politiques touchant les enfants.

Lire la suite...

dividing line

Profil d’une coalition : la Coalition canadienne pour le climat et le développement

Le CCCI s’est associé à plusieurs coalitions pour mieux défendre les causes qu’il appuie, soutenir les réseaux existants et accroître son influence. Chaque mois, nous vous en ferons découvrir une dans FLASH!, afin que vous puissiez vous impliquer également.

Lire la suite...

dividing line

PROFIL D'UN MEMBRE:

Cette section sera de retour le mois prochain.

dividing line

LES MEMBRES DU CCCI EN ACTION

Compte rendu de la visite de la délégation guatémaltèque

La défenseuse guatémaltèque des droits de la personne Aura Lolita Chávez Ixcaquic a parcouru le Canada en mars pour dénoncer la criminalisation des activistes s’opposant aux projets d’extraction d’entreprises canadiennes sur leur territoire. Le Groupe d’orientation politique pour les Amériques et ses membres ont organisé la partie de la tournée se déroulant à Ottawa, du 4 au 6 mars.

Lire la suite...

dividing line

Du 29 avril au 3 mai, joignez-vous à RESULTATS Canada et Vivez sous la ligne

Joignez-vous à Résultats Canada et relevez le défi de manger et de boire avec $1.75 par jour pour 5 jours, afin de sensibiliser les gens et d’amasser des fonds pour le 1.4 milliard d’être humains qui vivent sous le seuil de la pauvreté. Pour plus d’information et pour vous engager au niveau local, participez à l’une des rencontres de groupe à Victoria, Calgary, Toronto, Ottawa, Gatineau, Montréal, Québec et virtuellement. Visitez le site vivre sous la ligne pour plus d’information ou www.resultscanada.ca.

dividing line

VAUT LE COUP DE L'OEIL

Réponse du gouvernement au rapport sur l’aide internationale et le secteur privé

Le 6 mars, le gouvernement a fait connaître sa réponse au sixième rapport sur l’aide internationale et le secteur privé publié par le Comité permanent des affaires étrangères et du commerce international et intitulé Stimuler la croissance économique inclusive : rôle du secteur privé dans le développement international. Le gouvernement se dit d’accord dans l’ensemble avec les suggestions qu’il renferme, mais précise appliquer déjà la majeure partie de ce qui y est proposé.

dividing line

L’essor du Sud

Le Programme des Nations Unies pour le développement a publié le 14 mars un rapport intitulé L'essor du Sud : le progrès humain dans un monde diversifié, qui traite de l’évolution des rapports économiques et politiques dans l’axe Nord-Sud et retrace les réussites encourageantes de 18 pays en développement sur 40 qui ont surpassé les attentes en matière de développement humain au cours des dernières décennies. Comme toujours, le rapport cite l’Indice du développement humain, où le Canada se classe au 11e rang, dix places derrière la Norvège qui trône en tête de liste.

dividing line

Nouveau rapport sur l’accaparement des terres et les systèmes alimentaires

L’IATP (Institute for Agriculture and Trade Policy) a publié un nouveau rapport décrivant comment le phénomène de l’accaparement des terres et l’insécurité alimentaire qui en découle iront en s’aggravant étant donné que les accords internationaux liés aux investissements et au commerce font passer les intérêts commerciaux et financiers avant le droit à l’alimentation.

dividing line

États fragiles 2013: Les flux des ressources dans les États fragiles

Cette publication de l’OCDE fait le point sur : 1) l’évolution du concept de fragilité; 2) l’analyse des courants financiers des États fragiles entre 2000 et 2010; et 3) les tendances et les enjeux susceptibles de jouer sur la forme que prendra la fragilité dans les années à venir. Il s’agit d’une contribution importante pour mieux comprendre les défis auxquels font face les donateurs et les gouvernements dans leur appui aux états fragiles et en conflit.

dividing line

Ce que pensent les pays de l’après-2015

Le Global Call to Action Against Poverty et Beyond 2015 ont produit un Rapport synthèse intérimaire qui résume les principales tendances qui emergent des débats nationaux concernant l’agenda de l’après-2015 dans 22 pays. 18 autres débats nationaux auront lieu. Parmi les éléments qui sont ressortis de ces débats: la nécessité d’avoir un cadre pour l’après-2015 qui mette l’accent sur les droits humains, l’équité et la justice, la durabilité environnementale et l’élimination de la pauvreté.

dividing line

Appel à notes conceptuelles – petites subventions des Partenariats canadiens, CRDI

Le CRDI a lancé un appel à notes conceptuelles visant l’octroi, en 2013-2014, de petites subventions pour l’exécution d’activités novatrices de recherche et de mise en commun des connaissances.   Octroyées par le truchement des Partenariats canadiens, ces subventions servent à financer des projets de recherche, d’enrichissement des connaissances et de mise en commun des connaissances. Elles soutiennent également des rencontres de même que des activités et produits de diffusion modestes.

Lire la suite..

dividing line

Pour faire publier un texte, prière de l’envoyer à Chantal Havard. À noter que les articles destinés au Flash ne doivent pas avoir plus de 150 mots.

CCIC homepage