CCIC e-bulletin: January 2013                       |  Web Version Comments  

Flash banner image
www.ccic.ca
In this issue
Message from the President-CEO
New Developments in the Sector
Member Profile
CCIC Members in Action
Worth a Look

Events
CCIC In The News
 

CCIC presents

 

APWG Webinar: Implications of free trade with India With Asfar Jafri (Focus on the Global South)
13 Feb 2013
(10:00am-11:30am)
Register with Denis Cote

 

 

CCIC Leaders Forum
27 Feb 2013 Ottawa

 

 

upcoming events

Visions of One World – Photo Contest
Crossroads International
Jan 14-Feb 14

CWY Talks
Canada World Youth
7 Feb 2013
Saskatoon

 

World Community Film Festival
CoDevelopment Canada & World Community Development Education Society
15-17 Feb 2013
Vancouver

 

Walk in Her Shoes
CARE Canada
8 March 2013

 

Political Action Conference
Canadian Labour Congress 22 March 2013 Toronto

 

Write for a Better World
World Literacy of Canada
Deadline:
5 April 2013

 

Run for Biodiversity
USC Canada
May and Oct 2013 Various cities

 

 

 

CCIC In The News

ACDI, nouvelle orientation : Un recul, déplore Hélène Laverdière
Huguette Young Journal de Montréal
4 Jan 2013

Federal funding for NGOs
Chantal Havard CBC Radio at noon 14 Jan 2013

Financement des ONG et groupes religieux
Chantal Havard Phare Ouest, Radio-Canada Vancouver
15 Jan 2013

Paper trail shows D&P cuts defied all advice
Michael Swan
The Catholic Register
17 Jan 2013

Whose business is it how we fund foreign aid?
Op Ed by Joseph Ingram and Julia Sanchez Postmedia News 28 Jan 2013

International aid organizations in Canada silenced by government
Marie-Eve Thériault
Global Development Observer
31 Jan 2013

 

 

 

 

stay connected

CCIC blogCCIC twitterCCIC facebook
CCIC YouTubeCCIC flickrPE Hub

 

Contact us

Canadian Council for International Co-operation

200-450 Rideau St.
Ottawa, ON
K1N 5Z4
613-241-7007

 

Unsubscribe

MESSAGE FROM THE PRESIDENT-CEO

January has seen international development featured widely in the media again, this time around questions about Canada’s aid to Haiti. Though some will argue the debate is not always as well informed as it should be - given the seriousness of the issue for Haitians and for Canada’s role in the world - I remain on the camp of those that see the silver lining on the dark cloud, and think that this public debate is much better than no debate at all. Of course, like in any public debate, the risk that the conversation will be taken in very unproductive directions is very real, especially when the tone and language being used are paternalistic and contribute to nurture clichés about poor people and developing countries …. However, it is an invitation and a great opportunity for us to also jump in with reasoned and informed contributions that emanate from the years of experience and engagement that our sector has in Haiti specifically, in complex emergency situations and in fragile states more generally.

 

Read more...

dividing line

NEW DEVELOPMENTS IN THE SECTOR

Donor approaches for engaging with the private sector

The North-South Institute and CCIC have released a new paper, Investing in the business of development – Bilateral Donor approaches to engaging the private sector. The paper, which includes an Executive Summary, maps the strategies on the private sector and economic growth of the OECD’s 23 bilateral donors against a broad range of themes and sub-themes.

Read more...

dividing line

Thinking Outside the MDG Box Conference Report now available

IP calendar

The report of the post-2015 conference that CCIC co-organized with the Canadian Association for the Study of International Development (CASID) is finished. The goal of this conference was to bring international development, environment and human rights practitioners and academics together to contribute towards shaping Canadian civil society’s response to the global development framework that will succeed the MDGs when they expire in 2015. Also, four videos from the conference are available on CCIC’s YouTube channel.

dividing line

Digging Deep: Women’s Rights, Canadian Policy and Global Engagement

On January 22, CCIC, Oxfam Canada and Match International organized a meeting of the CCIC Women’s Rights Group to assess the current policy environment in Canada and implications for gender and development policy and check energy levels to take action collectively to advance women’s rights in Canada and in the global South.

Read more...

dividing line

Survey on CCIC’s Code of Ethics

CCIC is launching an online survey as part of a special research project related to charting a sustainable course for the future of the CCIC Code of Ethics and Operational Standards. An online survey is the first step to begin a reflective process among the CCIC membership. The questions are designed to provide information about the members’ experiences with the current compliance process; to identify how members currently identify with the process; and to provide ideas for moving forward.

Read more...

dividing line

The African Mining Vision: A Transformative Agenda for Development

The Africa-Canada Forum backgrounder on the African Mining Vision stands as an outcome of its annual colloquium on the Role of the Private Sector in Africa’s Development. It was also prepared in view of the 2013 South Africa Mining Indaba, the world’s largest gathering of mining’s most influential stakeholders and decision-makers, and where Minister of International Trade and Minister, Ed Fast, was expected to participate.

Read more...

dividing line

CIDA IATI implementation schedule

Towards the end of December, CIDA published its implementation schedule for how it will publish to the International Aid Transparency Initiative (IATI) standard. CIDA began publishing its first set of quarterly data files to the IATI registry at the end of October, becoming the first donor to publish bilingually.

Read more...

dividing line

Imagine Canada Survey on “Impact Proof Points” has been extended

As mentioned previously in FLASH, Imagine Canada is also engaged in redefining a new narrative for the charitable sector, and it is collecting "Impact Proof Points" from its members in order to illustrate the unique contribution of organizations in the charitable sector and what would be missing if these organizations did not exist.

Read more...

dividing line

New on CCIC’s blog

We have three recent posts on our blog! Following the publication of a new report by the North-South Institute and CCIC, entitled “Investing in the Business of Development: Bilateral Donor Approaches to Engaging the Private Sector”, Fraser Reilly-King, co-author of the report, has written a blog, where he explains how donors countries are engaging with the private sector. And since 2013 is International Year of Statistics, Fraser also wrote a piece on CCIC’s project aimed at gathering metrics for our sector. Finally, following up on a workshop organized by the Humanitarian Coalition and the Food Security Policy Group, Paul Hagerman from the Canadian Foodgrains Bank and Fraser Reilly-King from CCIC wrote a blog on resiliency and long term development.

 

dividing line

MEMBER PROFILE:
Alberta Council for Global Cooperation (ACGC)

VIDEA

ACGC staff work on developing the 'Development in a Box' program

This month CCIC spoke with Heather McPherson, Executive Director at ACGC, which is made up of 70 very diverse member organizations. ACGC members work in Alberta and around the world in many geographical and thematic areas. Heather tells us about ACGC’s involvement with students and teachers through “Development in a Box”, which was created to build a connection between ACGC member organizations and the Alberta education system. She also talks about upcoming events and many opportunities to engage during International Development Week, which is taking place nationally on Feb. 3-9, 2013.

Read the full interview...

 

dividing line

CCIC MEMBERS IN ACTION

It is International Development Week!

For more than 20 years, CIDA has been promoting the International Development Week (IDW), which takes place the first full week of February. This year again, from February 3-9, hundreds of events will be organized throughout the country by Canadian Civil Society Organizations involved in international development, around the theme “I am making a difference”.

Read more...

dividing line

Order of Canada awarded to President of CCIC member organization

Venkatesh Mannar, President of CCIC member Micronutrient Initiative (MI) has recently been awarded the Order of Canada. Mr. Mannar has spent his career working to reduce debilitating micronutrient deficiencies among the world´s most vulnerable, and he has led MI since 1994. The international development community in Canada can feel very proud to have Mr. Mannar amongst us!

dividing line

Updates on the Campaign to “Reverse the Cuts”

In recent weeks, as the House of Commons Finance Committee was considering its recommendations for Budget 2013, representatives of the campaign met with several members of the committee and other key Parliamentary offices to share their analysis of the cuts to CIDA’s budget and their concerns with the impact these cuts will have on the world’s poor.

Read more...

dividing line

WORTH A LOOK

Tracking Post-2015 Platform

The North-South Institute has launched an innovative tool for analyzing proposals on the post-2015 framework. The clear, quantifiable and time-bound nature of the Millennium Development Goals (MDGs), with goals, targets and indicators by which progress can be measured, has been heralded as one of the most valuable features of the MDGs.

Read more...

dividing line

Call for Applications: 2013 Alan Thomas Fellowship

The call for applications for the 2013 Alan Thomas Fellowship to Promote Civil Society and Voluntary Action is now open. The Fellowship was first awarded in 2008, and there are now seven Fellowship recipients whose research and reflection has made a significant contribution towards strengthening leadership for civil society and promoting greater understanding of the importance of voluntary action.

Read more...

dividing line

More tools for CSOs to improve Development Effectiveness

The CSO Development Effectiveness Web Portal is an open online platform where civil society practitioners interested in and working towards improving the impact of their work in development, can access and share tools, resources and case studies with others also working on improving their effectiveness.

dividing line

New graphic on aid spending in Haiti

The National Post has published an interesting graphic detailing how the Canadian aid money is being allocated in Haiti, by sector and type of projects. It also provides information on child mortality, life expectancy and literacy rate for all CIDA countries of focus. Another visual shows the evolution of Canadian Official Development Assistance (ODA) spending as a percentage of the Gross National Income (GNI).

dividing line

If you have an item for Flash, send it by e-mail to Chantal Havard. Please note that Flash items should be no longer than one paragraph.

CCIC homepage

Bulletin électronique du CCCI: janvier 2013  | version web commentaires|   

Flash banner image
www.ccic.ca
In this issue
Message de la présidente-directrice générale
Dernières nouvelles du secteur
Profil d’un membre
Les membres du CCCI en action
Vaut le coup d’œil

Événements
Le CCCI dans les médias
 

 

le CCCI presente

 

Webinaire du GTAP : Implications d’un accord de libre-échange avec l’Inde par Afsar Jafri (Focus on the Global South)
13 février 2013 10 h à 11 h 30
Inscription auprès de Denis Côté

 

Forum des leaders du CCCI
27 février 2013 Ottawa

 

 

upcoming events


Regards sur un seul monde – Concours photo
Carrefour international
Du 14 janvier au 14 février

 

 

Série de lectures-bénéfice KAMA
World Literacy Canada
Janvier à mai 2013
Toronto

 

 

Causerie JCM
Jeunesse Canada Monde
7 février 2013
Saskatoon

 

Festival du film World Community
CoDevelopment Canada et World Community Development Education Society
15-17 février 2013
Vancouver

 

Marcher comme elles 2013
CARE Canada
8 mars 2013

 

Conférence nationale sur l’action politique
Congrès du travail du Canada
22 mars 2013
Toronto

 

Write for a Better World
World Literacy Canada
Date limite :
5 avril 2013

 
 

 

CCIC In The News

ACDI, nouvelle orientation : Un recul, déplore Hélène Laverdière
Huguette Young Journal de Montréal
4 janvier 2013

Federal funding for NGOs
Chantal Havard
CBC Radio at noon
14 janvier 2013

Financement des ONG et groupes religieux
Chantal Havard
Phare Ouest,
Radio-Canada Vancouver
15 janvier 2013

Paper trail shows D&P cuts defied all advice
Michael Swan
The Catholic Register
17 janvier 2013

Whose business is it how we fund foreign aid?
Texte d’opinion publié par
Joseph Ingram et Julia Sanchez
Postmedia News
28 Jan 2013

International aid organizations in Canada silenced by government
Marie-Eve Thériault
Global Development Observer
31 Jan 2013

 

 

stay connected

CCIC blogCCIC twitterCCIC facebook
CCIC YouTubeCCIC flickrPE Hub

 

Contact us

Conseil canadien pour la coopération internationale

200-450 rue Rideau
Ottawa, ON
K1N 5Z4
613.241.7007

 


desabonnez-vous

MESSAGE DE LA PRÉSIDENTE-DIRECTRICE GÉNÉRALE

Le développement international a encore une fois fait la manchette en janvier, cette fois-ci concernant l’aide du Canada à Haiti. Bien que le débat ne soit pas toujours aussi éclairé qu’il ne devrait l’être (étant donné le sérieux de cet enjeu pour les Haitiens et le rôle du Canada dans le monde) je préfère voir le bon côté des choses malgré tout, car je crois qu’un débat public vaut beaucoup mieux que pas de débat du tout. Comme c’est le cas pour tout débat public, le risque que la conversation se perde dans des méandres contre-productives est bien réel, particulièrement quand le ton et le langage employés sont paternalistes et contribuent à alimenter des préjugés envers les populations pauvres et les pays en développement. Cependant, cela représente une invitation et une grande opportunité pour nous de participer au débat avec des contributions rationnelles et réfléchies, qui émanent des nombreuses années d’expérience et d’engagement de notre secteur avec Haiti en particulier, mais également dans des situations d’urgence et dans les états fragiles en général.

Lire la suite...

dividing line

NOUVEAUX DÉVELOPPEMENTS DANS LE SECTEUR

Comment les donateurs abordent leurs relations avec le secteur privé

L’Institut Nord-Sud et le CCCI ont publié un nouveau document, Investing in the business of development – Bilateral Donor approaches to engaging the private sector. Le rapport, qui a fait l’objet d’un sommaire exécutif en français, circonscrit les stratégies des 23 donateurs bilatéraux de l’OCDE par rapport au secteur privé et à la croissance économique, en fonction d’un vaste éventail de thèmes et de sous thèmes.

Lire la suite...

dividing line

Nouveau : Rapport sur la conférence «Penser autrement les OMD»

IP Calendar

Le rapport de la conférence sur l’après 2015, organisée conjointement par le CCCI et l’Association canadienne d’études du développement international (ACÉDI), est maintenant terminé. (résumé disponible en français, rapport complet en anglais seulement).

Lire la suite...

dividing line

Au cœur des enjeux : Droits des femmes, politiques canadiennes et engagement mondial

Le 22 janvier dernier, le CCCI, Oxfam Canada et Match international ont organisé une réunion du Groupe du CCCIC sur les Droits des femmes pour tenter d’évaluer l’environnement politique actuel au Canada et ses effets sur les politiques d’égalité entre les femmes et les hommes et le développement. Nous voulions également connaître l’intérêt des membres à travailler ensemble pour faire avancer les droits de femmes au Canada et dans le Sud global.

Lire la suite...

dividing line

Sondage sur le Code d’éthique du CCCI

Dans le cadre d’un projet de recherche spécial visant à assurer la viabilité à long terme de son Code d’éthique et de ses normes de fonctionnement, le CCCI a publié un sondage en ligne. Il s’agit de la première étape d’une réflexion qui engagera les membres du CCCI. En répondant au sondage, les membres communiqueront leur expérience du processus de conformité actuellement en place ainsi que leurs points de vue à ce sujet, et donneront leurs idées pour la suite des choses.

Lire la suite...

dividing line

La vision africaine des mines : Un programme novateur pour le développement

La note d’information du Forum Afrique-Canada sur la Vision africaine des mines est un résultat du colloque annuel sur le rôle du secteur privé et le développement en Afrique. Elle a été produite en vue de la tenue de la Mining Indaba 2013 en Afrique du Sud, la plus importante réunion de décideurs et de parties prenantes dans le domaine minier à l’échelle mondiale. Le ministre du commerce international, Ed Fast, devrait y participer.

Lire la suite...

dividing line

Calendrier de mise en œuvre de l’IITA par l’ACDI

Vers la fin de décembre, l’ACDI a dévoilé son calendrier de mise en œuvre de la norme relative à la publication de l’Initiative internationale pour la transparence de l'aide (IITA). L’ACDI avait publié à la fin d’octobre son premier fichier de données trimestrielles dans le registre de l’IITA, devenant du coup le premier donateur à publier un fichier bilingue.

Lire la suite...

dividing line

Le sondage d’Imagine Canada sur les « éléments de preuve de l’impact » a été prolongé

Tel que mentionné précédemment dans FLASH, Imagine Canada est également engagé dans un travail de redéfinition du discours pour le secteur de la bienfaisance au Canada et recueille des « éléments de preuve de l’impact » parmi ses membres, afin de démontrer la contribution unique du secteur de la bienfaisance et ce qui manquerait si ces organisations n’existaient pas.

Lire la suite...

dividing line

A lire sur le blogue du CCCI

Il y a trois nouveaux articles sur notre blogue! À la suite de la publication du nouveau rapport de l’Institut Nord-Sud et du CCCI intitulé Investing in the Business of Development: Bilateral Donor Approaches to Engaging the Private Sector, Fraser Reilly-King, coauteur, a écrit un blogue afin d’expliquer comment les pays donateurs abordent leurs relations avec le secteur privé. Et puisque 2013 est l’Année internationale des statistiques, Fraser a également écrit un article sur un projet du CCCI qui consiste à recueillir des indicateurs et mesures pour notre secteur. Finalement, suite à un atelier organisé par la Coalition humanitaire et le Groupe de réflexion sur la sécurité alimentaire, Paul Hagerman du Canadian Foodgrains Bank et Fraser Reilly-King du CCCI ont écrit un blogue sur la résilience et le développement à long terme.

dividing line

PROFIL D'UN MEMBRE:
Alberta Council for Global Cooperation (ACGC)

Programme de jumelage

L''équipe d'ACGC en réunion

Ce mois-ci, le CCCI s’est entretenu avec Heather McPherson, directrice générale de l’Alberta Council for Global Cooperation (ACGC), qui regroupe 70 organisations membres diversifiées œuvrant en Alberta et partout dans le monde, dans des régions et domaines variés. Heather nous parle du travail qu’effectue l’ACGC auprès des étudiants et des enseignants par l’intermédiaire de Development in a Box, qui a été conçu pour établir un lien entre les membres de l’ACGC et le système d’éducation albertain. Elle discute également des événements à venir et des nombreuses possibilités d’engagement offertes durant la Semaine du développement international, soulignée partout au pays, qui se déroule du 3 au 9 février 2013.

Lire l'entrevue intégrale…

dividing line

LES MEMBRES DU CCCI EN ACTION

C’est la Semaine du développement international!

Depuis plus de 20 ans, l’ACDI promeut la Semaine du développement international (SDI), qui a lieu durant la première semaine complète de février. Cette année ne faisant pas exception, du 3 au 9 février auront lieu partout au pays des centaines d’événements organisés par des organisations de la société civile canadienne œuvrant au développement international. Le thème? « J’agis pour un monde meilleur ».

Lire la suite...

dividing line

L’Ordre du Canada décerné au président d’une organisation membre du CCCI

Venkatesh Mannar, président de l’Initiative pour les micronutriments (IM), une organisation membre du CCCI, a récemment reçu l'Ordre du Canada. M. Mannar, qui a consacré sa carrière à la réduction des carences graves en micronutriments au sein des populations les plus vulnérables du monde, dirige l’IM depuis 1994.

dividing line

Nouvelles de la campagne «Annulons les coupures»

Ces dernières semaines, alors que les membres du Comité des finances de la Chambre des communes se penchaient sur leurs recommandations pour le budget de 2013, des représentants de la campagne « Annulons les coupures » ont rencontré plusieurs d’entre eux, ainsi que d’autres représentants d’importants bureaux parlementaires; ils ont pu leur communiquer leur analyse des compressions budgétaires que subit l’ACDI et leurs inquiétudes quant aux répercussions de celles-ci sur les pauvres du monde entier.

Lire la suite...

dividing line

VAUT LE COUP DE L'OEIL

Outil de suivi des propositions pour l'après 2015

L’Institut Nord-Sud a lancé un outil novateur pour favoriser l’analyse des propositions formulées pour le cadre de développement d’après 2015. Les objectifs du Millénaire pour le développement (OMD) avaient été bien reçus entre autres parce qu’ils étaient clairs, quantifiables et assortis d’un délai, et qu’ils prévoyaient des objectifs, des cibles et des indicateurs permettant de mesurer les progrès.

Lire la suite...

dividing line

Appel de candidatures : Bourse Alan Thomas 2013

L’appel de candidatures pour la Bourse Alan Thomas pour l’avancement du bénévolat et de la société civile de 2013 est maintenant officiellement lancé. Depuis sa création en 2008, la Bourse a soutenu sept récipiendaires qui, grâce à leurs recherches et à leurs réflexions, ont considérablement contribué au renforcement du leadership au sein de la société civile et à la sensibilisation à l’importance du bénévolat.

Lire la suite...

dividing line

Des outils supplémentaires permettant aux OSC d’améliorer leur efficacité en matière de développement

Le portail Web de l'efficacité de la contribution des OSC au développement est une plateforme ouverte où les intervenants de la société civile qui s’intéressent et qui travaillent à l’amélioration des retombées de leurs efforts en matière de développement peuvent accéder à des outils, des ressources et des études de cas, et aussi en partager avec leurs homologues ayant des visées similaires.

dividing line

Nouveau graphique sur les dépenses consacrées à l’aide à Haïti

Le National Post a publié un graphique fort intéressant montrant comment les fonds canadiens consacrés à l’aide sont affectés à Haïti, par secteur et type de projets. On y retrouve également de l’information sur la mortalité infantile, l’espérance de vie et le taux d’alphabétisation pour tous les pays de concentration de l’ACDI. Un autre élément visuel illustre l’évolution du montant de l’aide au développement officielle (ADO) canadienne, en pourcentage du produit national brut (PNB).

dividing line

Pour faire publier un texte, prière de l’envoyer à Chantal Havard. À noter que les articles destinés au Flash ne doivent pas avoir plus de 150 mots.

CCIC homepage