CCIC e-bulletin: October 2012                                          |  Web Version Comments  

Flash banner image
www.ccic.ca
In this issue
Message from the President-CEO
New Developments in the Sector
Member Profile
CCIC Members in Action
Worth a Look

Events
CCIC In The News
 

CCIC Presents

CCIC Leaders Forum
Save the date
February 27, 2013

 

 

upcoming events

Food Secure Canada’s 7th National Assembly
1-4 Nov 2012
Edmonton

Is microfinance a viable option to promote local development and poverty reduction? A critical perspective
Federation of Canadian Municipalities, Inter Pares, CCIC
1 Nov 2012
Ottawa

WUSC 2012 International Forum: Innovation in Sustainable Development
1-3 Nov 2012
Ottawa

Bringing Revenue Transparency to Canada's Extractive Sector
Canadian Network on Corporate Accountability and Publish What You Pay Canada
5 Nov 2012
Ottawa

Partnership Brokers Training
Social Innovation Generation and Partnership Brokers Association
5-9 Nov 2012
Toronto

Writers and Friends Fundraiser
Horizons of Friendship
11 Nov 2012
Port Hope, Ontario

Journées Québecoises de la Solidarité Internationale
AQOCI
7-17 Nov 2012

Afghanistan’s Path to Sovereignty and a Safe and Secure Society
University of Ottawa
14 Nov 2012 Ottawa

KAMA Benefit Reading Series
World Literacy Canada
Jan – May 2013
Toronto

Students (Verb) Charities
Youth contest organized by Imagine Canada January 2012 to April 2013

 

 

CCIC In The News

Harper arrives in Senegal ahead of francophone summit
CBC
10 Oct 2012

 

 

Bill C-377: What you need to know about the latest Conservative attack on civil society
Dave Coles, rabble.ca
2 Oct 2012

 

 

stay connected

CCIC blogCCIC twitterCCIC facebook
CCIC YouTubeCCIC flickrPE Hub

 

Contact us

Canadian Council for International Co-operation

200-450 Rideau St.
Ottawa, ON
K1N 5Z4
613-241-7007

 

Unsubscribe

MESSAGE FROM THE PRESIDENT-CEO

The CCIC Board of Directors met on September 27-28 for one of its three annual face-to-face meetings. On the agenda were updates, discussion and decisions on key projects that were approved in the May 2012 Board meeting and that are now taking flight. We refer to this group of projects as “strategic investments” and they have been identified by the CCIC team and approved by the Board given their potential to elevate CCIC’s work and contributions to the sector to a new and sustainable level. I want to share with you all today some highlights of these projects so that you can become familiar with, and eventually engage with and support, this important work of the council.

Read more...

 

dividing line

NEW DEVELOPMENTS IN THE SECTOR

Istanbul Principle Case Studies profile best practice of Canadian CSOs

IP Icons

When CCIC conducted a series of workshops in British Columbia, Alberta, Saskatchewan and Manitoba on the Istanbul Principles, the first thing people asked for was a set of case studies to help them translate these new international norms into practice. For many, the Principles felt too abstract, and case studies would help generate ideas on what groups could be doing to enhance their practice. In response, CCIC has been working for the past six months to generate a set of over twenty case studies from a range of different organizations from across the country.

Read more...

 

dividing line

Canada more transparent, but falling behind peers

At the beginning of October, Publish What You Fund released its second annual 2012 Aid Transparency Index. CCIC played a role in assessing CIDA’s transparency for this Index. The Index ranks 72 donor organisations against 43 indicators of aid transparency at the organisational, country and activity level. Canada ranked 32nd overall, with a score of 46 percent, putting it middle of the field.

Read more...

 

dividing line

Dialogue on human rights in Colombia

CCIC’s Americas Policy Group (APG) held a members meeting in Ottawa on October 16-17. Approximately 20 organizations from across Canada participated. The meeting’s learning session focussed on the human rights context in Colombia.

Read more...

 

dividing line

Letter from Americas Policy Group on human rights and security in Guatemala

The Americas Policy Group (APG) wrote a letter to Minister Diane Ablonczy on the occasion of her visit to Guatemala. Minister Ablonczy’s visit aimed to follow through on Canada's commitment to foster security in Guatemala. In the letter, the APG shared its concern over violent repression that has taken place in three regions of the country since President Otto Pérez Molina took office in January 2012.

Read more...

 

dividing line

Engagement opportunity for members: New Ethics Task Force launched

In September, CCIC organized an interactive half-day workshop on advocacy, lobbying and political action in Canada. The facilitators, Susan Manwaring (National Chair of the Charities and Not-for-Profit Group at the national law firm Miller Thomson LLP) and Sean Moore (principal of the Advocacy School), touched on the specifics of lobbying legislation in Canada.

Read more...

 

dividing line

MEMBER PROFILE: Association québécoise des organismes de coopération internationale (AQOCI)

AQOCI staff

The staff team at AQOCI

This month CCIC spoke with AQOCI, which is made up of 65 member organizations from 13 regions of Quebec. These organizations work locally and abroad for sustainable human development. Since 1976, AQOCI’s mission has been to promote and support its members’ efforts and initiatives to foster international solidarity. AQOCI’s aim is to eradicate poverty and build a world based on justice, inclusion, equality and the respect for human rights, and it relies on the strength of its network to do so.  In this interview, AQOCI staff speak about their campaigns, as well as social change in Quebec and the effects of CIDA funding cuts in Quebec.

Read the full interview...

 

dividing line

CCIC MEMBERS IN ACTION

Development and Peace Fall Campaign: “International Development: Do it Justice”

Development and Peace invites Canadians to reflect on Canadian international aid, the principles that should guide it and their own expectations of what it should be. Participants in the campaign are invited to share their concerns towards international aid policies with their member of parliament.

dividing line

Canadian Foodgrains Bank is promoting a “Recipe for Ending Global Hunger”

CFGB has launched a postcard campaign asking the federal government to remember the needs of people around the world who don’t have enough to eat, when making crucial decisions.  Members, supporters and partners are invited to participate in the campaign.

dividing line

Canadian Hunger Foundation releases report on food security and resilience

Drawing on examples from CHF’s projects around the world, The Road to Resilience: Achieving Food Security by Strengthening Livelihoods examines some of the ways we are helping smallholder farmers in developing countries to thrive.

Read more...

dividing line

Ontario Council for International Co-operation e-magazine call for submissions

Entering its fourth year of publication, OCIC’s iAM multimedia e-magazine recently launched its call for submissions. Writers/artists are asked to send full submissions by November 15, 2012 to OCIC. The theme for this year’s edition is food, in its many roles.

dividing line

Oxfam launches report on land grabbing

A new Oxfam Briefing Note titled Our Land, Our Lives: Time out on the global land rush, was released this month and looks at the increasing rate of land grabs in developing countries, and the lack of adequate regulation. This brief also looks at the impact on communities displaced by land grabs. The rate of land grabbing is related to food prices, which are currently once again on the rise.  

dividing line

Oxfam Canada’s GROW Week 2012

From October 15 to 19 2012, Oxfam campaigners pushed for small-scale food growers to have better access to land. This campaign gave participants the opportunity to learn, act, and share the message. The campaign is ongoing and people can still get informed and involved.

dividing line

Campaign asks federal government to “Reverse the Cuts”

On October 17, International Day for the Eradication of Poverty, a number of Canadian CSOs working in international development launched a campaign asking the federal government to reverse the cuts that were made to CIDA in the March 2012 budget. Canadians who disagree with the cuts are asked to sign a petition, send a letter to the Prime Minister and contact their MP.

dividing line

WORTH A LOOK

Report to Parliament on the Government of Canada’s Official Development Assistance 2011-12

At the end of September, International Co-operation Minister Fantino tabled the Fourth Report to Parliament on the Official Development Assistance Accountability Act.  As in past years, CCIC will be doing a short analysis of the Report.

dividing line

State of Food Insecurity in the World 2012

As in the past, this year’s State of Food Insecurity in the World 2012 assesses the state of malnourishment in the world and indicates that progress in reducing hunger over the past 20 years has been better than previously believed. The report also sheds a spotlight on the role of economic growth in reducing hunger, and outlines some of the measures that need to be addressed to ensure better outcomes for the poor in terms of addressing food security, hunger and agricultural development.

dividing line

Busan in a nutshell: What next for the Global Partnership for Effective Development Cooperation

Oxfam International’s new brief provides an overview of some of the outcomes from the Fourth High-Level Forum on Aid Effectiveness in Busan, South Korea, in November 2011, in particular the new principles for development cooperation.  The brief makes an assessment of what will need to happen going forward for Busan to be a success. 

dividing line

World Bank Report shows resource wealth does not necessarily bring poverty reduction

Africa's Pulse, a twice-yearly World Bank analysis of Africa's economic prospects, noted that the decline in poverty rates in resource-rich countries has generally lagged behind that of countries without riches in the ground. 

Read more...

dividing line

If you have an item for Flash, send it by e-mail to Jack Litster. Please note that Flash items should be no longer than one paragraph.

CCIC homepage

Bulletin électronique du CCCI: octobre 2012              | version web commentaires|   

Flash banner image
www.ccic.ca
In this issue
Message de la présidente-directrice générale
Dernières nouvelles du secteur
Profil d’un membre
Les membres du CCCI en action
Vaut le coup d’œil

Événements
Le CCCI dans les médias
 

 

CCIC Presents

Forum des leaders du CCCI
27 février 2013

 
 
 

upcoming events

Septième Assemblée nationale de Sécurité alimentaire Canada
Du 1er au 4 nov 2012
Edmonton

 



Is microfinance a viable option to promote local development and poverty reduction? A critical perspective
Fédération canadienne des municipalités, Inter Pares, CCCI
1 nov 2012
Ottawa



 

Forum international de l’EUMC 2012 : Innovation et développement durable
1 au 3 nov 2012
Ottawa



 

Bringing Revenue Transparency to Canada’s Extractive Sector
Réseau canadien sur la reddition de comptes des entreprises et section canadienne de Publiez ce que vous payez
5 novembre 2012
Ottawa



 

Formation pour les courtiers en partenariat
Génération de l’innovation sociale et Partnership Brokers Association
5-9 nov 2012
Toronto



 

Writers and Friends Fundraiser
Horizons of Friendship
11 nov 2012
Port Hope, Ontario



 

Journées québécoises de la solidarité internationale
AQOCI
Du 7 au 17 nov 2012


 

Colloque sur le cheminement de l’Afghanistan vers la souveraineté et la sécurité
Université d’Ottawa
14 nov 2012



 

Série de lectures-bénéfice KAMA
World Literacy Canada
Janvier à mai 2013
Toronto



 

Concours Verbe pour les étudiants – Organismes de charité
Concours jeunesse organisé par Imagine Canada
Janvier 2012 à avril 2013

 

 

CCIC In The News

Harper arrives in Senegal ahead of francophone summit
CBC
Le 10 oct 2012

 

Bill C-377: What you need to know about the latest Conservative attack on civil society
Dave Coles, rabble.ca
Le 2 oct 2012

 

 

 
 

 

stay connected

CCIC blogCCIC twitterCCIC facebook
CCIC YouTubeCCIC flickrPE Hub

 

Contact us

Conseil canadien pour la coopération internationale

200-450 rue Rideau
Ottawa, ON
K1N 5Z4
613.241.7007

 


desabonnez-vous

MESSAGE DE LA PRÉSIDENTE-DIRECTRICE GÉNÉRALE

Les 27 et 28 septembre, le conseil d’administration du CCCI a tenu l’une de ses trois réunions en personne annuelles. Figuraient à l’ordre du jour des discussions, mises à jour et décisions relatives à des projets importants qui ont été approuvées lors de la réunion du CA en mai 2012 et qui en sont maintenant à leurs débuts. Ces projets, que nous appelons « investissements stratégiques », ont été proposés par l’équipe du CCCI et approuvés par le conseil d’administration compte tenu de leur potentiel d’accroître la viabilité et la portée du travail du CCCI et de sa contribution au secteur. Je souhaite aujourd’hui vous présenter certains points saillants de ces projets pour que vous puissiez soutenir en connaissance de cause cette tâche importante que s’est donnée le conseil d’administration.

Lire la suite...

 

dividing line

DERNIÈRES NOUVELLES DU SECTEUR

Études de cas liés aux principes d’Istanbul et illustrant les pratiques exemplaires d’OSC canadiennes

IP Icons

Quand le CCCI a organisé une série d’ateliers sur les principes d’Istanbul en Colombie-Britannique, en Alberta, en Saskatchewan et au Manitoba, la première chose que les participants ont demandée a été qu’on leur présente des études de cas qui les aideraient à mettre ces nouvelles normes internationales en pratique. Beaucoup trouvaient ces principes trop abstraits, et il leur semblait que des études de cas les aideraient à déterminer quoi entreprendre pour améliorer leurs pratiques. En réponse à cette demande, le CCCI s’est employé pendant les six derniers mois à réunir une série de plus de vingt études de cas (bientôt disponibles en français également) portant sur différentes organisations de tout le pays.

Lire la suite...

 

dividing line

Le Canada fait preuve de transparence, mais recule au classement

Au début d’octobre, Publish What You Fund a publié son deuxième classement annuel sur la transparence en matière d’aide au développement. Le CCCI a contribué à l’évaluation de la transparence de l’ACDI pour ce classement. On y classe 72 organisations donatrices selon 43 critères permettant d’évaluer la transparence sur les plans organisationnel et national, et du point de vue des activités. Dans l’ensemble, le Canada s’est classé au 32e rang, avec un résultat de 46 %, ce qui le situe au centre du classement.

Lire la suite...

 

dividing line

Dialogue sur les droits de la personne en Colombie

Le Groupe d’orientation politique pour les Amériques du CCCI (GOPA) a réuni ses membres à Ottawa les 16 et 17 octobre derniers. Environ 20 organisations de partout au Canada ont participé à cette réunion dont la séance d’apprentissage a porté principalement sur la situation des droits de la personne en Colombie.

Lire la suite...

 

dividing line

Lettre du Groupe d’orientation politique pour les Amériques sur les droits de la personne et la sécurité au Guatemala

Le Groupe d’orientation politique pour les Amériques (GOPA) a écrit une lettre à la ministre Diane Ablonczy à l’occasion de sa visite au Guatemala, qui visait à montrer que le Canada respectait l’engagement qu’il avait pris de favoriser la sécurité au Guatemala. Dans cette lettre, le GOPA fait part à la ministre de ses inquiétudes par rapport aux violents actes de répression qui ont été commis dans trois régions du pays depuis que le président Otto Pérez Molina est entré en fonction en janvier 2012.

Lire la suite...

 

dividing line

Renforcement des capacités de nos membres au moyen d’un atelier sur les règles du lobbying

En septembre, le CCCI a organisé un atelier interactif d’une demi-journée sur le plaidoyer, le lobbying et l’action politique au Canada. Les animateurs, Susan Manwaring (présidente nationale du groupe des organismes de bienfaisance et à but non lucratif au cabinet d’avocats Miller Thomson LLP) et Sean Moore (directeur d’Advocacy School), ont abordé les particularités des lois sur le lobbying au Canada.

Lire la suite...

dividing line

PROFIL D'UN MEMBRE: L’Association québécoise des organismes de coopération internationale (AQOCI)

Rosemary McCarney

L'équipe de l'AQOCI

Nous accueillons avec plaisir ce mois-ci l’Association québécoise des organismes de coopération internationale (AQOCI), qui regroupe 65 organisations de 13 régions du Québec qui œuvrent, à l’étranger et localement, pour un développement durable et humain. Depuis 1976, l’AQOCI a pour mission de promouvoir et de soutenir le travail de ses membres ainsi que leurs initiatives en faveur de la solidarité internationale. En s’appuyant sur la force de son réseau, l’AQOCI œuvre à l’éradication de la pauvreté et à la construction d’un monde basé sur des principes de justice, d’inclusion, d’égalité et de respect des droits humains. Dans cette entrevue, on discute des campagnes de l'AQOCI, la situation sociale actuelle au Quebec, et les consequences au Quebec des coupures de l'ACDI.

Lire l'entrevue intégrale…

dividing line

LES MEMBRES DU CCCI EN ACTION

Campagne d’automne de Développement et Paix : «Développement international : agissons pour la justice»

Développement et Paix invite la population canadienne à réfléchir sur l’aide internationale canadienne, sur les principes qui devraient la guider et sur leurs attentes par rapport à cette forme d’aide. Des ressources conçues pour mettre les participants en contexte et alimenter les discussions sont offertes sur le site. Ceux qui participent à la campagne sont encouragés à faire part à leur député de leurs préoccupations par rapport aux politiques d’aide internationale.

Lire la suite...

dividing line

La Banque canadienne de grains lance la campagne «Une recette pour mettre un terme à la faim dans le monde»

La Banque canadienne de grains a entrepris une campagne de cartes postales pour demander au gouvernement fédéral de se rappeler, lors de la prise de décisions déterminantes, les besoins des gens de partout dans le monde qui ne mangent pas à leur faim. Sont encouragés à participer à la campagne les membres de l’organisation, ceux qui la soutiennent ainsi que ses partenaires. Visitez le site web pour en savoir plus sur la manière de participer et pour commander des cartes postales.

 

dividing line

La Fondation canadienne contre la faim publie un rapport sur la sécurité alimentaire et la résilience

A partir d’exemples tirés de ses propres projets, un rapport de la Fondation canadienne contre la faim (CHF en anglais) publié récemment et intitulé The Road to Resilience: Achieving Food Security By Strengthening Livelihoods examine comment on peut aider les petits producteurs des pays en développement à développer leur plein potentiel. Investir dans les petits exploitants agricoles est l’une des façons les plus efficaces de lutter contre la pauvreté selon la Banque mondiale, puisque que 75% des gens les plus pauvres vivent en milieu rural et dépendent de l’agriculture pour leur survie.

Lire la suite...

dividing line

Demande de propositions pour le magazine en ligne du Conseil ontarien pour la coopération internationale

Maintenant à sa quatrième année de publication, iAM, le magazine multimédia électronique du Conseil ontarien pour la coopération internationale (OCIC), a lancé dernièrement un appel de propositions. Auteurs et artistes doivent envoyer leurs propositions à l’OCIC avant le 15 novembre 2012. Le thème de l’édition de cette année est la nourriture, vue sous tous les angles.

dividing line

Oxfam publie un rapport sur l’accaparement des terres

Une nouvelle note d’information d’Oxfam intitulée Notre terre, notre vie : halte à la ruée mondiale sur les terres a été publiée ce mois-ci. Elle porte sur la croissance du phénomène de l’accaparement des terres dans les pays en développement et sur le manque de réglementation adéquate en la matière. Cette note d’information traite aussi des conséquences de l’accaparement des terres sur les communautés dont il implique le déplacement. La croissance de ce phénomène est liée aux prix des aliments, qui sont une fois de plus en hausse à l’heure actuelle.  

dividing line

La semaine CULTIVONS 2012 d’Oxfam Canada

Du 15 au 19 octobre 2012, les membres d’Oxfam ont uni leurs voix pour favoriser l’amélioration de l’accès à la terre pour les petits producteurs agricoles. Cette campagne a permis aux participants de s’informer sur le sujet, de poser des gestes concrets et de diffuser le message.

dividing line

Nouvelle campagne auprès du gouvernement fédéral : «Annulons les coupures»

Le 17 octobre dernier, lors de la Journée internationale pour l’élimination de la pauvreté, certaines OSC canadiennes œuvrant dans le secteur du développement international ont lancé une campagne pour demander au gouvernement fédéral d’annuler les compressions budgétaires imposées à l’ACDI dans le budget annoncé en mars 2012. Ceux qui sont en désaccord avec ces réductions budgétaires sont priés de signer une pétition, d’envoyer une lettre au premier ministre et de communiquer avec leur député. Pour en savoir plus et avoir accès aux ressources offertes, visitez le site de la campagne.

dividing line

VAUT LE COUP DE L'OEIL

Rapport sur l’aide au développement officielle du gouvernement du Canada – 2011-2012

À la fin de septembre, monsieur Julian Fantino, ministre de la Coopération internationale, a présenté le quatrième rapport au Parlement concernant la Loi sur la responsabilité en matière d’aide au développement officielle. Comme dans les années passées, le CCCI effectuera une analyse sommaire de ce rapport.

dividing line

L’état de la sécurité alimentaire dans le monde 2012

À nouveau cette année, le rapport intitulé L'état de la sécurité alimentaire dans le monde présente des estimations de la sous-alimentation dans le monde et indique que les progrès réalisés au cours des 20 dernières années dans la lutte contre la faim ont été plus importants que prévu. On insiste aussi dans ce rapport sur le rôle que joue la croissance économique dans la lutte contre la faim et on expose brièvement certaines mesures qui devraient être prises pour aider les pauvres à s’attaquer aux problèmes liés à la sécurité alimentaire, à la faim et au développement agricole.

dividing line

Efficacité de l’aide : les clés de Busan – Quelle réalité pour le Partenariat mondial pour une coopération efficace au service du développement?

Cette nouvelle note d’information d’Oxfam International  résume certaines des conclusions du Quatrième Forum de haut niveau sur l’efficacité de l’aide qui a eu lieu en novembre 2011 à Busan, en Corée du Sud, et traite particulièrement des nouveaux principes de la coopération au développement. On présente aussi dans ce rapport les actions qui doivent maintenant être entreprises pour que le forum de Busan soit une réussite. 

dividing line

Un rapport de la Banque mondiale démontre que la richesse en ressources ne se traduit pas nécessairement par une réduction de la pauvreté

Africa's Pulse, une analyse des perspectives économiques de l’Afrique publiée deux fois l’an par la Banque mondiale, note que le déclin du taux de pauvreté dans les pays riches en ressources a été, en général, moins marqué que dans les pays qui n’ont pas ces ressources.  Certains pays, comme l’Angola, le Congo-Brazzaville et le Gabon, ont vu s’accroître le nombre de personnes vivant dans l’extrême pauvreté.

Lire la suite...

dividing line

Pour faire publier un texte, prière de l’envoyer à Jack Litster. À noter que les articles destinés au Flash ne doivent pas avoir plus de 150 mots.

CCIC homepage