CCIC e-bulletin: September 2012                                         |  Web Version Comments

Flash banner image
www.ccic.ca
In this issue
Message from the President-CEO
New Developments in the Sector
Member Profile
CCIC Members in Action
Worth a Look

Events
CCIC In The News
 

CCIC Presents

Americas Policy Group members meeting
16-17 Oct 2012 Public Service Alliance of Canada Ottawa
 

Africa-Canada Forum 2012 Colloquium
30–31 Oct 2012 Best Western Plus Victoria Park Suites
Ottawa

upcoming events

Panel Discussion and Book Launch: CIDA and Canadian Foreign Aid
3 Oct 2012
Ottawa

Workshops on Personal Security
Ontario Council for International Cooperation

4-5 Oct 2012, Toronto

23-24 Oct 2012, Ottawa

International Summit of Cooperatives
Desjardins Group
8 – 11 Oct 2012 Quebec City

Blumbergs' Charity Law Boot Camp
Carleton Centre for Community Innovation Centre
12 Oct 2012
Ottawa

Leadership Awards Tour 2012
Canada World Youth
10-15 Oct 2012 Montreal, Ottawa, Calgary

Food prices and Political Instability
McGill Institute for Global Food Security
16-18 Oct 2012 Montreal

International Financial Institutions' Business Opportunities in Global Health
Canadian Society for International Health
21 Oct. 2012 Ottawa

Global Health in the Shifting World Economy
Canadian Society for International Health
21-23 Oct 2012
Ottawa

Powershift 2012: Conference on climate and environmental justice
26-29 Oct 2012 Ottawa

WUSC 2012 International Forum: Innovation in Sustainable Development
1-3 Nov 2012 Ottawa

Partnership Brokers Training
Social Innovation Generation and Partnership Brokers Association
5-9 Nov 2012
Toronto

Afghanistan’s Path to Sovereignty and a Safe and Secure Society
University of Ottawa
14 Nov 2012

KAMA Benefit Reading Series
World Literacy Canada
Jan – May 2013 Toronto

Students (Verb) Charities
Youth contest organized by Imagine Canada January 2012 to April 2013

 

CCIC In The News

Conference explores “a new paradigm” in international development
Canadian Bahá’i News Service
28 Sept 2012

Wheels in motion for establishing a new set of global development goals
iPolitics
25 Sept 2012

HOH goes to Madonna; and Simpson, Adams, and Brown all release books (see page 2)
Hill Times
9 Sept 2012

If we silence dissent we silence democracy
John MacKay iPolitics
7 Sept 2012

How Does NAFTA Impact Drug Policy?
Canadian Drug Policy Coalition blog
4 Sept 2012

 

 

stay connected

CCIC blogCCIC twitterCCIC facebook
CCIC YouTubeCCIC flickrPE Hub

 

Contact us

Canadian Council for International Co-operation

200-450 Rideau St.
Ottawa, ON
K1N 5Z4
613-241-7007

 

Unsubscribe

MESSAGE FROM THE PRESIDENT-CEO

Taking the policy discussions to the public: Reflections on CCIC-CASID conference on the post-2015 framework

Civil society’s very crucial role in policy dialogue is being downplayed and de-prioritized of late, by our donors, supporters and ourselves. And apparently academics feel a degree of frustration that their research inputs for policy discussions are not met with the same receptivity as in the past. But a vibrant civil society that contributes energetically to policy dialogue is essential for a healthy democracy and good policy. So we must find new ways, despite the limitations in our context, to continue our engagement in key policy issues of our times. And the post-2015 development framework promises to be one such key policy issue – for the new framework will no doubt have a strong influence on the focus and impact of our collective development efforts in the decades to come. One of the new ways clearly involves making new partnerships and alliances for policy work.

Read more...

 

dividing line

NEW DEVELOPMENTS IN THE SECTOR

 

Istanbul Principles Update – From Principles to Action

IP Icons

It has been a busy month for the Istanbul Principles. During the CIVICUS World Assembly, the Ontario Council for International Cooperation (OCIC), in collaboration with CCIC and the Open Forum for CSO Development Effectiveness, launched a set of visual icons which illustrate the eight Istanbul Principles for CSO Development Effectiveness.

Read more...

 

dividing line

Gearing up for Post-2015

Everyone is talking post-2015 these days and what might replace the Millennium Development Goals (MDGs). At the CIVICUS World Assembly, Beyond 2015, GCAP and CIVICUS hosted a one day conference (and a series of subsequent meetings) to strategize among civil society as the UN gears up discussions on what a post-2015 framework might look like.

Read more...

 

dividing line

Hundreds of civil society representatives join forces at CIVICUS World Assembly

The CIVICUS World Assembly was held for a third and last time in Montréal from September 3-7. Brought together under the theme Together for a just world: Defining a new social contract – making the future together, 650 participants from across the world were involved in workshops, plenary and side events. CCIC staff and members were present and actively engaged in the discussions.

Read more...

 

dividing line

Engagement opportunity for members: New Ethics Task Force launched

In a workshop at the CCIC 2012 AGM, an Ethics Task Force began taking shape for providing member input and guidance into the process of reviewing the compliance mechanism for the CCIC Code of Ethics and re-visioning where next with the Code. CCIC is undertaking a research and consultation project which will start with a member survey regarding capacity and motivation for compliance with the Code, and an analysis of compliance mechanisms for codes of conduct for various national platforms around the world as well as alternative mechanisms for ensuring accountability and excellence in practice for the sector.

Read more...

 

dividing line

MEMBER PROFILE: PLAN CANADA

Rosemary McCarney

Rosemary McCarney with children at Al Salan Camp in Al Fasher, Darfur

This month CCIC spoke with Rosemary McCarney, President-CEO of Plan Canada. In this interview, Rosemary talks about the upcoming UN Day of the Girl (October 11), and the humanitarian crisis in the Sahel. She also comments on how Plan has adapted to changing realities over its 75 year history and on partnerships with the private sector.

Read the full interview...

 

dividing line

CCIC MEMBERS IN ACTION

Upcoming fall campaigns from RESULTS Canada and AQOCI

In the 2012 Federal Budget, the Government announced a 9% cut to the Canadian International Development Agency over three years. RESULTS Canada believes these cuts are not consistent with Canadian values around our global obligations and threaten progress made in key areas of development, as programs to reduce poverty and increase health and livelihoods are being shrunk or cut entirely.

Read more...

L’Association québécoise de coopération internationale (AQOCI) is also planning a campaign for November, as part of the Journées québécoises de la solidarité internationale (JQSI), from November 7-17, 2012. This year’s theme for the JQSI focuses on “a fair economy, centered on people”.

Read more...

 

dividing line

Event highlights the need for action on human rights of indigenous peoples in Colombia

On September 13, Amnesty International Canada, the Assembly of First Nations, and the National Indigenous Organization of Colombia (ONIC) hosted a special reception in honour of the 5th anniversary of the United Nations Declaration on the Human Rights of Indigenous Peoples. Representatives from various organizations acknowledged those who have fought for the recognition of indigenous rights.

Read more...

 

dividing line

World Federalist Movement–Canada weighs in on Canada’s peacekeeping presence

This summer, World Federalist Movement–Canada published a fact sheet that analyzes the diminishing role that Canada is playing in United Nations Peacekeeping missions in recent years. The fact sheet points to the emergence of new Asian and African countries as the major troop contributors to UN Peacekeeping missions, and argues that as “a middle power with no significant external threat to its borders, Canada should be primarily interested in a strengthened multilateral system.”

 

dividing line

WORTH A LOOK

Analytical tools and commentary from the North-South Institute

The North-South Institute has launched a series of blogs and online dashboards called International Development in a Changing World. This series looks at global events and policy frameworks such as the Rio+20 Conference, G20 meetings, the post-Busan aid architecture and the post-2015 global development goals.

 

dividing line

Carleton University launches Philanthropy and Nonprofit Leadership program

This month, Carleton University’s School of Public Policy and Administration launched a Master of Philanthropy and Nonprofit Leadership degree, which will offer summer institute courses and online courses in the fall and winter semesters, and will begin in June 2013.

 

dividing line

New on CCIC’s Member Space

  • List of federal Ministers, Critics and Committees involved in international issues

  • Minutes of second meeting of CCIC’s Communications Task Force

If you don’t have your password to log into CCIC’s Members' Space, please contact Chantal Havard.

 

dividing line

If you have an item for Flash, send it by e-mail to Jack Litster. Please note that Flash items should be no longer than one paragraph.

CCIC homepage

Bulletin électronique du CCCI: septembre 2012            | version web commentaires|

Flash banner image
www.ccic.ca
In this issue
Message de la présidente-directrice générale
Dernières nouvelles du secteur
Profil d’un membre
Les membres du CCCI en action
Vaut le coup d’œil

Événements
Le CCCI dans les médias
 

 

CCIC Presents

Rencontre du Groupe d’orientation politique pour les Amériques
16 et 17 oct 2012 Public Service Alliance of Canada Ottawa

Forum Afrique-Canada 2012 30 et 31 octobre 2012, Best Western Plus Victoria Park Suites Ottawa

 
 

upcoming events

Panel de discussion et lancement de livre sur l’ACDI et l’aide internationale
3 oct 2012
Ottawa

Ateliers sur la sécurité personnelle
Conseil ontarien pour la coopération internationale
4 et 5 oct 2012
Toronto
23 et 24 oct 2012
Ottawa

Sommet international des coopératives
Mouvement Desjardins
8 au 11 oct 2012 Québec

Tournée Prix Jeunes Leaders 2012
Jeunesse Canada Monde
10 au 15 oct 2012 Montréal, Ottawa, Calgary

Conférence annuelle sur le prix des aliments et l’instabilité politique
Institut de McGill sur la sécurité alimentaire mondiale
16 au 18 oct 2012 Montréal

Santé internationale dans une économie mondiale en mouvance
Canadian Society for International Health
21-23 oct 2012
Ottawa

Powershift 2012
Conférence sur les changements climatiques et la justice environnementale
26-29 oct 2012
Ottawa

Forum international de l’EUMC 2012 : Innovation et développement durable
1 au 3 nov 2012 Ottawa

Formation pour les courtiers en partenariat
Génération de l’innovation sociale et Partnership Brokers Association
5-9 nov 2012
Toronto

Colloque sur le cheminement de l’Afghanistan vers la souveraineté et la sécurité
Université d’Ottawa
14 nov 2012

Série de lectures-bénéfice KAMA
World Literacy Canada
Janvier à mai 2013
Toronto

Concours Verbe pour les étudiants – Organismes de charité
Concours jeunesse organisé par Imagine Canada
Janvier 2012 à avril 2013

 

CCIC In The News

Conference explores “a new paradigm” in international development
Service canadien de nouvelles Bahá’ies
28 sept 2012

 

Wheels in motion for establishing a new set of global development goals
iPolitics
25 sept 2012

 

HOH goes to Madonna; and Simpson, Adams, and Brown all release books
(voir page 2)
Hill Times
9 sept 2012

 

If we silence dissent we silence democracy
John MacKay iPolitics
7 sept 2012

 

Quel est l’impact de l’ALÉNA sur les politiques sur les drogues?
Blogue du Coalition canadienne des politiques sur les drogues
4 sept 2012

 

 

stay connected

CCIC blogCCIC twitterCCIC facebook
CCIC YouTubeCCIC flickrPE Hub

 

Contact us

Conseil canadien pour la coopération internationale

200-450 rue Rideau
Ottawa, ON
K1N 5Z4
613.241.7007

 


desabonnez-vous

MESSAGE DE LA PRÉSIDENTE-DIRECTRICE GÉNÉRALE

Faire connaître les enjeux politiques au public : réflexions sur la conférence du CCCI et de l’ACÉDI sur le cadre de développement d’après 2015

Ces derniers temps, nos donateurs, nos sympathisants et nous-mêmes avons tendance à minimiser le rôle crucial de la société civile dans les débats de fond. Par ailleurs, il semble que les chercheurs universitaires ressentent une certaine frustration du fait que leurs contributions aux dossiers politiques ne sont plus accueillies avec autant de ferveur. Pourtant, la santé de la démocratie et la qualité des politiques élaborées dépendent beaucoup du dynamisme de la société civile, qui contribue énergiquement à ces débats. C’est pourquoi, en dépit de nos contraintes actuelles, nous devons trouver des nouveaux moyens de participer aux discussions sur les grands enjeux politiques de notre époque. Justement, le cadre de développement d’après 2015 s’annonce être un de ces grands enjeux : il ne fait aucun doute qu’il aura une influence considérable sur l’orientation et les répercussions de nos efforts collectifs de développement dans les décennies à venir. Pour apporter notre eau au moulin, nous n’aurons d’autre choix que d’établir de nouveaux partenariats et de nouvelles alliances.

Lire la suite...

 

dividing line

DERNIÈRES NOUVELLES DU SECTEUR

Le point sur les Principes d’Istanbul : des principes à l’action

IP Icons

Ce fut un mois chargé pour ceux qui s’intéressent aux Principes d’Istanbul. Pendant l’Assemblée mondiale de CIVICUS, le Conseil ontarien pour la coopération internationale (OCIC), en collaboration avec le CCCI et le Forum sur l’efficacité des OSC en matière de développement, a lancé une série d’icônes qui illustrent les huit Principes d’Istanbul sur l’efficacité du développement des OSC.

Lire la suite...

 

dividing line

Préparation de l’après 2015

L’après 2015 est sur toutes les lèvres ces jours-ci, et chacun se demande ce qui remplacera les objectifs du Millénaire pour le développement (OMD). À l’Assemblée mondiale de CIVICUS, Beyond 2015, GCAP et CIVICUS ont organisé une conférence d’un jour – et une série de réunions de suivi – destinée à établir une stratégie parmi les OSC au moment où l’ONU prépare les discussions sur un cadre pour l’après 2015.

Lire la suite...

 

dividing line

Des centaines de représentants de la société civile unissent leurs forces à l’Assemblée mondiale de CIVICUS

La troisième (et dernière) Assemblée mondiale de CIVICUS s’est déroulée à Montréal du 3 au 7 septembre. Rassemblés sous le thème Agir ensemble pour un monde juste : Définir un nouveau contrat social – Construire l’avenir ensemble, 650 participants venus du monde entier ont participé à des ateliers, des assemblées plénières et d’autres événements. Le personnel et les membres du CCCI étaient sur place et ont contribué activement aux discussions.

Lire la suite...

 

dividing line

Occasion d’implication pour les membres : nouveau Groupe de travail sur l’éthique

Le Groupe de travail sur l’éthique a commencé à prendre forme à la suite d’un atelier tenu dans le cadre de l’AGA 2012 du CCCI. Il a pour vocation d’intégrer l’opinion et les directions des membres en lien avec le processus d’examen et de révision du mécanisme de conformité du Code d’éthique du CCCI, et d’entrevoir ce qu’il adviendra de ce code.

Lire la suite...

 

dividing line

PROFIL D'UN MEMBRE: PLAN CANADA

Rosemary McCarney

Rosemary McCarney avec des enfants, Camp Al Salan, Al Fasher, Darfour

Nous accueillons avec plaisir ce mois-ci Rosemary McCarney, présidente –directrice générale de Plan Canada. Dans cette entrevue, Rosemary nous parle de la Journée de la fille qui se tiendra bientôt (11 oct.) ainsi que de la crise humanitaire au Sahel. Elle discute également de la façon dont PLAN s’est adapté à des réalités changeantes tout au long de ses 75 ans d’histoire et des partenariats avec le secteur privé.

Lire l'entrevue intégrale…

dividing line

LES MEMBRES DU CCCI EN ACTION

Campagnes d’automne de RÉSULTATS Canada et de l’AQOCI

Dans son budget de 2012, le gouvernement fédéral annonçait une diminution de 9 %, répartie sur trois ans, des subventions versées à l’Agence canadienne de développement international. Selon RÉSULTATS Canada, ces compressions vont à l’encontre des valeurs canadiennes en matière d’engagement international et menacent les progrès réalisés dans les principaux domaines du développement, puisque les programmes visant à lutter contre la pauvreté et à promouvoir la santé et la sécurité alimentaire se voient amputés, voire démantelés.

Lire la suite...

De son côté, l’Association québécoise de coopération internationale (AQOCI) prévoit une campagne en marge des Journées québécoises de la solidarité internationale (JQSI), qui se tiendront du 7 au 17 novembre 2012. Les JQSI de cette année se dérouleront sous le thème de l’« économie juste au service de l’humain ».

Lire la suite...

dividing line

Une activité met en lumière le besoin de reconnaître les droits des peuples autochtones en Colombie

Le 13 septembre, Amnistie internationale Canada francophone, l’Assemblée des Premières Nations et l’Organisation nationale autochtone de Colombie (ONIC) ont tenu une réception spéciale soulignant le 5e anniversaire de la Déclaration des Nations Unies sur les droits des peuples autochtones. À cette occasion, des représentants de plusieurs organisations ont salué le travail des militants pour les droits des peuples autochtones.

Lire la suite...

 

dividing line

Le Mouvement fédéraliste mondial (Canada) influence la participation du Canada aux opérations de maintien de la paix

Cet été, le Mouvement fédéraliste mondial (Canada), a publié une fiche de renseignements où l’on souligne que la participation du Canada aux opérations de maintien de la paix de l’ONU va diminuant depuis les dernières années. Cette fiche fait état de l’entrée en scène de pays d’Asie et d’Afrique en tant que fournisseurs de troupes. On précise en outre qu’« en tant que puissance moyenne exempte d’exposition à une menace extérieure majeure, le Canada devrait s’intéresser d’abord et avant tout au renforcement du système multilatéral ».

 

dividing line

VAUT LE COUP DE L'OEIL

Outils d’analyse et commentaires de l’Institut Nord-Sud

L’Institut Nord-Sud a lancé une série de blogues et de tableaux de bord en ligne : « International Development in a Changing World ». Cette série traite des événements mondiaux et des cadres stratégiques comme la conférence Rio+20, les rencontres du G20, l’architecture de l’aide à l’après-Busan et les objectifs de développement mondial pour l’ère post-2015.

 

dividing line

L’Université Carleton lance son programme de philanthropie et de leadership à but non lucratif

En septembre, l’École d’administration et de politiques publiques de l’Université Carleton a lancé son programme de maîtrise en philanthropie et en leadership à but non lucratif, qui comprend des cours d’été de même que des cours à distance à l’automne et à l’hiver. Ce programme sera offert dès juin 2013.

 

dividing line

Nouveautés dans le Coin des membres du CCCI

  • Liste des ministres fédéraux, des critiques et des comités traitant des dossiers internationaux
  • Compte rendu de la deuxième réunion du Groupe de travail sur les communications du CCCI

Si vous n’avez pas de mot de passe pour entrer dans le Coin des membres, contacter Chantal Havard

 

dividing line

Pour faire publier un texte, prière de l’envoyer à Jack Litster. À noter que les articles destinés au Flash ne doivent pas avoir plus de 150 mots.

CCIC homepage