CCIC e-bulletin: July-August 2012   | UnsubscribeWeb Version Comments 

Flash banner image
www.ccic.ca
In this issue
Message from the President-CEO
New Developments in the Sector
Member Profile
CCIC Members in Action
Worth a Look

Events
CCIC In The News
 

 

CCIC Presents

CCIC Presents: Sam Worthington, President and CEO of InterAction
6 Sept 2012
Delta Hotel (TBC), Montreal
RSVP  

CCIC Presents: The “Rules” of Lobbying Workshop with Sean Moore and Susan Manwaring
18 Sept 2012 Toronto
25 Sept 2012 Ottawa


Thinking Outside the MDG Box
Joint conference with CASID
21-22 Sept 2012 Ottawa

APG Ottawa Members Meeting
16-17 Oct 2012 Ottawa
(location TBD)

Africa-Canada Forum 2012 Colloquium
30–31 Oct 2012 Ottawa
(location TBD)

APWG Montreal Members Meeting
1 Nov 2012 Montréal
(location TBD)

upcoming events

CIVICUS World Assembly
3-7 Sept 2012 Institut du Nouveau Monde (INM), Montréal

Nutrition on the Table: Micronutrients and Global Child Survival
Joint conference Aga Khan Foundation Canada and Micronutrient Initiative
7 Sept 2012 Ottawa

AIDS 2012 Community Report Back and ICAD AGM
Interagency Coalition on AIDS and Development 18 Sept 2012 Toronto

Global Health in the Shifting World Economy
Canadian Society for International Health
21-23 Oct 2012
Ottawa

Powershift 2012
Conference on climate and environmental justice
26-29 Oct 2012 University of Ottawa/
Museum of Civilization

Partnership Brokers Training
Social Innovation Generation and Partnership Brokers Association
5-9 Nov 2012
Toronto

Students (Verb) Charities
Youth contest organized by Imagine Canada January 2012 to April 2013

 

CCIC In The News

Canada funnelling money for medical supplies to Syrian opposition
14 August 2012 Lee Berthiaume, Vancouver Sun

Aid groups continue lobbying for funding as Fantino seeks ‘efficiencies’
16 July 2012
Mark Burgess,
The Lobby Monitor

Fantino wasn't on anyone's short list except PM's: aid rep
11 July 2012 Kristen Shane, Embassy Magazine

Bev Oda's controversial CIDA legacy
7 July 2012
The House, CBC

Bev Oda leaves office 'under a cloud of disgrace': International Co-operation head to step down as MP
4 July 2012
Jordan Press, Vancouver Sun

Bev Oda resignation gives Harper wiggle room for cabinet shuffle
3 July 2012
Jordan Press & Teresa Smith,
Montreal Gazette

Canadian aid changes confusing, OECD says: Reforms may hurt developing nations
20 June 2012
Lee Berthiaume,
Ottawa Citizen

 

stay connected

CCIC blogCCIC twitterCCIC facebook
CCIC YouTubeCCIC flickrPE Hub

 

Contact us

Canadian Council for International Co-operation

200-450 Rideau St.
Ottawa, ON
K1N 5Z4
613-241-7007


Welcome to the new format for CCIC’s Flash! e-bulletin. Our new design is completely housed on the CCIC website, and features all the sections that you have come to know (and love!) over the past six months, plus more graphics and a new section this month – CCIC Members in Action – to highlight some of the important work being done by CCIC’s many members.

MESSAGE FROM THE PRESIDENT-CEO

Opportunity for a new chapter in CSO-CIDA relations?

As I prepare to embark on year two of my mandate at CCIC, charting a new course for the organization and its members, the arrival of the new Minister for International Cooperation, Julian Fantino, presents us with an opportunity to turn the page while establishing a renewed relationship with CIDA.

The relationship between CSOs and CIDA has gone through many ups and downs in the past 40 plus years. This rapport has traditionally been marked by a high degree of mutual respect and of two-way collaboration - a sense of being two sides of the same coin, the “Canadian international development coin”. On the global stage, Canada has historically punched above its weight, and this has been in great part due to the convergence of Canadian government and civil society views around key issues and values - such as respect for human rights and women’s rights in particular, peace building, CSOs as important development actors, and the environment, to name a few.

Read more...

 

dividing line

NEW DEVELOPMENTS IN THE SECTOR

The final meeting of the Working Party on Aid Effectiveness

On July 1, the Global Partnership for Effective Development Cooperation (GPEDC) formally replaced the Working Party on Aid Effectiveness (WP-Eff) - the entity that led the High-Level Forum processes that produced the Paris Declaration, the Accra Agenda for Action and the Busan Partnership for Effective Development Cooperation. Read more...

 

dividing line

National consultation on the future CSO platform for development effectiveness

Just as the GPEDC has now succeeded the WP-Eff (see above), global civil society has also been thinking about how to orient our future work, what goals and objectives we hope to achieve between now and the next meeting of the GPEDC, and how our own governance structure should reflect the need to be “Global light and country heavy”. Read more...

 

dividing line

CCIC members build new communications task force to redefine the sector’s narrative

Over 15 CCIC member organizations have climbed aboard the newly formed CCIC Communications Task Force, which held its first meeting in July. In a context of shifting relationships between established and emerging development actors and the need to improve our sector’s communications to the Canadian public, this group was assembled with the express purpose of working to redefine our sector’s narrative. Read more...

 

dividing line

CIDA announces additional funding for Afghanistan and the Sahel

Last month CIDA announced a contribution of an additional $227 million in development assistance to Afghanistan between 2014-2017, on top of the $300 million committed for use between 2011 and 2014. Earlier this month CIDA also announced the Sahel Crisis Matching Fund, matching Canadian donations made to registered Canadian charities that are responding to the humanitarian crisis in the Sahel region of Africa. Read more...

 

dividing line

If you have not heard enough about Rio+20…

Already two months have passed since the Rio+20 conference. To put the conference in context, The North-South Institute’s Kate Higgins has written a blog on Rio+20 in a Changing World. The Open Forum for CSO Development Effectiveness has also compiled a number of statements and reactions from civil society, and Agricultural Transition’s website has many case studies and research on food and agriculture issues related to Rio+20. Read more...

 

dividing line

High Level Panel on Post-2015 announced by UN Secretary-General

UN Secretary General Ban Ki-Moon has announced the co-Chairs and composition of the UN High Level Panel to help steer the global development agenda post-2015, when the Millennium Development Goals expire. President Susilo Bambang Yudhoyono of Indonesia, President Ellen Johnson Sirleaf of Liberia, and Prime Minister David Cameron of the United Kingdom will co-Chair the panel alongside 23 other representatives. Read more...

 

dividing line

MEMBER PROFILE

Since many of our members were on holidays in the past few weeks, it wasn’t possible to prepare a profile for this FLASH; but this section will be back in September!

dividing line

CCIC MEMBERS IN ACTION

UN Arms Trade Treaty talks end in failure, disappointed Control Arms coalition explains

July saw extensive negotiations at the UN to create an Arms Trade Treaty (ATT) to regulate international transfers of conventional weapons. The talks concluded without an agreement, as Project Ploughshares’ Kenneth Epps (co-chair of the steering board of the Control Arms coalition) explained in a recent Globe and Mail op-ed. CCIC members Amnesty International, Development and Peace, Oxfam Canada, Oxfam Quebec, and Project Ploughshares are among the nearly 100 members of the international Control Arms coalition

dividing line

World Vision delves into the question of sustainable economic growth and mining operations

This past spring, World Vision held a workshop on sustainable economic growth and mining operations, attended by 27 individuals from the mining sector, federal government, academia and civil society. The workshop focused on the long-term opportunities and challenges associated with mining, as well as the role of local governments in providing for sustainable economic development.  A workshop report was produced and will be made available online soon. In the interim, if you require copies of the report, please contact World Vision’s Onome Ako or Terry Gray.

dividing line

WORTH A LOOK

charityfocusImagine Canada’s CharityFocus: Is your organization making the most of this important transparency tool?

Canada’s charitable sector represents $79.1 billion or 7.8% of our GDP, creating approximately 2 million jobs, and engaging some 12 million volunteers (these and other Charity Fast Facts are available on the CharityFocus homepage). With the goal of making information on our sector easily accessible, this year Imagine Canada created the CharityFocus website, an important tool for finding information on Canada’s 85,000+ registered charities. This website takes information provided to the Canada Revenue Agency and presents it in an accessible format, allowing for comparison between charities and for organizations to upload additional information. A profile has already been created for every NGO in Canada, so if you have not already done so, verify and supplement the information already available on your organization’s online profile.

 

dividing line

Struggling for EffectivenessNew book: Struggling for Effectiveness: CIDA and Canadian Foreign Aid

University of Ottawa professor and longtime CCIC collaborator Stephen Brown has edited a new book that is about to be released. This book makes a comprehensive examination of CIDA’s efforts, exploring such topics as gender, security, advocacy, public engagement, policy, Canadian politics, relations with NGOs, and more. CCIC’s Denis Cote is among the many contributing authors to this important book. This book is due out soon and can be pre-ordered online.

 

dividing line

CSOs on the Road from Accra to BusanNew report: CSOs on the Road from Accra to Busan

In June, BetterAid, in cooperation with the Open Forum for Development Effectiveness, launched a report written by Brian Tomlinson of AidWatch Canada. This report sets out a narrative of global civil society and the development effectiveness agenda over the past four years and addresses the question: are political leaders from all sectors ready and open to continue, deepen and implement the commitments and directions they set at the 2011 Busan High Level Forum?

 

dividing line

Fair Trade Diamond Mining Story

Journalist Erin Collins recently prepared a special report for CBC’s The National on artisanal diamond mining in Sierra Leone and the work of Ottawa-based NGO Diamond Development Initiative to set up a Fair Trade project as follow-up to the work done on the blood diamond campaign.

dividing line

If you have an item for Flash, send it by e-mail to Jack Litster. Please note that Flash items should be no longer than one paragraph.

CCIC homepage

Bulletin électronique du CCCI: juillet-août 2012  
| désabonnez-vousversion web commentaires |

Flash banner image
www.ccic.ca
In this issue
Message de la présidente-directrice générale
Dernières nouvelles du secteur
Profil d’un membre
Les membres du CCCI en action
Vaut le coup d’œil

Événements
Le CCCI dans les médias
 

 

CCIC Presents

Le CCCI présente: Sam Worthington, président-directeur général d’InterAction
6 sept 2012
Hotel Delta (à confirmer) Montréal
RSVP  

Le CCCI présente: Les « règles» du lobbying
Atelier avec Sean Moore et Susan Manwaring
18 sept 2012 Toronto
25 sept 2012 Ottawa


Penser autrement les OMD
Conférence conjointe avec l’ACÉDI
21-22 sept 2012 Ottawa

Rencontre du Groupe d’orientation politique pour les Amériques
16-17 oct 2012 Ottawa
(lieu à déterminer)

Forum Afrique-Canada Colloque 2012
30–31 oct 2012 Ottawa
(lieu à déterminer)

Rencontre des membres de Montréal du Groupe de travail sur l'Asie-Pacifique
1 nov 2012 Montréal
(lieu à déterminer)

upcoming events

Assemblée mondiale de CIVICUS
3-7 sept 2012
Institut du Nouveau Monde (INM), Montréal

Nutrition on the Table: Micronutrients and Global Child Survival
Conférence organisée par la Fondation Aga Khan du Canada et l’Initiative sur les micronutriments
7 sept 2012 Ottawa

Compte-rendu communautaire sur SIDA 2012 et l’AGA de la CISD
Coalition Interagence SIDA et développement
18 sept 2012 Toronto

Santé internationale dans une économie mondiale en mouvance
Canadian Society for International Health
21-23 oct 2012
Ottawa

Powershift 2012
Conférence sur les changements climatiques et la justice environnementale
26-29 oct 2012
Université d’Ottawa, Musée canadien des civilisations

Formation pour les courtiers en partenariat
Génération de l’innovation sociale et Partnership Brokers Association
5-9 nov 2012
Toronto

Concours Verbe pour les étudiants – Organismes de charité
Concours jeunesse organisé par Imagine Canada
janvier 2012 à avril 2013

 

CCIC In The News

Canada funnelling money for medical supplies to Syrian opposition
14 août 2012 Lee Berthiaume, Vancouver Sun

Aid groups continue lobbying for funding as Fantino seeks ‘efficiencies’
16 juillet 2012
Mark Burgess,
The Lobby Monitor

Fantino wasn't on anyone's short list except PM's: aid rep
11 juillet 2012 Kristen Shane, Embassy Magazine

Bev Oda's controversial CIDA legacy
7 juillet 2012
The House, CBC

Bev Oda leaves office 'under a cloud of disgrace': International Co-operation head to step down as MP
4 juillet 2012
Jordan Press, Vancouver Sun

Bev Oda resignation gives Harper wiggle room for cabinet shuffle
3 juillet 2012
Jordan Press & Teresa Smith,
Montreal Gazette

Canadian aid changes confusing, OECD says: Reforms may hurt developing nations
20 juin 2012
Lee Berthiaume,
Ottawa Citizen

 

stay connected

CCIC blogCCIC twitterCCIC facebook
CCIC YouTubeCCIC flickrPE Hub

 

Contact us

Conseil canadien pour la coopération internationale

200-450 rue Rideau
Ottawa, ON
K1N 5Z4
613.241.7007

 


desabonnez-vous

Voici la nouvelle formule du bulletin électronique Flash! du CCCI. Hébergée sur le site Web du CCCI, elle comprend toujours les sections que vous en êtes venus à connaître (et à aimer!) ces six derniers mois. En prime : plus d’éléments visuels et une nouvelle section intitulée «Membres du CCCI en action», laquelle donne une vitrine à des initiatives importantes menées par les nombreux membres du CCCI.

MESSAGE DE LA PRÉSIDENTE-DIRECTRICE GÉNÉRALE

La possibilité d’écrire un nouveau chapitre dans les relations entre les OSC et l’ACDI?

Alors que je m’apprête à entamer la deuxième année de mon mandat au CCCI, en définissant une nouvelle voie pour notre organisation et ses membres, l’arrivée du nouveau ministre de la Coopération internationale, Julian Fantino, me semble une bonne occasion de tourner la page et d’établir une nouvelle relation avec l’ACDI.

Bien que les relations entre les OSC et l’ACDI aient connu des hauts et des bas au fil de ces 40 et plus dernières années, les rapports étaient généralement caractérisés par beaucoup de respect mutuel et d’interdépendance, et par cette impression de représenter les deux facettes d’une même réalité : le développement canadien. Sur la scène internationale, le Canada a toujours réussi à jouer dans la cour des grands, ce qu’on doit en grande partie aux visions convergentes du gouvernement canadien et de la société civile sur des questions et des valeurs fondamentales, notamment le respect des droits de la personne –ceux de la femme en particulier –, la consolidation de la paix, les OSC en tant qu’acteurs importants du développement et l’environnement.

Lire la suite...

 

dividing line

DERNIÈRES NOUVELLES DU SECTEUR

Réunion finale du Groupe de travail sur l’efficacité de l’aide

Le 1er juillet, le Partenariat mondial pour une coopération efficace au service du développement a officiellement remplacé le Groupe de travail sur l’efficacité de l’aide, l’entité qui a mené les processus des forums de haut niveau se rapportant à la Déclaration de Paris, au Programme d’action d’Accra et au Partenariat de Busan pour une coopération efficace au service du développement. Lire la suite...

 

dividing line

Consultations nationales sur la future plateforme des OSC pour l’efficacité du développement

Maintenant que le Partenariat mondial pour une coopération efficace au service du développement vient de remplacer le Groupe de travail sur l’efficacité de l’aide (voir plus haut), la société civile réfléchit elle aussi à son orientation et aux buts et objectifs qu’elle souhaite atteindre d’ici la prochaine réunion du Partenariat, de même qu’à l’adoption d’une structure de gouvernance qui soit légère au niveau internationale et repose plus largement sur le niveau national (« Global light and country heavy »). Lire la suite...

 

dividing line

Création du Groupe de travail sur les communications du CCCI pour redéfinir le discours du secteur

Plus de 15 organisations membres du CCCI se sont jointes au nouveau Groupe de travail sur les communications du CCCI, qui a tenu sa première réunion en juillet. Au vu des relations changeantes entre les acteurs du développement établis et émergents et du besoin d’améliorer les communications du secteur à l’intention du public canadien, ce groupe a été mis sur pied avec un mandat précis : redéfinir notre discours et notre message. Lire la suite...

 

dividing line

Annonce de l’ACDI : financement supplémentaire pour l’Afghanistan et le Sahel

Le mois dernier, l’ACDI a annoncé une contribution supplémentaire de 227 millions de dollars à l’aide au développement en Afghanistan; ce financement, échelonné de 2014 à 2017, s’ajoute aux 300 millions réservés de 2011 à 2014. Plus tôt ce mois-ci, l’ACDI a aussi annoncé le lancement du fonds de contrepartie en réponse à la crise au Sahel, dans le cadre duquel elle égale les dons versés par les Canadiens aux sociétés de bienfaisance enregistrées du pays qui luttent contre la crise dans la région du Sahel, en Afrique. Lire la suite...

 

dividing line

Encore de l’information sur Rio+20…

Voilà déjà deux mois qu’a eu lieu la conférence Rio+20. Pour la remettre en contexte, Kate Higgins, de l’Institut Nord-Sud, a écrit le  blogue Rio+20 in a Changing World. Le Forum sur l’efficacité du développement des OSC a quant à lui compilé des déclarations et réactions de la société civile, sans compter que le site Web Agricultural Transition présente de nombreuses études de cas sur des questions d’alimentation et d’agriculture abordées lors de la conférence. Lire la suite...

 

dividing line

Annonce du secrétaire général de l’ONU : Panel de haut niveau sur l’après-2015

Le secrétaire général de l’ONU, Ban Ki-Moon, a annoncé le nom des coprésidents et la composition du Panel de haut niveau, qui vise à établir le programme de développement mondial pour l’ère post-2015, date à laquelle les objectifs du Millénaire pour le développement ne seront plus en vigueur. Le président indonésien Susilo Bambang Yudhoyono, la présidente libérienne Ellen Johnson Sirleaf et le premier ministre britannique David Cameron coprésideront le Groupe, en collaboration avec 23 autres représentants. Lire la suite...

 

dividing line

PROFIL D'UN MEMBRE

Cette section du bulletin éléctronique revient en septembre!

dividing line

LES MEMBRES DU CCCI EN ACTION

Déception pour la coalition Contrôlez les armes : le Traité sur le commerce des armes se solde par un échec

À l’ONU, le mois de juillet a été marqué par de longues négociations pour créer le Traité sur le commerce des armes en vue de réglementer les transferts internationaux d’armes conventionnelles. Les pourparlers n’ont pas abouti à une entente, comme l’explique Kenneth Epps, du Project Ploughshares (coprésident de la coalition Contrôlez les armes), dans une lettre d’opinion récemment publiée dans le Globe and Mail CLes membres du CCCI Amnistie Internationale, Développement et Paix, Oxfam Canada, Oxfam Québec et Project Ploughshares font partie des quelque 100 membres de la coalition internationale Contrôlez les armes.

dividing line

Étude de la croissance économique durable et des opérations minières par Vision mondiale

Le printemps dernier, Vision mondiale a tenu un atelier sur la croissance économique durable et les opérations minières, auquel ont participé 27 intervenants du secteur minier, du gouvernement fédéral, des milieux universitaires et de la société civile. Cet atelier, qui mettait l’accent sur les possibilités et difficultés à long terme associées au secteur minier et sur le rôle des gouvernements locaux dans la croissance économique durable, a donné lieu à un rapport qui sera bientôt disponible en ligne. Entre-temps, veuillez communiquer avec Onome Ako ou Terry Gray de Vision mondiale si vous souhaitez obtenir une copie du rapport.

dividing line

VAUT LE COUP DE L'OEIL

charityfocusPortail DonAction d’Imagine Canada: votre organisation tire-t-elle le meilleur parti de cet important outil de transparence?

Le secteur canadien de la bienfaisance représente 79,1 milliards de dollars, soit 7,8 % de notre PIB; on lui attribue la création d’environ 2 millions d’emplois et la mobilisation de quelque 12 millions de bénévoles (ces chiffres et d’autres faits intéressants sont disponibles sur la page d’accueil du Portail DonAction). C’est dans le but de faciliter l’accès à l’information sur notre secteur qu’Imagine Canada a créé le Portail DonAction cette année. Il s’agit d’un outil fort utile pour trouver des renseignements sur les 85 000 organismes de bienfaisance enregistrés du Canada. Ce site présente les données fournies à l’Agence du revenu du Canada dans un format convivial; ainsi, on peut comparer les organismes de bienfaisance, et les organisations sont en mesure de téléverser de l’information supplémentaire. Un profil a été créé pour chaque organisation non gouvernementale (ONG) canadienne : si ce n’est pas déjà fait, vérifiez l’information sur votre profil en ligne et enrichissez-la.

 

dividing line

Struggling for EffectivenessNouveau livre : Struggling for Effectiveness: CIDA and Canadian Foreign Aid

Stephen Brown, professeur de l’Université d’Ottawa et collaborateur de longue date du CCCI, a préparé un nouveau livre qui sera publié sous peu. Cet ouvrage examine en profondeur les efforts de l’ACDI, en explorant des sujets comme le genre, la sécurité, la défense des droits, l’engagement du public, les politiques, les enjeux politiques canadiens, les relations avec les ONG, et bien plus encore. Denis Côté, du CCCI, fait partie des nombreux auteurs qui ont contribué à ce projet d’envergure. Vous pouvez réserver ce livre en passant une précommande en ligne.

 

dividing line

CSOs on the Road from Accra to BusanNouveau rapport : CSOs on the Road from Accra to Busan

Le 27 juin, BetterAid, en collaboration avec le Forum sur l’efficacité du développement des OSC, a présenté un rapport rédigé par Brian Tomlinson d’AidWatch Canada. Ce rapport retrace l’histoire de la société civile mondiale et du programme d’efficacité du développement au cours des quatre dernières années. Il répond aussi à la question suivante : tous secteurs confondus, les dirigeants politiques sont-ils prêts et ouverts à maintenir, à approfondir et à concrétiser les engagements et les lignes directrices qu’ils ont déterminés en 2011 lors du Forum de haut niveau de Busan?

 

dividing line

Reportage sur l’extraction de diamants équitables

La journaliste Erin Collins a récemment préparé un reportage spécial pour l’émission The National de CBC. Ce reportage traitait de l’extraction artisanale de diamants au Sierra Leone et du travail de l’ONG d’Ottawa Diamond Development Initiative pour élaborer un projet de commerce équitable dans la foulée de la campagne sur les diamants de sang.

dividing line

Pour faire publier un texte, prière de l’envoyer à Jack Litster. À noter que les articles destinés au Flash ne doivent pas avoir plus de 150 mots.

CCIC homepage