If you are having trouble viewing this email, click here.

 

CCIC - Flash
A monthly electronic bulletin www.ccic.ca

Message from the President-CEO
October 26, 2011

 

 

CCIC staff news: Arrivals and Departures

 

Dear CCIC members and friends,

Though Flash is rarely used to communicate staff news to the broader membership, as we have become a much leaner secretariat and more member-led organization, it is important to share news about our evolving team as our transition and consolidation phase advances. This month, we have a big hello and a huge good-bye. I am pleased to announce that Chantal Havard has now joined CCIC as the Government Relations and Communications Officer. Chantal brings a strong combination of communication, member and public engagement skills, both in the CSO and public sectors. She has worked most recently at CIDA in Communications, and has extensive CSO experience working and volunteering with organizations including Équiterre, Canadian Crossroads International, Transfair Canada (now Fairtrade Canada), and CECI. Please join me in welcoming Chantal to the CCIC team.


We are also saying goodbye to our dear colleague, and cherished member of our community, Gauri Sreenivasan, who is leaving her position as CCIC’s Policy Coordinator at the end of this month. Gauri has worked in CCIC’s policy team in various positions since 1996. Gauri brought leadership to the development of CCIC’s Global Economic Justice Program and has worked with the membership on this and many other key files. In November, Gauri will be starting a new (and no doubt illustrious) chapter in her career as the Deputy Director (Policy) at the New Democratic Party. We will miss Gauri more than we can express, but we are delighted that she will be helping to shape policy around key issues close to our sector’s heart. We are planning to celebrate her years with us (more news on this soon!), but for now join me in saying au revoir to our good friend Gauri!


In solidarity, Julia Sánchez

 

flash 8

Headlines

 

1. How Canada could reach 0.7% of GNI for ODA

 

This month the Norwegian government committed US$4.7 billion – or 1 percent of GNI – towards aid, prioritizing climate change and humanitarian assistance. CCIC estimates that the Canadian Government would need to increase the International Assistance Envelope by $680 million in 2012-2013 to be on track to achieve 0.7 percent of Gross National Income (GNI) by 2022-2023. In late September, CCIC presented its Pre-Budget backgrounder to the Finance Committee. Here are CCIC’s three key demands:

1) Create a long-term plan for the future growth of Canadian aid;
2) Enhance commitments to climate change financing;
3) Support the first replenishment of the Global Partnership for Education.

flash 7

2. Canadian civil society sharing knowledge to better deal with CIDA’s unsettling call for proposals process

 

There is frustration and anxiety around the unacceptable delays to the various calls for proposals that CIDA initiated late last year and in the spring of 2011. At best, the new CIDA system could have generated independent and objective assessment of proposals, clearer timelines and greater predictability. But by not functioning effectively, this system is creating delays and disruption in project implementation, uncertainty among partners in developing countries and the potential of lay-offs. Beyond raising these issues with senior management at CIDA, CCIC is working in collaboration with the Provincial and Regional Councils using the following methods:

1) Providing updates on CCIC’s website with information on the calls for proposals process;
2) Conducting a membership survey to map the outcomes of the various calls for proposals and identify improvements to the system that can be shared with CIDA;
3) Preparing factsheets and key messages on how the current situation works against effective development. These could be used by organizations with their own constituencies, MPs, media etc.

flash 6

3. Upcoming opportunity for CIDA to learn from OECD peers

 

On November 14-18, the OECD’s Development Assistance Committee (DAC) will be coming to Canada to begin CIDA’s next Peer Review. The purpose of the Peer Review is to

1) Help CIDA understand where it could improve its development strategy and structures so that it can increase the effectiveness of its investment; and
2) Identify and share good practice in development policy and strategy.

As with Canada’s 2007 DAC Peer Review,  the 2012 Review will focus on CIDA’s strategic orientations, policy coherence for development, aid volume, channels and allocations, organization and management, aid effectiveness and humanitarian assistance. A report on the findings will be published in June 2012. It is still unclear whether the process will include meeting with civil society, although this is usually a standard part of the process. CCIC will make a submission to the Review. If your organization is interested in the Peer Review process or wishes to submit documentation, please coordinate with Fraser Reilly-King.

 

flash 6

4. Better Aid for the World We Want!

 

October 17 is International Day for the Eradication of Poverty. On this day CSOs around the world launched the global campaign “Better Aid for the World We Want”, pushing for firm political commitments at the High Level Forum on Aid Effectiveness in Busan, South Korea, in late November. Campaign events, led by the Global Call to Action against Poverty, in cooperation with the BetterAid platform and the Open Forum, are taking place in Uganda, Liberia, Ghana, Malawi, Cameroon, Sri Lanka, India, Argentina and Nicaragua. The public are encouraged to sign a petition asking governments to ensure that citizens’ voices are heard in development and aid decisions.

 

flash 5

5. Is Canada still committed to supporting education globally?

 

In early November, the Global Partnership for Education (formerly the “Education for All - Fast Track Initiative) is holding its first ever replenishment campaign with a view to reinvigorating political and financial support for education. The GPE, which currently supports education in 46 developing countries, works to ensure that all children receive quality basic education.  Between now and 2014, the GPE anticipates needing $2.5 billion to address education needs in just over 60 countries.

Canada was a founding member of the GPE and maintains strong commitments to education both bilaterally and multilaterally. Last month, in the Finance Committee’s pre-budget consultation, CCIC asked for Canada to increase its contribution to the GPE to $125 million over the next three years, which represents Canada’s “fair share”.

flash 4

Upcoming Events

 

6. Public meetings featuring Burmese youth leaders

 

A partnership between CUPE, Canadian Friends of Burma and CUSO-VSO is sponsoring a visit to Canada by two young Burmese leaders.  Mi Aie Son works with the Mon Youth Progressive Organization and Aung Naing Soe is the General Secretary of Nationalities Youth Forum.  They will be holding public meetings in three cities, seeking international solidarity and support for their human rights advocacy work. The meetings are to be held at the following times and locations.

October 25, 6:30 p.m., Ottawa Main Library (120 Metcalfe St., Ottawa)
October 26, 6:30 p.m., Ryerson University, Jorgenson Hall Centre Hub 152, (350 Victoria St., Toronto)
October 30, 2:00-4:00 p.m. CUSO-VSO office, (1460 Howe St., Vancouver)

flash 3

7. Lead up to Fourth High Level Forum on Aid Effectiveness in Busan: Opportunities to get involved

 

The Fourth High Level Forum on Aid Effectiveness (HLF-4) in Busan, South Korea will take place from November 29 to December 1, 2011. Members of BetterAid gathered in Paris at the beginning of October for the second-last meeting of the Working Party on Aid Effectiveness (WP-Eff) before Busan.  Ahead of the meeting, BetterAid issued a statement in response to the Second Busan Outcome Document (BOD), flagging both a number of ongoing concerns, but noting a number of improvements from the initial draft. UN Secretary General Ban Ki-Moon will be attending HLF-4, as well as US Secretary of State Clinton and one hundred other Ministers. CCIC is organizing a pre-Busan meeting with civil society and CIDA officials in Ottawa on the morning of November 18. Please contact Jack Litster before November 11 to confirm your participation in the event.

 

flash 2

Worth Looking At

 

8. The Report to Parliament on the ODA Accountability Act: Third time lucky?

 

In early October, the government released its Third Report to Parliament on the Official Development Assistance Accountability Act, meeting one of the technical requirements of the Act by providing a report on annual aid disbursements across 13 Departments. As a whole-of-government exercise, the Report is generally a success. It also provides timely and more detailed information on funding allocations at different thematic, country, programmatic and institutional levels.  However, as with previous years, the Report lacks depth. The report falls short of explaining how the three criteria of the Act shape and inform the Departments’ respective thematic priorities, their short, medium and long-term objectives, and corresponding policies and programs – in particular from the three Departments disbursing the majority of ODA (CIDA, Finance and DFAIT). CCIC has produced a Briefing Note that highlights some key aspects of this Third Report, draws out some funding trends, and outlines recommendations.

 

flash 2

9. New report by CHF links climate change adaptation and food security in world’s poorest countries

 

This concise report, entitled Saving Crops, Saving Lives: The Need for More Aggressive Support to Climate Change Adaptationsheds new light on the challenges of climate change facing farmers in developing countries and how donors around the world can help them to adapt. It finds that while investment in adaptation efforts yield a double dividend in protecting harvests and securing the incomes of some of the world's poorest people, failure to plan properly can equally put recent development successes in jeopardy. The report also argues that while curbing emissions is important, progress on global agreements has been slow and farmers need help urgently with environmental changes they are seeing in their fields.  For more information contact Michael Jones.

 

flash 2

10. Explore these new online resources from the Asia-Pacific Working Group

 

The Asia-Pacific Working Group participated in the organization of a series of events during the month of September and recently made resources related to these events available on its webpage:

  • A presentation from the Ottawa public forum on Farming, Forests and Fuel – Southern Perspectives on Climate Change
  • A presentation from the Montreal public forum on Land Grabbing in Asia : A Case Study from the Philippines
  • The audio recording of the keynote presentation of Maria Theresa Nera-Lauron at the APWG 2011 Symposium on Climate Change and Agriculture in the Asia-Pacific Region

flash 2

 

11. Reality of Aid report: Increase aid effectiveness by keeping promises

 

Aid could make a real difference for people who need it most if promises are made and kept by development actors, reveals a new report from the Reality of Aid Network, based on evidence from 32 countries around the world. The report “Democratic Ownership and Development Effectiveness: Civil Society Perspectives on Progress since Paris”, was launched on October 5. Long-time (former) CCIC staff member Brian Tomlinson was content editor of this report. 


flash 1

If you have an item for Flash, send it by e-mail to Jack Litster. Please note that Flash items should be no longer than one paragraph.

 

TOP

All Rights Reserved 2009 Canadian Council for International Co-operation | info@ccic.ca

If you wish to unsubscribe, click here.

Si vous ne pouvez voir ce courriel, cliquez ici.

 

CCCI - Flash
Bulletin électronique mensuel www.ccic.ca

Message de la présidente-directrice générale
Le 26 octobre 2011

Nouvelles des employés du CCCI : arrivées et départs

Chers membres et amis du CCCI,

Flash sert rarement à communiquer des nouvelles des employés à l’ensemble des membres. Toutefois, puisque la taille de notre secrétariat a été considérablement réduite et que la direction de notre organisation dépend aujourd’hui davantage de ses membres, il devient important de donner des nouvelles de notre équipe, qui évolue au fil de nos phases de transition et de consolidation. Ce mois-ci, nous saluons donc une arrivée importante et annonçons un grand départ. D’abord, je suis heureuse d’annoncer que Chantal Havard se joint au CCCI à titre d’agente de communication et de relations avec le gouvernement. Chantal détient  des compétences solides en matière de communication et de mobilisation des membres et du public, et ce, à la fois dans les OSC et le secteur public. Plus récemment, elle a œuvré à l’ACDI dans le domaine des communications. Elle a en outre acquis une expérience considérable au sein des OSC en travaillant et en se portant bénévole pour des organisations comme Équiterre,  Carrefour canadien international, TransFair Canada (désormais Fairtrade Canada) et le CECI. Joignez vos voix à la mienne afin de souhaiter la bienvenue à Chantal dans l’équipe du CCCI.

Nous disons également au revoir à une collègue chère et à un membre éminent de notre communauté, Gauri Sreenivasan, qui quittera son poste de coordonnatrice des politiques du CCCI à la fin du mois d’octobre. Depuis 1996, Gauri a occupé différents postes au sein de l’équipe orientation politique du CCCI. Elle a dirigé l’élaboration du programme de justice économique mondiale, et a su travailler de concert avec les membres dans d’autres dossiers importants. En novembre, Gauri entamera un nouveau (et assurément illustre) chapitre de sa carrière en tant que directrice adjointe aux politiques pour le Nouveau parti démocratique. Gauri nous manquera terriblement, mais nous sommes ravis de savoir qu’elle contribuera à l’élaboration de politiques sur des problématiques qui sont importantes pour notre secteur. Nous prévoyons souligner en grand ses années parmi nous (des nouvelles suivront bientôt!), mais pour l’instant, disons tous  au revoir à notre grande amie Gauri!

Solidairement vôtre, Julia Sánchez

flash 8Dernières nouvelles

1. Comment le Canada pourrait consacrer 0,7 % du RNB à l’APD

Ce mois-ci, la Norvège a alloué 4,7 milliards $US – soit 1 % de son revenu national brut (RNB) – à l’APD, en mettant l’accent sur la lutte contre les changements climatiques et l’assistance humanitaire. Le CCCI estime que le gouvernement canadien devra ajouter 680 millions à l’enveloppe d’aide internationale d’ici 2012-2013 pour être en voie d’y consacrer 0,7 % de son RNB d’ici 2022-2023. À la fin de septembre, le CCCI a présenté son document d’information pré -budgétaire au Comité des finances. Voici les trois demandes principales de notre organisation :

1) la création d’un plan assurant la croissance à long terme de l’aide internationale canadienne;

2) un financement bonifié pour la lutte contre les changements climatiques;

3) une contribution à la première reconstitution des ressources du Partenariat mondial pour l’éducation.

flash 7

2. Partage des connaissances de la société civile canadienne pour faciliter l’adaptation au processus déstabilisant d’appel de propositions de l’ACDI

Les délais inacceptables entourant les différents appels de propositions mis sur pied par l’ACDI à la fin de l’an dernier et au printemps 2011 créent de la frustration et de l’anxiété. Dans un monde idéal, le nouveau système de l’ACDI aurait donné lieu à une évaluation indépendante et objective des propositions, à des échéanciers plus précis et à une plus grande prévisibilité. Vu son manque d’efficacité, ce système entraîne toutefois des délais et des interruptions dans la réalisation des projets et de l’incertitude chez nos partenaires des pays en développement, en plus de faire planer la possibilité de mises à pied. S’il discute de ces problèmes avec la haute direction de l’ACDI, le CCCI travaille aussi de concert avec les conseils provinciaux et régionaux, en recourant aux mesures suivantes :

1) la publication sur le site web du CCCI de renseignements à jour sur le processus d’appel de propositions;

2) la conduite d’un sondage auprès des membres afin de connaître l’issue des différents appels de propositions et de déterminer quelles améliorations au système pourraient être proposées à l’ACDI;

3) l’élaboration de fiches d’information et de messages clés expliquant en quoi la situation actuelle nuit à l’efficacité du développement. Les organisations pourraient utiliser ces documents pour sensibiliser leurs propres membres, leurs députés et les médias, notamment.

 

flash 6

3. Bientôt une occasion pour l’ACDI d’apprendre de ses pairs de l’OCDE

Du 14 au 18 novembre, le Comité d’aide au développement (CAD) de l’Organisation de coopération et de développement économique (OCDE) sera au Canada afin d’entamer le prochain examen par les pairs de l’ACDI, qui a pour but :

1) de proposer à l’ACDI des améliorations à ses stratégies et structures de développement qui auraient pour effet d’accroître l’efficacité de son investissement;

2) de repérer et de partager les bonnes pratiques en matière de politiques et de stratégies de développement.

Tout comme pour l’examen par les pairs du Canada de 2007, celui de 2012 mettra l’accent sur les orientations stratégiques de l’ACDI, la cohérence de ses politiques au service du développement, le volume, les canaux d’acheminement et la répartition de l’aide, son organisation et sa gestion, son efficacité ainsi que l’aide humanitaire. Un rapport portant sur les conclusions sera publié en juin 2012. Nous ne savons pas encore si la société civile sera consultée au cours du processus, mais son point de vue y est normalement pris en compte. Le CCCI présentera ses observations aux responsables de l’examen. Si votre organisation souhaite prendre part au processus ou soumettre de la documentation, veuillez communiquer avec Fraser Reilly-King.

flash 6

4. Une aide améliorée pour créer le monde que nous voulons!

Le 17 octobre dernier avait lieu la Journée internationale pour l’élimination de la pauvreté. Pour l’occasion, des OSC d’un bout à l’autre de la planète ont lancé la campagne mondiale Better Aid for the World We Want, soit un appel à des engagements politiques fermes dans le cadre du Forum de haut niveau sur l’efficacité de l’aide qui se tiendra à Busan, en Corée du Sud, à la fin de novembre. Des événements en lien avec la campagne, qui est menée par Action mondiale contre la pauvreté de concert avec la plateforme BetterAid et le Forum ouvert, se déroulent en Ouganda, au Liberia, au Ghana, au Malawi, au Cameroun, au Sri Lanka, en Inde, en Argentine et au Nicaragua. Le public est encouragé à signer une pétition enjoignant les gouvernements à veiller à ce que les citoyens aient voix au chapitre dans les décisions en matière de développement et d’aide.


flash 5

5. Le Canada appuie-t-il toujours l’éducation dans le monde?

Au début de novembre, le Partenariat mondial pour l’éducation (anciennement  « Education for All – Fast Track Initiative ») mènera sa toute première campagne de reconstitution des ressources en vue de donner un nouvel élan au soutien politique et financier à l’éducation. Le Partenariat, qui appuie actuellement l’éducation dans 46 pays en développement et veille à ce que tous les enfants reçoivent une formation de base de qualité, estime qu’il lui faudra 2,5 milliards $ jusqu’en 2014 pour pourvoir aux besoins éducatifs d’un peu plus de 60 pays.

Le Canada est un membre fondateur du Partenariat et maintient un engagement ferme envers l’éducation, aux niveaux  bilatéral et multilatéral. Le mois dernier, dans la consultation pré-budgétaire du Comité des finances, le CCCI a demandé au Canada de porter sa contribution au Partenariat à 125 millions $ au cours des trois prochaines années. Un tel montant représenterait la « juste part » du pays.

 

flash 4

Évènements à venir

 

6. Rencontres publiques avec des jeunes activistes de la Birmanie

 

Un partenariat formé du SCFP, des Amis canadiens de la Birmanie et de CUSO-VSO parraine la visite au Canada de deux jeunes activistes birmans. Mi Aie Son œuvre au sein de la Mon Youth Progressive Organization, et Aung Naing Soe agit à titre de secrétaire général du Nationalities Youth Forum. Ils animeront des rencontres publiques dans trois villes en vue de solliciter le soutien et la solidarité de la communauté internationale dans le cadre de leurs efforts pour la défense des droits de la personne. Voici l’horaire et l’emplacement des rencontres :

Le 25 octobre à 18 h 30 à la bibliothèque centrale d’Ottawa (120, rue Metcalfe, Ottawa)

Le 26 octobre à 18 h 30 à l’Université Ryerson, Jorgenson Hall, Centre Hub 152 (350, rue Victoria, Toronto)

Le 30 octobre de 14 h à 16 h, bureaux de CUSO-VSO (1460, rue Howe, Vancouver)

flash 3

7. Compte à rebours du Quatrième Forum de haut niveau sur l’efficacité de l’aide à Busan : possibilités de participation

 

Le Quatrième Forum de haut niveau sur l’efficacité de l’aide aura lieu du 29 novembre au 1er décembre 2011 à Busan, en Corée du Sud. Des membres de BetterAid se sont réunis à Paris, au début d’octobre, pour participer à l’avant-dernière réunion du Groupe de travail sur l’efficacité de l’aide avant le forum de Busan. Avant cette réunion, BetterAid a publié, en réponse à la seconde version du document final de Busan, une déclaration signalant une série de préoccupations constantes, mais soulignant également des améliorations par rapport à la première ébauche. Ban Ki-moon, le Secrétaire général de l’ONU, sera présent au Forum, tout comme Hillary Clinton, la secrétaire d’État des États-Unis, et quelque cent autres ministres. Quant au CCCI, il organise à Ottawa, le matin du 18 novembre, une rencontre préparatoire rassemblant des représentants de la société civile et de l’ACDI. Veuillez confirmer votre participation à l’événement en communiquant avec Jack Litster avant le 11 novembre.

 

flash 2

Vaut le coup d'oeil

8. Le rapport au Parlement concernant la Loi sur la responsabilité en matière d’aide publique au développement: la troisième fois sera-t-elle la bonne?

 

Au début d’octobre, le gouvernement a publié son troisième rapport au Parlement sur l'aide publique au développement, répondant ainsi à l’une des exigences techniques de la loi en produisant un rapport sur les décaissements annuels en matière d’aide dans 13 ministères. En tant qu’exercice pangouvernemental, le rapport est généralement un succès. Il fournit en outre des renseignements à jour et détaillés sur les fonds accordés en fonction des thématiques, des programmes, des bénéficiaires et des institutions. Toutefois, comme dans le cas des années précédentes, le rapport manque de profondeur. On omet d’y expliquer en quoi les trois critères de la loi façonnent et éclairent les priorités thématiques des ministères, leurs objectifs à court, moyen et long terme ainsi que les politiques et programmes qui s’y rattachent – ce manque pose particulièrement problème dans le cas des trois ministères fournissant la majorité de l’APD (ACDI, Finances et MAECI). Dans une note d’information, le CCCI fait ressortir certains aspects fondamentaux de ce troisième rapport, dégage des tendances en matière de financement et émet des recommandations.

flash 1

 

9. Un nouveau rapport de CHF établit un lien entre l’adaptation aux changements climatiques et la sécurité alimentaire dans les pays les plus pauvres du monde

 

Ce rapport concis, intitulé Saving Crops, Saving Lives: The Need for More Aggressive Support to Climate Change Adaptation,jette un nouvel éclairage sur les défis que posent les changements climatiques aux fermiers des pays en développement, et sur la façon dont les donateurs du monde entier pourraient les aider à s’adapter. Le rapport révèle en fait que si l’investissement dans les mesures d’adaptation rapporte doublement en permettant de protéger les récoltes et d’assurer le revenu de certaines des personnes les plus pauvres du monde, une planification déficiente peut toutefois compromettre les récentes réussites en matière de développement. En outre, le rapport reconnaît l’importance de la réduction des émissions, mais fait également état de la lenteur des progrès en matière d’accords internationaux, et souligne le besoin d’aide criant des fermiers qui voient l’effet des changements environnementaux sur leurs terres. Pour plus de renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec Michael Jones.

flash 1

 

10. Nouvelles ressources en ligne du Groupe de travail de l’Asie-Pacifique

 

Le Groupe de travail de l’Asie-Pacifique a pris part à l’organisation d’une série d’événements en septembre et a récemment publié les ressources qui s’y rattachent sur ses pages Web :

  • Agriculture, forêts et carburant – Perspectives du Sud sur les changements climatiques, une présentation tirée du forum public d’Ottawa;
  • Accaparement des terres en Asie : Une étude de cas des Philippines, une présentation tirée du forum public de Montréal;
  • l’enregistrement audio de Changements climatiques et agriculture en Asie-Pacifique, allocution principale prononcée par Maria Theresa Nera-Lauron lors du symposium 2011 du GTAP.

flash 1

 

11. Rapport du réseau du Bilan de l’aide : améliorer l’efficacité de l’aide en tenant parole

 

L’aide pourrait réellement changer la vie de ceux qui en ont besoin si les acteurs du développement respectaient leurs promesses, selon un nouveau rapport du Réseau du bilan de l’aide, qui s’appuie sur des données provenant de 32 pays situés d’un bout à l’autre du monde. Ce rapport, intitulé Democratic Ownership and Development Effectiveness: Civil Society Perspectives on Progress since Paris, a été publié le 5 octobre. Brian Tomlinson, ancien membre de l'équipe politique de longue date du CCCI, a contribué au rapport en tant qu’éditeur du contenu.

 

flash 1

Pour faire publier un texte, prière de l’envoyer à Jack Litster. À noter que les articles destinés au Flash ne doivent pas avoir plus d’un paragraphe.


 

Tous droits réservés © 2009 Conseil canadien pour la coopération internationale | info@ccic.ca

Si vous souhaitez vous désabonner, cliquez ici.