CCCI - Flash
Spring 2009 www.ccic.ca
PRINT PDF

Economic and Financial Crisis

 

Gerry Barr

Editorial: The Casino Economy

 

By Gerry Barr

When the world’s “casino economy” collapses it’s the developing world that suffers most. Transparency, global regulation and including the voice and priorities of the poor are all part of the answer to the problems posed by global financial collapse according to four writers in this edition of e-Au Courant.

 

» Read more


One World. Two Tracks. Multiple Crises

 

Fraser Reilly-King

By Fraser Reilly-King
Reilly-King of the Halifax Initiative says that the impacts of the financial crisis are felt by all, but felt harder by some. The initial assumption that many developing countries would be shielded from the impact so the crisis was wrong. It is the most impoverished countries and groups who are suffering the most.


 

» Read more

Pirate Bankers and the Shadow Economy

 

Peter Gillespie

By Peter Gillespie
Gillespie, of Inter Pares, states that each year hundreds of billions of dollars are illegally transferred out of developing countries. Tragically, this illegal capital flight and thefts from the treasuries of poor countries has resulted in the deaths of thousands, perhaps tens of thousands of vulnerable people.


 

» Read more

Economic Meltdown: This Crisis Has a Woman’s Face

 

Amelita King Dejardin

By Amelita King Dejardin
King Dejardin, of the International Labour Organization, says what is so far lacking from many of the debates on how countries should respond to the economic crisis is the realizations that the crisis has a gender bias. In Asia, working women will be affected more severely, and differently, from their male counterparts.


 

» Read more

Poverty, Human Rights and the Global Economic Crisis: What should civil society be doing?

 

Susan George
By Susan George
Susan George, Fellow and President of the Board of the Transnational Institute, was in Ottawa for CCIC’s Annual General Meeting in May. When speaking about poverty and the global economic crisis she said “Once more, the people least responsible for the crisis and least able to cope with its effects are going to be the most affected.”

 

» Watch video

 
 
     
  Access the Archives  
 

Credits & Captions

 

Tax Justice Photo

© Paul Lachine

 

 

 

 

 

e-AU COURANT is published by the Canadian Council for International Co-operation (CCIC).
The Council is a coalition of about 100 Canadian nonprofit organizations working globally to achieve sustainable human development. CCIC seeks to end global poverty and to promote social justice and human dignity for all.

CCIC receives financial support from the Government of Canada through the Canadian International Development Agency (CIDA).

Articles may be reprinted with prior permission of the editor.

Editor:

Katia Gianneschi

 

Editorial Board:
Brian Tomlinson

Michael Stephens

 

Canadian Council for International Co-operation

1 Nicholas Street, Suite 300,

Ottawa, ON K1N 7B7 Canada

Tel: 613-241-7007

Fax: 613-241-5302

E-mail: katiag@ccic.ca

Website: www.ccic.ca

    TOP  
All Rights Reserved © 2009 Canadian Council for International Co-operation | info@ccic-ccci.ca

CCCI - Flash
Printemps 2009 www.ccic.ca
IMPRIMER PDF

Crise économique et financière

 

Gerry Barr

Éditorial ‑ L’économie aléatoire

 

Par Gerry Barr

Lorsque l’économie planétaire s’effondre, ce sont les pays en développement qui en souffrent le plus. La transparence et une règlementation mondiale tenant compte des besoins exprimés par les plus démunis sont des conditions sine qua non au dénouement d’une crise engendrée par la débâcle du système financier mondial. En peu de mots, voilà ce que pensent les quatre auteurs du présent numéro de

e-Au Courant.

 

» En savoir plus


Un monde. Deux voies. Plusieurs crises.

 

Fraser Reilly-King

Par Fraser Reilly-King
Reilly-King, de l’Initiative d’Halifax, affirme que la débâcle financière touche tout le monde, mais que certains en sentent davantage les contrecoups. Contrairement à ce que l’on a cru, aucun des pays en développement n’a été en mesure d’éviter la crise. Qui plus est, ce sont les populations pauvres de la planète qui en souffrent le plus.

 

» En savoir plus

La piraterie financière et l’économie parallèle

 

Peter Gillespie

Par Peter Gillespie
Gillespie, de Inter Pares, déclare que chaque année, des centaines de milliards de dollars sont transférés illégalement hors des pays en développement. Les fuites de capitaux et le pillage du Trésor public des pays pauvres ont eu des conséquences tragiques et seraient même responsables de la mort de milliers voir de dizaines de milliers de citoyens vulnérables ?

 

» En savoir plus

Effondrement économique - Le visage féminin de la crise

 

Amelita King Dejardin

Par Amelita King Dejardin
King Dejardin, de l’Organisation internationale du travail, avance que bon nombre des débats sur les stratégies devant permettre aux pays de parer à la crise économique ne tiennent pas compte du fait que celle-ci frappe davantage les femmes. En Asie, par exemple, on prévoit que les femmes au travail seront touchées différemment et plus durement que leurs homologues masculins.

 

» En savoir plus

Les gestes que la société civile devrait poser pour abolir la pauvreté, faire respecter les droits de la personne et contrer les effets de la crise économique mondiale

 

Susan George

Par Susan George
Susan George, chercheure, présidente du conseil d’administration du Transnational Institute (TNI) a participé à l’assemblée générale annuelle du CCCI de mai dernier, à Ottawa. Au sujet de l’incidence de la crise économique mondiale sur la pauvreté, elle a déclaré : « Encore une fois, ce sont les populations les plus démunies qui feront les frais de la crise, malgré qu’elles n’en soient pas responsables ».

 

» Visionner la vidéo

 
 
     
  Accéder aux archives  
 

Références photographiques & légendes

 

Photo Justice fiscale

© Paul Lachine

 

 

 

 

 

e-AU COURANT est publié par le Conseil canadien pour la coopération internationale (CCCI).
Le Conseil est une coalition d’environ 100 organisations canadiennes sans but lucratif œuvrant à l’échelle internationale pour un développement humain viable. Le CCCI cherche à mettre fin à la pauvreté dans le monde et à promouvoir la justice sociale et la dignité humaine pour tous.

Le Conseil reçoit un appui financier du gouvernement du Canada par l’entremise de l’Agence canadienne de développement international (ACDI).

Les articles peuvent être reproduits avec la permission de la rédactrice.

Rédactrice :
Katia Gianneschi

 

Comité éditorial :

Brian Tomlinson

Michael Stephens

 

Conseil canadien pour la coopération internationale

1, rue Nicholas, 3e étage,

Ottawa (Ontario) K1N 7B7

Canada

Tél. : 613-241-7007

Téléc. : 613-241-5302

Courriel : katiag@ccic.ca

Site web : www.ccic.ca

    HAUT  
Tous droits réservés © 2009 Conseil canadien pour la coopération internationale | info@ccic-ccci.ca