CCCI - Flash
Spring 2009 www.ccic.ca
PRINT PDF

Economic and Financial Crisis

 

Pirate Bankers and the Shadow Economy
By Peter Gillespie

 

Each year, hundreds of billions of dollars are illegally transferred out of developing countries. This massive loss of domestic resources, which is far greater than aid inflows, maintains poverty, contributes to inequality, and deprives developing countries of the ability to invest in essential public goods and services. It is only recently that the role of offshore tax havens in enabling these losses has been examined. At the April G20 meeting in London, tax havens were prominently on the agenda.


Back

Tax Justice

© Paul Lachine

Tax Justice

 

“The era of banking secrecy is over,” proclaimed the official communiqué of last month’s G20 meeting in London.  The G20 leaders, presiding over the worst economic recession in a generation, managed to hammer out a consensus on dealing with the ailing world economy, as well as reached agreement to crack down on offshore tax havens.


While the G20 plan to rescue the global economy is seriously flawed, the leaders were quite right to target tax havens, which are central to the transparency problems associated with the current economic meltdown. Tax havens facilitate the loss of billions of dollars of tax revenues at a time when G20 countries are struggling to bail out their failing banks and industries.


At the heart of the debate over tax havens, North and South, are the fundamental issues of private versus public, and the struggle for distributive justice in market-oriented systems. How can we ensure that the private wealth of companies and individuals (generated through access to the environmental commons, public subsidies, supports for infrastructure, a trained workforce, and social systems) makes a fair contribution back to the public good and to the protection of the environment?  In the context of a global agenda for human development, tax havens are an unacceptable drain of resources undercutting the ability of States to meet their obligations to the fulfillment of human rights: food, health, employment, and democratic governance.


It would not be an exaggeration to say that illegal capital flight and thefts from the treasuries of poor countries has resulted in the deaths of thousands, perhaps tens of thousands, of vulnerable people as health facilities have been dismantled and basic public infrastructure crumbled. Christian Aid estimates that if lost tax resources to developing countries were invested in health programs, it would save the lives of 350,000 children annually.  Raymond Baker, of the Global Financial Integrity Project, terms the hemorrhage of resources from poor countries the “ugliest chapter in global economic affairs since slavery.”

 

But it will be exceedingly difficult to put an end to tax haven abuses. After all, offshore services are utilized by the world’s wealthiest people as well the largest and most powerful corporations and these people will not relinquish their privileges without a struggle.

 

Offshore tax havens are the centerpieces of a shadowy economic system that has developed since the 1960s.  Today there are more than 70 tax havens, many but not all based in small states such as the Cayman Islands, Bahamas, Bermuda, Panama, the Channel Islands, Monaco, Luxembourg, Lichtenstein, Singapore and Switzerland. Offshore tax havens are “secrecy jurisdictions” that exist expressly to enable their clients to escape the scrutiny of regulators and tax authorities in their own countries. The service providers based in these jurisdictions are insurance companies, legal and financial firms, and the subsidiaries of mainstream banks headquartered in Geneva, London, New York and Toronto.

 

Tax havens are an entrenched part of the international economy. At least half of all international bank lending and approximately one-third of foreign direct investments are routed via these secrecy jurisdictions. More than half of all global trade is conducted through tax havens, and half the global monetary stock is estimated to pass through them at some point. The value of offshore hedge funds is currently about US$1.17 trillion. The London-based Tax Justice Network estimates that wealthy individuals hold an estimated US$11.5 trillion in offshore accounts.

 

Banks and multinationals companies routinely establish offshore affiliates to conceal their financial practices. Frequently these offshore affiliates, or international business corporations, are shell companies that conduct no business in the offshore jurisdiction and whose presence is little more than a postal address and a bank account. Tax havens host more than two million international business corporations; one modest building in the Cayman Islands is home to more that 12,000 of these entities.  A January 2009 report from the U.S. Government Accountability Office revealed that 83 of the 100 largest publicly-traded companies in the U.S., including big banks receiving bail-out money, have scores of offshore subsidiaries.

 

Offshore shell companies are used for profit laundering, assigning profits and losses on paper so that taxes can be minimized. To conceal profits a company might transfer the ownership of patents, copyrights or other intangibles to an offshore shell company and collect royalties in a low tax jurisdiction.  In 2007, the pharmaceutical company Merck was assessed $2.3 billion in U.S. back taxes for transferring its drug patents to a Bermuda shell company and then deducting from its taxes the royalties it paid itself.

 

Tax havens can also be used to conceal liabilities. Before being exposed as a spectacular fraud, Enron had established a network of 3,500 shell companies, 600 of which were registered in the Cayman Islands.  When the British government nationalized the failing Northern Rock bank in 2007, officials were stunned to discover that £50 billion of mortgages had been shifted to an offshore account disguised as a foundation benefiting Down’s syndrome children.
 
One of the most common methods of concealing corporate income and profits is through falsified transfer pricing. Today, more than half of all global trade is conductedamong affiliates of the same parent company.  Much of the trade between parent companies and affiliates is falsely priced so that companies can allocate profits in low tax jurisdictions. A company might, for example, sell an export item to an offshore affiliate at a sharply reduced price; the affiliate then sells the item at market price with the profits remaining offshore. Alternatively, the offshore affiliate might import an item at the real market price, but sell it to the parent company at a grossly inflated price so the company has a huge cost to deduct on its tax returns.

 

A March 2009 report commissioned by Christian Aid (UK) found that between 2005 and 2007, falsified pricing transferred US$8.5 billion out of the world’s 49 poorest countries, resulting in tax losses of US$2.6 billion to these countries. Tax losses for Nigeria were calculated at US$740 million, Pakistan US$450 million, Vietnam US$370 million, and Bangladesh US$274 million. A December 2008 report from the Washington-based Global Financial Integrity  Project calculated that developing countries lose $858 billion to $1.06 trillion in illicit capital outflows every year.

 

Corporate tax evasion and avoidance also affect Northern countries, including Canada. In 2002, Canada’s Auditor General warned that corporate “tax arrangements with foreign affiliates have eroded Canadian tax revenues of hundreds of millions of dollars over the past ten years.”  A study released in June 2008 by the University of Quebec at Montreal concluded that the five major Canadian banks avoided $16 billion in federal and provincial taxes through offshore affiliates between 1991 and 2003. A 2004 Library of Parliament report noted that between 1990 and 2003, Canadian corporate investments in Barbados increased from $1.5 billion to $24.7 billion, exceeding the GDP of Barbados by a factor of six. The report concluded that at least some of these investments could only be explained as tax avoidance measures.

 

In the United Kingdom, a parliamentary public accounts committee estimated tax losses due to the offshore system are at least £8.5 billion annually, although others estimate the loss as much higher. A U.S. Senate investigation of offshore tax abuse assessed the cost to the U.S. treasury as $100 billion annually.

 

Wealthy individuals are also escaping their tax obligations by holding their assets offshore, and some countries are vigorously pursuing tax cheats. In 2006, the German intelligence service bribed a former employee of Liechtenstein’s LGT bank to provide secret information on clients, setting off a wave of investigations of wealthy Germans for tax evasion. The Liechtenstein information also triggered tax probes in the United Kingdom, Canada, Sweden, France, Italy, the U.S. and the Netherlands.  

 

Tax evasion by wealthy individuals is also a serious problem in the South. A March 2009 study by Oxfam International found that at least $6.2 trillion of developing country wealth is held offshore by individuals, depriving them of $64 – $124 billion in annual tax revenues.  Raymond Baker estimates that African elites have offshore assets of $700 to $800 billion.

 

The Indonesian dictator Suharto looted his country and up to $35 billion found its way to the Cayman Islands, Panama, the Bahamas and other havens. Sani Abacha, the dictator of Nigeria, reportedly ordered the state treasury to transfer $15 million every day to his Swiss bank account. Mobutu Sese Seiko of Zaire and Emperor Bokassa of the Central African Republic plundered their countries to the point of starvation.

 

Virtually all of this looting has been done through tax havens, facilitated by well-paid accountants, lawyers and bankers. Yet public attention is only drawn to the kleptocrats, rather than to the people and institutions that enable these thefts.

What Is Being Done?


These are some of the issues behind the G20’s recent agreement to act against secrecy jurisdictions.  The G20 communiqué announced that the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) would immediately publish a list of jurisdictions that were not in compliance with OECD standards on transparency and exchange of information for tax purposes.

 

The OECD list, released on the same day as the G20 communiqué, was divided into three sections: a “blacklist” of non-compliant states, a “grey” list of jurisdictions that have committed but not yet met the standard, and a “white” list of those in compliance. Astonishingly, within days of the close of G20 meeting, the OECD blacklist was empty. Intense diplomatic pressure had successfully removed the most notorious tax havens from the blacklist.

 

The OECD grey zone included countries such as the Cayman Islands, Switzerland, Luxembourg, and Liechtenstein.  Both the Swiss and Liechtenstein governments were outraged to be named on the grey list.  Switzerland threatened to retaliate by not paying its annual dues to the OECD, an extraordinarily self-righteous response from a country that is the world leader in laundering thefts from poor countries.  

 

This is not the first time that the OECD has attempted to deal with the problem of tax evasion. In 2000, the OECD published a framework for sharing tax information that eventually became the OECD Model Tax Convention.  The Bush administration was opposed and the initiative languished.  President Barack Obama, however, is now playing a leadership role.

 

But there are serious flaws in the OECD framework. The OECD’s tax information sharing agreements are bilateral treaties while the challenges posed by tax havens require multilateral cooperation. In addition, under this framework a state needs to make a detailed case before requesting information from another treaty signatory.  The burden of proof is on the requesting authorities. While this assists authorities in pursuing known offenders, it will do nothing to catch tax cheats authorities don’t already know about.

 

But the biggest problem with the OECD approach is that it applies to individuals, not to multinational corporations, which are responsible for the majority of tax losses in Northern and Southern countries alike.  Unless ways are found to address complex corporate structures, falsified transfer pricing and profit laundering, little progress will be made.

 

Civil Society Is Mobilizing

 

Civil society organizations are calling for substantial improvements in the transparency of the international economy.  What is required is a multilateral approach to the mandatory exchange of information amongst all jurisdictions with respect to income, gains and property received by non-resident individuals, as well as corporations and trusts. Improved transparency requires that information be publicly available with respect to the beneficial ownership of companies, trusts and foundations.

 

Civil society organizations are calling for changes to accounting standards and country-by-country reporting of sales, revenues, profits and taxes paid by multinational corporations in their tax returns and annual reports. Improved transparency requires the development of systems to put an end to the practice of trade mispricing which deprives countries of massive amounts of tax revenues.  Ultimately, what is essential is the development of new norms of corporate social responsibility in which corporations become transparent and accountable, and take seriously their responsibilities to contribute to the public good.

 

Despite the flaws, the debate about secrecy jurisdictions is much further advanced than it was a few years ago. In large part this is due to the persistent efforts of civil society organizations such as the Tax Justice Network, Christian Aid, Oxfam International and others, to place these issues on the international political agenda. The debate will continue. As a coalition of tax justice organizations put it in a press release following the G20 meeting, “…this is not the end.  It is not even the beginning of the end. But it is, perhaps, the end of the beginning.”

 

 

Peter Gillespie works with Inter Pares.

 

 

Find Out More

 

TOP
All Rights Reserved © 2009 Canadian Council for International Co-operation | info@ccic-ccci.ca

CCCI - Flash
Printemps 2009 www.ccic.ca
IMPRIMER PDF

Efficacité du développement

 

La piraterie financière et l’économie parallèle
Par Peter Gillespie

 

Chaque année, des centaines de milliards de dollars sortent illégalement des pays en développement. Cette perte considérable de ressources, bien plus importante que le flux de l’aide, sape les efforts contre la pauvreté, renforce l’inégalité et annihile toute possibilité pour ces pays d’investir dans les biens et services publics essentiels. Il n’y a seulement peu de temps depuis que l’on examine de près le rôle de ces paradis fiscaux extraterritoriaux qui occasionnent de telles pertes. Cette question occupait une place prioritaire dans l’ordre du jour de la rencontre du G20 à Londres en avril.


Back

Justice fiscale

© Paul Lachine

Justice fiscale

 

Selon un communiqué officiel paru le mois dernier dans la foulée de la rencontre du G20 à Londres, l’ère du secret bancaire serait révolue.  Alors que sévit la pire récession depuis une génération, les leaders du G20 ont pu créer un consensus sur les mesures à prendre à l’égard d’une économie qui bat de l’aile. Ils sont convenus aussi de mettre fin aux refuges fiscaux extraterritoriaux.


Devant l’échec pitoyable du plan du G20 consistant à redresser l’économie mondiale, les leaders ont été bien avisés de cibler les paradis fiscaux dont les opérations révèlent des problèmes de transparence associés à l’effondrement économique actuel. Les refuges fiscaux ont fait perdre aux pays en développement des milliards de dollars en recettes fiscales tandis que les pays du G20 s’évertuent à renflouer leurs banques et industries défaillantes.


Au cœur du débat sur les paradis fiscaux, engagé au Nord comme au Sud, se trouvent les questions fondamentales du privé opposé au public, et le combat pour la justice distributive dans les systèmes axés sur le marché.  Comment veiller à ce que la richesse des entreprises et des particuliers (créée grâce à l’accès au patrimoine environnemental, aux subventions publiques, au soutien des infrastructures, à une main-d’œuvre qualifiée et aux régimes sociaux) contribue réellement au bien collectif et à la protection de l’environnement ? Dans le contexte du programme mondial pour le développement humain, il est inadmissible que les paradis fiscaux drainent les ressources et sapent ainsi la capacité des États de remplir leurs obligations pour que se réalisent les droits de la personne : le droit à l’alimentation, à la santé, au travail et à des institutions démocratiques.


Il n’est pas exagéré de dire que la fuite illégale de capitaux et les vols à même la trésorerie des pays pauvres sont responsables de milliers de décès, peut-être même de dizaines de milliers parmi les plus vulnérables, à cause de la dégradation des installations sanitaires et de l’effondrement des infrastructures. L’organisation Christian Aid estime que si les pays en développement avaient pu investir, dans leurs programmes de santé, les ressources fiscales perdues, ils auraient sauvé la vie de 350 000 enfants chaque année. Raymond Baker, du Global Financial Integrity Project, considère l’hémorragie des ressources dans les pays pauvres comme le chapitre le plus déplorable de l’économie depuis l’esclavage.


Cependant, il sera extrêmement difficile de mettre fin aux abus résultant des paradis fiscaux étant donné que les services extraterritoriaux sont à la portée des gens les plus riches et des entreprises influentes, qui se battront pour conserver leurs privilèges.


Or, les refuges fiscaux qui ont connu une expansion dans les années 60, constituent la pièce maîtresse du système économique parallèle. De nos jours, on en compte 70 dont la plupart ont leur siège dans de petits États tels que les îles Caïman, les Bahamas, Bermuda, le Panama, les Îles Anglo-Normandes, Monaco, le Luxembourg, le Lichtenstein, Singapore et la Suisse. 

Les paradis fiscaux extraterritoriaux sont régis par des juridictions secrètes mises en place dans le but de permettre à leurs clients d’échapper aux autorités de contrôle et à l’administration fiscale de leur propre pays.  Les prestataires de services qui opèrent dans ces États sont les firmes d’assurance, les cabinets d’avocats et les sociétés de crédit, ainsi que les succursales des grandes banques dont le siège social se trouve à Genève, Londres, New York et Toronto.


Les paradis fiscaux s’avèrent solidement établis en tant que volet de l’économie internationale.  Au moins la moitié de tous les prêts bancaires internationaux et environ le tiers des investissements étrangers directs sont acheminés par le biais de ces juridictions secrètes. 

On estime que plus de la moitié du commerce mondial passe par les refuges fiscaux et, dans une certaine mesure, la moitié de la réserve monétaire. En outre, la valeur des fonds de couverture devrait représenter 1,17 billion de dollars US. Le Tax Justice Network, un réseau basé à Londres, estime que les riches particuliers détiennent un total de 11,5 billions de dollars US dans les comptes extraterritoriaux.


Les banques et les sociétés multinationales établissent couramment des succursales extraterritoriales pour dissimuler leurs pratiques financières.  Il est fréquent que ces succursales ou d’autres sociétés d’affaires fonctionnent en tant que sociétés fictives qui, en fin de compte, n’ont aucune activité sur place et dont la présence se résume à une simple adresse postale et à un compte bancaire.  Les refuges fiscaux abritent plus de deux millions de maisons d’affaires internationales. Dans les Îles Caïman, un modeste immeuble est le point d’attache de 12 000 de ces entités. Un rapport du U.S.  Government Accountability Office révèle que 83 p. 100 des plus grandes sociétés cotées en bourse, y compris les principales banques qui obtiennent des prêts d’urgence, touchent des subventions extraterritoriales.


Les sociétés fictives extraterritoriales servent à blanchir l’argent en attribuant les profits et pertes sur papier de manière à obtenir une réduction d’impôt.  Pour dissimuler les profits, une société peut transférer la propriété des brevets, des droits d’auteur ou autres biens incorporels dans une coquille vide à l’étranger et obtenir des redevances dans une juridiction à faible charge fiscale. En 2007 aux États-Unis, la firme pharmaceutique Merck a obtenu un remboursement de 2,3 milliards en taxes au seul titre des redevances, après avoir transféré  ses brevets de médicaments à une société fictive des Bermudes et déduit l’impôt des redevances qu’elle s’est versé.


Les paradis fiscaux servent aussi à cacher les obligations.  Avant que l’on ne découvre la fraude spectaculaire d’Enron, cette société avait établi un réseau de 3 500 sociétés fictives dont 600 étaient enregistrées dans les Îles Caïman. Lorsqu’en 2007 le gouvernement britannique a nationalisé la Northern Rock Bank en faillite, quelle ne fut pas la stupeur des dirigeants de découvrir qu’elle avait transféré des hypothèques pour la somme de 50 milliards de livres £ dans un compte extraterritorial enregistré en tant que fondation au profit des enfants souffrant du syndrome de Down.


L’une des méthodes les plus répandues utilisées pour dissimuler les revenus et profits d’une entreprise consiste à falsifier les prix de facturation.  Actuellement plus de la moitié du commerce mondial est exercé par les filiales d’une même société mère. La majorité des activités commerciales entre sociétés mères et filiales ne sont pas enregistrées au prix réel de sorte que les sociétés peuvent transférer les profits vers des États où les charges fiscales sont faibles. Par exemple, une société pourrait vendre un article d’exportation à une filiale outre-mer à très bas prix. Cette dernière vend alors l’article au prix du marché et le bénéfice reste sur place.  De même, la filiale outre-mer pourrait importer un article de la société au coût réel du marché et le revendre à la société mère à un prix nettement exagéré, ce qui permettrait à la société de retrancher de sa déclaration d’impôt une somme considérable.


Dans un rapport commandé en mars 2009 par Christian Aid (R.-U.) il est signalé qu’entre 2005 et 2007, les transferts de prix falsifiés provenant de 49 pays parmi les plus pauvres du monde se chiffraient à 8,6 milliards de dollars US, représentant 2,6 milliards $ US en perte d’impôt pour ces pays. Les pertes s’élevaient au Nigéria à 740 millions US, au Pakistan à 450 millions, au Vietnam à 370 millions et au Bangladesh à 274 millions. Un autre rapport diffusé en décembre 2008 par le Global Financial Integrity Project de Washington indique que les pays en développement ont essuyé des pertes de 858 milliards à 1.06 billion de dollars à cause de la sortie illicite de capitaux. 


L’évasion fiscale des sociétés touche également les pays du Nord, y compris le Canada.

En 2002, le vérificateur général du Canada a signalé que les arrangements en matière d’impôt des sociétés avec leurs filiales outre-mer ont fait perdre au Canada des centaines de millions de dollars au cours de la dernière décennie. Les auteurs d’une étude publiée par l’Université du Québec à Montréal en juin 2008 concluent qu’entre 1991 et 2003, cinq grandes banques canadiennes ont pu éviter de verser 16 milliards de dollars en impôt fédéral et provincial par le biais des opérations de leurs filiales extraterritoriales.  Par ailleurs, dans un rapport de la Bibliothèque du Parlement, on peut lire qu’entre 1990 et 2003 les investissements des entreprises canadiennes à la Barbade sont passés de 1,5 milliard à 24,7 milliards, ce qui représente six fois le PNB de cet État. Selon les conclusions du rapport, ces investissements sont dus pour une bonne partie aux mesures d’évasion fiscale.


Au Royaume-Uni, le Committee of Public Account de la Chambre des communes estime à 8,5 milliards £ les pertes annuelles attribuables au système extraterritorial, alors que d’autres sources révèlent des pertes beaucoup plus importantes. Une investigation du sénat américain estime que la trésorerie des États-Unis perd, chaque année, environ 100 000 milliards de dollars en raison du recours aux refuges fiscaux.


Les gens riches évitent aussi de remplir leurs obligations fiscales en maintenant leurs avoirs à l’étranger et certains pays poursuivent résolument les fraudeurs de l’impôt. En 2006, le service de renseignements secrets allemand a graissé la patte à un ancien employé de la LGT Bank du Liechtenstein pour obtenir de l’information secrète sur les clients, ce qui devait enclencher une pléthore d’enquêtes sur l’évasion fiscale de riches Allemands. L’information au sujet du Liechtenstein a aussi déclenché des enquêtes fiscales au Royaume-Uni, au Canada, en Suède, en France, en Italie, aux États-Unis et aux Pays-Bas.


L’évasion fiscale par les gens fortunés pose un grave problème pour les pays du Sud.

Dans une étude menée en mars 2009, Oxfam International révèle que leurs ressortissants détiennent outre-mer une part estimée à au moins 6,2 billions de la richesse des pays en développement, privant ceux-ci de recettes fiscales s’élevant annuellement de 64 à 124 milliards. Selon les calculs de Raymond Baker, les élites africaines possèdent à l’étranger des avoirs représentant de 700 à 800 milliards de dollars.


Le dictateur Suharto a spolié l’Indonésie de quelques 35 milliards $ qui se sont retrouvés dans les Îles Caïman, au Panama, dans les Bahamas et autres refuges fiscaux. On dit aussi que Sani Abacha, le dictateur du Nigeria aurait ordonné à la trésorerie de l’État de transférer tous les jours 15 millions $ dans son compte d’une banque suisse.  Mobutu Sese Seiko du Zaïre et l’empereur Bokassa de la République centrafricaine ont pillé leurs pays jusqu’à réduire leur population à la famine.

 

Ce sont pour ainsi dire les paradis fiscaux qui ont facilité ces détournements de fonds effectués par des comptables, avocats et banquiers grassement payés. Or, l’attention du public n’est attirée que sur les kléptocrates et non sur les individus et les institutions qui sont complices de ces vols.

Quelles sont les actions entreprises ?


Nous abordons ici certains des enjeux ayant fait l’objet de l’accord récent du G20 contre la confidentialité pratiquée par des juridictions extraterritoriales. Dans son communiqué, le G20 annonce que l’Organisation de coopération et de développement économique (OCDE) publiera immédiatement la liste des pays qui n’observent pas ses normes de conformité et d’échange d’information à des fins fiscales.


La liste de l’OCDE, diffusée le même jour que le communiqué du G20 comportait trois sections : la « liste noire » des États non-coopératifs, la « liste gris foncé » des États qui ont dit qu’ils se conformeraient mais qui n’ont pas encore adopté les normes et la « liste gris pâle » des États coopératifs. Aussi surprenant que cela paraisse, dans les jours précédant la fin de la réunion du G20, la liste de l’OCDE était déjà vierge.  À la suite d’intenses pressions diplomatiques, les paradis fiscaux les plus notoires avaient disparu de la liste noire.


Quant à la liste gris foncé, elle regroupait des pays tels que les Îles Caïman, la Suisse, le Luxembourg et le Liechtenstein. Les gouvernements de la Suisse et du Liechtenstein s’indignèrent de se retrouver sur la liste grise. La Suisse a menacé de représailles l’OCDE,

à savoir qu’elle ne verserait pas sa contribution annuelle, une réaction arrogante du leader mondial en matière de blanchiment de l’argent des vols perpétrés dans les pays pauvres.
Ce n’est pas la première fois que l’OCDE essaie de résoudre ce problème d’évasion fiscale. 

En 2000, l’Organisation a publié un document de référence pour les investissements directs internationaux qui devait éventuellement devenir le Modèle de convention fiscale de l’OCDE.

Le gouvernement Bush s’y étant opposé, l’initiative est restée lettre morte. Actuellement le président Barack Obama joue un rôle de leadership dans ce dossier.


Mais le cadre de l’OCDE comporte de graves lacunes. Les accords d’échange de renseignements fiscaux sont des traités bilatéraux alors que les problèmes posés par les refuges fiscaux exigent une coopération internationale. En outre, suivant le document de référence, un État est tenu d’établir un dossier avant de demander de l’information à un autre signataire du traité.

Le fardeau de la preuve incombe aux juridictions compétentes. Bien que cela soit utile aux autorités qui poursuivent les contrevenants, il ne permet pas d’attraper ceux que les autorités n’ont pas déjà dépistés.

 

Cependant le principal problème découlant de la démarche de l’OCDE est qu’elle s’applique aux particuliers et non aux sociétés multinationales, lesquelles sont responsables de la majorité des pertes en recettes d’impôt dans les pays du Nord comme dans ceux du Sud. Il y aura peu de progrès dans ce domaine si on ne trouve les moyens de traiter avec ces structures complexes de sociétés, le transfert de coûts falsifiés et le blanchiment des profits.

 

Mobilisation de la société civile

 

Les organisations de la société civile réclament des améliorations significatives pour l’avènement d’une économie internationale transparente. Il importe d’appliquer une formule multilatérale d’échange d’information obligatoire à toutes les juridictions en ce qui a trait aux revenus, aux gains et propriétés cédées par des non-résidents, y compris les sociétés, les fiducies et les fondations.


Les organisations de la société civiles réclament des changements aux normes et aux rapports de pays à pays en ce qui concerne les ventes, les recettes, les profits et l’impôt payé par les sociétés multinationales, tels qu’ils figurent dans leur déclaration d’impôt et leur rapport annuel. Une plus grande transparence exige des mesures propres à éliminer les pratiques de falsification des prix qui privent les pays de recettes fiscales considérables. En fin de compte, l’essentiel c’est qu’on instaure des normes relatives à la responsabilité sociale des entreprises pour assurer la transparence dans leurs opérations et la reddition de comptes, et pour qu’elles assument leur responsabilité à l’égard du bien public.

 

Malgré les lacunes, le débat sur les juridictions secrètes a pris de l’ampleur depuis les dernières années. Cela provient, dans une grande mesure, des efforts constants des organisations de la société civile comme Tax Justice Network, Christian Aid, Oxfam International et d’autres groupes, qui ont mis ces questions au centre de l’action politique internationale. Comme l’a souligné une coalition d’organisations œuvrant pour la justice en matière d’imposition dans un communiqué diffusé après la réunion du G20, ce n’est pas la fin, ni même le début de la fin. Mais il s’agit peut-être de la fin du commencement.

 

 

Peter Gillespie travaille à Inter Pares.

 

 

Pour en savoir davantage

 

HAUT
Tous droits réservés © 2009 Conseil canadien pour la coopération internationale | info@ccic-ccci.ca