CCCI - Flash
Fall 2008 www.ccic.ca
PRINT PDF

Human Rights

 

Human Rights for Human Dignity
By Cheryl Hotchkiss


Back
Human Rights for Human Dignity
Biona Ranja, India. Grandmothers, mothers, daughters, carers, and farmers - women are demanding their right to be recognized for the work that they do.
  • Migrant workers in China have little or no access to housing and health care.

  • Indigenous and rural women in Peru experience high rates of maternal mortality because of a lack of access to health services and culturally appropriate care.

  • Palestinian farmers have been cut off from their land and are unable to earn any income from their crops.

  • In Zimbabwe, urban poor have had their homes demolished and land confiscated without compensation or support for relocation.

  • The denial of the Aboriginal and treaty rights of the people of Grassy Narrows in northern Ontario has resulted in the
    erosion of traditional ways of life,
    widespread ill-health, and severe
    impoverishment.

In each of these examples, the affected communities have been marginalized and discriminated against. As a result, they experience significant barriers to accessing the resources essential to their survival and well-being. These situations aren’t just the result of poor public policy or unmet needs, they are the result of violations of fundamental human rights.

 

Limited resources are not the principal cause of widespread violations of economic, social and cultural rights and cannot be used as an excuse to deny these rights to specific individuals and groups. Even wealthy countries and powerful governments have failed to meet their obligations to end hunger and preventable disease, and to eliminate illiteracy and homelessness.

 

Governments, keen to encourage investment, have often failed to ensure that corporations respects human rights. They have exposed populations to pollution and to exploitation by denying workers the right to a fair wage and decent working conditions. Governments have also disregarded the rights of people when supporting large-scale development projects that have resulted in widespread homelessness, damage to land and water, and violations of Indigenous peoples’ rights.

 

“We want our people to have a place where we can regain who we are. There are few of us that have jobs, and a lot more that don’t have jobs, that barely meet the basic needs each month. That’s not a good way to live. My hope is not just something for us, but that something good will be set up for our kids and for future generations so our people will no longer have to live in poverty like they live now.” – Roberta Kesick, grandmother and trapper, Grassy Narrows First Nation

 

Human rights are indivisible – all rights are of equal value and cannot be separated. Violations of economic, social and cultural rights – such as the failure to protect the land rights of Indigenous peoples, denying minorities’ education rights, and inequitable provision of health care – are often linked with civil and political rights violations. No human right can be realized in isolation from other rights. Just as full enjoyment of the right to freedom of expression requires concerted efforts to realize the right to education, so the right to life requires steps to reduce infant mortality, epidemics and malnutrition.

 

Poverty is caused by human beings – it results largely from the quality of decisions made by governments, corporations, institutions and others who have the power to change people’s lives for the better. Breaking the vicious cycle of poverty and exclusion means combating the human rights violations that drive and perpetuate them.

 

For too long, human rights organizations have failed to address adequately the human rights violations that create and support poverty. Amnesty International is preparing a global campaign to protect the human rights of people living in poverty. The campaign begins in the spring of 2009. While there are numerous compelling reasons for such a campaign, three in particular convinced Amnesty to make respect for and protection and fulfillment of the rights of people living in poverty a priority.

 

First, 60 years after the adoption of the Universal Declaration on Human Rights (UDHR) the Declaration’s promise that all should be able to live “free and equal in dignity and rights” has not been met for millions living in poverty.

 

A second reason is the recent emergence of civil society movements to demand a response to poverty – like the Global Call to Action Against Poverty, the Drop the Debt campaign, the Millennium Development Goals and, in Canada, the Make Poverty History campaign. These movements recognize poverty as a denial of human rights. Their work has resulted in unprecedented activism to establish a global responsibility for the eradication of poverty. Amnesty International has supported these movements and plans to become more actively engaged with them.

 

A third reason for this focus comes from years of reflection and adjustments to research and campaigning strategies. During the mid-1990’s, Amnesty’s work documenting and addressing violations of the human rights of women fostered a new awareness. There was a recognition of not only the state’s role as a direct perpetrator of human rights violations, but also that the state had to be held to account for creating and maintaining the systems and environments that enable violations by private individuals and groups. The evolution of the work on women’s human rights was part of a broader shift toward trying to better understand and address the root causes of human rights violations. While Amnesty International has had considerable success in holding governments accountable for violations against specific individuals, new methods and approaches were needed to help create the environment in which basic rights could be enjoyed and violations prevented.

 

The 60th anniversary of the UDHR and the expanded lens through which Amnesty now approaches human rights protection, led to the decision to focus on the human right violations that result in poverty. Central to this campaign are two core ideas which will inform our research and activism.

  1. Poverty is more than a lack of income. It is the denial of access to the resources, security and decision-making power that individuals and communities require to meet their needs. Lack of respect and the absence of protection for the human rights of people living in poverty deny them the opportunity to improve their lives. This often leads to further impoverishment.
     
  2. Discriminatory attitudes, systems and structures often silence the voices of people living in poverty. The people living in poverty are denied the space and opportunity to actively realize their own visions and ideas for creating a path out of poverty. Amnesty International’s work must be focused principally on amplifying their voices and supporting the realization of their solutions.

 

To stop violations of human rights:

  1. People living poverty must have the opportunity and a safe space within which to demand the protection of their human rights.
     
  2. States must reduce unequal access to the resources necessary for the enjoyment of human rights, such as access to basic health care and education.
     
  3. States, corporations, and other organizations must be held accountable for actions that directly, or indirectly, violate the human rights of people living in poverty.
     
  4. There must be greater, and more concrete, legal protection for the human rights of people living in poverty.

 

The upcoming campaign will provide new opportunities for Amnesty International members across Canada and around the world to join like-minded organizations and affected communities in focusing attention on the human rights of people living in poverty. The campaign will be a multi-year effort that will include projects on issues in specific countries, or regions, where a broad-based human rights campaign can make an immediate difference in the lives of people in poverty and set precedents for global change. Central themes emerging from discussions with partners include measures to support the right to health, particularly maternal health and treatment for HIV/AIDS, and measures for effective legal protection of land and housing rights.

 

While Amnesty International hopes the launch of the global campaign in spring 2009 will contribute to greater public awareness and demand for change, work is already underway on the key themes. For example, Amnesty International’s current work includes calling for:

  • An investigation into the disappearance of the Indigenous leader, Kimi Pernia, who was killed when he fought the damming of a river vital to the survival of his community in Colombia.
     
  • Access to the same level of education Roma children in Slovakia as all other children in Slovakia.
     
  •  The government of Guerrero State in Mexico to be held accountable for its failure to fairly and transparently consult the community, particularly subsistence farmers, regarding the impact of the proposed construction of a hydroelectric dam.
     
  • Those who are being forcibly evicted in Angola to have the right to be told why they are being evicted, and to have their legal right to housing protected.

Amnesty International is aware of the tremendous work done by Canadian organizations to protect and promote the human rights of people living in poverty and wants to learn from organizations such as Make Poverty History, NAPO, and CCIC member organizations, who have played a leadership role in this work domestically and internationally.

    

In developing the campaign strategy in Canada, Amnesty International is deepening the conversation with key organizations and individuals involved in efforts to protect the rights of people living in poverty. Amnesty is also building on a number of current projects in collaboration with partners in Canada, including:

  • Continued calls for a comprehensive federal response to the patterns of marginalization and discrimination that enhance the high risk of violence against Indigenous women.
     
  •   
  • Public education and awareness of the need for timely and fair resolution of outstanding Indigenous land disputes.
     
  • Promotion of the recently adopted UN Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous peoples.
     
  • Demands for greater accountability for the actions of Canadian corporations at home and abroad.
  

Amnesty International welcomes and will seek out organizations and individuals willing to create a campaign that brings a strong human rights emphasis to existing and new initiatives and supports the valuable work already underway to end poverty.

 

Cheryl Hotchkiss was a campaigner with Amnesty International Canada (English Speaking).

 

Find Out More


Human rights for human dignity: a primer on economic social and cultural rights - Amnesty Canada campaign (follow the links under “priority concerns”)

 

 

TOP
All Rights Reserved © 2008 Canadian Council for International Co-operation | info@ccic-ccci.ca

CCCI - Flash
Automne 2008 www.ccic.ca
IMPRIMER PDF

Droits de la personne

 

Droits de la personne et dignité humaine
Par Cheryl Hotchkiss


Retour
Human Rights for Human Dignity
Guatemala - La police incendie des maisons lors d’une expulsion à la ferme Nueva Linda, le 31 août 2004.
  • En Chine, les travailleurs migrants ont un accès restreint ou nul au logement et aux soins de santé.

  • Le Pérou détient un taux élevé de mortalité maternelle parmi les femmes autochtones et les femmes en milieu rural à cause d’un faible accès aux services de santé et aux soins adaptés à leur culture.

  • Des agriculteurs palestiniens ont été isolés de leurs terres et ne peuvent tirer aucun revenu de leurs cultures.

  • Au Zimbabwe, on a détruit les maisons de pauvres urbains et confisqué des terres sans indemnisation ou soutien à la réinstallation.

  • Le déni des droits ancestraux ou issus de traités des peuples autochtones de Grassy Narrows, dans le nord de l’Ontario, a causé l’érosion des modes de vie traditionnels, des problèmes de santé généralisés et un appauvrissement marqué.

Dans chacun de ces exemples, les collectivités touchées ont été victimes de marginalisation et de discrimination. C’est pourquoi elles font face à d’importants obstacles qui leur interdisent l’accès aux ressources essentielles à leur survie et à leur bien-être. Ces situations ne sont pas que le résultat de politiques publiques défaillantes ou de besoins insatisfaits; elles sont le résultat de violations des droits fondamentaux.

 

L’insuffisance des ressources ne représente pas la cause principale du nombre considérable de violations des droits économiques, sociaux et culturels et ne devrait pas servir d’excuse pour priver des personnes et des communautés particulières de leurs droits. Même des pays riches et des gouvernements puissants manquent à leurs obligations de supprimer la faim, de prévenir des maladies et de mettre un terme à l’analphabétisme et à l'itinérance.

 

Les gouvernements encouragent les investissements haut la main, mais négligent de s’assurer que les entreprises respectent les droits de la personne. Ils exposent leurs ressortissants à la pollution et à l’exploitation en empêchant les travailleurs de revendiquer leur droit à un salaire et des conditions de travail décents. De plus, ils ignorent les droits des populations lorsqu’ils approuvent des projets de développement à grande échelle qui  laissent des milliers de gens sans abri, polluent le sol et l’eau, et privent les peuples autochtones de leurs droits.

 

« Nous voulons que notre population puisse quelque part retrouver son identité. Rares sont ceux qui parmi nous ont un travail et les autres, plus nombreux, qui n’en ont pas arrivent à peine à répondre chaque mois à leurs besoins essentiels. Cela n’est pas une vie. Je ne souhaite pas seulement que les choses changent pour nous, mais que quelque chose de bien soit mis en œuvre pour nos enfants et pour les générations futures de sorte que notre peuple n’ait plus à vivre dans la pauvreté comme maintenant. » – Roberta Kesick, grand-mère et trappeuse, Première nation Grassy Narrows

 

Les droits de la personne sont indissociables et ont tous la même valeur. La violation des droits économiques, sociaux et culturels – comme le fait de ne pas veiller au respect des droits territoriaux des peuples autochtones, d’aliéner le droit à l’éducation des peuples minoritaires et de tolérer l’inéquité en matière de soins de santé – est souvent associée à celle des droits civils et politiques. Aucun droit ne peut se faire valoir séparément des autres. Tout comme pour se prévaloir du droit à la liberté d’expression il faut déployer des efforts concertés pour protéger le droit à l’éducation, le droit à la vie exige également que l’on prenne des mesures visant à réduire la mortalité infantile et à maîtriser les épidémies et les problèmes de malnutrition.

La pauvreté est causée par les hommes. Elle dépend en grande partie des décisions prises par les gouvernements, les entreprises, les institutions et les autres décideurs qui ont le pouvoir d’améliorer la vie des populations. Pour briser le cercle vicieux de la pauvreté et de l’exclusion, il faut lutter contre les violations des droits de la personne, car elles aggravent et perpétuent ces problèmes sociaux.

 

Pendant trop longtemps, les organisations de défense des droits de la personne n’ont pas su s’attaquer de façon efficace aux violations des droits de la personne engendrant et perpétuant la pauvreté. Amnesty International prépare actuellement une campagne mondiale qui visera la protection des droits fondamentaux des populations vivant dans la pauvreté et dont le lancement se fera au printemps 2009. Il y a incontestablement de nombreuses raisons de mener une telle campagne, mais trois motifs ont particulièrement convaincu l’organisation d’accorder la priorité au respect des droits des personnes qui vivent dans la pauvreté, à la protection et à la réalisation de ces droits.

 

Le premier motif est que, soixante ans après l’adoption de la Déclaration universelle des droits de l’homme (DUDH), la promesse de la Déclaration voulant que tous puissent vivre « libres et égaux en dignité et en droits » n’a pas été tenue pour les millions de personnes qui vivent dans la pauvreté.

 

Le deuxième motif est l’apparition récente d’un regroupement des mouvements de la société civile dans le but de réclamer une solution à la pauvreté –  tels que l’Action mondiale contre la pauvreté, la campagne Drop the Debt, les Objectifs du Millénaire pour le développement et, au Canada, la campagne Abolissons la pauvreté. De tels mouvements comprennent que la pauvreté est un déni des droits de la personne. Leur travail a débouché sur un militantisme sans précédent pour établir une responsabilité mondiale à l’égard de l’élimination de la pauvreté. Amnesty International a appuyé ces mouvements, et compte s’engager plus activement avec eux.

 

Le troisième motif de cette prise de position découle des années de réflexion et d’adaptation des stratégies de recherche et de campagne d’Amnesty. Au milieu des années 1990, le travail de l’organisation en vue de documenter les violations des droits fondamentaux des femmes et de s’y attaquer a suscité une nouvelle prise de conscience. Cela nous a forcé à constater le rôle de l’État non seulement en tant qu’auteur de violations des droits de la personne, mais aussi dans la mise en place et le maintien de systèmes et d’environnements qui rendent possibles les violations par des personnes et des groupes privés. L’évolution du travail d’Amnesty relatif aux droits fondamentaux des femmes s’inscrivait dans un virage s’élargissant vers la recherche d’une compréhension approfondie des causes fondamentales de violation des droits de la personne vers une réaction mieux adaptée. Bien qu’Amnesty International ait réussi, dans l’ensemble, à tenir les gouvernements responsables de violations contre certaines personnes, il fallait de nouvelles méthodes et approches pour aider à créer un climat qui favorise la primauté des droits fondamentaux et la prévention des violations.

 

Le soixantième anniversaire de la DUDH et la perspective élargie qu’Amnesty utilise maintenant pour aborder la protection des droits de la personne l’ont incitée à concentrer ses efforts sur les violations des droits de la personne qui résultent de la pauvreté. Cette campagne repose sur deux idées fondamentales qui inspireront sa recherche et son militantisme :
  1. La pauvreté ne se résume pas à un manque de revenu. Elle est le refus de l’accès aux ressources, à la sécurité et au pouvoir décisionnel dont les personnes et les collectivités ont besoin pour répondre à leurs besoins. Le manque de respect et l’absence de protection des droits fondamentaux des populations qui vivent dans la pauvreté les privent de la possibilité d’améliorer leurs conditions de vie. Cela ne fait souvent qu’accentuer l’appauvrissement.
     
  2. Les mentalités, les systèmes et les structures discriminatoires étouffent souvent les voix des personnes vivant dans la pauvreté. Celles-ci n’ont pas accès aux moyens et aux occasions de concrétiser leurs propres visions et idées qui leur permettraient d’échapper à leur situation difficile. Amnesty International doit d’abord  s’efforcer d’amplifier leurs voix et de les aider à implanter leurs solutions.

 

Pour faire cesser les violations des droits fondamentaux, il faut que :

  • les personnes qui vivent dans la pauvreté aient la possibilité de faire valoir leurs droits fondamentaux et d’exiger un environnement sûr qui leur permettra de le faire;
     
  • les États réduisent l’inégalité de l’accès aux ressources nécessaires pour exercer leurs droits fondamentaux, tels que l’accès aux soins de santé et à l’éducation de base;
     
  • les États, les sociétés et les autres organisations soient tenus responsables de leurs actions qui violent directement ou indirectement les droits fondamentaux des personnes qui vivent dans la pauvreté;
     
  • la protection juridique des droits fondamentaux des personnes vivant dans la pauvreté soit accrue et plus concrète.

La campagne prévue offrira de nouvelles occasions aux membres d’Amnesty International de partout au Canada et au monde de se joindre à des organisations d’optique commune et aux collectivités concernées dans le but d’attirer davantage l’attention sur les droits fondamentaux des personnes vivant dans la pauvreté. Cette campagne pluriannuelle qui comportera des projets relatifs aux enjeux cruciaux pour certains pays ou régions est susceptible d’engendrer des changements immédiats dans la vie des populations pauvres; elle contribuera, grâce à une vaste gamme d’activités en faveur des droits fondamentaux, à établir des précédents pour un changement mondial. Des mesures visant à appuyer le droit à la santé, en particulier à la santé maternelle et au traitement du VIH/sida, et des mesures efficaces de protection juridique des droits fonciers et du droit au logement sont au nombre des principaux thèmes qui se dégagent des discussions avec les partenaires.

 

Amnesty International espère que le lancement de la campagne mondiale, au printemps 2009, contribuera à accroître la sensibilisation du public et la quête de changement. L’organisation élabore déjà les principaux thèmes. Par exemple, Amnesty International s’emploie à demander :
  • que soit menée une enquête portant sur la disparition du chef autochtone Kimi Pernia, tué lorsqu’il a osé s’opposer à la construction d’un barrage sur une rivière essentielle à la survie de sa collectivité, en Colombie;
     
  •   
  • que les enfants Roms, en Slovaquie, aient accès au même niveau d’instruction que tous les autres enfants de Slovaquie;
     
  • que le gouvernement de l’État de Guerrero, au Mexique, soit blâmé pour n’avoir pas consulté de manière juste et transparente la collectivité, en particulier les agriculteurs de subsistance, relativement aux conséquences de la construction proposée d’un barrage hydroélectrique;
     
  • que les personnes qui sont évincées de leur maison en Angola en soient informées des raisons, et que leur droit légal au logement soit protégé. 
  

Amnesty International est consciente de l’énorme travail réalisé par certaines organisations canadiennes pour protéger et promouvoir les droits fondamentaux des personnes vivant dans la pauvreté et veut tirer des enseignements à partir des expériences d’organisations telles qu’Abolissons la pauvreté, l’ONAP et les organisations membres du CCCI, qui ont joué un rôle prépondérant à cet égard, aux l’échelles nationale et internationale.

 

En élaborant sa stratégie de campagne au Canada, Amnesty approfondit les échanges avec des organisations et des personnes clés dont les activités visent à protéger les droits des personnes vivant dans la pauvreté. L’organisation prend aussi appui sur un certain nombre de projets en cours de réalisation avec des partenaires au Canada, notamment :

  • des revendications constantes pour obtenir une réaction approfondie du gouvernement fédéral à l’égard des modèles de marginalisation et de discrimination qui contribuent au risque élevé de violence contre les femmes autochtones;
     
  • la sensibilisation du public au besoin d’une résolution juste et en temps opportun des litiges fonciers en suspens qui concernent les Autochtones;
     
  • la promotion de la Déclaration des Nations Unies sur les droits des peuples autochtones, récemment adoptée;
     
  • des demandes pour une reddition de comptes plus rigoureuse des sociétés canadiennes au sujet de leurs activités, au pays et à l’étranger.

Amnesty International accueille favorablement les propositions d’échanger avec des organisations et des personnes, et cherchera à en entamer de nouvelles, pour entreprendre une campagne qui intègre résolument les droits fondamentaux dans les initiatives existantes et nouvelles, qui soutienne l’excellent travail déjà en cours afin de mettre un terme à la pauvreté.

 

Cheryl Hotchkiss est une militante anciennement avec Amnesty International Canada (bureau anglophone).

 

Pour en savoir davantage


Human rights for human dignity: a primer on economic social and cultural rights - Amnesty Canada campaign (en suivant les liens sous « Priority Concerns »)

 

 

HAUT
Tous droits réservés © 2008 Conseil canadien pour la coopération internationale | info@ccic-ccci.ca